Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 9, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 592 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
437
Mixed:
104
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LeonidasRexDec 5, 2014
In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad,In this movie, the protagonist from the city is emotionally unbalanced and has lessons to learn. The supporting characters from a small town are wise and help teach him those lessons. If you feel that cities are good and small towns are bad, then you won't like this movie. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
A really underappreciated movie, ranked as one of Pixar's worst. I disagree completely, thinking that it is one of Pixar's best. Cars is very creative and quite often very funny.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
Another good for PIXAR . In case you speak but have to live adventures and races to go , the great fun and well-remembered movie , an adventure of speed, braking and accidents, just an adventure on wheels.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TitaniumDragonJun 6, 2016
I've always felt that this movie was underappreciated relative to Pixar's other efforts; it is a quality film. The protagonist is a bit of a jerk, but the movie works with that, and Doc Hudson is a great character who gives the film itsI've always felt that this movie was underappreciated relative to Pixar's other efforts; it is a quality film. The protagonist is a bit of a jerk, but the movie works with that, and Doc Hudson is a great character who gives the film its heart. Mater is not the best thing in the world, but the other characters come together to create a rather fun environment for a film. It wasn't their best piece, but it was a solid effort which was enjoyable to watch, and there are a number of great moments throughout the film and strong echoes that reinforce the themes of the piece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissJan 9, 2011
The movie shows that life is not about fame and fortune, but about true happiness and friendship; not only living on the fast lane, but to slow down every once in a while. Furthermore, this is a beautiful film about the love for cars and theThe movie shows that life is not about fame and fortune, but about true happiness and friendship; not only living on the fast lane, but to slow down every once in a while. Furthermore, this is a beautiful film about the love for cars and the countryside. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
Maybe not as good as the "Toy Story" series or not as good as "Ratatouille", but this is a very good film. The graphics are very good. The plot is just "so-so". The characters are great especially Lightning McQueen, who has great personality.Maybe not as good as the "Toy Story" series or not as good as "Ratatouille", but this is a very good film. The graphics are very good. The plot is just "so-so". The characters are great especially Lightning McQueen, who has great personality. Despite these positive features in the movie, the movie didn't meet with my expectations, especially the fact that this is a Pixar film............... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pwnstarJul 5, 2011
Cars is another great Pixar film. I don't know why critics are giving it such bad reviews. sure, it is't on par with the Toy Story series or Finding Nemo, but it is still a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PurpledotzJul 10, 2011
Could be the best Pixar film?

Well in my eyes it is, im a child at heart and i love this film. I am looking forward to number 2 despite the mixed reviews it has had.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
An underrated, character driven Pixar effort that has all the right aspects to stand up to the rest of their movies. It has a great retro and hometown theme with two very impressive race sequences, beautiful visuals and automobile charactersAn underrated, character driven Pixar effort that has all the right aspects to stand up to the rest of their movies. It has a great retro and hometown theme with two very impressive race sequences, beautiful visuals and automobile characters as relatable and real as any live-action ones Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
Don't think of it as a below average Pixar film. Think of it as a fun standalone experience because that is what it truly is. Lightning McQueen and Mater are some of the best characters to come from a computer-animated movie, and thats whatDon't think of it as a below average Pixar film. Think of it as a fun standalone experience because that is what it truly is. Lightning McQueen and Mater are some of the best characters to come from a computer-animated movie, and thats what makes it entertaining: The characters. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
adoubleJul 30, 2012
Cars gets a bad rap from some people. It's not nearly as good as films like WALL-E and The Incredibles, but it's still a solid movie with some really nice emotional touches. It also has the distinction of being one of the most absolutelyCars gets a bad rap from some people. It's not nearly as good as films like WALL-E and The Incredibles, but it's still a solid movie with some really nice emotional touches. It also has the distinction of being one of the most absolutely gorgeous films Pixar has ever made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeDec 8, 2012
A great animated film that causes children to experience the action experience and tenderness.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
A perfect film for children that has a strong story and likable characters. The first time I saw this film, I was not impressed, but after one more viewing, I changed my mind completely.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Whether the movie will make you believe a shocking-orange stock car has a future with a lavender Carrera, it's more fun to follow than a televised freeway chase.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
Was Pixar's Cars their finest no. But was it a good film yes.
Much flack has been given on "Cars", but in no way would I give it nearly much negative response. There are a few that bump it down, as Lightning McQueen lacked much charm and
Was Pixar's Cars their finest no. But was it a good film yes.
Much flack has been given on "Cars", but in no way would I give it nearly much negative response. There are a few that bump it down, as Lightning McQueen lacked much charm and appealed to several kids rather than adults, and while the story is slow pacing, the message behind it is powerful. The town of Radiator Springs is believable; it is a visual wonder and realistic, and the characters are charming,... well almost. Tow Mater was one of the only characters that I though could use less emphasis on, as he was basically comic relief. Other characters like Doc and Sally had sad stories to tell, and brought emotion to the film. The story of Radiator Springs and the freeway is truly saddening, and the song "Our Town" in the movie is wonderful. Since this movie is also about cars, alot of spectacle is put on a car's vision of things, and its truly hilarious to watch. Despite this, "Cars" does lack some of the elements of Pixar's finest (too much cheap humor, slow plot, mostly to appeal to kids), but it's no way bad. "Cars" is far from the worst in anything and is truly a delight.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticNov 12, 2013
Up until this film's release, the concept of anthropomorphism in animation seemed tepidly dated. 'Cars' changes that, with a heartwarming tale of a selfish ego's self-realization with his lifestyle. only in "car-form", and with amazing voiceUp until this film's release, the concept of anthropomorphism in animation seemed tepidly dated. 'Cars' changes that, with a heartwarming tale of a selfish ego's self-realization with his lifestyle. only in "car-form", and with amazing voice acting from the Cable Guy, it makes the whole film a laughing riot. A great Pixar comedy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
"Cars" is often seen as one of Pixar's lesser films and, while I can certainly see why, I actually really like it. It's beautifully designed, solidly written, has a few decent characters and a lot of charming and meaningful moments. It may"Cars" is often seen as one of Pixar's lesser films and, while I can certainly see why, I actually really like it. It's beautifully designed, solidly written, has a few decent characters and a lot of charming and meaningful moments. It may not live up to the high standard Pixar has set for itself (it's not as wholly original as other Pixar films), but it's an enjoyable film that should please people of all ages. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SkitteMay 23, 2015
I guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequences and never seen the full animation ).

