Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 21, 2011
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
51
Negative:
53
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
HfahmyOct 31, 2011
Non serious adaptation of the classic three musketeers tale as if the only goal of the movie is to fully exploit 3D effects. Acting is just to cash, over-exagerated personal fight power and intelligence of the three musketeers,Non serious adaptation of the classic three musketeers tale as if the only goal of the movie is to fully exploit 3D effects. Acting is just to cash, over-exagerated personal fight power and intelligence of the three musketeers, under-estimation of the enemies as if they are dummies. Characters are drawn as if it is a satiric or kiddy movie. Anyhow, perfect 3D, that 's the only entertainment, and it is worth it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Sir_BrandonOct 27, 2011
The famous, familiar saying of â
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
EvanduqOct 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Three Musketeers is slightly above average. I saw the 2-D version and figure that the 3-D version would have been worth it for the fights and some of the creative shots. The special effects and the few "big name" actors were really what helped this movie pass. The execution of the plot was fairly mechanical, and whatever love story there was really felt just kind of tacked on for standard stakes raising purposes. That said, this movie has one of the most spectacular (though not too dramatic) impaling scenes I've seen yet. And what happened after the false ending is pretty reminiscent of what happened after Paul and Mila's 3-D adventure from last year. Just wait for rental if all you care to see is the 2-D version. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
scrieciuOct 21, 2011
'' The Three Musketeers '' is like a weird combination of '' Pirates of the Caribbean '' and '' Sherlock Holmes '' (2009). It has that same kind of style. Everything was rubbish. The actors looked ridiculous. Logan Lerman (as D'Artagnan)'' The Three Musketeers '' is like a weird combination of '' Pirates of the Caribbean '' and '' Sherlock Holmes '' (2009). It has that same kind of style. Everything was rubbish. The actors looked ridiculous. Logan Lerman (as D'Artagnan) doesn't looked good with long hair. I wish that Orlando Bloom was given more screen time. Yet, I didn't really cared about his character. At one point, I completely forgotten about him, until he showed up again. Milla Jovovich's character (Milady de Winter) was annoying. This is a very average movie in my opinion, because there are a lot of bad and good elements. There's almost no boring parts whatsoever. None-stop action, epic sword fights, great escapes. I though that the boats in the air were cool. But the dialogue is mediocre, the characters were disappointing, the story is cliche. I don't feel giving this movie a higher rating just because of the action. In general, it's actually an enjoyable movie, if you ignore the bad aspects that I mentioned. It depends how you visualise the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharFeb 20, 2012
Paul W. S. Anderson's adaption of The Three Musketeers may amuse u with the Views of France and Effects but with a worst script it will wast ur time as well. Anderson's Direction was good in those fight scenes but there was so many things hePaul W. S. Anderson's adaption of The Three Musketeers may amuse u with the Views of France and Effects but with a worst script it will wast ur time as well. Anderson's Direction was good in those fight scenes but there was so many things he could have done. The story didn't have much Musketeers going on and it was covered with some ridiculous characters and theirs silly behaviors .. Matthew Macfadyen. Ray Stevenson and Luke Evans was good but Matthew seemed a bit of . Logan Lerman did better then i thought as D'Artagnan but there were more actors who could be a lot better. Milla Jovovich was not best for her role but she did good & as well as Bloom. The king & Queen part was the wost . overall The Three Musketeers is a very weak movie with some great views and Sword Fighting .
[Started with a score of 70% ,Midway was 50 and ended with a score of 15 [in the scale of 100]
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesFeb 4, 2013
The actors are all into their characters and they do a fine job throughout. The production values, the sets, locations, costumes are all great. Unfortunately, the script was sub par. I wish the story would have held my attention more.The actors are all into their characters and they do a fine job throughout. The production values, the sets, locations, costumes are all great. Unfortunately, the script was sub par. I wish the story would have held my attention more. Disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hollyvNov 18, 2011
Some of the visual effects are very pretty, but everything about this movie is otherwise a little "meh-". Actors and acting just a bit off,dialogue a little tedious, story treatment a bit lame. This is a classic example of a movie thatSome of the visual effects are very pretty, but everything about this movie is otherwise a little "meh-". Actors and acting just a bit off,dialogue a little tedious, story treatment a bit lame. This is a classic example of a movie that could have been great, but chose a gentleman's C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rafael14Feb 11, 2012
The Three Musketeers is a good movie that brings a good story to see the simple fact of bringing good actors and actors who are beginning to be recognized now that is Logan Lerman. The only bad detail are some action scenes that are bad planned
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Movie2talkaboutOct 29, 2011
Disappointment to fans of the original Musketeers movie. Not the least bit enthralling. Indubitably a TV movie. Lost meaning of 'One for all and all for one'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LunapupMar 25, 2012
I was looking forward to this movie however I thought it was a mediocre version of the 1993 version. I was mildly entertained. It lacked humor. The action was ok the visuals were very good although a little to computerized for my taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
zendoaJun 13, 2012
Given that there are multiple prior versions to this film, on the plus side I can say that the set design, wardrobe, special effects and choreography are all fair improvements. The casting was excellent as well except for the lead playingGiven that there are multiple prior versions to this film, on the plus side I can say that the set design, wardrobe, special effects and choreography are all fair improvements. The casting was excellent as well except for the lead playing D'Artagnan whose bravado fell short of the target alongside his acting chops, or lack thereof. On the down side - stealing lines from several other films that include The Princess Bride as well as Disney's version (with Chris O'Donnell) of The Three Musketeers doesn't help the poorly scripted dialogue. Fortunately for the writers, the remaining strong cast of actors/actresses manage to make up for the lack of creativity and eloquence. Another negative is the lack of artistic liberty taken from the original story as well as the acceptable, but boring and antiquated soundtrack. Never the less I feel that this movie definitely deserves a look for those who enjoy films with swordplay and/or quasi-fictional period pieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SwatiMar 17, 2013
I had high hopes from it. Apart from a few funny scenes, the movie fell apart. The plot was extremely ridiculous. Very disappointing. They chose to go for cheap gimmickry instead of real substance. The CGI alone couldn't hold the movie together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ag10Jan 12, 2013
The Three Musketeers was a good bit of fun. I thought the movie had plenty of moments in which we can be thrilled by the action scenes and it had some very good uses of 3D. It is unusual and despite following the original story, it had aThe Three Musketeers was a good bit of fun. I thought the movie had plenty of moments in which we can be thrilled by the action scenes and it had some very good uses of 3D. It is unusual and despite following the original story, it had a unique sense to it (With the plot changes etc.) Some moments felt quite rushed and unrealistic and it didn't deliver as well as the classic Musketeers movie, but nevertheless it is quite enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews