Horizon Zero Dawn Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 115 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6920 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Horizon Zero Dawn is a PS4-exclusive action role playing game developed by Guerrilla Games, creators of the Killzone franchise. As Horizon Zero Dawn’s main protagonist Aloy, a skilled hunter, explore a vibrant and lush world inhabited by mysterious mechanized creatures. Embark on anHorizon Zero Dawn is a PS4-exclusive action role playing game developed by Guerrilla Games, creators of the Killzone franchise. As Horizon Zero Dawn’s main protagonist Aloy, a skilled hunter, explore a vibrant and lush world inhabited by mysterious mechanized creatures. Embark on an emotional journey to unravel mysteries of tribal societies, ancient artifacts and advanced technologies that will determine the fate of this planet, and of life itself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Horizon Zero Dawn - Creating a New World
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 115
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 18, 2017
    100
    Horizon Zero Dawn is a perfect proof, that if you give developers creative freedom and time, it will get you a sweet reward. For fans of action adventures and wonderful worlds Horizon is the obvious choice. [Issue#272]
  2. Feb 20, 2017
    98
    Horizon Zero Dawn is Guerrilla Games’ best effort, one of the PS4’s greatest games, and the best game ever crafted from the ground up for the platform. It combines a gripping narrative with intense action that blends both fast-paced combat with slower-paced, tense stealth sections perfectly. Everything about their vision for this game clicks into place and is accentuated by a stellar presentation. The game features top-shelf graphical work, a unique and enjoyable soundtrack, alongside a fantastic cast to make an unforgettable experience.
  3. Feb 20, 2017
    95
    Horizon Zero Dawn thrums with the energy of a creative team finally allowed to explore something new. It builds on elements of open-world and loot-and-craft gameplay that we've seen before, but it does so within a context, a setting and a style that feel fresh. Horizon Zero Dawn discovers a stronger sense of its own personality in one game than Killzone ever managed across half a dozen. Guerrilla Games has long been developing some of the most buzzed-about games in the industry; with Horizon, it feels like it has finally found its own voice, one worthy of all that buzz.
  4. Feb 20, 2017
    90
    This is a culmination of everything Guerrilla has learned from working on the Killzone franchise and they've successfully crafted something that delivers on the potential many saw back in 2015. Horizon Zero Dawn is not only one of the best-looking games of this generation, but a must own for every PlayStation 4 owner.
  5. Feb 20, 2017
    90
    Guerilla's open world debut offers great gameplay, is huge and looks fantastic. A must-buy for PS4 owners.
  6. Feb 20, 2017
    85
    A perfect example of strong, competent and enjoyable gameplay. It doesn't reinvent the genre, but it's a lot of fun to play. The mecha-dino combat is the highlight and represents some of the most enjoyable open-world combat on the market. Burning through powerful foes and looting their corpses for rare treasures captures an excitement rarely felt in open-world games. The rest of the gameplay is somewhat dulled in comparison. A somewhat weak plot drags down the experience but isn't enough to detract from the enjoyment.
  7. Feb 20, 2017
    50
    Horizon Zero Dawn is disappointing. It has a story that I struggled to care about (complete with massive expository dumps—yay), a bland protagonist, and overtly repetitive and constraining missions that worked against its open world sensibilities. When Horizon Zero Dawn hit its rare strides—from its gloomy Cauldrons to traveling across its sprawling vistas—it only made me wish the rest of the game were as worthwhile.

