• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2003
Tak and the Power of Juju Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tak and the Power of Juju is a tale of good vs. evil set in an ancient, tribal world where magic (Juju) really works! Tak, a shaman's apprentice and unlikely hero, sets off on an action-filled, yet humorous journey to save his village from an evil Juju Man. Tak will have to stretch beyondTak and the Power of Juju is a tale of good vs. evil set in an ancient, tribal world where magic (Juju) really works! Tak, a shaman's apprentice and unlikely hero, sets off on an action-filled, yet humorous journey to save his village from an evil Juju Man. Tak will have to stretch beyond his training and use his wits, his environment and the power of the Juju gods to complete his quest and reinstate peace in his mystical world. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. It may be too kiddie for some, but it’s a solid platformer with a great looking world and really inventive puzzles, and above all else it’s a lot of fun. Plus, the voice acting is stellar and I’ve been busting a gut at some of the lines.
  2. 86
    It's solid gameplay along with the comical and loveable characters make Tak an overriding success. Outstanding graphics and a splendid voice acting dialogue are all apart of a package that appeals to the masses.
  3. If you only have a PS2 and thus cannot get Zelda, TPJ will fill the gap adequately; however I don't imagine big brothers and big sisters will find it as magical and likeable as their annoying and bratty counterparts.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    After a few hours, the boredom sets in, and the number of reasons you have for wanting to beat the damn thing is less than one. It's just not fun enough. [Dec 2003, p.178]
  5. GameNow
    67
    Patience is required to get through this game. [Jan 2004, p.60]
  6. 60
    An excellent example of a "slacker" game: it gets as little done as it can while making sure it fills its quota so it can be out the door for the day. There isn't a thing new here and it makes no attempt to improve the genre.
  7. It’s dull, repetitive and often annoying. Even the kindergarten target audience will find themselves alienated while older gamers will just be bored.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Jwood
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Great game!
  2. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    Look out Mario! Tak's in town! No goombas, no koopa-troopas, no capes, no princesses.
    Tak the little cave-boy explores a vast world filled
    Look out Mario! Tak's in town! No goombas, no koopa-troopas, no capes, no princesses.
    Tak the little cave-boy explores a vast world filled with creatures and power ups like no other, in this rich and vegetative adventure. Incredible graphics, and mind bending puzzles, make for hours of addictive fun. Watch out Nintendo, before this slept-on goodie takes the top spot!
    Expand
  3. J.C.
    Oct 25, 2003
    10
    Not bad at all! I'm hoping for even better next time.
  4. BMW
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    Great game. Very cool for the kids @ heart.
  5. Jan 17, 2016
    10
    When I first bought Tak and the Power of Juju for my PS2 as a kid, I LAUGHED MY BUTT OFF! The game was just so quirky, hilarious, and overallWhen I first bought Tak and the Power of Juju for my PS2 as a kid, I LAUGHED MY BUTT OFF! The game was just so quirky, hilarious, and overall fun. I have to admit I miss a lot 3d platformer series but this is 1 of those forgotten gems that holds a special place in my childhood. Expand
  6. May 13, 2018
    9
    Tak was such a great game; an integral part of my childhood (even if I wasn't particularly good at it at the time). The world was so engagingTak was such a great game; an integral part of my childhood (even if I wasn't particularly good at it at the time). The world was so engaging and immersive - the art style, character and enemy design, and the catchy music gave it so much character. This game was truly a unique gem with a great sense of humor. Expand
  7. mattm
    Feb 7, 2004
    0
    This is the worst game ever if your blind and death you may like it the this game was the displeasure to buy in basic terms it sucked ass how This is the worst game ever if your blind and death you may like it the this game was the displeasure to buy in basic terms it sucked ass how old are you other dudes and dudetes 2 hahahahaha Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

69
#69 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
50
#50 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003