Pros: - Enchanting animation - Humour - Story - Back Story
I guess from 2006 till now is a long way, but even now, I find this animation fabulous ( after years and years of several minutes sequences and never seen the full animation ).

Pros:
- Enchanting animation
- Humour
- Story
- Back Story

Cons:
- Lenght
- Slow Start
- Gets boring

I like a lot the idea of replacing EVERY MOVEMENT THING with CARS. This is a great idea, amongst other Pixar's. But this is one of those movies that you will see and hardly remember about it, maybe forget it exists. Looking forward to see the sequels.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Feb 7, 2015
Cars is a really fun movie. The movie is really well written and the characters have so much personality it seems like they are so much more than just cars. Owen Wilson is always great at playing a role in a family film and Larry the CableCars is a really fun movie. The movie is really well written and the characters have so much personality it seems like they are so much more than just cars. Owen Wilson is always great at playing a role in a family film and Larry the Cable Guy get his most notable role as Mater, what a funny voice to have in an animated film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
A lot of people consider this to be Pixar's weakest film, but I really enjoyed it. The film definitely takes me back to my childhood and my love of vehicles. The story is pretty simple but I would give it a pass because it doesn't distractA lot of people consider this to be Pixar's weakest film, but I really enjoyed it. The film definitely takes me back to my childhood and my love of vehicles. The story is pretty simple but I would give it a pass because it doesn't distract the film at all. I thought Mater was going to be annoying, but he was actually alright. But other than that the characters are memorable, the racing is fabulous, and it has a lot of heart-warming moments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 19, 2014
This is a fast-paced comedy adventure set inside the world of cars. Fueled with plenty of humor, action, heartfelt drama and amazing new technical feats, Cars is a high octane delight for moviegoers of all ages.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
spongeswiftMar 16, 2017
Cars is a great adventure that pales in comparison to the Pixar movies like Toy Story and Monsters Inc. but Cars is still a good movie. Sure the story may cater to kids more than any other Pixar but that is not a bad thing. It had a simpleCars is a great adventure that pales in comparison to the Pixar movies like Toy Story and Monsters Inc. but Cars is still a good movie. Sure the story may cater to kids more than any other Pixar but that is not a bad thing. It had a simple plot that's a hit or miss for some people and it's dead shot in the middle for me. I think this movie is underrated but it still is a pretty bland movie compared to Pixar's other work. At the end of the day Cars is a solid movie that is just ok not great but not bad. Sometimes a simple movie is good and Cars is one of the good ones. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 12, 2015
Cars, while not quite as an intriguing idea as the other films in the Pixar canon, was pulled off very imaginatively. The storytelling is brilliant, as well as the animation techniques. The only thing that sets this film behind the otherCars, while not quite as an intriguing idea as the other films in the Pixar canon, was pulled off very imaginatively. The storytelling is brilliant, as well as the animation techniques. The only thing that sets this film behind the other Pixar films is the less interesting idea compared to looking at the hidden going-on of toys, bugs, monsters, and fish. Yet, however, you look at it, it almost seems that the people over at Pixar Studios just can't make a stinker. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
48duderobloxDec 27, 2015
Cars was my favourite movie as a kid. This rating is more based on nostalgia, but i still think its a great movie even without loving it at first sight. 10/10 is a good score in my opinion
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Cars may not finish the race to become the best of the Pixar movies, but Cars still race to become a decent and loving movie for your kids and family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Apr 15, 2016
While it isn't as good as the other pixar movies and doesn't have as a good storyline as the others, it still remains a solid movie with a story worth checking out.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DarthAlienJun 1, 2016
Many would consider this film to be one of Pixar's weakest. However, I find that this movie is actually one of the better animated movies. In this movie, its protagonist is emotional unbalanced. With the help of the cars from the small town,Many would consider this film to be one of Pixar's weakest. However, I find that this movie is actually one of the better animated movies. In this movie, its protagonist is emotional unbalanced. With the help of the cars from the small town, he finally gets his emotional state back on track.

One great movie with great animations and visuals. However, if you are not a fan of racing, then you better avoid this movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AfNinoAug 24, 2016
This film gives us a storyline which can work, but executed pretty poorly, giving us an average, dull and overly long film with little to no emotion that a Pixar film usually boasts. Still a good film for the kids with fantastic animation butThis film gives us a storyline which can work, but executed pretty poorly, giving us an average, dull and overly long film with little to no emotion that a Pixar film usually boasts. Still a good film for the kids with fantastic animation but for Pixar's standards, pretty poor. If around 15-20 minutes of the film were cut out maybe the film could've been a bit better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147Jul 13, 2016
Though not the kind of animated classic expected from Pixar, Cars is a solid film with impressive visuals and unique characters, even with its long run-time, lack of plot and humor, and a heavy handed message for viewers.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
superbatSep 18, 2016
Some parts of the film were dull and felt too long, and the story lacked real emotion and was executed pretty badly. It was still a pretty funny movie and it's visuals are great. Overall, Cars is a solid but not a stellar animated flick.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FromPieJun 19, 2017
One of the standards of animation. An excellent story that the hunt is to watch several times. But I would like more serious topics and dialogues. In all ostpnym I liked it, Pixar pleasantly surprised
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Untitled94Aug 4, 2017
This was a pretty great start for a decent series. It was simple, but enjoyable. Had funny moments and some emotional, but not too emotional. Yes, it's a movie about talking vehicles, but it's good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MonkiReviewsMay 27, 2017
My favorite Pixar movie ever. The characters have the charm and comedy needed to make this great. I could watch it again and again. Truly a great movie, it impacted me in a big way, and I truly loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
mrirwinJun 16, 2017
Wonderful movie with great character growth. Surprisingly, the sequels are extremely subpar when compared to the original. i have nothing more to ad. good night!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
QuacksonjaMemeJan 2, 2019
Biggest part of my childhood was this movie. I was opsessed with Lightning Mcqueen. This movie was loved and still is by many people. Definitely my favorite animated movie. The movie has an beautiful story. A rookie race car Lightning McqueenBiggest part of my childhood was this movie. I was opsessed with Lightning Mcqueen. This movie was loved and still is by many people. Definitely my favorite animated movie. The movie has an beautiful story. A rookie race car Lightning Mcqueen finds himself in a small town called Radiator Springs. There he meets Mater,Sally,Doc Hudson,etc. They show him that friendship matters more then trophies and fame.
Pixar did a amaizing job with this movie. Thank you for making my childhood great.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Pixar's "Cars" is a visual masterpiece with a good morale planted within the movie. However, if I am correct that this company was the creator of "Toy Story" and "WALL-E", I expect more.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
9
JeffWJun 10, 2006
In my local paper, they used a review that put Cars at 2.5 stars. From my perspective, it was 4 out of 5. Not on par with Toy Story II or The Incredibles, but the attention to detail and the absolute love and care that is obvious in every In my local paper, they used a review that put Cars at 2.5 stars. From my perspective, it was 4 out of 5. Not on par with Toy Story II or The Incredibles, but the attention to detail and the absolute love and care that is obvious in every rendered frame of this film shows through constantly. The story teaches lessons that are missing in too many films directed at children, like cultivating relationships instead of attention and glory, and remembering that life is more about the cruise than the destination. One last thing... Unlike the review mentioned above, I found the humor plentiful and lush, not barren and dry. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
PatrickW.Jun 9, 2006
Run, don't walk. Okay, speed out and go see Cars. This is almost unbelievably Pixar's best film - it's amazing that they actually could top themselves again. There are only a couple of plot points where you think, "okay, they Run, don't walk. Okay, speed out and go see Cars. This is almost unbelievably Pixar's best film - it's amazing that they actually could top themselves again. There are only a couple of plot points where you think, "okay, they did that because it's a kid's film." Beyond the phenomenal graphics and the amazing storytelling ability, the movie excels in two unexpected ways: * the cameos are hilarious... more than any other Pixar movie, and very appropriate to the subject matter. You'll get them if you're a fan of NASCAR, NBC (sports) or NPR. * they had the most amazing opportunity to sell out... you're doing a NASCAR-styled film... so you could have literally tens of thousands of product placement opportunities on in to the merchandising opportunities... but they don't. Not a single brand in the film is real. And, if you're a fan of Pixar films (or of a certain Cheers star,) be sure you stay into the credits. Self-referential was never so funny. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AtticusJ.Jun 17, 2006
Yikes. Something went horribly wrong here. The CG scenery is pretty, but that can't compensate for the rest: forced voice acting, eye-roll-inducing moralizing, lame jokes, a predictable story arc (gosh, do you suppose the hot-shot Yikes. Something went horribly wrong here. The CG scenery is pretty, but that can't compensate for the rest: forced voice acting, eye-roll-inducing moralizing, lame jokes, a predictable story arc (gosh, do you suppose the hot-shot protagonist will make friends with the small town residents and learn some obvious Life Lessons?) and characters that all have personalities lifted straight from templates in the Big Book of Cartoon Stereotypes. Pixar's The Incredibles, by contrast, proved truly engaging to watch - all that attention to the characters' eccentricities and subliminal tics - and that screenplay was smarter than the spy-thriller/superhero genres it parodied. Where has that smartness gone? If you saw the trailer for Cars and had a negative gut reaction, trust your reaction and steer clear, despite what you know of Pixar. In aiming for the mainstream here, Pixar has sacrificed a large part of what makes its movies magical and unique, and the strange thing is that nobody much seems to have noticed the problem. As for me, I winced a lot and tried as best I could to just enjoy the visuals. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
7
OfficialNov 15, 2013
I thought that "Cars", even at 117 minutes, is slightly overlong. The film is quite dull in places where nothing exciting is happening. The film also lacks a script with some emotion, however, the animation is fabulous. Prepare yourself forI thought that "Cars", even at 117 minutes, is slightly overlong. The film is quite dull in places where nothing exciting is happening. The film also lacks a script with some emotion, however, the animation is fabulous. Prepare yourself for some exciting car-racing scenes! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
AlisonC.Jun 8, 2006
Not quite up to the perfect 10 of the Incredibles, and Toy Story II, but definitly the first great movie of the summer and 10 X better than any of the other animated movies of the last few years. A huge reminder why Pixar is in a class of itself.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
LeeS.Sep 5, 2006
Pixar finally delivers a mediocre product. The story was slow and 100% predictable. If cars and racing aren't your thing, there's not much for you in this movie. My daughters were bored. The visuals were great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
RobH.Jun 9, 2006
Lame, predictable plot and flat characters, but awesome animation and action. As pretty as Incredibles and Finding Nemo, but not nearly as emotionally engaging. You just don't care about the main character.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
voidersApr 26, 2013
Good, fun, simple... Dont have so much to say, just a good movie to watch and laugh.
The script is a criticism to fame and arrogance. Is a right choice to watch with your children.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JPKMar 4, 2018
My Childhood
This Film Has Terrific Animation, Heartwarming Moments, And Exciting Races.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
BlogDog123May 25, 2011
Cars tries desperately to be funny, but most of the jokes tend to fall flat. Also, I'm not quite sure how talking cars would be able to build the ragtag Radiator Springs anyway.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
Look Pixar's Cars is hard to love because you know they are cars, but the film is packed with so much heart it fills you up inside. I give this movie a strong 68%.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
JonS.Jun 29, 2006
American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if American Drivel at it's worst ... I think it's one of the only movies where not only myself but my children wanted to leave the cinema. Boring to say the least and might only appeal to the americans. As others have pointed out, if this is indicitave of what pixar are going to be churning out post-disney buyout then im thinking there is no hope for them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeD.Sep 10, 2006
