• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2003
Tak and the Power of Juju Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tak and the Power of Juju is a tale of good vs. evil set in an ancient, tribal world where magic (Juju) really works! Tak, a shaman's apprentice and unlikely hero, sets off on an action-filled, yet humorous journey to save his village from an evil Juju Man. Tak will have to stretch beyondTak and the Power of Juju is a tale of good vs. evil set in an ancient, tribal world where magic (Juju) really works! Tak, a shaman's apprentice and unlikely hero, sets off on an action-filled, yet humorous journey to save his village from an evil Juju Man. Tak will have to stretch beyond his training and use his wits, his environment and the power of the Juju gods to complete his quest and reinstate peace in his mystical world. [THQ] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. It may be too kiddie for some, but it’s a solid platformer with a great looking world and really inventive puzzles, and above all else it’s a lot of fun. Plus, the voice acting is stellar and I’ve been busting a gut at some of the lines.
  2. 86
    It's solid gameplay along with the comical and loveable characters make Tak an overriding success. Outstanding graphics and a splendid voice acting dialogue are all apart of a package that appeals to the masses.
  3. If you only have a PS2 and thus cannot get Zelda, TPJ will fill the gap adequately; however I don't imagine big brothers and big sisters will find it as magical and likeable as their annoying and bratty counterparts.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    After a few hours, the boredom sets in, and the number of reasons you have for wanting to beat the damn thing is less than one. It's just not fun enough. [Dec 2003, p.178]
  5. GameNow
    67
    Patience is required to get through this game. [Jan 2004, p.60]
  6. 60
    An excellent example of a "slacker" game: it gets as little done as it can while making sure it fills its quota so it can be out the door for the day. There isn't a thing new here and it makes no attempt to improve the genre.
  7. It’s dull, repetitive and often annoying. Even the kindergarten target audience will find themselves alienated while older gamers will just be bored.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. BruceL.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    Truly a unique play that my kids are crazy about.
  2. AshleyL.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Tak contains a lot of humor that set it apart from other adventure games such as the Zelda games. It combines the fun and excitement of an Tak contains a lot of humor that set it apart from other adventure games such as the Zelda games. It combines the fun and excitement of an adventure game with a whole lot of humor. I love this game! Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    Was one of my most memorable game from my childhood. It has the best soundtrack I’ve ever heard in a platformer.
  4. JoeyB.
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    Kickass.
  5. BMW
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    Great game. Very cool for the kids @ heart.
  6. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    Tak and the power of juju is one of those games that I ever laughed at when I was a kid. It has some funniest moments, funniest diologue andTak and the power of juju is one of those games that I ever laughed at when I was a kid. It has some funniest moments, funniest diologue and the one of my favourite characters is Jibolba. He's the one who tells a story about the pupanunu people got turned into sheep and he's funny. All the characters are funny too, like Tak, Lok, the juju's and all kinds of them. The only funny character in the franchise is Lok because don't get me wrong, he's the only guy who makes me laugh.
    Like the resurrection revenge scene for example where he says
    ''All of my training has prepared me for this moment. I am ready, Jibolba, for I am the mighty warrior called for by the poo poo! Awww poo poo poo... OHW OHW!
    And then he farts which really made me laugh.
    Anyways, the tutorial is challenging, getting the plants for Jibolba which that the plants sure looks like the ones from Little Shop of Horrors, the yorbels are hard to find and the moonstones are hard to find too because I have to complete the level which is by defeating Pins and Needles. And the boss is just sooo dawn hard and easy all at the same time. I really enjoyed this game when I was a kid and further than that, the sequels are.
    Expand
  7. mattm
    Feb 7, 2004
    0
    This is the worst game ever if your blind and death you may like it the this game was the displeasure to buy in basic terms it sucked ass how This is the worst game ever if your blind and death you may like it the this game was the displeasure to buy in basic terms it sucked ass how old are you other dudes and dudetes 2 hahahahaha Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

68
#68 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003