See all 124 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    Really great game, especially the AI. The AI is really good. Like when you put down a tripwire robots actually jump over them! They are soReally great game, especially the AI. The AI is really good. Like when you put down a tripwire robots actually jump over them! They are so smart. 10/10 would play again. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2017
    10
    Hats of GG and thank you for such an amazing experience.. Totally loved everything about the game. The game looks beautiful and amazing.Hats of GG and thank you for such an amazing experience.. Totally loved everything about the game. The game looks beautiful and amazing. Total i played for over 30 hours.. Now cant wait to get the Plat trophy. I hope GG plans on making dlcs too...
    Those who haven't played the game please give it a try.. Its an amazing journey and ALOY is the new Playstation Icon.. Ignore troll reviews like i read someone wrote the gfx sucks and stuff.. We all know that's false. Please dont let such idiots spoil your experience...
    Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I've only had my PlayStation 4 for about a week but this might be one of the most interesting games that I've ever played. It's a lot of funI've only had my PlayStation 4 for about a week but this might be one of the most interesting games that I've ever played. It's a lot of fun and very addictive with so much to do. I've put about 20 hours into it and I don't feel like I've hardly scratched the surface of what is available to me. The gameplay is fantastic, the stealth features are incredibly well done, and there hasn't been a point yet where I feel like I am overpowered but I never feel too underpowered either. Definitely one of the standout titles for PlayStation. If you have a PlayStation 4 then you need to own this game. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2017
    9
    La quantitá di altri giochi da cui questo prende spunto é infinita. Non sto neanche a fare l'elenco, non avrebbe senso: infatti quello che faLa quantitá di altri giochi da cui questo prende spunto é infinita. Non sto neanche a fare l'elenco, non avrebbe senso: infatti quello che fa Horizon non é mai copiare ma mettere assieme in maniera naturale e armoniosa. É un action adventure in cui controlliamo uno dei personaggi che piú mi hanno soddisfatto di sempre: Aloy. Divertente, carismatica, tenace, sa sempre rispondere nella maniera piú soddisfacente ai personaggi piú antipatici e non cade mai nell'imbarazzante. Il gameplay é validissimo: si tratta di un gioco veloce, in cui é richiesta una buona dose di managing delle risorse, bisogna avere tempismo, saper mirare , saper sfruttare tutte le meccaniche di gioco. Non é un titolo molto facile, sa tenere impegnati. Ricchissimo di missioni secondarie, commissioni, personaggi con cui interagire. Il mondo di gioco é vastissimo e meraviglioso, con deserti, montagne innevate, foreste gigantesche e viste mozzafiato. I nemici sono tanti, diversi e sempre fighissimi. Un po' "alla Monster Hunter" diciamo. Le armi sono abbastanza e potenziarle regala soddisfazioni. É un gioco che sa emozionare non solo per la storia (che ho trovato molto interessante!) ma anche per il semplice gameplay free-roaming. Occorrerá spesso nascondersi nei cespugli poiché in vicinanza di branchi di gigantesche macchine fortissime, oppure assassinare nemici da dietro in maniera furtiva per non far scattare l'allarme. Ha una grossa componente stealth, che peró non é indispensabile. Il bello di Horizon é che lascia tantissima libertá al giocatore in termini di gameplay. La colonna sonora poi é veramente validissima. Uniche pecche sono il doppiaggio italiano (a tratti, nel complesso non é scandaloso) e il fatto che puó diventare un po' "disorientante" in certi momenti, vista la vastitá. Inoltre credo che potrebbe a volte, all'inizio, raggiungere dei picchi di difficoltá leggermente sproporzionati rispetto al resto del gioco. Nel complesso titolo estremamente valido: libertá immensa lasciata al giocatore, aspetto tecnico superlativo, ottima trama, fantastico personaggio principale, bel gameplay veloce e dinamico. Pochi cazzi, un'esclusiva di peso importante per PlayStation Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2017
    9
    Let me start off by saying I feel sorry for those of you that didn't find this game good,what more do you want? This games amazing,I can'tLet me start off by saying I feel sorry for those of you that didn't find this game good,what more do you want? This games amazing,I can't imagine being so uptight,kinda sad really. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because some of the voice acting was cringe worthy but other than that this games great. A must have for anyone with a PS4 and another reason why I have a PS4,A big thank you to Gurilla games for giving us another great game,well done. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2017
    8
    This is a fun time-waster game that isn't the most original or innovative, but still fun to play nevertheless.
  7. Mar 12, 2018
    0
    não gostei , não tem multiplayer , fica muito repetitivo, sempre a mesma coisa to decepcionado

See all 1418 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2017

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2017 Image
    Published: January 5, 2018
    See which albums, games, movies, and TV shows ranked among our users' favorites in 2017.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2017

    The Best Videogames of 2017 Image
    Published: January 2, 2018
    We reveal the best games for each platform in 2017 and see how releases for each console compared last year.
  3. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 19, 2017
    We wrap up our annual games preview with a look at 2017's most promising original titles.
  4. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 21, 2016
    Preview 25 notable new videogame franchises debuting in 2016, including No Man's Sky, Star Citizen, The Division, Firewatch, Battleborn, Horizon: Zero Dawn, The Witness, Quantum Break, Overwatch, and more.