Netflix | Release Date: November 17, 2017
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 157 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
20
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RatedRexNov 18, 2017
I'm not sure what the producers sought to achieve with a movie like this. It is too moody and sorrowful to be entertaining. It is a racially based story that is too often told (in one form or another), to be profound. And the series ofI'm not sure what the producers sought to achieve with a movie like this. It is too moody and sorrowful to be entertaining. It is a racially based story that is too often told (in one form or another), to be profound. And the series of events, leading up to the climax, are too unrealistic to be taken seriously. I wanted to like this movie. I truly did. I want to see Dee Rees be the first black woman to get nominated for Best Director. I want to see "Mudbound" get nominated for Best Picture. But it is going to be a tough call. I thought most of the performances were good, especially Rob Morgan as Hap Jackson and Carey Mulligan as Laura McAllan. However, Dee Rees' insistence on having the actors speak in back-woods, Mississippi, dialect sometimes made it difficult to understand what the actors were saying. Caption is a must! If I am honest with myself, I will have to admit that I didn't really like "Mudbound." Yet, I still recommend it (barely). Because I still think that it has enough redeeming qualities to be worthy of your 2 hours. Give it a chance and decide for yourself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 18, 2017
“Mudbound” is a film based on the novel by Hillary Jordan about life in the post World War II deep south and how two families, one white and one African American, cope with the Jim Crow environment which surrounds and, in fact, dominates“Mudbound” is a film based on the novel by Hillary Jordan about life in the post World War II deep south and how two families, one white and one African American, cope with the Jim Crow environment which surrounds and, in fact, dominates them. This is a powerful film extremely well acted by Carey Mulligan, Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan and Mary J. Bilge performing in a screenplay co-written by the film’s director, Dee Rees and her co-writer, Virgil Williams. More than anything else, this film educates and informs the innocent and unknowing of what life was like for the poor white farmer, the sharecropper and those whose hate and fear of a minority brought about the perpetuation of hostile and immoral values and conduct. I give this film an 8.0 rating with a strong recommendation that it be seen by all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
katezoeDec 1, 2017
Amazing and sad movie about racism in America. The film starts slowly and then builds to a breaking point. Superb acting by the entire cast. Beautiful cinematography. One of the best films of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticFeb 11, 2018
Mudbound creates several threads which are all handled with great care. The dynamic of World War II and the racism of the south create a backdrop for a story about two families that deal from the effects of both. Performances are all greatMudbound creates several threads which are all handled with great care. The dynamic of World War II and the racism of the south create a backdrop for a story about two families that deal from the effects of both. Performances are all great and this is a film that should get recognition. A Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 18, 2017
I felt as though this film was well-intended and had many poignant moments and things to say about race relations. However, I also felt as though most of it was all played out relatively pedestrian and didn't cover too much new. TheI felt as though this film was well-intended and had many poignant moments and things to say about race relations. However, I also felt as though most of it was all played out relatively pedestrian and didn't cover too much new. The performances from all involved were all very committed and strong. Jason Clarke, Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, and especially Jason Mitchell all turned in top-notch performances. I also took particular notice of how well and impressive the cinematography was often times. Overall, it's not without its redeeming qualities, such as the powerful acting, cinematography, and messages it conveyed, but I was personally hoping for a little bit more in terms of a big impact. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
marklaing1Feb 23, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely got better towards the end. Didn't have me quite on the edge of my seat like Three Billboards but then 3 Bills didn't nearly have me in tears. My wife and I were both confused as to whether Ronsel was killed at the end. Was it a dream sequence in Germany? It looked like the mom had him laid out and was cleaning his lifeless body and Ronsel was inert, motionless. He didn't appear to be breathing. But a wonderful, depressing and moving. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
asenguptaDec 25, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely astonished by all the negative reviews on here. This is a new American classic, directed incisively by a Black woman. I've seen very few movies about racial violence that spend this much time and effort building the lives of all the players. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BowsleyCrotherNov 21, 2017
Puts you into the situation of two families on a 200 acre farm in rural Mississippi in the segregated South of the 1940s. The white family owns the land and the black family works it share cropping. Both are up against Nature and all theyPuts you into the situation of two families on a 200 acre farm in rural Mississippi in the segregated South of the 1940s. The white family owns the land and the black family works it share cropping. Both are up against Nature and all they have is their own labor, hopeful that they can make it. This is not a polemical film but it does show how social relationships in the segregated South Effected outcomes.
It gives you a taste of what would happen if white power were to become dominant here again as current alt-right groups advocate. You are on the edge of your seat hoping that the good people in the film will succeed in overcoming each obstacle they encounter. Each.characterhas their own truth to share with you.
A great film to take your teenage son or daughter to.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LeoSoolNov 21, 2017
Mudboun is the best movie in the world. A great film to the world. “Mudbound” is a film based on the novel by Hillary Jordan about life in the post World War II deep south and how two families, one white and one African American, cope withMudboun is the best movie in the world. A great film to the world. “Mudbound” is a film based on the novel by Hillary Jordan about life in the post World War II deep south and how two families, one white and one African American, cope with the Jim Crow environment which surrounds and, in fact, dominates them. This is a powerful film extremely well acted by Carey Mulligan, Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan and Mary J. Bilge performing in a screenplay co-written by the film’s director, Dee Rees and her co-writer, Virgil Williams. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Dynastie86Dec 19, 2017
I was so blown away by "Mudbound" that I had to see it twice in one night when it debuted in limited theaters. The entire cast is phenomenal and Dee Rees deserves to be the first African American woman nominated for Best Director at theI was so blown away by "Mudbound" that I had to see it twice in one night when it debuted in limited theaters. The entire cast is phenomenal and Dee Rees deserves to be the first African American woman nominated for Best Director at the Oscars! Kudos to Rachel Morrison as well for her exquisite cinematography as well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
David_HMar 7, 2018
This would be a useful movie if you enjoy being horrified and deeply depressed upon viewing a movie. I know there are critics who keep saying "we need to remind people of the darker parts of our history..." Okay but seriously how many decadesThis would be a useful movie if you enjoy being horrified and deeply depressed upon viewing a movie. I know there are critics who keep saying "we need to remind people of the darker parts of our history..." Okay but seriously how many decades into the 21st century do we need to keep throwing ugly racism onto theater screens? I would argue that continuing to do so is not helpful to race relations.
If I had to say one redeeming thing about it, i'll admit that the performances by Carey Mulligan and Mary J. Blige were both quite good, given the depressing screenplay they were handed.
Unfortunately it was such a downer I would not recommend to to any family or friends.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
netflicMar 19, 2018
This movie is about life in America's South in the forties, before the War and after. The story focuses on two families, one white, the other black.

They work and live off the same land. The film is about hatred, racism, friendship, and also
This movie is about life in America's South in the forties, before the War and after. The story focuses on two families, one white, the other black.

They work and live off the same land. The film is about hatred, racism, friendship, and also about how the war changed the world and this country.

As its name suggests, the movie is grim, the life is hard and unfair.
You can think of mud as a dark side of a human nature.

The film was a bit slow in the beginning and uneven at times but overall came out quite powerful and even somewhat hopeful at the end.

I wish there was less narration behind the scene. Acting was very good across the board.

The movie was nominated for several Oscars.

Available on Netflix.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BeastJ18Apr 23, 2018
Fantastic acting and writing, however very inconsistent on a filmmaking level. Moving and gut-wrenching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
halllllooMar 18, 2018
Eine Geschichte die interessante Ansätze hat, diese jedoch erst sehr spät in der Story relevant werden. Die Zeit bis dahin (ungefähr die ersten 90 Minuten) wird einfach nur erzählt, wie die Menschen leben und was sie tun. Es gibt in diesemEine Geschichte die interessante Ansätze hat, diese jedoch erst sehr spät in der Story relevant werden. Die Zeit bis dahin (ungefähr die ersten 90 Minuten) wird einfach nur erzählt, wie die Menschen leben und was sie tun. Es gibt in diesem Abschnitt keine Höhepunkte und man kann in keinen Moment richtig mit einem der Charaktere mitfühlen, da die Story einfach nur monoton hintereinander erzählt wird. Die letzte halbe Stunde ist dann wesentlich besser und nutz das Potenzial des vorangegangenen Aufbau der Geschichte gut aus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JabboMar 7, 2018
Important movie, but completely unenjoyable to watch. This is not entertainment, but purgatory. If you have a strong ability to tolerate seeing misery on the screen, you may like this. I did not, and wish I hadn't seen it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jcgaffney6Mar 13, 2018
Mudbound is as gut-wrenching as it is brilliant. A perfect narrative to capture farm life before, during, and after World War II from a myriad of perspectives. Mudbound shows the rascal hypocrisy of Southern life during this time period in aMudbound is as gut-wrenching as it is brilliant. A perfect narrative to capture farm life before, during, and after World War II from a myriad of perspectives. Mudbound shows the rascal hypocrisy of Southern life during this time period in a way that feels new- and even more heart breaking. The two hour long movie will fly by. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews