Zoo Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Let your imagination go bananas with Zoo Tycoon. Build your dream zoo alone or with up to 4 of your friends on Xbox LIVE, choosing from over 100 visually stunning animals and a large, detailed selection of environments. Become a member of the community by uploading your creation to the cloudLet your imagination go bananas with Zoo Tycoon. Build your dream zoo alone or with up to 4 of your friends on Xbox LIVE, choosing from over 100 visually stunning animals and a large, detailed selection of environments. Become a member of the community by uploading your creation to the cloud and working together with other Tycoons to care for and share your animals. With intuitive, easy-to-use controls and Kinect-enabled features that allow your animals to recognize your voice and react to your movements, this zoo simulation will charm animal lovers of all ages. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Zoo Tycoon - E3 2013 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. This is a polished, full-fledged, very fun game. You’ll buy it for your kids so they don’t feel left out of the next-gen joy, but once they go to bed you may well end up spending as much time designing your dream zoo as they do...Maybe more.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Simulation gaming with a sense of fun we haven’t experienced in years. Think Viva Piñata meets Theme Park and you’re close. Plus it actually works really well with Kinect. A winning combo.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    Zoo Tycoon has a distinct lack of depth, but if you're capable of sitting down with this simplistic simulator, you'll smile more times than you can count. The simulator fan in me was a bit disappointed by the ease of it all, but the child in me couldn't help but enjoy myself.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    One of the few options for kids in the Xbox One initial lineup. They will especially appreciate the animal interactions and the educational side of the game. As a tycoon, it was greatly adapted to a console but fell short on the management side.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    There's huge satisfaction to be had from building your zoo, observing the animals and watching all the graphs go up. It's just a shame that over time, as the novelties wear off, the lack of depth makes it hard to keep coming back.
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    68
    Zoo Tycoon is too hard for kids and too simple for adults, specially if they're looking for a game to become zoo managers. So we guess that it's meant for parents who want to play with their kids. If you're one of those, then it's a great choice.
  7. Nov 23, 2013
    40
    Be ashamed, Frontier! Where is the depth and the fun of Rollercoaster Tycoon? Even on the DS Zoo Tycoon was more entertaining than here. Yes: The animals all look great and you can interact with them – but this ain’t Kinectimals 2!

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt Zoo Tycoon is a must have game for animal lovers. More than 100 Gorgeous real life looking animals that interact with eachWithout a doubt Zoo Tycoon is a must have game for animal lovers. More than 100 Gorgeous real life looking animals that interact with each other, really impressive. It could have been a little deeper with simulation aspects but you'll have your hands full with stuff that you need to do. You still have lots of customization but it stays shallow because you can't make your own paths. The game itself decides that for you. Still a game that each and every Xbox One user should have, it's different and by playing you help animal charities. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2016
    8
    I originally bought this game since I loved Zoo Tycoon 3 on the PC.
    This game looks great,I was completely wowed by how good the world
    I originally bought this game since I loved Zoo Tycoon 3 on the PC.
    This game looks great,I was completely wowed by how good the world looked.
    The game falls after that,the overall game play is in one of two categories,either restrictive or just not as good as the original Zoo Tycoons
    Instead of building the expansive enclosures with your own fences,you're now stuck with set enclosures you place,on top of that there are less buildings,far less animals,with no aquatic animals either or any animals from the past like 3 did.
    Then something amazing happens,as I discover the best part of the game,racing around in the Golf Cart things with friends in the backdrop animals doing their daily routines.Which I spent hours doing.
    The game does what it set out to do,to create a working zoo tycoon game,which some extras,it isn't as good as zoo tycoon 3 or the others though.
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    While it might not be the best graphically it shows the power over the 360 by throwing that kick*ss fur shader around making some of the mostWhile it might not be the best graphically it shows the power over the 360 by throwing that kick*ss fur shader around making some of the most stunning animals seen in games to date. Its a fun experience aimed at the younger of game players but has plenty to satisfy a whole family and certainly offers more depth then a lot of other launch games Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    Great game for the kind of people who need something to keep there 8 yr old children occupied. As a old time fan of zoo tycoon I was someoneGreat game for the kind of people who need something to keep there 8 yr old children occupied. As a old time fan of zoo tycoon I was someone who enjoyed making their own zoo the way they want. In this game everything is limited from the amount of trees you can have to the way you can build paths. It really feels like they took away everything that made the old zoo tycoon good and made it a generic dumbed down kinect version. In addition the graphics are really good but the game play is littered with bugs as well as kinect having about a 75% success rate of picking up your commands. In the end don't buy this game if you're an old tycoon fan because this game is not a tycoon. If you're just looking for a great game with your kids you'll have a blast playing this with them! Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Graphics and controls are great. It is easy and convenient to check on the well-being of your animals and the satisfaction of guests. TheGraphics and controls are great. It is easy and convenient to check on the well-being of your animals and the satisfaction of guests. The variety of animals available is good as well.

    This game has a serious flaw: the Zoo Limit. With every enclosure, animal, concession stand, decoration (and anything else) that you place, the zoo limit fills a bit. In the challenge mode of the game (which restricts what you can build based on cost and income is determined by guest satisfaction), I reached the zoo limit in about 3 hours of play. I had about a dozen enclosures, each full of animals, two mini--enclosures, and about half a dozen other buildings. The zoo limit does not increase with zoo level, so once you have reached the zoo limit, you can't build anything new without selling something else.

    This is a severe limit on how large the zoo can be and how many animals can be had at one time.

    Additionally, the extent to which zoos can be customized is disappointing. Enclosures are limited to three sizes: small, medium, and large, and are predefined shapes. Exhibit enhancements can only be placed in a small number of preset locations around the edge of the enclosures, and to keep your animals happy you generally must have one of each type (feeding station, cleansing station, and toy). Due to the lack of customization, adding enhancements becomes tedious and repetitive.

    The game would be very fun if not for these limitations.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2016
    4
    Oh, Zoo Tycoon, cute animals, pet them, feed them, how could it be a dissapointment ? Well zoo tycoon on a damn console. The game takes allOh, Zoo Tycoon, cute animals, pet them, feed them, how could it be a dissapointment ? Well zoo tycoon on a damn console. The game takes all the fun from building stuff and it's just a dumbed down version of the zoo tycoon games Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    Truthfully, this game really has potential. Animals look great, scenery is beautiful, kinect is fun. But the Zoo Limit is crippling. I have aTruthfully, this game really has potential. Animals look great, scenery is beautiful, kinect is fun. But the Zoo Limit is crippling. I have a huge piece of land, I've only filled up a third of it (maybe), but I've reached the limit. I've unlocked lots of animals, but my zoo can't hold them all... The Zoo Limit has been reached. How do you increase the limit? You can't. Be ready to finish this game in a few hours. Very disappointing. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews