• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs places you in the role of an elite SEAL commander whose team is asked to fight terrorists in more than 12 of the most deadly missions ever. Engage enemy terrorists with fellow SEAL team members via intense team-based gameplay. Utilize the SOCOM headset to communicateSOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs places you in the role of an elite SEAL commander whose team is asked to fight terrorists in more than 12 of the most deadly missions ever. Engage enemy terrorists with fellow SEAL team members via intense team-based gameplay. Utilize the SOCOM headset to communicate and plan strategies with fellow SEALs in single player and online play. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    I love this game, and I don't see myself playing anything else at home for a good three or four months. [Sept 2002, p.11]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    93
    The realistic weapons and possibility of one-shot deaths give it a visceral excitement other shooters lack. [Oct 2002, p.186]
  3. GMR Magazine
    90
    Possibly the best reason to own a PS2 network adapter. The team-based miliary tactics work better online than off. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  4. The game is also annoyingly dark during night missions. Even with the brightness cranked, it was pretty hard to see.
  5. PSM Magazine
    80
    One of the greatest features of this game, by far, the headset lets you tell your computer-controlled teammates exactly what to do...makes SOCOM such an innovative title. [Oct 2002, p.28]
  6. SOCOM: US Navy SEALs isn't quite PS2's online killer app, but it's a worthy beginning.
  7. 60
    The frustration factor, however, runs needlessly high in SOCOM as a one-player adventure.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53
  1. May 2, 2011
    10
    Without a shred of doubt, the greatest game I have ever played. There's never been anything that can compare. I'll never forget how much funWithout a shred of doubt, the greatest game I have ever played. There's never been anything that can compare. I'll never forget how much fun I've had with this game, just as much as I'll never forget how much it socially crippled me. This game became a drug. Therein, deemed as Socrack. Expand
  2. B.Rock
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    SOCOM can be frustrating. But that is the point. To me, and I don't know any better, but the fact that 'you die, you reset' is SOCOM can be frustrating. But that is the point. To me, and I don't know any better, but the fact that 'you die, you reset' is as close to real life as you can get. Isn't that the point? Any closer and the CD's would have to self-destruct anytime your character died. That is what leads to the stress level, because every corner, every view, every LOS is important...make the wrong move and BOOM, you are hitting start and waiting for the game to 'REPLAY MISSION'. Yes it is frustrating. Now how much respect do you have for our men and women in uniform? Point being, the game is great despite this. In fact, it enhances the game because completing a mission is that much sweeter. As I believe Deep Purple put it "Its not the kill, its the thrill of the chase." Expand
  3. NickB.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    HOLY SH.T THIS GAME FRIGGIN KICKS MY LAME ASS!!!!
  4. FredyD.
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    It's a Great game to play online! This game is soo awsome that i don't even notice that i play it about 8 hours a day!
  5. Andreas
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    The control can be a bit messy, and the concept is not exactly new. But the game is sooo much fun in both one-player, and online to let it The control can be a bit messy, and the concept is not exactly new. But the game is sooo much fun in both one-player, and online to let it be!! Enjoy! (",) Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2020
    8
    I’m going to be completely honest when I say this: SOCOM is kind of hit or miss when it comes down to the bottom of the barrel. SOCOM was aI’m going to be completely honest when I say this: SOCOM is kind of hit or miss when it comes down to the bottom of the barrel. SOCOM was a game that I grew up with as a child and still play today. However, it does have a few issues that might take away the fun for some people. If you’re a person who loves a great story in video games, then you might want to reconsider picking this one up for the story value. Story wise this game lacks behind with no true direction which sometimes left me confused on what’s going on. Gameplay wise; This game is innovative for the time but may also be a hit or miss with most players. There’s no checkpoint system at all which leaves the harder missions even more difficult. However these issues don’t take away from the realism this game provides. The guns, the sounds, the commands, and even the fact you can die in a few shots are all apart of the realism which just shows you how much the developers put into this game even for 2002 standards! Overall, If you’re the type of person that is into the Military or is even curious about it, I’d recommend it. For the person who is stingy about stories and other small details, you might want to set your expectations a bit lower. Also allow me to warn you that Sony pulled the plug on Mulitplayer capabilities unless you install mods and other things on a PC. Expand
  7. TimS.
    Mar 25, 2003
    1
    This game sucks! when you go online the other players are like drunk ducks trying to ice skate!!!i would rather play with me sisters dolls!!!!!!

See all 53 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

38
6
#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
30
#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002