Wow, what a disappointing bore! There was nothing clever, interesting, new or funny about this movie. (For adults - I'm sure kids will love it, however.)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NF123Aug 25, 2010
Pixar are known for intelligence and among the best in there field so it's mystifying why they made this. It's not awful but it doesn't even come close to the standard which they've set and normally achieve. Fart jokes don't belong in a PixarPixar are known for intelligence and among the best in there field so it's mystifying why they made this. It's not awful but it doesn't even come close to the standard which they've set and normally achieve. Fart jokes don't belong in a Pixar film and that alone should deter you from this quite depressing film, also the charachters are far below standard as is the story. Pixar have completely redeemed themselves and have created some of the best films ever made but while I've forgiven them, I will never forget this slip up Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TetsuoJul 25, 2011
I know why it's considered Pixar's weakest flick. The animation is beautiful as always and like the design of the vehicles, the big drawback is that the plot is unoriginal as it takes plot threads from Doc Hollywood and Days of Thunder.I know why it's considered Pixar's weakest flick. The animation is beautiful as always and like the design of the vehicles, the big drawback is that the plot is unoriginal as it takes plot threads from Doc Hollywood and Days of Thunder. Another thing is that the characters are underdeveloped not even the voices of Owen Wilson, Paul Newman, George Carlin and the stereotypical redneck Larry the Cable Guy can save this from being a snooze fest. What really killed it from winning an Oscar for Best Animated Feature was the soundtrack (which includes Rascal Flatt's butchering rendition of Tom Cochrane's Life Is A Highway) and the merchandise including video games, toys books and those Mater shorts including the one where he battles against Japanese drifters which was shown before Bolt. It's almost as though Pixar thought made so many good films and need a weak one to even it out.
Those who loved Pixar from the beginning may have to skip it or give it a rental. It may entertain kids, but anybody over 12 might feel alienated.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
The animation is flashy but the story is as dull as any other animated movie. There was nothing that was special about this movie, the characters were forgettable, the scenes uninspired and the inner message falls flat. Cars is not bad but IThe animation is flashy but the story is as dull as any other animated movie. There was nothing that was special about this movie, the characters were forgettable, the scenes uninspired and the inner message falls flat. Cars is not bad but I rank it the lowest of all Pixar animations. Pass on this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SimbahhAug 7, 2011
WOAH WOAH WOAH . How can the movie cars recieve a lower review then Ratatouille ? That movie was not only a waste of time but had no base no moral , My kids were asking to go home or to the mall it was a COMPLETE waste of time. Who caresWOAH WOAH WOAH . How can the movie cars recieve a lower review then Ratatouille ? That movie was not only a waste of time but had no base no moral , My kids were asking to go home or to the mall it was a COMPLETE waste of time. Who cares about a Rat that can cook pullling a mans hair ? The commercial Was a 10/10 but the movie was a full blown 1 . Cars is a great movie , i see nothing wrong in it. And im the one whos a picky movie chooser. Walle put me to sleep yet people raved about it. In my opinion critics are still upset about the cars talking , build a bridge get over it .If full grown adults have a problem with lions ants monsters cars or anything talking in pixar movies , Quit watchin em . This movie is one of the best pixar movies to date. If you wanna complain about a movie that sucks , watch cars 2. But cars 1 by no means is a incomplete movie etc. Its very well put together etc. My opinion and I Really dont care what anyone has to say bout it. It is a 100 / 100 for me and many others. Good day haters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicJun 30, 2012
Cars is an okay movie, but the sequel is a mess. I'm not a fan of the merchandise they have so far and quite possibly the most overrated movie in Pixar's 17-year run. Although it can't match the success of the Toy Story series, Finding Nemo,Cars is an okay movie, but the sequel is a mess. I'm not a fan of the merchandise they have so far and quite possibly the most overrated movie in Pixar's 17-year run. Although it can't match the success of the Toy Story series, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, or Monsters, Inc., but it has a lot of great racing action and a slew of characters like Lightning McQueen and Mater. Well, probably I'll rent the movie, but I hope Pixar could make a better Cars movie or else I'll stay home watching Toy Story 3. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
The premise is just dead on arrival. Really? Cars? That isn't an idea for a Pixar movie that's an idea for a second rate PC game to teach kids about the importance of sharing. In fact, everything about Cars feels second-rate. The story isThe premise is just dead on arrival. Really? Cars? That isn't an idea for a Pixar movie that's an idea for a second rate PC game to teach kids about the importance of sharing. In fact, everything about Cars feels second-rate. The story is surprisingly unimaginative and cliched, which I wouldn't mind so much if Pixar had done it well. But they didn't. Cars doesn't have the same touch that other Pixar movies did. It isn't as original as Toy Story. It isn't as well animated as The Incredibles. It isn't as touching as Finding Nemo. It isn't as inventive as Monsters, Inc. Cars feels like a lazy effort to ride on the coattails of The Incredibles and other Pixar movies. The drama is recycled, and surprisingly shallow, the animation is average by standards, and the comedy... don't even get me started. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Pixar has finally screwed up. The near perfection at making movie for children and adults falls flat. Cars seems to be appealing to only kids with massive stupidity everywhere. Lets just hope Pixar can find its magic again next year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GagaForGhibliMay 28, 2012
One Of The Most Uncreative Movies Of All Time!
My 5 Year Old Sister Could Of Though Of Talking Cars..
Very Very Overated! Movies Like This Make Me Mad That Noone In The USA Knows What Studio Ghibli Is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
anshimanDec 23, 2012
Although Cars is packed with visual stunners, it features a formulaic, bored plot that defines the slow death and decline of Pixar from films like 'Toy Story' and 'The Incredibles' to 'Brave' and 'Cars 2'.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 9, 2012
A Pixar first in that the story is nowhere near as good as the animation. It certainly is not bad, but it is the first Pixar film that is not outstanding.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
The black sheep of Pixar films. Still...a quality movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TTWRApr 25, 2013
This movie is just a ripoff of Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends, and even then Thomas was realistic and was way better this piece of crap. The fact that a superstar gets stuck in a lone, western city is very cliche. This not a good movie,This movie is just a ripoff of Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends, and even then Thomas was realistic and was way better this piece of crap. The fact that a superstar gets stuck in a lone, western city is very cliche. This not a good movie, no matter what the audience is. 5/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AmongstYouAug 26, 2013
Cars is formulaic and boring. Hardly clever and stumbles in parts you'd think it succeed in.
Though, it's not terrible. It plays it safe just enough to only be mediocre, rather than awful. Besides... Cars 2 showed us that things could get far worse.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MovieGuysMar 26, 2014
Even when I was at the age range to like this movie, I thought it was tedious, painful to watch, and very unsatisfying. Anything that you want to happen doesn't. It's like the opposite of a feel-good movie.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
joao1198pedroOct 31, 2013
after greatest films finnaly the pixar animation studios got wrong with this medium film,i was expecting a lot this film,but it didn't made anything good for the company.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Pixar rides in another victory.
Cars is entertaining and fun with less story as its creators previous work. Lightning McQueen and the bunch find moments of emotion, but mainly just a fun flick.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
f3l1p3Sep 11, 2014
"Carros" nunca me atraiu tanto. Ele é um filme mediano que tem uma história também mediana. É um filme assistível,mas que pode ser passado direto por outros filmes da Pixar.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
It’s a testament to the ludicrously high standards Pixar has set itself that Cars can be considered in any way a disappointment. It leaves the CG output of every other studio choking in its spectacularly rendered dust, yet somehow, somewhereIt’s a testament to the ludicrously high standards Pixar has set itself that Cars can be considered in any way a disappointment. It leaves the CG output of every other studio choking in its spectacularly rendered dust, yet somehow, somewhere in this well-oiled, staggeringly beautiful machine somebody has omitted a small but crucial cog. It just doesn’t quite run with the smooth hum of fun we’ve come to expect of history’s greatest animation house.

