• Network: Disney+
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2022
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 114
  2. Negative: 29 out of 114
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 25, 2022
    6
    It is a good series and looks like everyone in it are doing they best, but even as a person that have almost seen all that Star Wars have to offer in Movies and TV this series i just not for me. Just feels like it way to slow for my taste.
  2. Sep 29, 2022
    4
    THICK BRITISH ACCENTS IN; HOUSE OF DRAGON, RINGS OF POWER. NEW GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF..lol and now Star Wars...epic fail Andor. I was rooting for you. Feels uncomfortable and I don't enjoy the show. To make it worse Dedra is dressed like someone from Lord of The Rings! Stop mixing universes!!! We're not in 3rd grade anymore.

    Why do we need this in an AMERICAN show!?? Cassian's and Luthens
    THICK BRITISH ACCENTS IN; HOUSE OF DRAGON, RINGS OF POWER. NEW GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF..lol and now Star Wars...epic fail Andor. I was rooting for you. Feels uncomfortable and I don't enjoy the show. To make it worse Dedra is dressed like someone from Lord of The Rings! Stop mixing universes!!! We're not in 3rd grade anymore.

    Why do we need this in an AMERICAN show!?? Cassian's and Luthens accents work great because they have an obscureness while remaining unique AND I love the actress.Denuse Gough..but Dedra or anyone on Coruscant reminded me of INGRID from Game of Thrones. Technically I think Asha Greyjoy has the same exact accent. Pulls me right out of the show. I waited all week for this!!!??? No thanks. It's too much. Too many accents all at once. Where are the alien accents/languages and droids? THAT is Star Wars-creating languages and accents with INTENTION.

    Also it's not in line with the accents of the empire in the movies. It's just too much and doesn't work here!!! Sorry Andor I was rooting for you!!! but I just can't feel connected to something that feels so OFF and OUT OF PLACE. The "seven" should have been Androids and Aliens too. That would have helped make it feel more like Star Wars..then maybe I could have overlooked the accents. I liked the dark and unique approach to Star Wars here but it feels less and less like Star Wars...also...Coruscant should be more like Rome than Korea or New York 2050 in the games Coruscant had a rustic and open feel. Coruscant felt gigantic in The Old Republic felt kind of small here with Disney at the helm. Can we hire the designers of Old Republic here? THAT felt right.
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    I love it. If you love rogue one this is the show for you. Great show. Cant wait for the next episode
  4. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    Очень годный сериал. Наконец-то что-то по вселенной ЗВ цепляет именно историей, а не фансервисом.
  5. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    Andor is a blast of fresh air that feels very similar to reading a best in class Star Wars novel. Full of world building and dynamic performances, this flavor of Star Wars brings stories to a new audience in a new tone that is more akin to an "HBO Drama" than a classic Star Wars tale. That may be unappealing to some, but for me this is continuing to scratch an itch I was didn't even know I had!
  6. Sep 25, 2022
    10
    This show is something new and fresh. The best Star Wars content since Rogue One. Amazing job and this is how it is done!
  7. Sep 25, 2022
    10
    After the first 3 episodes, this might just be my favorite thing to come out in the Star Wars universe. I don't understand how people can depict this show as boring. I guess it's boring if you lack the ability to remain focused and require nonstop clichéd action events. This show is properly building a world of it's own in the Star Wars universe and I'm all for it.
  8. Sep 21, 2022
    9
    Finally! Disney has done a terrible job on recent releases and I was considering canceling our disney plus subscription. Andor has great acting and a much better star wars feel than a gang of multicolored scooter gang. The only reason for a 9 is I believe they could have combined the first 3 episodes and it would have been a great pilot to the series
  9. Sep 21, 2022
    9
    Finally a Star Wars show not designed for Kids and young Adults! The people saying its boring are idiots as this is more about world building and character development than lightsaber and space battles. The show is dark and reminds me of Blade Runner from Ridley Scott so if your into that cyberpunk type of atmosphere with no jedi's but back alley thievery and great atmosphere this is theFinally a Star Wars show not designed for Kids and young Adults! The people saying its boring are idiots as this is more about world building and character development than lightsaber and space battles. The show is dark and reminds me of Blade Runner from Ridley Scott so if your into that cyberpunk type of atmosphere with no jedi's but back alley thievery and great atmosphere this is the show for you! Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    So far delivers a new and much needed Star Wars experience: more adult, gritty, realistic and serious, taking its time to establish characters and the foundation for the rest of the plot and season. A fresh look on the other sides of the Star Wars universe, away from the sparkling Jedi, good vs evil and the dark side towards the ordinary people of the galaxy and their hardships caused bySo far delivers a new and much needed Star Wars experience: more adult, gritty, realistic and serious, taking its time to establish characters and the foundation for the rest of the plot and season. A fresh look on the other sides of the Star Wars universe, away from the sparkling Jedi, good vs evil and the dark side towards the ordinary people of the galaxy and their hardships caused by the Empire, ultimately leading to the formation of the Rebellion. The first three episodes should be regarded as one chapter, and I suggest watching them all in one go (they're only around 35 mins each). Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    Yes, Yes, Yes! Finally a Star Wars series for adults!

    By that I mean that pacing, story and focus is much more reminiscent of a mix between the first three movies (Ep. IV-VI), a splash of Blade runner and a little Alien. There are relatable, endearing and warm characters instead of cute, funny or silly ones. You have actual adult human interactions, with a much wider range of emotions
    Yes, Yes, Yes! Finally a Star Wars series for adults!

    By that I mean that pacing, story and focus is much more reminiscent of a mix between the first three movies (Ep. IV-VI), a splash of Blade runner and a little Alien. There are relatable, endearing and warm characters instead of cute, funny or silly ones. You have actual adult human interactions, with a much wider range of emotions than in previous Star Wars series (The Mandalorian coming the closest). I recently stopped watching Obi-Wan, thinking that -again- the sugar content is way to high and the whole thing geared to a completely different audience. With Andor Disney presents something new - and old, and real, and good. I hope they succeed to find an sufficiently large audience for continued forays in this direction - I am certainly one of them.

    A 10 in this bizarre time of grading. Not compared to the mass of cinema history - but compared with Star Wars experiences.
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    I have a feeling this show will be much better than expected. The first three episodes are slow, but delivered what many of us were asking for- better writing, deeper character development, better plot, etc. Cassian Andor is a great character and Diego picks up right were he left off. The rest of the cast does great. The action and effects are solid and actually assist in the story, theyI have a feeling this show will be much better than expected. The first three episodes are slow, but delivered what many of us were asking for- better writing, deeper character development, better plot, etc. Cassian Andor is a great character and Diego picks up right were he left off. The rest of the cast does great. The action and effects are solid and actually assist in the story, they don't take center stage. Here's to Disney not blowing this one. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2022
    8
    So far this show is very good. The world feels alive. It’s a little slow but I thought the slow build up was fine. Pretty excited to see the rest of this show. Might be the best Star Wars content released since Rogue One.
  14. Sep 21, 2022
    10
    It's a very good show, loved the cyberpunk atmosphere. Disney finally made a more adult star wars series.
  15. Sep 22, 2022
    8
    Off to an excellent start. Understand why there’s 12 episodes and they released 3 at once. The nonlinear storytelling of how he ended up with his adopted mother, how he was recruited, and building up his wanted level was perfectly shown in these 3 episodes

    Starting in a brothel, and then Cassian shooting a cop in the face while he begs for his life. Definitely a somewhat different feel
    Off to an excellent start. Understand why there’s 12 episodes and they released 3 at once. The nonlinear storytelling of how he ended up with his adopted mother, how he was recruited, and building up his wanted level was perfectly shown in these 3 episodes

    Starting in a brothel, and then Cassian shooting a cop in the face while he begs for his life. Definitely a somewhat different feel to your usual Star Wars lol. I'm loving the tone of this show

    Naturally you got the review bombers, but they're just salty that Sex is now officially Canon to Star Wars, meaning they can no longer relate to it
    Expand
  16. Sep 21, 2022
    9
    If you are looking for traditional star wars show this is not it. This is a gritty slow character drama, where loss, oppression, and martial control are major themes. Their will be no winning. No jokes, no powerful heroes. Underdogs fighting a losing battle with no hope of winning.
  17. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    Finally a SW show that takes itself seriously! Loving it so far. No lame Marvel humor either
  18. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    This is the first Star Wars TV show that I didn't feel like was drowned in fan service and cameos. It is a unique story with amazing production value. I cannot wait for more.
  19. Sep 26, 2022
    10
    I love how it all starts, dark, serious, oppressive. Its really a great show and finally a Star Wars series for adults. Amazing start.
  20. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    Really slow!
    Andor is really slow. That's why they made three episodes available. But after three episodes I am still not hooked. They did not set up the main characters and storylines properly and that is why I don't care what happens to them.
    Disney does not know how to do episodic TV. This is only a long movie chopped up into smaller pieces. Yes, it looks nice and there are some neat
    Really slow!
    Andor is really slow. That's why they made three episodes available. But after three episodes I am still not hooked. They did not set up the main characters and storylines properly and that is why I don't care what happens to them.
    Disney does not know how to do episodic TV. This is only a long movie chopped up into smaller pieces.
    Yes, it looks nice and there are some neat ideas. And yes, it's better than Kenobi. But that's not saying much and so far this is a failure. I won't continue my subscription.
    And he fight in the factory is not well done. The badness of the fight reminded me of Kenobi.
    Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2022
    8
    It's like they said, the best Star Wars live action series so far.
    I only watched the first episode but I felt a wonderful energy, the photography is just beautiful.
    I think until the 3rd episode my opinion will remain the same!
    cassian andor you saved lives. (literally)
  22. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    Fantastic serious SW show. Finally SW for adults....not the juvenile humor and inconsistent plots we've been getting so far. Love it
  23. Sep 21, 2022
    8
    Amazing first episode. No, there wasn't a whole lot of action, but it wasn't needed! The characters were well written and it was beautifully shot. I've been burned by star wars series before *cough* (BOBA FETT) *cough*, but so far this series is headed in the RIGHT direction!
  24. Sep 21, 2022
    2
    Positives: finally a star wars show doing something different. The tone is a departure from the norm and much more serious.

