Kirby Mass Attack Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One day, an evildoer with a magic cane appears and splits Kirby into 10 pieces. Kirby sets off on a journey to return to his original form. Players use the touch screen to control a mass of Kirby characters in a new and novel way. Swipe the touch screen to launch them in a mass attackOne day, an evildoer with a magic cane appears and splits Kirby into 10 pieces. Kirby sets off on a journey to return to his original form. Players use the touch screen to control a mass of Kirby characters in a new and novel way. Swipe the touch screen to launch them in a mass attack against enemies, then tap the enemies into submission. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Kirby Mass Attack - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    100
    HAL Laboratory have developed an adventure with amazing puzzles, exporations, unlockables and bonuses. Everyone with a Nintendo DS ought to own this game.
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    91
    This is delicious game design, and a fitting sendoff for a device that forced game-makers to think in unusual ways.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    Kirby Mass Attack rewards you for replaying it many times over, with several impressively polished mini-games (my favorites being the RPG and pinball ones), big fruit bonuses, and very frequent references to past Kirby titles.
  4. Games Master UK
    Oct 23, 2011
    81
    Lacks Nintendo's usual grace, but the sheer amount of ideas easily makes up for it. [Dec 2011, p.79]
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    80
    Its stylus control is one of the tightest on the system. [Christmas 2011, p.117]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Mass Attack is a game of invention, wit, and leftfield surprises, in other words, and it all adds up to a near-perfect send off for Nintendo's aging DS. Kirby may not be getting any cuter, but if he continues to star in adventures like this, he can be sure of his place alongside the likes of Mario and Zelda for years to come.
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    50
    It's sad to see that Kirby this time around has lost so much of his former playfulness. The varied arsenal of creative attacks has shrunk down to a pathetic gang fight where the player plays the passive role of a bystander. The game never offers a proper challenge, and even though the visuals and audio are heavily 16-bit-inspired and charming, Kirby Mass Attack never really makes you want to keep playing.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play,The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play, and it's especially rewarding to unlock all the music, and mini games. If you enjoy platformers with a touch of cuteness then you need to own this game. I also give it a 10 because well it is an amazing game. :) Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    YES, YES, YES!! I am a Kirby lover (I have all the Kirby games) but this is in the top 3!! It's wonderful game play and cuteness add to it aYES, YES, YES!! I am a Kirby lover (I have all the Kirby games) but this is in the top 3!! It's wonderful game play and cuteness add to it a lot. The amount of fun I had playing this game was... well, too much to tell you!! The amount of hardships your pink puff (or pink puffs) need to break through and the amount of brain thought needed to solve puzzles to complete the level! New interesting mini-bosses, mini-games that need to be actual Kirby games (Strato Patrol, Kirby Quest... etc.)!! I love it! I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH! Plus, it's super Kawaii! Expand
  3. RRR
    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I have always loved the Kirby games produced by Nintendo, they are very cool. All of their characters are extremely funny and there can't beI have always loved the Kirby games produced by Nintendo, they are very cool. All of their characters are extremely funny and there can't be anyone who says that they are not cute. The Kirby: Mass Attack has some new features that make it different from past Kirby games and it really has its own DS characteristics.

    Nintendo Repair Shop
    www nintendorepairshop com
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    What is better than one kirby? More kirbys! This game has original ideas and uses them greatly. This game is extremely cute. This game is aWhat is better than one kirby? More kirbys! This game has original ideas and uses them greatly. This game is extremely cute. This game is a little hard and this game is a bit bland but overall this game is amazing! Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    The introductory of Kirby and the games started for me back in 1992 from playing Kirby's Dream Land on the Game Boy. The premise of this gameThe introductory of Kirby and the games started for me back in 1992 from playing Kirby's Dream Land on the Game Boy. The premise of this game was simple and yet held fun and enjoyment. Kirby's traditional ability is to inhale enemies and exhale them out and often gain a form in doing so. The Kirby games as a whole has always been about Kirby's form, level design, music, and a light hearted theme which remains throughout the entire games. My second game was Kirby Super Star in 1996 and this game featured various minigames which offered different concepts. There's a certain charm of the Kirby games which make you appreciate not only the games, but effort and polish from the developers. Kirby Mass Attack continues the light hearted theme and feel and yet, the inhale ability is excluded. The story sets up Kirby exploring in the Popopo Islands, in the south of Popstar when suddenly an evil wizard by the name of Necrodius wants to cover the light in darkness along with his skull gang. Necrodius casts a spell on Kirby which splits him into ten pieces, Kirby's heart motivates and encourages him to set forth into defeating Necrodius so he can regain his original size. This game uses the stylus for Kirby's actions and utilizes it quite well. Kirby's tremendous strength actually derives from the many Kirby's you gather, a strength by numbers aspect. More Kirby's you have, the more efficient he is with plumbing enemies, attaching himself to vines, movement and the like. Speaking of movement, the stylus is used to control Kirby and makes use of the touch screen. Kirby's actions include the following: Walking - By touching the touch screen, a star appears in which Kirby(s) follow. Running - By tapping twice on the star. Moving as a whole - Touch and hold the stylus to the touch screen and the Kirby(s) will hold the star, draw a path for the Kirby(s) to follow. Jumping - Flick the stylus on the touch screen. Attacking - Simply touch the enemy and the Kirby(s) will commence the attack. While gone is the inhale/exhale ability and the forms, this game's key aspect is attacking an enemy using the multiple Kirby's. Having this be a Kirby game, expect secrets of obtaining items and doing various stuff within a stage to unlock. Throughout and scattered on each level are medals which unlock minigames and a checklist if you do certain things in a level. The minigames unlocked are good fun and one of my favourites is Kirby Brawlball, a pinball game. This game is fun and what was interesting and an unexpected surprise was seeing Heavy Lobster from Kirby's Super Star and the anime. Familiar characters of old and new ones are present in both the story mode and minigames which was a nice touch. Music is a strong feature as with from the other Kirby games. What's great is the fact this game features new music and previous game's music in either a remix or taken from. The title screen's music is easily memorable all while able to set a peaceful theme. Music from the levels fit and are executed well, no music feels awkward or out of place. In the Extra's section, there is even a Music Player to play the various music. When you complete a stage, a star appears in the bronze, silver, or gold format. Bronze being a Kirby or Kirby's is missing/gone, Silver being no gone or missing Kirby's (Blue Kirby's represent damage) and Gold being no damage done. Essentially the Gold star is the best rating of completion of level, but nothing occurs if obtained Silver or Bronze. This game definitely is worth the money and the amount of gameplay and content has an unprecedented playability factor. Kirby in 2011 is starting with good exceptions and I'm anxious for Kirby's 2011 Wii game, Kirby Returns to Dreamland. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Cute, Frantic and fast, Mass attack is not a regular Kirby game, but more a Pikminesque Kirby where survival of all 10 Kirby is needed. TheCute, Frantic and fast, Mass attack is not a regular Kirby game, but more a Pikminesque Kirby where survival of all 10 Kirby is needed. The music is great, the setting is great and the levels are original and different. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    This game is another Kirby game i dislike. Kirby Mass Attack was Boring and was a horrible game. No powerups and stupid story. i really thinkThis game is another Kirby game i dislike. Kirby Mass Attack was Boring and was a horrible game. No powerups and stupid story. i really think there are many other kirby games that are better Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
5
#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
13
#13 Most Shared DS Game of 2011