There is no question that Cars is Pixar’s greatest visual achievement. Those geniuses chez Lightyear have long recognised that the best computer animation is not obsessed with realism but detail (just look at the sinister Polar Express to see how off-putting it can be when that balance is out of whack). Everything in Cars is clearly of a bulbous, shiny cartoon world, but is so exquisitely crafted that the reflection off the hood of a speeding racer or the neon miasma bathing a midnight town is almost enough to make you openly weep in the cinema. There is not a single flaw on the face of this film; it’s like Angelina Jolie with hubcaps.

Pretty visuals are only part of what we’ve come to expect of the Pixar experience, though. As a piece of storytelling, Cars sometimes has a sluggishness that is all the more surprising considering it’s directed by animation god John Lasseter, back behind the wheel for the first time since Toy Story 2. With a core message about getting out of the fast lane and enjoying the slow scenic route, it’s a story designed for a middle-aged man, not a sugar-fuelled pre-teen for whom the fast lane is never fast enough — and like any middle-aged man, it’s carrying a little excess flab.

It starts lean and energetic. The opening, featuring cocksure racer Lightning McQueen whizzing around the track, is a breakneck action sequence that could sit happily in any live-action film. In animation, editing and pacing it is near flawless, and one of the most exciting scenes of the summer. So when a later motorway mishap lands McQueen in the derelict town of Radiator Springs, where the most spectacular auto is an emotionally unstable fire engine and a day when holidaying people-carriers pop through is considered eventful, it’s hard not to yearn for the heady roar of the race track.

It’s not that McQueen’s cohorts in the town are dull; it’s just that they’re not especially funny. With the possible exception of rustbucket tow-truck Mater, it’s unlikely you’ll remember any of them after the closing credits in the same way you do such incidental characters as Toy Story’s Rex, mini-Incredible Jack-Jack or that stoned surfer turtle from Finding Nemo. Pixar without funny is like Disney without animal sidekicks or Miyazaki without that bit you didn’t really understand but still kinda liked — it’s recognisable, but it just feels off.

In contrast with the film’s message, Radiator Springs is a nice place to hang out for a while, but you wouldn’t want to live there. Which makes it a great relief when the movie’s ending turns out to be such a humdinger. Bringing the slow and fast lanes together in glorious fashion, it makes sense of the movie’s duller sections and uses them to invest the action with emotion. It’s a finale so full of joy, imagination and technical brilliance that you forgive Lasseter the previous storytelling flaws and, teamed with what might be the greatest Pixar credits gag to date, means you’ll leave the movie on a petrol-induced high.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
moviemaniacsMar 6, 2016
With “Cars,” Pixar’s enviable streak of creative triumphs comes to a skidding stop. Despite representing another impressive technical achievement, it’s the least visually interesting of the computer-animation boutique’s movies, and — in anWith “Cars,” Pixar’s enviable streak of creative triumphs comes to a skidding stop. Despite representing another impressive technical achievement, it’s the least visually interesting of the computer-animation boutique’s movies, and — in an ironic twist for a story about auto racing — drifts slowly through its semi-arid midsection. Periodic bursts of cleverness brighten the festivities, but they’re too few and far between, and the trademark humor that appeals to adults and kids often misfires. Pic should still possess plenty of G-rated horsepower commercially, but falls short of being the coming-out party Disney doubtless hoped for to showcase its Pixar acquisition.

John Lasseter, Pixar’s leading creative force, is a self-proclaimed car enthusiast, and this marks his first directing effort since 1999’s “Toy Story 2” — preceded by “A Bug’s Life” and the original Buzz-Woody team-up. (Joe Ranft, his co-director, died last year after completing work on the film.)

Yet passion for the project notwithstanding, Lasseter discovers there are only so many car puns he and five other credited writers can exhaust. And while adults might chuckle over pop-culture references to, say, funny-car “Jay Limo,” both they and many kids will grow antsy after an introductory racing sequence.

That race introduces Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson), a brash racecar with a lone-wolf attitude. Lightning eschews hiring a crew chief, and his competition against the surly Chick Hicks (Michael Keaton) and veteran legend the King (racer Richard Petty) sets up a showdown in California a week hence. As a sign of his go-it-alone mentality, Lightning balks at trying to drum up enough friends to fill the 20 tickets allotted him.

Heading cross-country, Lightning inadvertently winds up marooned in the moribund Route 66 town of Radiator Springs, where his daredevil antics run afoul of the local judge, Doc Hudson (Paul Newman). As punishment, Lightning is forced to repave the town’s decrepit road — a task he pursues with reluctance, given his goal of reaching California to win the Piston Cup.

Bypassed by Interstate 40, Radiator Springs features the usual assortment of colorful characters, in an all-car cast that includes an attractive Porsche, Sally (Bonnie Hunt); the slightly addled tow truck Mater (Larry the Cable Guy); and a half-baked van that runs on “organic fuels,” appropriately voiced by George Carlin. The question is how long it will take for Lightning to revive the town, while simultaneously learning the meaning of friendship.

Alas, “too long” is the answer, and barring the boisterous antics of blue-collar comic Larry, there’s not much to make the time speed by. Granted, there are amusing sight gags involving the local bugs (in keeping with the automotive theme, Volkswagens with wings) and “tractor tipping,” but like Lightning himself, the action simply keeps running out of gas.

Even Randy Newman’s score isn’t particularly distinguished, or too frequently gets drowned out by the sound of roaring tires. Nor will the racing sequences galvanize those who aren’t NASCAR fans, despite an astounding display of computer-generated wizardry and detail — from the car-filled stadiums down to the little grooves on the track.