    Negatives: it is boring
  25. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    Very dull and drawn out
    History will not look upon this series with the species connect of other Disney originals. In fact when we asses the series we can sum up the series as long and drawn out. Very very little taking place in each episode and yet at the same time not enough character development for one to properly enjoy this show as Disney wanted. Is it time for the Star Wars name to
    Very dull and drawn out
    History will not look upon this series with the species connect of other Disney originals. In fact when we asses the series we can sum up the series as long and drawn out. Very very little taking place in each episode and yet at the same time not enough character development for one to properly enjoy this show as Disney wanted. Is it time for the Star Wars name to be put into hibernation for a while? I think so with more and more Disney noise than the name was ever intended for. Much like Star Trek the spider web has grown too big for the spiders that do inhabit the land to which they live in..
    Expand
  26. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    I could tell 10 minutes in that the writing was quality. Just some really darn good dialogue that felt clever and well thought out. The setting is quality too. The pacing is also much to my liking. It certainly feels slow but I like that. TV is so fast paced these days, it's refreshing to have a chance to digest what they are giving to us. I am also not feeling desperate to watch the nextI could tell 10 minutes in that the writing was quality. Just some really darn good dialogue that felt clever and well thought out. The setting is quality too. The pacing is also much to my liking. It certainly feels slow but I like that. TV is so fast paced these days, it's refreshing to have a chance to digest what they are giving to us. I am also not feeling desperate to watch the next episode, which is a good thing. after watching an episode, I feel satisfied and content. I will certainly watch the next episode, but not because I have to, because I want to. Expand
  27. Sep 21, 2022
    4
    It looks good but thats it.
    I watched all 3 episods and i cant remember much.
    Disney cant write good stories anymore...
  28. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    Garbage
    I'm very happy for people that are liking this show. After the first episode I thought, nah thanks! But then realised that there is more. So decided to watch the second one as well. To me this show is non-sensical JJ Abrams mystery box inspired script. The first episode should grab you with excitement. Sadly it didn't do it to me. After the meeting be of the second episode I
    Garbage
    I'm very happy for people that are liking this show. After the first episode I thought, nah thanks! But then realised that there is more. So decided to watch the second one as well. To me this show is non-sensical JJ Abrams mystery box inspired script. The first episode should grab you with excitement. Sadly it didn't do it to me. After the meeting be of the second episode I turned off my tv. I'm not looking forward to watch this any longer. I enjoyed Rogue One, but this doesn't have the same feel. It looks better than Boba Fett for sure, but visuals are no longer enough to excuse a poor script with no passion nor hope for future episodes.
    Expand
  29. Sep 21, 2022
    4
    I found it very weak, I like things that hold me to the screen. Can improve
  30. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh
    So I've just finished watching the first 3 episode and it's meh, cinematography isn't great wich in my opinion was necessary for such a cult sci-fi franchise like star wars, the acting is ok, the casting was obviously ideologically driven as in they probably selected some actors more based on their ethno-cultural background rather than actual talent. The story so far is just ok wich isn't great for such a franchise, it feels like any other tv show, there's also apparent woke agitprop since part of the story so far is about evil white people unsustainably exploiting ressources on foreign world at the expense of native indigenous non white (the bad guys are white, the good guys are POC with female leaders). I'm not sure I'll watch next episode unless I hear it got interesting, so far it have been a slow start with not much action going on until the end od episode 3.
    Expand
  31. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    Boring and typical Disney garbage. The actors are also completely unlikable. Avoid this trash!
  32. Sep 24, 2022
    5
    The first Star Wars series that has entertained me halfway so far, because well written and without wanting to be a marvel imitation. But Andor also adheres to this Disney and the series is unfortunately not really well produced. Bad CGI, bad supporting actors and bad design. Somehow it seems junk like the other series. Disney should slowly learn to produce pure adult content. Andor isThe first Star Wars series that has entertained me halfway so far, because well written and without wanting to be a marvel imitation. But Andor also adheres to this Disney and the series is unfortunately not really well produced. Bad CGI, bad supporting actors and bad design. Somehow it seems junk like the other series. Disney should slowly learn to produce pure adult content. Andor is still a good move Expand
  33. Sep 22, 2022
    7
    Slow but intriguing. The more grounded tone is welcomed, and I think the story has potential. It's nice for a change not to rely on nostalgia to get attention.
  34. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    Andor is a 'Tony Gilroy's' joint. If you do not know what I mean, he is the writer behind the BOurne Trilogy and many other 'moody, character oriented' thrillers. He brought his sensibility to the Star Wars Universe and brought it to a grounded level. No lightsabers, space battles.....dialogue and characters and by the third episode, a kick ass, realistic set piece that is probably theAndor is a 'Tony Gilroy's' joint. If you do not know what I mean, he is the writer behind the BOurne Trilogy and many other 'moody, character oriented' thrillers. He brought his sensibility to the Star Wars Universe and brought it to a grounded level. No lightsabers, space battles.....dialogue and characters and by the third episode, a kick ass, realistic set piece that is probably the best I've seen in the Star Wars Disney+ era. Star Wars fans may be miffed by this, but this is the opposite of what Mandalorian is. That is an ode to the past, and a kick ass series to boot. This is a more mature, Star Wars and a bold new direction. I like it. Expand
  35. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A never ending rebellion
