Tetris 99 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The free to download online software, Tetris® 99, is available as a special offer for Nintendo Switch Online members. In large-scale, 99-player battles, it'll take speed, skill, and strategy to knock out the competition and become the last player standing. You can target opponents by sendingThe free to download online software, Tetris® 99, is available as a special offer for Nintendo Switch Online members. In large-scale, 99-player battles, it'll take speed, skill, and strategy to knock out the competition and become the last player standing. You can target opponents by sending them Garbage Blocks, but be careful…your rivals can target you back! Defeat opponents to acquire KO badges that may give you the advantage on future attacks. Survive the onslaught and look forward to upcoming online events. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tetris 99 Nintendo Switch Gameplay - Victory Royale, Chicken Dinner, Tetris Champion?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Feb 21, 2019
    100
    If you’re a Nintendo Switch Owner there’s no real reason for you to not download this title. It’s already a Game of the Year Contender.
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    90
    The complete oddball of the family, Tetris 99 offers a truly unique way to play the tried-and-tested classic, even if the overall package feels a little lightweight. Playing live against 98 others is chaotic, and the action feels fast, precise, and wonderfully addictive. It’s seriously difficult, too – we’d fancy our chances in Fortnite over this any day – and we’re impressed with the fact that it's forced us to play the game with a completely different approach to our usual slow-and-steady ways. Signing up for Nintendo Switch Online just to play this game might be a bit of a stretch, but if you’re already a member, what are you waiting for? It’s free, and it might just become your next favourite time sink.
  3. Jun 9, 2019
    90
    If you’re after a royale-y good time you should look much farther than Tetris 99.
  4. Feb 18, 2019
    85
    Tetris 99 is a pleasant surprise, and is my favorite content offered by the Nintendo Switch Online service to date. The idea of playing Tetris against 98 other players at once seems ludicrous but is fun in practice and delivers intense moments just like when you’re among the final few in a battle royale game.
  5. Feb 27, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 is a convincing mix of the classic Tetris formula and battle royale mechanics.
  6. Feb 20, 2019
    80
    Tetris 99 may not be a proper battle royale game, but it taps into the same emotional well, where a large number of players vying for supremacy creates an ever-present intensity that's difficult to shake. Add that layer to a game that's plenty capable of instilling tension on its own, and you've got a riveting experience that even at its worst is still a game very much worth playing. There's obvious room for improvement, but that's the last thing on your mind when the pieces start falling and the players start dropping.
  7. Feb 18, 2019
    74
    For a quick game this “Blockbattle Royale” is good choice, but after that it becomes too tedious too soon.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 97
  2. Negative: 12 out of 97
  1. Feb 14, 2019
    10
    tetris is the most sold video game of all time. if you consider that fortnite is one of the most downloaded, you have a beautiful combination.tetris is the most sold video game of all time. if you consider that fortnite is one of the most downloaded, you have a beautiful combination. tetris battle royale Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2022
    10
    its Tetris against other people, outlast them. if that sounds like it appeals to you, it does
  3. Feb 18, 2019
    9
    This was the craziest thing from the recent Nintendo Direct, and I gotta admit, after giving it a chance, it's actually pretty fun andThis was the craziest thing from the recent Nintendo Direct, and I gotta admit, after giving it a chance, it's actually pretty fun and addicting. It gives an interesting twist to the best selling game of all time. I would rank it higher, but hopefully more we'll see more modes (like an offline single player mode) in the future. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2019
    8
    Tetris battle Royale at first seems like a weird, trying-to-be-hip concept where it is Tetris against 99 in a battle Royale format. First off,Tetris battle Royale at first seems like a weird, trying-to-be-hip concept where it is Tetris against 99 in a battle Royale format. First off, with the bad. There is no tutorial, which was annoying for me to start, as I had never played Tetris before. Second off, the introduction of paid dlc was mildly annoying, as I think they should of just included it in the exclusive package for free. That being said, Tetris Royale is a fun - and for many fresh - take on the timeless puzzler. I have had many hours of fun trying to beat my personal highest finish (currently 4th place), improving my stats and unlocking the themes in this game. The music for each theme is great as well, and the classic Tetris gameplay is great. I still am a bit unsure with how the 'killing off enemies' works (that's why a tutorial would be nice) but I keep coming back to play it even with the one battle royal in the hope to one day come first. A must have for anyone with a switch, and easily one of the biggest suprises of the year. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2019
    8
    The most fun Tetris I’ve ever played. Massive multiplayer just makes this so exciting.
  6. Apr 7, 2019
    7
    The concept is pretty simple, 99 people play Tetris simultaneously and the last player standing wins. It can sometimes feel like you are beingThe concept is pretty simple, 99 people play Tetris simultaneously and the last player standing wins. It can sometimes feel like you are being targeted more frequently than other players in certain games, which can be frustrating, but it's free if you have an online subscription and is good fun to play. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    Not Ready For Sale:

    This game is highly competitive and lacks any instructions/tutorial about it's complex mechanics, this is juvenile game design.

See all 97 User Reviews