Still, nothing here approaches the undersea wonder of “Finding Nemo,” the childlike inspiration behind “Monsters Inc.” or the excitement and sly wit of “The Incredibles” — a high standard, admittedly, but the expectation bar against which all Pixar ventures inevitably will be judged.

Where “Cars” works best, frankly, might be in oiling the synergistic wheels of the Disney-Pixar marriage — offering the enticing prospect of theme park tie-ins, battery-powered toys and other assorted merchandising.

Ultimately, however, those benefits are only maximized if the movie delivers, and while the inventive closing-credit animation should send patrons out smiling, that breezy detour arrives at the end of a dusty, near-two-hour ride.

Pixar’s run of hits has been nothing short of amazing, rivaling Disney’s early animated classics. Yet after assembling its version of the magnificent six, the company has settled for at best a so-so seventh.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DanBurritoSep 10, 2015
NOTE: OK, for some reason the site currently publishes all of my reviews as 0/10. I actually rated it a six, so please ignore the rating.This is by no means a bad movie but it's Pixar's weakest. I liked the character of Mater and the ideas inNOTE: OK, for some reason the site currently publishes all of my reviews as 0/10. I actually rated it a six, so please ignore the rating.This is by no means a bad movie but it's Pixar's weakest. I liked the character of Mater and the ideas in the movie are really clever but it goes on for too long and eventually you start wishing it was a bit shorter. Nevertheless, it's a visually dazzling and inventive film with fun characters though very young children may be a bit bored. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac1994Jan 4, 2016
The day will eventually come when the golden run will stall. Six hit movies out of six is a record just gagging to fall victim to the law of averages. But with Pixar chief Lasseter at the wheel of Cars, what could possibly go wrong?

Well,
The day will eventually come when the golden run will stall. Six hit movies out of six is a record just gagging to fall victim to the law of averages. But with Pixar chief Lasseter at the wheel of Cars, what could possibly go wrong?

Well, it's not a classic. But neither is it the flop being gloated over in surlier circles. With Pixar so far ahead of the other players in the animation game, its movies can only really be judged in comparison to the rest of its output. As a technical achievement, Cars is peerless. But in terms of story and character, it falls short of the breath-catching emotional starburst of Finding Nemo or the knockabout poignancy of Toy Story 2. Nor does it quite ping with that instant-classic vibe of The Incredibles or Monsters, Inc. Instead, it hovers somewhere just above A Bug's Life: fun but flawed; slick but sappy.

As ever, it's a world full of typical Pixar ingenuity: the cars, from the sleekest speed demon to crappiest old truck, are alive and the team has faithfully crafted an environment for the characters. Witness Radiator Springs, a chunk of smalltown Ameri-car-na stuck in the middle of a desert backwater. Back when Route 66 was the main thoroughfare across the States, it was a bustling town. Now, while its locals have tried to keep the place going, it's dying from a lack of trade.

When racer Lightning McQueen (Wilson) literally crashes into town, they initially see him as an annoying and painful symbol of the world that has bypassed them. It's a fertile touchstone for character design, and the Radiator residents add to Pixar's ever-growing roster. Lightning is your regulation Hero With A Journey, but the town's citizens are a loveable - if a little stereotypical - mix, crackling with soul and personality. Even throwaway elements such as the tiny Volkswagen bugs are crafted with style and heart to spare.

But it's the visuals that really sing - with eye-zapping flair and groundbreaking detail close up and lurking in every seemingly irrelevant corner. There are more ideas and mini-ideas on screen in one frame here than in the whole of lesser animated efforts (repeat viewing of Madagascar, anyone?). Chrome sparkles, hoods dazzle, light and speed-sensitive reflections bounce off each other. The environments are so finely crafted, there are times when they feel almost photo-realistic, with character motion seeming strangely overlaid, Bedknobs And Broomsticks-style.

That trickiest of animation touches - melding emotion to the imagery - is mostly bang-on. The racetrack introduction to Lightning and his rivals perfectly nails the primal thrill of the race and pumps a thrusting, seat-shaking pace into the early minutes. In a completely different way, our first look at Radiator Springs is a measured lesson in how to present a multitude of quietly desperate but good-humoured characters. Everything feels organic and unforced.

But the problem starts when Lasseter and his writers slam on the brakes to divert Cars down a reflective and dewy-eyed elegy to Route 66, America of the past and the '50s/'60s golden age of motoring. Unusually for a Pixar movie, the pace slows to a crawl, and while indulging a passion for the rickety-wheeled wonders and worthy ideals of yesteryear is one thing, force-feeding it to an audience who expects a kooky movie with talking motors is another. It's here where Cars slips over into culturally specific nostalgia and jarring melancholy.

For once, it feels like a team whose mantra famously insists that story is king has settled for one or two pedestrian plot beats. Whereas the likes of Finding Nemo and Monsters, Inc took well-used tropes and gave them an elegant, intelligent, uniquely Pixar twist, a burgeoning romance between McQueen and motel-owning convertible Sally (Hunt) feels a little factory-preset, and the buddy banter between Mater and McQueen is nowhere near as fresh or feisty as Dory/Marlin, Sulley/Mike, Buzz/Woody???

And while, say, Monsters' finale is based around a mould-breaking, visually spectacular chase, Cars closes on an inevitable face-off which, for all of its onscreen heat, makes for an ending that's as frustrating as it is satisfying.

Still, while not everything here is as envelope-shoving as the standards set by previous efforts, when Cars hits top gear, it's still universal, unstoppable entertainment for all ages. Business as usual, then...

Amazing bodywork, but one or two duff parts under the hood... It's still a wild ride, just not as smooth as Pixar usually demands.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEdJan 6, 2016
It’s a testament to the ludicrously high standards Pixar has set itself that Cars can be considered in any way a disappointment. It leaves the CG output of every other studio choking in its spectacularly rendered dust, yet somehow, somewhereIt’s a testament to the ludicrously high standards Pixar has set itself that Cars can be considered in any way a disappointment. It leaves the CG output of every other studio choking in its spectacularly rendered dust, yet somehow, somewhere in this well-oiled, staggeringly beautiful machine somebody has omitted a small but crucial cog. It just doesn’t quite run with the smooth hum of fun we’ve come to expect of history’s greatest animation house.

There is no question that Cars is Pixar’s greatest visual achievement. Those geniuses chez Lightyear have long recognised that the best computer animation is not obsessed with realism but detail (just look at the sinister Polar Express to see how off-putting it can be when that balance is out of whack). Everything in Cars is clearly of a bulbous, shiny cartoon world, but is so exquisitely crafted that the reflection off the hood of a speeding racer or the neon miasma bathing a midnight town is almost enough to make you openly weep in the cinema. There is not a single flaw on the face of this film; it’s like Angelina Jolie with hubcaps.

Pretty visuals are only part of what we’ve come to expect of the Pixar experience, though. As a piece of storytelling, Cars sometimes has a sluggishness that is all the more surprising considering it’s directed by animation god John Lasseter, back behind the wheel for the first time since Toy Story 2. With a core message about getting out of the fast lane and enjoying the slow scenic route, it’s a story designed for a middle-aged man, not a sugar-fuelled pre-teen for whom the fast lane is never fast enough — and like any middle-aged man, it’s carrying a little excess flab.

It starts lean and energetic. The opening, featuring cocksure racer Lightning McQueen whizzing around the track, is a breakneck action sequence that could sit happily in any live-action film. In animation, editing and pacing it is near flawless, and one of the most exciting scenes of the summer. So when a later motorway mishap lands McQueen in the derelict town of Radiator Springs, where the most spectacular auto is an emotionally unstable fire engine and a day when holidaying people-carriers pop through is considered eventful, it’s hard not to yearn for the heady roar of the race track.

It’s not that McQueen’s cohorts in the town are dull; it’s just that they’re not especially funny. With the possible exception of rustbucket tow-truck Mater, it’s unlikely you’ll remember any of them after the closing credits in the same way you do such incidental characters as Toy Story’s Rex, mini-Incredible Jack-Jack or that stoned surfer turtle from Finding Nemo. Pixar without funny is like Disney without animal sidekicks or Miyazaki without that bit you didn’t really understand but still kinda liked — it’s recognisable, but it just feels off.

In contrast with the film’s message, Radiator Springs is a nice place to hang out for a while, but you wouldn’t want to live there. Which makes it a great relief when the movie’s ending turns out to be such a humdinger. Bringing the slow and fast lanes together in glorious fashion, it makes sense of the movie’s duller sections and uses them to invest the action with emotion. It’s a finale so full of joy, imagination and technical brilliance that you forgive Lasseter the previous storytelling flaws and, teamed with what might be the greatest Pixar credits gag to date, means you’ll leave the movie on a petrol-induced high.

Judged against previous form, this is not Pixar firing on all cylinders, lacking the sophisticated comedy we’ve come to expect.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tdickensheetsFeb 19, 2016
Cars was good movie.

Cars is better then Cars 2.

I have the DVD.

Same people who made Toy Story.

I like Toy Story too.

You need speed.

Do you want race or lay back?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
reviewfrom19842Oct 5, 2016
A okay movie but a week Pixar movie.