    The rebellion at Disney will never end... Actually, these opening parts only reinforced my idea that this movie is like Rogue One. The story that no one wanted or needed.
    The characters are also very boring and unfortunately completely uninteresting. Even Daisy Ridley's Rey character has remained more enduring...But there were also problems, not small ones... I didn't think that with a Star Wars story, after the first 7 minutes, I had to look at my watch to see how much time was left in the episode.
    Those who liked Disney's previous works will surely like this one. However, for those who liked Lucas' works and the best series of recent years (The Mandalorian), I don't think this will be a permanent work for them in the long run.
    Expand
  36. Sep 23, 2022
    3
    It was not terrible, like most of the other things Disney did to Star Wars was. But damn, is it boring.
  37. Sep 22, 2022
    4
    It has potential, but so far it's been very boring and bland. Waiting to see if it gets better.
  38. Sep 21, 2022
    0
    Painfully slow and bland
    Not a single imaginative or inventive character, alien, location, ship or droid. Could easily cut 20 mins out of the first 3 episodes. Incompetent office who shouts at his subordinates like the sequels, with no subtlety at all.
    Shaky cam in the action scenes, which aren't particularly exciting either. OK, the aim was to be a more 'adult tone', but does that mean
    Painfully slow and bland
    Not a single imaginative or inventive character, alien, location, ship or droid. Could easily cut 20 mins out of the first 3 episodes. Incompetent office who shouts at his subordinates like the sequels, with no subtlety at all.
    Shaky cam in the action scenes, which aren't particularly exciting either.
    OK, the aim was to be a more 'adult tone', but does that mean it has to be bland? Where are the iconic lines of dialogue that people are going to quote?
    In the space of 90 minutes of 'content' there isn't a single line that people will remember. Being bland is not how Star Wars became a massive franchise
    I heard this described as the side salad to a side salad, and that about sums it up.
    Expand
  39. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    Slow Wars - An Andor Story
    Andor is literally the most boring Start Wars i have ever watched, and its such a shame as i was looking forward to it. Ive just sat here and watch 3 episodes, and i honestly can't see me bothering with any more. To say the pacing is slow, is understatement. The main character goes to a place, has a conversation, then goes to another place and does the same.
    Slow Wars - An Andor Story
    Andor is literally the most boring Start Wars i have ever watched, and its such a shame as i was looking forward to it. Ive just sat here and watch 3 episodes, and i honestly can't see me bothering with any more. To say the pacing is slow, is understatement. The main character goes to a place, has a conversation, then goes to another place and does the same. Very little else happens of any significance until the last 10 minuets of episode 3. With some decent editing, you could easily combine 120 minuets (3 episodes) into 30 minuets of story. In edition to the slow pace, the acting and casting choices seem questionable at best. Some actors are wooden, where as others are hamming it up to the max. The only real positive i can add us that the CGI and sets look good, but thats about it. Such a shame to start on such a low for what could have been a promising series,
    Expand
  40. Sep 29, 2022
    0
    Boring, it looks good but that's not enough, disney continues with putting current politics into its series and movies, they could do much better than this, it's a shame to see how they mistreat the star wars trilogy with your mediocre deliveries, I'm sorry but disney sucks and star wars is dead to me.
  41. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    The corporation keeps spamming the wall hoping something sticks.
    Disney corporation keeps putting out series and movies under the premise that more is better but it is tiresome and quality pays dearly. This show is less childish than the rest but it is still a "family" thing like all things streaming these days.
    It also feels a disservice to all fans of Star Wars out there, when they
    The corporation keeps spamming the wall hoping something sticks.
    Disney corporation keeps putting out series and movies under the premise that more is better but it is tiresome and quality pays dearly. This show is less childish than the rest but it is still a "family" thing like all things streaming these days.
    It also feels a disservice to all fans of Star Wars out there, when they think they can produce great stories and products with so little attention and promptness. Movies and series take dedication, creativity and artistic inspiration, but for Disney it's all about getting the next thing out there as soon as possible. Put some diverse characters all over the place, buy positive reviews and call it a day.
    Expand
  42. Sep 22, 2022
    7
    Hated everything since Return of the Jedi. At last a script that doesn't insult someone with a normal IQ and or over the age of 15. They blatantly copy Blade Runner but better this than the Mandalorian and its tedious space cowboy show. That said, there are still plenty of clichés. If you get past those, you'll have a good time.
  43. Oct 2, 2022
    3
    Well this series is another flop. So boring many forgot about the fourth episode even being released. While many are still trying to cope and suggest that it is just getting started, they apparently do not realize that every THREE episodes is supposed to be a self-contained story according to the showrunner. So it failed the first story arc, and that is always the best they have toWell this series is another flop. So boring many forgot about the fourth episode even being released. While many are still trying to cope and suggest that it is just getting started, they apparently do not realize that every THREE episodes is supposed to be a self-contained story according to the showrunner. So it failed the first story arc, and that is always the best they have to offer. I expect that over the next few episodes they will just go over the top with action and dystopian ideals being passed off as heroic, as they have already been suggesting (aka typical Disney writing). Expand
  44. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    I admit, I put a 10 for all those 0s because it's "too slow". WTF. Can we not enjoy something which isn't an epilepsy inducing action extravaganza for the "give me my immediate reward"-people. Can't we for once absorb ourselves in a world with a more steady pace.

