Pokemon Sun Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 912 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Using Pokemon Bank, you'll be able to transfer Pokemon you've caught in the Nintendo 3DS Virtual Console versions of Pokemon Red, Pokemon Blue, and Pokemon Yellow into your copy of Pokemon Sun or Pokemon Moon. Pokemon from Pokemon Omega Ruby, Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, Pokemon X, and Pokemon YUsing Pokemon Bank, you'll be able to transfer Pokemon you've caught in the Nintendo 3DS Virtual Console versions of Pokemon Red, Pokemon Blue, and Pokemon Yellow into your copy of Pokemon Sun or Pokemon Moon. Pokemon from Pokemon Omega Ruby, Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, Pokemon X, and Pokemon Y can also be brought into Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon in the same way. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Sun/Moon - New Pokemon Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 87
  2. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Apr 8, 2017
    100
    Pokémon Sun and Moon make terrific changes the twenty-year-old formula, allowing new fans and returning ones back into the series with a wonderful lively and colourful world. It's just a little too easy for us who have been here from the start - but it's easy to forgot that when you're having such a blast.
  2. Dec 7, 2016
    95
    By taking the well known tried and reliable recipe of the old games, tweaking some of the original ideas and adding a few new ones, Game Freak delivered the best Pokemon game we've seen in years.
  3. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    A couple technical issues aside, Sun/Moon might be the best Pokémon game yet. It freshens up a formula some of us PokéManics might not have realized was growing stale until now. Trials and Grand Trials provide variations on familiar gameplay, and the removal of HMs and telling players how effective their moves are rejuvenates battling.
  4. Nov 16, 2016
    90
    Sun and Moon are the biggest changes that the core Pokemon series has ever attempted. Removing gyms, Hidden Machines (HMs), and altering original Pocket Monsters was a huge gamble – and all of it has paid off. Honoring the franchise’s past while looking to the future must have been a difficult ideal for Nintendo and The Pokemon Company to nail down, but the end result of this undertaking is a pair of lovingly-crafted, must-haves for fans new and old. Truly, this is the celebration of Pokemon that gamers have been waiting for.
  5. Dec 1, 2016
    90
    These new games take things previously thought to be untouchable elements of the Pokemon experience and turns them on their heads, delivering a completely unique experience from its predecessors.
  6. 85
    Overall, Pokemon Sun and Moon take two generational steps forward, but also take one step back. Small new intricacies like battle enhancements and a refined presentation vastly improve the moment-to-moment experience of playing Pokemon. However, a sparse catalog of new Pokemon, shallow end game, and lack of launch Pokemon Bank support hold the titles back from being truly exceptional.
  7. Nov 18, 2016
    60
    It is not the blow-away game of 2016, nor does it seem to have the staying power of Ruby and Sapphire, but it’s enjoyable. Pokémon games are their own beasts, and hopefully Sun and Moon is a show of further changes and things to come for the franchise.

See all 91 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 187
  1. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    Pokemon Sun shines brighter than any predecessor in the Pokemon franchise. The graphics are fresh and lush. The story is entertaining. AbovePokemon Sun shines brighter than any predecessor in the Pokemon franchise. The graphics are fresh and lush. The story is entertaining. Above all, it's the most lively Pokemon adventure yet. Expand
  2. May 20, 2018
    10
    It's been enough time for the reviews to this game to be fair and balanced and as such I gotta say: this is the best generation in the seriesIt's been enough time for the reviews to this game to be fair and balanced and as such I gotta say: this is the best generation in the series and would be the games if not for its enhanced versions existing. Alolan Forms, the massive revolution that is was finally replacing gyms and hms... not to mention z-moves, both fun to look at while also balanced and helpful to the metagame in a way you'd never expect such additions to be. I truly loved those games as a pokemon fan and a player. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2018
    10
    This game was a great change of pace from the usual pokemon. The change of pace with no gyms was welcoming and the story was fun with some ofThis game was a great change of pace from the usual pokemon. The change of pace with no gyms was welcoming and the story was fun with some of the most interesting characters in any pokemon. I played this game for almost 200 hours and I enjoyed every one of them. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2016
    8
    It's a good Pokemon and great way to Celebrate it's 20th Anniversary. However there a few things that could've been expanded upon or improved.It's a good Pokemon and great way to Celebrate it's 20th Anniversary. However there a few things that could've been expanded upon or improved. Somethings that used to be in Gen 6 have been removed, which doesn't ruin the game in a big way but it does make you wish they stayed or were improved. There isn't too much new Pokemon but overall they're interesting pretty cool. The story is predictable and cheesy but overall it's tolerable and pretty great. Somethings are a chore however, the cutscenes sometimes feel like they go longer than 1 minute and the tutorials take so long to finish ( I'm over exaggerating but it feels like forever.) Oh yea Rotomdex is pretty annoying, it's cool at first but it just never shuts up lol.

    Overall this a pretty good game, some things I wish could've been improved but I got my money's worth and I'm actually enjoying the game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright, I already wrote a review for Pokemon Sun and Moon, however, I originally gave them a 6/10. I thought they were pretty decent games, but also took huge missteps as well. Well, as you can clearly see, I'm writing a second review. Overall, looking back on the 2 games, I have to say...

    My opinions on this game have shifted for the better. I suppose I just needed to adjust a bit. Don't misinterpret what I'm saying; I don't think they're perfect now, I have just grown more fond of them. Anyhow, I'm not here to be an ass-kisser, I'll keep this review as objective as possible.

    I'll start with what I liked. Firstly, I thought the Pokemon designs in the game were, for the most part, very good. There are exceptions, of course (*glares at Dhelmise*), but on the whole, I liked them. Hopefully they can keep this up.

    Another thing I though was very interesting were the Alolan forms of the older Pokemon. I liked the idea that certain Pokemon have to adapt to different regions and areas. Most of their designs were very good as well, with the only exception being Dugtrio, but I can't say that its original design was all that mesmerizing either.

    The soundtrack has grown on me as well. I originally thought it was quite sub-par, however, it has gotten better the more I listened to it. I especially like Guzma's, Lusamine's, Red's/Blue's, The Elite Four's, and the League Title Defense's themes. The credits theme is pretty damn good too... except for the amateurish vocals.

    The graphics in the game are damn good as well. The 3D Pokemon models look astonishingly good, the environments look very pleasant, an they overall appear less "Gamey," as I said in my previous review. I WILL mention one issue some folks came across, and that is the framerate. I won't lie- I was playing on the new 3DS, and the only time I encountered slowdown was during double battles. If you have a new 3DS, the framerate shouldn't be too much of an issue, but if you have a standard 3DS, you should probably be wary of this when you think about purchasing these games.

    All of that is really good, but the thing that REALLY changed my mind on the semi-negative rating...

    Was the story. I honestly didn't expect my opinion to shift as much as it did, but the more I thought about it, the better it became.

    The story in this game is easily one of the best, if not THE best, story in the entire series, only rivaled by Black and White. I am SO glad this game wasn't like X and Y with its shallow characters, non-existent emotions, and muted tone. The story in this game is really good! You feel actual tension as things start to happen, the protagonists are very down-to-earth and view you as actual FRIENDS and not battle buddies like those 5 caricatures from X and Y (shows how great they are when I can't even remember their names), and best of all, YOU FEEL ACTUAL EMOTIONS AS IT PROGRESSES. There are some genuinely touching moments in the game!

    The driving force behind this story is Lillie. Lillie is the best character in the Pokemon franchise since N. I'm not exaggerating, she really is a great character! She's not an obnoxious damsel in distress, nor an edgy 'I hate everything and everyone' if you know what I mean. She's a very grounded, yet emotional young woman with a ghastly upbringing. Her mother is a Ultra Beast obsessed lunatic, and her father is a street thug. After being through all of this, she ends up meeting the player, and as the journey goes on, she grows more autonomous and cheerful.

    The only issue I can highlight is that she CAN seem kinda cliched at times, but overall, she's a fantastic character, and a great motivation to progress through the game. I really hope she appears in another Pokemon installment.

    With all of that out of the way, it's time to talk about the negatives.

    Unfortunately, the biggest issue I had with the game is still present. The new Pokemon may have great designs but their stats are incredibly "Second-rate." The most common complaint about them is that they're too slow... and yeah, I empathize with that. Tip: When you get to the battle tree, DON'T USE GEN 7 POKEMON. THEY SIMPLY CAN'T COMPETE WITH OLDER ONES. Yes, there are exceptions, but the majority of them just can't hold their own against anything but themselves.

    The only other huge issue I have is the pacing. Not only does the story take a bit of time to gain some traction (despite its quality), but the opening tutorials like the trainer school last way longer than they should. Sorry, but taking 2 hours to tell me stuff I already know isn't acceptable.

    At the end of the day, I'm very happy that I played these games. GAMEFREAK has shown to me that even though they will always stick with the winning formula, they at least had a bit of ambition while making these games.

    I will recommend this game to any Poke-fan out there, maybe even most folks who own a 3DS. Here's hoping for a sequel of some kind.

    8/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2016
    6
    Personally, I have mixed emotions about the game. Yeah, I'm excited for the new changes, and yeah, SOME of the Pokémon look horrendous.Personally, I have mixed emotions about the game. Yeah, I'm excited for the new changes, and yeah, SOME of the Pokémon look horrendous. There's a lot of new features so I'm holding my breath wondering why this game sucks. Hoping for the best. On a more positive note, I got the game for FREE!!!! Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2018
    0
    This game deserves an award for disappointment. First of all why does the tutorial last almost an hour? It’s not rocket science. All previousThis game deserves an award for disappointment. First of all why does the tutorial last almost an hour? It’s not rocket science. All previous games gave you a 10 minute tutorial at max. People are not that stupid. And well, I guess most reviewers buy a Pokémon game to watch the anime, because that’s all this game is. You spend 90% of the game on cutscenes/ loading screens. And the story is as childish as you would expect. Every dialogue is basically about the power of friendship or something like this.
    But the stupidest design choice is putting a extremely low appearance rate on most of the new Pokémon. So you bought a new Pokémon game and want to play with new Pokémon? You better do research on which ones you want and have bulbapedia open while playing so you can grind an specific tall grass for 20 minutes until the Pokémon you want shows up. Otherwise you would most likely finish the game asking yourself where is half of the new creatures.
    And what a stupid idea is z-moves. Omg please remove this from the next game. 1 hit KO moves with long animations. Wow, they add so much to the gameplay. Mega evolutions did such a good job bringing back Pokémon that were useless before it, and then they got carried away and invented this garbage.
    It’s surprising how they got everything right on X/Y and managed to throw all that away, go to the opposite direction and make such an atrocity. Takes skill for that.

    X/Y still the best games in the series
    Expand

See all 187 User Reviews

Trailers