Astro Bot: Rescue Mission Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Astro Bot Rescue Mission is a platformer, developed exclusively for use with PS VR. Take control of Astro the captain Bot and go on an epic VR rescue mission to save your fellow Bots who are dispersed all over space.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Astro Bot: Rescue Mission - Official Origins Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 12, 2018
    100
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission is not only the best PSVR title to date, but also arguably the best platformer of this generation so far.
  2. Oct 30, 2018
    95
    Frankly, if Astro Bot isn’t my favorite game this year, I’ll not only eat my hat, I’ll roam the lands eating every hat I come into contact with — it’s that damn good, and the definitive argument for owning a PSVR headset.
  3. Oct 1, 2018
    92
    When it comes to either VR games or 3D platformers, you can't do much better than Astro Bot: Rescue Mission. In fact, its incredible world and super-satisfying gameplay make it my favourite new game of 2018 so far.
  4. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission is an imaginative and innovative platformer which plays to the strengths of PlayStation VR and delivers an immersive experience that isn’t easy to forget. Stunning presentation elevated by insanely good animation ensure that you always feel present in the release’s virtual world, while tight controls and genuinely clever level design will keep you engaged. This is the kind of game that will leave you beaming long after you’ve taken the headset off – and we can’t give it higher praise than that.
  5. Oct 8, 2018
    90
    Not only is it the best platformer on the PSVR, it's also good enough to rival some of the recent releases on modern consoles. It's a fun, friendly, and charming title that will make you 'ooh' and 'ahh' for the game's duration.
  6. Oct 5, 2018
    90
    The challenging platforming and natural implementation of VR make it one of the most interesting and genuinely new-feeling games in recent memory. Astro Bot Rescue Mission delivers on the potential of PSVR and is a must-buy for owners of the device.
  7. Oct 1, 2018
    75
    Astro Bot Rescue Mission, like its titular hero, gets the job done.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 115
  1. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    It's the best game.
    It was a game that I felt after a long time.
    It's the best game to give you a new feeling and a new feeling.
  2. Jan 21, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't ever review games, but I shall for this one. Astro bot is a joyful and charming game -- by far the funnest game I played in 2018. In fact it bought back a little bit of wonder similar to first playing SuperMario64. The best VR game I've played, and worthy of buying PSVR for - go on treat yourself! Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    An absolute joy to play its does seem like this could be VRs breakout moment as the game would not work as well without it. Game combines theAn absolute joy to play its does seem like this could be VRs breakout moment as the game would not work as well without it. Game combines the best of Sonic and Mario games past to give PlayStation its best ever platformer. - Absolutely essential for all PSVR owners and if you don't own a PSVR get one to play this! Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    Hands down the best PSVR, no, best VR game of all time. This game shows what VR can offer in the truest sense. You can only play this on VR.Hands down the best PSVR, no, best VR game of all time. This game shows what VR can offer in the truest sense. You can only play this on VR. The only flaw about this game is that you will not like it if you hate platformers. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    3D platformers will not be the same anymore. This game is incredible. Looks and play amazing on the Pro. Would be great to have more future3D platformers will not be the same anymore. This game is incredible. Looks and play amazing on the Pro. Would be great to have more future content as DLC.. Great job Japan Studio Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    I’ve been visiting Metacritic for years and created an account just to write this review. Where on earth did this game come from? It wasn’tI’ve been visiting Metacritic for years and created an account just to write this review. Where on earth did this game come from? It wasn’t even on my radar until last week. Picked up the physical copy today and was blown away nearly instantly. Graphically it’s doing stuff that I didn’t even think was possible with the PSVR. The music is catchy as heck. Most importantly, gameplay is incredibly fun. PSVR (and VR in general) needs more games like this. A billion kudos to the developers for delivering an honest to goodness, polished killer app for the PSVR. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    This game does nothing new. If you like quirky characters you might like this ever but it's so fast you miss the action and fun of the fight .

See all 115 User Reviews