Pros: the ending is amazing and some of the charters are likeable

Cons: the main charter is a douche and the story is really chicle
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoelW.Jun 9, 2006
Another great Pixar feature. Better than A Bugs Life, inferior to Finding Nemo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AshesJun 9, 2006
Leave it to Disney to release a kiddie propoganda movie as Global Warming is really heating up. Yeah, way to go. Humanize our unnecessary demise and celebrate backwards thinking. All of that aside, the movie is actually quite good. I just Leave it to Disney to release a kiddie propoganda movie as Global Warming is really heating up. Yeah, way to go. Humanize our unnecessary demise and celebrate backwards thinking. All of that aside, the movie is actually quite good. I just have trouble with the timing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnH.Jul 3, 2006
The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding down-hill, in music, TV broadcasts, and in movies. But the sort of crap I would call American drivel is the The Jon S. before me suggested the movie was typical "American Drivel". He has got it completely wrong. American "culture" IS riding down-hill, in music, TV broadcasts, and in movies. But the sort of crap I would call American drivel is the stream of cheap, dumb comedies released every week. Theaters are flooded in sequels to Scary Movies, Garfield Movies, Adam Sandler Movies, and computer animated trash like Doogal and Over the Hedge. This movie was better written than all of the above, truly funny and clever. The typical Disney happy endings and abundant morals get somewhat tiresome for a 15 year old like myself, but my Mom enjoyed Cars even more than I did! It may not quite measure up to the Incredibles (which I consider one of my favorite 10 movies), but Pixar has done worse before (A Bug's Life). It defies the trend of recent comedies sucking, and could never be called "American Drivel". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HexenM.Aug 7, 2007
This movie reminds me of why route 66 is in need of so much repair.This movie also is great children of all ages.Cars makes you think of good Cars. I also like the story. Like a 1948 Tucker the movie runs together nicely and is custom all This movie reminds me of why route 66 is in need of so much repair.This movie also is great children of all ages.Cars makes you think of good Cars. I also like the story. Like a 1948 Tucker the movie runs together nicely and is custom all the way. I really enjoyed cars even for a Teen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Ld.Sep 29, 2007
Good but compared to the others not great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BMNov 7, 2006
I intentionally missed the cinema release of 'Cars' because I was concerned about the length. Now I regret not seeing it in it's big screen glory. However, watching this movie in comfort, and at my own pace, is a magical I intentionally missed the cinema release of 'Cars' because I was concerned about the length. Now I regret not seeing it in it's big screen glory. However, watching this movie in comfort, and at my own pace, is a magical pleasure. This really is another Pixar marvel. And like the other Pixars, this will stand up to many, many repeat viewings. My 11 year old daughter and her two year old brother were transfixed, and quite frankly, so was I. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeithB.Jun 11, 2006
While not the best movie I've seen, its definitely up on the list of those of my favorites. As a car guy, I loved the attention to detail, and all the hidden things that the average person probably wouldn't notice. Also, pay While not the best movie I've seen, its definitely up on the list of those of my favorites. As a car guy, I loved the attention to detail, and all the hidden things that the average person probably wouldn't notice. Also, pay attention during the credits, and following them for some more fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyC.Jun 11, 2006
Cars continues the Pixar tradition of humoring us in the details, e.g. the "incescts" that are really miniature vw bugs with tiny wings. There is alot to love in this movie - the voice acting is tremendous and they definately matched the Cars continues the Pixar tradition of humoring us in the details, e.g. the "incescts" that are really miniature vw bugs with tiny wings. There is alot to love in this movie - the voice acting is tremendous and they definately matched the cars well with the actors. The story itself is heartwarming and tugs at your heartstrings in certain parts (like when no one shows up to their "Welcome to Radiator Springs I-40" party) Honestly, I don't see what else could have been done to make this movie better. Sure, its not a Finding Nemo or Toy Story II, but it is still - BY FAR - the best computer animated movie which has come out this year. Go see it, you will not be dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJun 11, 2006
Simply put. Pixar at it's best. Seeing a pixar film once again directer by John Lasseter is a joy. And what better way to say good bye to an old Pixar friend(Joe Ranft) then this? He will be greatly missed. It has that Bug's Life Simply put. Pixar at it's best. Seeing a pixar film once again directer by John Lasseter is a joy. And what better way to say good bye to an old Pixar friend(Joe Ranft) then this? He will be greatly missed. It has that Bug's Life feel to it. Everything you love about Pixar is here. The voices go well with the charecters. And the music is just beautyfull. It is nice to Hear Randy Newman's score once again grace a Pixar film. It is an Instant classic. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricY.Jun 11, 2006
I took my girlfriend to see this movie at the Route 66 Drive-in in Carthage, Missouri. It was the first time that she had ever been to a drive-in movie and it was interesting that the movie was set on Route 66 while we were watching it on I took my girlfriend to see this movie at the Route 66 Drive-in in Carthage, Missouri. It was the first time that she had ever been to a drive-in movie and it was interesting that the movie was set on Route 66 while we were watching it on Route 66. We both thought that the movie was funny. I enjoy the computer animation and we both like it better than Finding Nemo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RogerT.Jun 10, 2006
I was quite entertained. THere is a lot in thhis movie that bears a second viewing, especailly around the edges.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Jun 7, 2006
Loved it! This is undeniably the best animated movie since "The Incredibles." Pixar's animators do not fail you in a movie which could only be considered eye candy. NASCAR fans will love the authentic feel of race scenes. Stay through Loved it! This is undeniably the best animated movie since "The Incredibles." Pixar's animators do not fail you in a movie which could only be considered eye candy. NASCAR fans will love the authentic feel of race scenes. Stay through the credits, as some of the best scenes are found there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DerekB.Jun 7, 2006
Certainly not the best Pixar film, but certainly enough to keep the company as kings of animation. Even when Pixar isn't quite on the ball they are a million times better than Shrek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Jun 9, 2006
If you are looking for flaws you will have a hard time finding them in this movie. Not only was it hilarious, but also moving with a good moral underlining. This is the hardest thing to do with animated movies but Cars accomplished this feat If you are looking for flaws you will have a hard time finding them in this movie. Not only was it hilarious, but also moving with a good moral underlining. This is the hardest thing to do with animated movies but Cars accomplished this feat no problem. The characters were distinctively alive. In comparison to Toy Story, Monsters Inc, and The Incredibles, it was just as good if not better because you really feel for the Characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WayzieW.Jun 9, 2006
It's difficult to empathize with a cocky plastic red race car. The storyline is very predictible and while the twists and turns are scenic, the movie feels a bit like taking grandma for a drive -- you have to be sure to stay on the main It's difficult to empathize with a cocky plastic red race car. The storyline is very predictible and while the twists and turns are scenic, the movie feels a bit like taking grandma for a drive -- you have to be sure to stay on the main roads so as not to jostle her. It ends up being a familiar trip and halfway through you'll wish you were on a roadtrip with a cooler and more off-beat group of people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdrianoC.Jul 3, 2006
It may be the worst Pixar film, but it's still dazzling - the landscapes are mesmerizing - and it has a wonderful climax at the final race. The result is a movie at least pretty entertaining. And that's fine by me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KurtC.Jul 3, 2006
If you like Pixar, you will not be disappointed. Cars has a great, thoughtful storyline, a ton of humor, amazing visuals, and superb voice-overs. If not for some of the overly cheezy music selections, this movie would be a 10. Cars comes If you like Pixar, you will not be disappointed. Cars has a great, thoughtful storyline, a ton of humor, amazing visuals, and superb voice-overs. If not for some of the overly cheezy music selections, this movie would be a 10. Cars comes highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicholasdAug 5, 2006
Cars is a great movie it had gerat animation great comedy and is it is a nascar type movie and if your a nascar fan your iike it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattS.Apr 7, 2007
I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie Pixar has made that has been truly average. Up to this point, PIxar's movies have been comedic I was very sad after this movie ended, not because of the movie's plot, but rather the fact that this movie represents the first movie Pixar has made that has been truly average. Up to this point, PIxar's movies have been comedic adventures, keeping the film rolling from place to place and never trapping us in one local. Cars is entirely different - the first fifteen minutes promise a cross-country romp, but instead we soon find our favorite red racecar trapped in a small desert town. He tries to escape, again and again, and who can blame him? As is usually the case with small towns, it is incredibly boring - but as if also often the case with small towns, it is a great place to moralize. As a result, Cars quickly runs out of gas, and becomes a good-looking but so-so entry into a field of computer animated films that is already becoming oversaturated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackB.Aug 23, 2007
A good movie with great animation, but a little boring in some parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicholasDJul 15, 2009
Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SammathS.Nov 21, 2006
I think this a very funny,very brilliant movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
billyb.Dec 6, 2006
I feel that pixar is just trying to make movie after movie that has no originality from the last boring, petty joke film that they have made. And this film is a good example of that. come one pixar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZackSOct 27, 2006
I thought this movie was good... But not the best. I would not recommend anyone to buy this for a gift. Even though I am an adult I do not want my kids to really watch this movie. Also, that
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KyleM.Jun 11, 2006
A good movie; see it with the kids or if you're a motorhead: you'll appreciate some of the throwaway jokes. Heh heh... let's just hope it gets some of the kiddies into musclecars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RonS.Jun 10, 2006
Good graphics as expected from Pixar but no plot and quite boring story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GrantS.Jun 10, 2006
Pixar's first real lemon. Undeniably astounding visuals, but a very tired and ultimately unentertaining ride. Please let this not be a harbinger of things to come under new ownership.
0 of 0 users found this helpful