Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2032 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis installment in the Call of Duty series features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently changed. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    The single player is disposable, albeit fun, but it’s irrelevant as there’s enough content in multiplayer to keep gamers busy for hundreds of hours until the next Call of Duty comes out.
  2. 85
    The single player campaign is a wild ride despite its underwhelming storyline and short play through while the multiplayer aspects of the game take the cake and raise the franchise to even higher heights. It's jam packed with all sorts of new content from an engaging squads mode, a hectic Extinction mode and a new slate of multiplayer features to keep the core Call of Duty gamers playing for hours on end.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    82
    Infinity Ward goofs up on the campaign with a dull story and a totally forgettable villain, but they recover on the multiplayer side with some very nice maps, great bots AI, the usual frenzied gameplay and the highly addicting Extinction mode. Overall, though, CoD Ghosts lacks the magnificence and innovation we would have expected from IW's new work after the Modern Warfare trilogy.
  4. 80
    A series in serious danger of outstaying its welcome, Call of Duty is once again a victim of its own success, unable to change the winning formula too much. And yet, Infinity Ward has still managed to craft a first-person shooter that is exciting, engaging and unreservedly fun.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Yes, we have done all of this before and yes, we wish there were more new features and graphics. But Call of Duty: Ghosts is still fun, regardless.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    And so that’s the sum total of Call of Duty: Ghosts. The disappointing single-player, the usual multiplayer, the slightly confused squad bot matches, and a nifty co-op Infestation mode that could use more maps.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is moreGood game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4 Collapse
  2. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    I really like this game. I know people hate on this game because of it's lack of innovation but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. IfI really like this game. I know people hate on this game because of it's lack of innovation but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. If you've never played a call of duty game before or if you're like me and not sick of this franchise, I suggest you check this game out. Judging by my name you would probably think that I'm a call of duty fanboy or whatever but I'm not. I've played up from call of duty 4 to this and I'm honestly not tired of this series yet. Hope this helped. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    The campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 orThe campaign was rather fun, but the multiplayer is a buggy, rushed piece of trash. It has about 4 guns per category instead of the usual 6 or 7, and is prone to skipping frames, especially when you are in a combat situation. To be brutally honest Infinity Ward should have stuck with making what they already are good at: Modern Warfare. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2014
    2
    It's just not that much fun. As another reviewer so correctly pointed out, you just don't get immersed in the game. I've been a big fan of theIt's just not that much fun. As another reviewer so correctly pointed out, you just don't get immersed in the game. I've been a big fan of the Modern Warfare series and didn't enjoy Black Ops quite as much, but with all the hype and granted amazing advertisements for it, I was hoping "Ghosts" would be something special. How naive. My biggest mistake was purchasing it as a download on sale...as I would've taken it to GameStop as a trade by now. I've only had it for about three weeks. I started the campaign and quickly became bored, so I went to the "Squads" mode to develop my skills and slowly improve my equipment options. This is a painfully slow process. It takes FOREVER to continually earn "squad points" that you can spend for simple upgrades. And you need them for virtually everything. There's no more of the standard leveling up of a weapon. But here's the thing. You never really feel like you need a launcher, or additional explosives, or tactical gear. They're seemingly pointless in how the game modes play out. One of my personal favorites of MW3 was Special Ops, playing alone or with a friend in survival mode. This was a great mode that did NOT need fixing. Now its "infected" hoards coming at you with random support being dropped around you. You no longer earn points to select how you want to defend yourself. Just pick up a sentry gun. Place it. Now watch as it "expires" after a certain amount of time. That's right, it just "expires", you lose it for no reason. It wasn't destroyed. I'm just not a fan of random aid being dropped from the sky. It eliminates the fun of actually establishing a strategy. And don't think you can setup in any decent defensive position. The maps are so open that nearly every time you think that you may have a decent defensive position it's probably compromised at some angle. Oh, Capture the Flag is gone (one of my personal multi-player favorites). I could go on and on. I keep wasting my life playing a bit more to see if anything grabs me. How can such a great title go down like this? Did they even beta test it. Did people really think it was that much fun? I need to find another source of entertainment as this game has now taken even more time from me in the form of a ranting review. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    Ive played cod since cod 1 this game had an OK but short Campaign but the Online is trash, u have quickscoping amiplify camerfriendlyIve played cod since cod 1 this game had an OK but short Campaign but the Online is trash, u have quickscoping amiplify camerfriendly maps just go UR SELF IW Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    0
    iohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqldiohfhihfoehf;'QIOHQ;IJDWKLDMNQWKLDqjdwkqldjqdkliqwjdklqjdqwkldjqdlkQJDQWDqld;qdkqdl;qwdqld
    hf;fsklfhksdfhdslfhsklfhs;dfhjdsfhjdskfhdsjkfhdsjfhdsjhfjshfjdshfdsfdsfdsfds

    Do not judge this game off of user scores even the positive ones.......
    any butt hurt player can make a account, write anything^, and rate a game zero out of ten...
    Just go off of the critic score. For every game in that matter because these PEOPLE do not matter
    Buy this game or don't
    But for the love of god.. do not think for a second that your well informed by the opinion these emotionally compromised nobodies.

    Alot of games are going under because of Metacritics User Score section and i'm against this list.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Same gimmick every single year, yet still they expect to make a lot of money, this year they have disappointed, call of duty was dead lastSame gimmick every single year, yet still they expect to make a lot of money, this year they have disappointed, call of duty was dead last year now they are just poking the dead corpse hoping it would give more! Expand

See all 748 User Reviews