    It's not a 10. It's solid though, especially for a Disney+ show. Hard to say if the whole season will deliver, but those 3
    I admit, I put a 10 for all those 0s because it's "too slow". WTF. Can we not enjoy something which isn't an epilepsy inducing action extravaganza for the "give me my immediate reward"-people. Can't we for once absorb ourselves in a world with a more steady pace.

    It's not a 10. It's solid though, especially for a Disney+ show. Hard to say if the whole season will deliver, but those 3 episodes were, in my opinion, a pretty good start to set a new show. I like that they take the time to build up characters, relationships and the world around them. Nice to have some slow paced TV for a change. So far I like the show more than Obi-Wan and BoBF.
    Expand
  45. Sep 29, 2022
    10
    So far (almost) perfect and the best series in the Star Wars universe, in my opinion. A fresh approach, with relatable and cohesive story, believable characters, and well placed references (mostly subtle) to the Rogue One and Star Wars movies. If you expect a lot of action, you will be disappointed, though. I think there was only a single action sequence in the first four episodes ;-).
    If
    So far (almost) perfect and the best series in the Star Wars universe, in my opinion. A fresh approach, with relatable and cohesive story, believable characters, and well placed references (mostly subtle) to the Rogue One and Star Wars movies. If you expect a lot of action, you will be disappointed, though. I think there was only a single action sequence in the first four episodes ;-).
    If you in a mood for a less superficial look at the birth of the rebellion, you should give it a go. You may like it even if you are not a Star Wars fan.
    Expand
  46. Sep 30, 2022
    10
    A very nice and unexpected surprise. Especially after many disappointing Star Wars movies and series. The production value, world building, character exposition and writing quality are much better than anything I've seen in years. (In the Star Wars universe) Disney : Please do more of that.
  47. Oct 5, 2022
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I appreciate that this show works with real scenery and more focussed on characters. But man... this show is boring. Even more a waste of time then Kenobi or Book Of Boba. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Shirley Li
    Sep 30, 2022
    92
    A show that’s more concerned with portraying life under an oppressive system than with inspiring awe, Andor is an unusually mature entry in the Star Wars franchise. It’s a confident and sophisticated drama that asks for—and rewards—a grown-up kind of patience.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Sep 30, 2022
    67
    Creator Tony Gilroy is best known for Michael Clayton, but so far this series feels more like his Bourne Legacy, another franchise offshoot where the ambient world-building is more exciting than the main characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Carol Midgley
    Sep 22, 2022
    60
    It is a darker, more grown-up approach, although it is slow. Actually, in the first two episodes it's too slow. Diego Luna, reprising his role as the brooding, narky Cassian Andor, is the charismatic fulcrum to this story.