• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2000
Breath of Fire IV Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After centuries of war, the two lands bordering an impenetrable swampland have finally reached an armistice. Mysteriously, the noble Princess Elena disappears somewhere near the war-ravaged front lines. Distraught, her sister Nina goes in search of the Princess alone and on her journey,After centuries of war, the two lands bordering an impenetrable swampland have finally reached an armistice. Mysteriously, the noble Princess Elena disappears somewhere near the war-ravaged front lines. Distraught, her sister Nina goes in search of the Princess alone and on her journey, meets a mysterious young warrior named Ryu. Their destinies soon entwine. The next chapter in the epic tale of magic and mystery now unfolds. The fate of what lies ahead rests in your control. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 100
    BF IV's fantastic voyage and cool play techniques will keep fans of the series and newbies alike riveted for days.
  2. Antagonist
    90
    Beautiful sprite-based graphics and an interesting experience system offset a confusing story and bland battles in this retelling of the tale of Ryu.
  3. Daily Radar
    88
    Breath of Fire IV is no exception, compensating for its minor narrative and graphical flaws with watertight gameplay and a huge helping of old-fashioned role-playing charm.
  4. 82
    What makes these games so enjoyable is the gameplay.
  5. CNET Gamecenter
    80
    With an excellent story line, interesting characters, dazzling visuals, and distinct soundtrack, Breath of Fire IV is well worth the time of any RPG fan who's looking for a mature gaming experience.
  6. Packs more playability into one disc than some RPGs do with three. A true sleeper.
  7. Nothing less than a solid role-playing game with old-school style and flair.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    Legendary game, play it, this game changed my life for good, all I have for this game is LOVE.
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    This is one of the best games on the original Playstation, It blew me away when i first played it and is still very playable to this day.This is one of the best games on the original Playstation, It blew me away when i first played it and is still very playable to this day. Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    Breath of Fire 4 is my 2nd favourite Breath of game. I loved it allot and spent many many many hour playing it. I even had a race with myBreath of Fire 4 is my 2nd favourite Breath of game. I loved it allot and spent many many many hour playing it. I even had a race with my nephew with lvling Fou-Lu as high as possible. We had allot of fun and I rlly wish to play this game again as a HD Remastered version for PS4 or PC. Expand
  4. MarkL.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    The best game for the playstation there is no competetion even final fantasy 6,7,8,9 arent as good.
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Awesome. I'm only 10 hours in and I am absolutely loving it. I have no complaints except the ocassionally janky camera angles. AwesomeAwesome. I'm only 10 hours in and I am absolutely loving it. I have no complaints except the ocassionally janky camera angles. Awesome battles, deep but simple gameplay, awesome graphics, decent story. It has it all. Expand
  6. StuartJ.
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    A brilliant rpg with a great story and memorable music but it isn't nearly as good as final fantasy 7,8,9 and 10.
  7. Jan 15, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bad rpg, they should have labeled as puzzle game or fishing simulator, which is the best part of this game by the way. You will wonder, while you battle against the obnoxious control system before anything else, why you are grouped with a winged girl that picked you up and started a journey with a completely unknown guy to who the **** knows where, or with another unknown guy half naked with a tail (the design!) or with a dog following you around without any ****** introduction to who this *** this dog is, and a robot that helped you get through the hex (you got it, who the **** knows why) and followed you along to create the most embarrassing clown fiesta ever. Good graphics and musics for the ps tho. Dialogues are the typical "huh" "ggggh" "heh" japanese mediocrity. This waste of 700mb is why capcom decided to focus on fighting games. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

19
14
#14 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
6
#6 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000