Kirby Mass Attack Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One day, an evildoer with a magic cane appears and splits Kirby into 10 pieces. Kirby sets off on a journey to return to his original form. Players use the touch screen to control a mass of Kirby characters in a new and novel way. Swipe the touch screen to launch them in a mass attackOne day, an evildoer with a magic cane appears and splits Kirby into 10 pieces. Kirby sets off on a journey to return to his original form. Players use the touch screen to control a mass of Kirby characters in a new and novel way. Swipe the touch screen to launch them in a mass attack against enemies, then tap the enemies into submission. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Kirby Mass Attack - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    100
    HAL Laboratory have developed an adventure with amazing puzzles, exporations, unlockables and bonuses. Everyone with a Nintendo DS ought to own this game.
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    91
    This is delicious game design, and a fitting sendoff for a device that forced game-makers to think in unusual ways.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    Kirby Mass Attack rewards you for replaying it many times over, with several impressively polished mini-games (my favorites being the RPG and pinball ones), big fruit bonuses, and very frequent references to past Kirby titles.
  4. Games Master UK
    Oct 23, 2011
    81
    Lacks Nintendo's usual grace, but the sheer amount of ideas easily makes up for it. [Dec 2011, p.79]
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    80
    Its stylus control is one of the tightest on the system. [Christmas 2011, p.117]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Mass Attack is a game of invention, wit, and leftfield surprises, in other words, and it all adds up to a near-perfect send off for Nintendo's aging DS. Kirby may not be getting any cuter, but if he continues to star in adventures like this, he can be sure of his place alongside the likes of Mario and Zelda for years to come.
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    50
    It's sad to see that Kirby this time around has lost so much of his former playfulness. The varied arsenal of creative attacks has shrunk down to a pathetic gang fight where the player plays the passive role of a bystander. The game never offers a proper challenge, and even though the visuals and audio are heavily 16-bit-inspired and charming, Kirby Mass Attack never really makes you want to keep playing.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play,The reason I give this game a 10 is because I have never really liked any Kirby game until this gem came along. The game is a blast to play, and it's especially rewarding to unlock all the music, and mini games. If you enjoy platformers with a touch of cuteness then you need to own this game. I also give it a 10 because well it is an amazing game. :) Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    YES, YES, YES!! I am a Kirby lover (I have all the Kirby games) but this is in the top 3!! It's wonderful game play and cuteness add to it aYES, YES, YES!! I am a Kirby lover (I have all the Kirby games) but this is in the top 3!! It's wonderful game play and cuteness add to it a lot. The amount of fun I had playing this game was... well, too much to tell you!! The amount of hardships your pink puff (or pink puffs) need to break through and the amount of brain thought needed to solve puzzles to complete the level! New interesting mini-bosses, mini-games that need to be actual Kirby games (Strato Patrol, Kirby Quest... etc.)!! I love it! I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH! Plus, it's super Kawaii! Expand
  3. RRR
    Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I have always loved the Kirby games produced by Nintendo, they are very cool. All of their characters are extremely funny and there can't beI have always loved the Kirby games produced by Nintendo, they are very cool. All of their characters are extremely funny and there can't be anyone who says that they are not cute. The Kirby: Mass Attack has some new features that make it different from past Kirby games and it really has its own DS characteristics.

    Nintendo Repair Shop
    www nintendorepairshop com
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Kirby fans, don't overlook this game because of Return to Dreamland or because you don't like the concept. I nearly made that mistake butKirby fans, don't overlook this game because of Return to Dreamland or because you don't like the concept. I nearly made that mistake but decided to buy it and I'm really glad I did. In my opinion this is one of the best Kirby games since SuperStar. An evil magician shows up and splits Kirby into 10. You begin each world as one kirby and have to gather fruit to create more. Some items and levels can only be accessed if you have a certain number of kirbies so collecting fruit and getting your army of pink puffballs to 10 is always the first priority in a world. The control is actually a lot better than I thought it'd be. It's easy to guide all your kirbys to where you want them to be and only very occasionally (usually in the levels with water) will any get left behind. The graphics are really nice to look at and the music is some of the best the series has had. While there are only four worlds (five if you count the final boss's stage) each level has its own uniqpe gimmick so the gameplay never gets old. For example, in the Dedede resort world, there's a level where you're being chased by an ice dragon and another where you have to go through an abandoned pirate ship. In one world, a bonus level switch is abducted by aliens so you have to go through several levels in space to get it back. So there's plenty of stage variety. There are plenty of bosses and unlike kirby tradition, they rarely repeat. You'll be fighting a brand new boss after the majority of levels. Collecting medals will unlock minigames, and some of these are great fun. Like a vertical scrolling shooter where you have to take down bosses from Kirby's adventure on the NES. These minigames are filled with nods to other kirby media (even the anime) that long time fans will notice and smile at. Over all I give Mass attack a 9. It's very nearly perfect but those occasional moments where one kirby gets left behind and you have to try and get him back on track without making all the other kirbies follow him can get annoying. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2022
    9
    I never thought I'd find a Kirby game that's actually challenging but, here we are.

    Very responsive touch controls compared to most of the DS
    I never thought I'd find a Kirby game that's actually challenging but, here we are.

    Very responsive touch controls compared to most of the DS library too.

    Would definitely recommend.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    9
    This is one of my favourite DS games and favourite Kirby games and it's a very good shake up on the Kirby formula with tons of sub games toThis is one of my favourite DS games and favourite Kirby games and it's a very good shake up on the Kirby formula with tons of sub games to keep you busy Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    This game is another Kirby game i dislike. Kirby Mass Attack was Boring and was a horrible game. No powerups and stupid story. i really thinkThis game is another Kirby game i dislike. Kirby Mass Attack was Boring and was a horrible game. No powerups and stupid story. i really think there are many other kirby games that are better Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
5
#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
13
#13 Most Shared DS Game of 2011