Astro Bot: Rescue Mission Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Astro Bot Rescue Mission is a platformer, developed exclusively for use with PS VR. Take control of Astro the captain Bot and go on an epic VR rescue mission to save your fellow Bots who are dispersed all over space.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Astro Bot: Rescue Mission - Official Origins Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 12, 2018
    100
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission is not only the best PSVR title to date, but also arguably the best platformer of this generation so far.
  2. Oct 30, 2018
    95
    Frankly, if Astro Bot isn’t my favorite game this year, I’ll not only eat my hat, I’ll roam the lands eating every hat I come into contact with — it’s that damn good, and the definitive argument for owning a PSVR headset.
  3. Oct 1, 2018
    92
    When it comes to either VR games or 3D platformers, you can't do much better than Astro Bot: Rescue Mission. In fact, its incredible world and super-satisfying gameplay make it my favourite new game of 2018 so far.
  4. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission is an imaginative and innovative platformer which plays to the strengths of PlayStation VR and delivers an immersive experience that isn’t easy to forget. Stunning presentation elevated by insanely good animation ensure that you always feel present in the release’s virtual world, while tight controls and genuinely clever level design will keep you engaged. This is the kind of game that will leave you beaming long after you’ve taken the headset off – and we can’t give it higher praise than that.
  5. Oct 8, 2018
    90
    Not only is it the best platformer on the PSVR, it's also good enough to rival some of the recent releases on modern consoles. It's a fun, friendly, and charming title that will make you 'ooh' and 'ahh' for the game's duration.
  6. Oct 5, 2018
    90
    The challenging platforming and natural implementation of VR make it one of the most interesting and genuinely new-feeling games in recent memory. Astro Bot Rescue Mission delivers on the potential of PSVR and is a must-buy for owners of the device.
  7. Oct 1, 2018
    75
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission, like its titular hero, gets the job done.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 139
  2. Negative: 3 out of 139
  1. Jan 8, 2020
    10
    One of the best PSVR games, maybe best, there's nothing to complain about. Game is unbelievably beautiful for a PSVR game, runs well, fun toOne of the best PSVR games, maybe best, there's nothing to complain about. Game is unbelievably beautiful for a PSVR game, runs well, fun to play, lots of challenge. PSVR must have game. Realistically 9,5/10 cause it's not perfect but I'll give it a 10 for that extra cute atmosphere Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2019
    10
    Astro Bot is a delight, akin to Mario 3 on the original NES. I'm not really into cute game characters, however this game is AMAZING! EveryoneAstro Bot is a delight, akin to Mario 3 on the original NES. I'm not really into cute game characters, however this game is AMAZING! Everyone should give this game a go and you will be converted to VR. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    An absolute joy to play its does seem like this could be VRs breakout moment as the game would not work as well without it. Game combines theAn absolute joy to play its does seem like this could be VRs breakout moment as the game would not work as well without it. Game combines the best of Sonic and Mario games past to give PlayStation its best ever platformer. - Absolutely essential for all PSVR owners and if you don't own a PSVR get one to play this! Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2019
    10
    Best PSVR Game yet! I was never so much into Jump 'n' Runs, but after I played this the first time (tried it just because of the high ratings)Best PSVR Game yet! I was never so much into Jump 'n' Runs, but after I played this the first time (tried it just because of the high ratings) I was completely blown away. This game is so much fun. It simply puts a smile on your face while playing it. A must have! Not only for VR enthusiasts, but for everyone who likes likes Jump'n'Runs Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    Best PSVR game so far.
    - Great fun gameplay (it is pure joy to explore)
    - Clean and beautifull graphics - Fun boss fights - Interactive
    Best PSVR game so far.
    - Great fun gameplay (it is pure joy to explore)
    - Clean and beautifull graphics
    - Fun boss fights
    - Interactive enviromnent (grass, etc,...)
    - Solid lenght and replayability (you will replay jsut because it is fun)
    - Clever and inovative use of VR
    - No notion sickness

    Im not aware of any other VR game that excels in all these areas. Yes, there are other good VR games, but they are short. Or long games, but these are ugly with low resolution. Or they are long and looks good, but have akward controls and give motion sickness, etc. Astro Bot is the first AAA VR game, that get whole VR right in all areas and for this erasons feels liek the first propper VR game and not just tech demo or port of a TV game.

    It has been said alraedy, but Astro Bot feels like a completelly new game experience. And for this reasons it is such a blast. It is not such because you are playing awesome game. But you are experiencing and exploring someting new that you never seen and experienced before. That is something that for example RDR2 can not offer (it will be awesome game, but it will play in a way you are very familiar with).
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2018
    10
    This is legit. I didn't really like the Playroom... but this is just incredible. It's like the next evolution of Mario type games. I amThis is legit. I didn't really like the Playroom... but this is just incredible. It's like the next evolution of Mario type games. I am just blown away by this game, even with all of the hype... I didn't know what to expect. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2020
    0
    Didn't think that a platform for vr was possible. But this is a great integration of the genre with virtual reality. The character is superDidn't think that a platform for vr was possible. But this is a great integration of the genre with virtual reality. The character is super cute, level design is super mario level or better, soundtrack brings happiness in every play session. Every level is unique and different and concepts are almost never reused. Bossfights are quite simple but really entertaining. It' s a must buy for every psvr possessor Expand

See all 139 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).