Pokemon Black Version Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokémon Black Version and Pokémon White Version feature new Pokémon that players can catch, train and battle as they progress through the game, and some Pokémon can only be caught in one version of the game. For example, the Legendary Pokémon Reshiram canPokémon Black Version and Pokémon White Version feature new Pokémon that players can catch, train and battle as they progress through the game, and some Pokémon can only be caught in one version of the game. For example, the Legendary Pokémon Reshiram can only be caught in Pokémon Black Version, while the Legendary Pokémon Zekrom can only be caught in Pokémon White Version. Additionally, the two games feature different areas for the first time in the series, with the game world of Pokémon Black Version featuring a unique metropolitan area called Black City, and a lush, green area named White Forest only found in Pokémon White Version. Pokémon Black Version and Pokémon White Version also mark the first time in a Pokémon video game that the seasons will change in the game world. Certain Pokémon appear more frequently during different seasons, and players can only access some areas during a specific season. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Black Version Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    The fact that Game Freak dared to remove all the old pokémons from the main story line and replace them with 156 new ones is only one of the reasons for the series feeling fresher than ever. Pokémon Black and White is the most entertaining game yet, and is a must-buy for all Nintendo DS owners.
  2. 93
    The new battle system and the big new Poké-world feel great. There are a lot of new Pokémon to collect and train. You've got to get used to some of them. Poké-Fans shouldn't miss the new Black and White editions.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    90
    Of course there's a lot that's the same. Of course there is. But with a great many small and well-placed innovations, a vivacious, inventive new cast and the biggest cosmetic makeover the series has ever seen, Pokémon Black and White makes it all feel new again. It reminds you what there was to love about Pokémon in the first place – and perhaps we all needed reminding.
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    One of the best generations of Pokemon titles to date, Black & White take almost all of the best elements from the series and then carefully craft it into something truly wonderful; recreating that same sense of adventure from the very first titles.
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    86
    If you enjoy deep RPGs and you're looking for a great time-killer--or just ask a lot from your video game purchases--you can't go wrong with Pokemon Black and White.
  6. Apr 2, 2011
    80
    Few gaming series can steal as many hours from me, no questions asked, quite like Pokémon. I'm currently clocked at 28:37, which was enough to beat the Elite Four but not enough to lose interest. Is this the strongest entry to date? Probably not, nor is it the innovative leap that some gamers expected but you can cogitate all you like; there's a consistently enjoyable adventure to be found here, and that's all that matters.
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    In the end, the real question is whether Pokémon Black offers enough spark to justify buying another Pokémon game. True believers have purchased it already, and the vocal haters will continue their hating despite this review's best efforts. For everyone who's left, the answer is a solid maybe.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 130
  2. Negative: 9 out of 130
  1. May 24, 2018
    10
    Pokemon Black Version is a great Pokemon game with my favorite pokemon: Tepig. It has a great story, great gym leaders, and 156 new andPokemon Black Version is a great Pokemon game with my favorite pokemon: Tepig. It has a great story, great gym leaders, and 156 new and amazing pokemon to catch! But it isn't the best. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    They've done it again, made a superb pokemon game. I've been playing since Red and Blue and this game, whilst maybe not as good as theThey've done it again, made a superb pokemon game. I've been playing since Red and Blue and this game, whilst maybe not as good as the previous in terms of new features it is fantastic. My only regret is not buying white for the forest and more triple battles! There are a massive amount of pokemon to catch, loads of trainers to fight, loads of fighting methods, new moves, new abilities, the new region and of course the 2.5D view which works amazingly well. There are some breathtaking visuals with amazing cut scenes. There's also the ability to transfer pokemon from the older games making completing your pokedex a lot more easier. All in all there is well over 300 offline hours available in this game, loads more if you go online. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    I told myself a long time ago, I am done with Pokemon. I now find myself eating my words. There are 150 new Pokemon, and while they areI told myself a long time ago, I am done with Pokemon. I now find myself eating my words. There are 150 new Pokemon, and while they are well... odd to say the least, it sure is kind of cool to see nothing but new creatures every time I get into a random battle. I like the camera angle here, it is really well done, and does a good job of implementing the 2.5D capability of the DS. Multiplayer... oh wow, they really created something else. The entire multiplayer experience is overhauled, with a feature similar to the 3DS' street-pass, a Pokemon dream world, and no more freaking Pokemon Centers to connect wirelessly. C-Gear is outstanding. I once rated HG a 9, but Black (and I suppose I can speak for White too), is so much more streamlined, improved, and fresh. I would call this among the top 10 DS games of all time. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    The best Pokemon game to date, the graphics are excellent, the story is surprisingly good and the battle mechanics are as good as ever. TheThe best Pokemon game to date, the graphics are excellent, the story is surprisingly good and the battle mechanics are as good as ever. The Pokemon designs are mostly fantastic (including some of my favorite additions, like Dwebble), although there are a couple of odd choices. Everything added also feels right at home in the Pokemon franchise. The music is awesome as ever and everything, while technically being old game mechanics, feels fresh. My only complaint of the game is that it came out too close to the 3DS launch, so I worry that my pitiful 75+ hours spent on the game is not enough. It doesn't get a 10 because, if this is the best one yet, the next one might be better (silly reason really). Now bring on Pokemon Black & White 2! Just do yourselves a favor and buy this game if you have not already done so! Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2019
    8
    How can you not love these games? This is what pokemon should've been from the start. A nice basic storyline that questions morality of notHow can you not love these games? This is what pokemon should've been from the start. A nice basic storyline that questions morality of not just villains but yourself for basically enslaving living creatures. The soundtrack of this **** is the best to date of the entire series. If Platinum wasn't so amazing I'd definitely choose these as the single best games in the series. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2018
    7
    I've been playing those games these days, and i find them really good, story its the second best for me (The best now its Sun and Moon) andI've been playing those games these days, and i find them really good, story its the second best for me (The best now its Sun and Moon) and routes and great. The bad thing a can found its the designs of the Pokémon, some are really great, but, for example, starters... Just bad. The region is one of the most lineal, but it has interesting places. Difficulty doesn't exists here at least in the main story, a bit at postgame, which is great.

    I really love the soundtrack and Ghechis is a great villain. Games are good, if you want a great pixel Pokémon game, this is a good one.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2017
    0
    This game is a massive failure. I can't even get Charizard wtf.
    because this is forcing me to add characters the reason it is a 0/10 is
    This game is a massive failure. I can't even get Charizard wtf.
    because this is forcing me to add characters the reason it is a 0/10 is because it has 0 real pokemon and features an abomination known as Druddigon.
    Expand

See all 130 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
1
#1 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
2
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2011