Horizon Zero Dawn Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 115 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Horizon Zero Dawn is a PS4-exclusive action role playing game developed by Guerrilla Games, creators of the Killzone franchise. As Horizon Zero Dawn’s main protagonist Aloy, a skilled hunter, explore a vibrant and lush world inhabited by mysterious mechanized creatures. Embark on anHorizon Zero Dawn is a PS4-exclusive action role playing game developed by Guerrilla Games, creators of the Killzone franchise. As Horizon Zero Dawn’s main protagonist Aloy, a skilled hunter, explore a vibrant and lush world inhabited by mysterious mechanized creatures. Embark on an emotional journey to unravel mysteries of tribal societies, ancient artifacts and advanced technologies that will determine the fate of this planet, and of life itself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Horizon Zero Dawn - Creating a New World
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 115
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 18, 2017
    100
    Horizon Zero Dawn is a perfect proof, that if you give developers creative freedom and time, it will get you a sweet reward. For fans of action adventures and wonderful worlds Horizon is the obvious choice. [Issue#272]
  2. Feb 20, 2017
    98
    Horizon Zero Dawn is Guerrilla Games’ best effort, one of the PS4’s greatest games, and the best game ever crafted from the ground up for the platform. It combines a gripping narrative with intense action that blends both fast-paced combat with slower-paced, tense stealth sections perfectly. Everything about their vision for this game clicks into place and is accentuated by a stellar presentation. The game features top-shelf graphical work, a unique and enjoyable soundtrack, alongside a fantastic cast to make an unforgettable experience.
  3. Feb 20, 2017
    95
    Horizon Zero Dawn thrums with the energy of a creative team finally allowed to explore something new. It builds on elements of open-world and loot-and-craft gameplay that we've seen before, but it does so within a context, a setting and a style that feel fresh. Horizon Zero Dawn discovers a stronger sense of its own personality in one game than Killzone ever managed across half a dozen. Guerrilla Games has long been developing some of the most buzzed-about games in the industry; with Horizon, it feels like it has finally found its own voice, one worthy of all that buzz.
  4. Feb 20, 2017
    90
    This is a culmination of everything Guerrilla has learned from working on the Killzone franchise and they've successfully crafted something that delivers on the potential many saw back in 2015. Horizon Zero Dawn is not only one of the best-looking games of this generation, but a must own for every PlayStation 4 owner.
  5. Feb 20, 2017
    90
    Guerilla's open world debut offers great gameplay, is huge and looks fantastic. A must-buy for PS4 owners.
  6. Feb 20, 2017
    85
    A perfect example of strong, competent and enjoyable gameplay. It doesn't reinvent the genre, but it's a lot of fun to play. The mecha-dino combat is the highlight and represents some of the most enjoyable open-world combat on the market. Burning through powerful foes and looting their corpses for rare treasures captures an excitement rarely felt in open-world games. The rest of the gameplay is somewhat dulled in comparison. A somewhat weak plot drags down the experience but isn't enough to detract from the enjoyment.
  7. Feb 20, 2017
    50
    Horizon Zero Dawn is disappointing. It has a story that I struggled to care about (complete with massive expository dumps—yay), a bland protagonist, and overtly repetitive and constraining missions that worked against its open world sensibilities. When Horizon Zero Dawn hit its rare strides—from its gloomy Cauldrons to traveling across its sprawling vistas—it only made me wish the rest of the game were as worthwhile.

See all 124 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    Really great game, especially the AI. The AI is really good. Like when you put down a tripwire robots actually jump over them! They are soReally great game, especially the AI. The AI is really good. Like when you put down a tripwire robots actually jump over them! They are so smart. 10/10 would play again. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Awesome game, great graphic, gameplay and story.

    One of the best games i've played since The Last of Us. It's not a perfect game, but
    Awesome game, great graphic, gameplay and story.

    One of the best games i've played since The Last of Us. It's not a perfect game, but checking the reviews from Zelda fanboys that create an account just to rate zelda 10 and this 0, clearly shows how they feel threatened by this soon to be giant of a game franchise. So i rate this 10/10 in hopes of counteracting the wasteful zeroes it gets.
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2017
    10
    You have to love Metacritic user reviews... one review actually says "it's a good game" and gave it a 0/10. It's ridiculous. For me, HorioznYou have to love Metacritic user reviews... one review actually says "it's a good game" and gave it a 0/10. It's ridiculous. For me, Horiozn is my 3rd favorite open world game ever made behind only Skyrim and Witcher 3. It is an incredible, beautiful open world with amazing stealth and combat. The main story is great and many of the Side Quests have really cool story elements attached to them. My only negative is that the voice acting is sometimes subpar but that isn't enough to deduct a point. It's a 10/10. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2020
    9
    Horizon: ZD is a masterpiece of technical improvements and combat balance. Its only defects reside in an overwhelmingly convoluted narrativeHorizon: ZD is a masterpiece of technical improvements and combat balance. Its only defects reside in an overwhelmingly convoluted narrative structure that can put you in danger of missing out some elementary pieces of the plot. That's it.
    The plot itself is amazingly refined and written. It could easily originate a novel series or any other spin off. The field of vision, textures and general look is clear and inspiring. The open-world approach here is used at its best, providing the player with all the tools needed to survive and to attack with ease of use and fun. Travelling through the massive world of HZD is fantastic, granting re-playability not only for collectibles but also just for the sake of it, looking out for side quests even when the main story is done.
    Combat is varied and represents the core of the game. A mix of strategy, pure skill and dedication is required, with vibrant enemies that behaves according to their own reaction system. No encounter is always the same and each enemy have several characteristics to be used in order to be defeated.
    There is also enough room for psychological or philosophical introspection. The player is constantly questioned about the morality of the World he's facing and about humanity choices made over the centuries. The European tone of the game is not as symbolic as a Japanese firm would have made. Evident, but nonetheless still interesting. All in all, this is a very believable scenario, with an approach to science fiction that should be take as example by many.

    In conclusion, a fun action game in a fully immersing open world with enough freedom for the player, flanked by a very believable story about human kind. Do not miss it.
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2017
    9
    Sony's best game of 2017 so far! If you enjoyed the Witcher 3, you will love this, there's so much to do, the game is beautiful, its a mustSony's best game of 2017 so far! If you enjoyed the Witcher 3, you will love this, there's so much to do, the game is beautiful, its a must buy for any ps4 owner. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2018
    8
    First i was skeptical on this one. I mean, i love dinosaurs, and that's what first draw me, but robot-dinos? Really?
    But after i started
    First i was skeptical on this one. I mean, i love dinosaurs, and that's what first draw me, but robot-dinos? Really?
    But after i started playing, i saw that the combat system is so much fun and engaging, the sceneries are beautiful with good graphics and the game has a compelling storie. You just can't not like it. It's a must for this generation.
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2020
    0
    Meh hopefully part 2 will be better, slow game best part was the ending because it ended, don’t recommend

See all 2105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2017

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2017 Image
    Published: January 5, 2018
    See which albums, games, movies, and TV shows ranked among our users' favorites in 2017.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2017

    The Best Videogames of 2017 Image
    Published: January 2, 2018
    We reveal the best games for each platform in 2017 and see how releases for each console compared last year.
  4. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 19, 2017
    We wrap up our annual games preview with a look at 2017's most promising original titles.
  5. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 21, 2016
    Preview 25 notable new videogame franchises debuting in 2016, including No Man's Sky, Star Citizen, The Division, Firewatch, Battleborn, Horizon: Zero Dawn, The Witness, Quantum Break, Overwatch, and more.