Sonic Advance

Game Boy Advance
  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 3, 2002
Sonic Advance Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic is back to save the world! The evil Dr. Eggman is at it again, with a brand new scheme to trip up Sonic and his pals. Maneuver your way through obstacles, puzzles and traps to collect the chaos emeralds and defeat the vile Dr. Eggman before it's too late!
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. What really shines, even on top of the great graphics and sound and gameplay, is the replay value.
  2. 100
    The best Sonic game released since "Sonic CD."
  3. Despite the 12 years since his debut, it's as captivating, exciting and, more importantly, as fun as it ever was - but of Sega, we'd expect no less. [GamesMaster]
  4. 88
    Everything that a side-scrolling platform loving fan could ask for. It's got all the great, tried and true, fast-paced Sonic action of the old Genesis series, looks fine, plays excellently, and offers some fun multiplayer action.
  5. This game is packed with extras and most importantly, actually allows you to play as Sonic through the entire game, something sorely lacking from the Sonic Adventure series.
  6. 80
    A simple, tried-and-true blast from the past, faithfully recapturing the ’hog’s legacy and reigning in just enough characters and elements from the “new” to satiate anyone craving more from their marsupials than just movin’ to the right at really high speeds.
  7. This game managed to do something its 3-D counterparts never could: catch my interest and hold on to it. I spent a lot of time simply looking around each level, experimenting with each character and attempting to find the various chao emeralds.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Was the First Modern Sonic Game I Played And It's Amazing Like Sonic Adventure 1&2
    But In 2D Like The Classic Sonic Era
    Expand
  2. KaineC.
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    It's the best like all of them.
  3. Feb 16, 2021
    9
    Verdict: A great Sonic game on the go. I'd even say this is on the level of Sonic 2 & 3.

    Rating: Gameplay: 5/5 - Smooth and great. Level
    Verdict: A great Sonic game on the go. I'd even say this is on the level of Sonic 2 & 3.

    Rating:
    Gameplay: 5/5 - Smooth and great.
    Level Design: 4/5 - Everything besides the last few levels is great.
    Soundtrack: 5/5 - Perfect
    Story: 4/5 - Nothing more than needed. This is great for on the go.
    Graphics: 5/5 - These sprites still get used today.
    Length: 5/5 - Perfect for 2D Sonic.
    Replay Value: 4/5 - Many different characters and emerald collecting.
    Enjoyment: 5/5 - Loved it

    Overall rating: 37/40 => 9.25/10 => 9/10
    Expand
  4. AndrewC.
    Feb 18, 2003
    8
    The levels are excellent, but raising chao is pretty much pointless unless you buy Sonic Adventure 2. With SA2 it's excellent!
  5. Feb 27, 2021
    8
    the first 4 levels are good but when you face Angle island you will find Soo many bottom less pits it's unsafe to play as Knuckles there. butthe first 4 levels are good but when you face Angle island you will find Soo many bottom less pits it's unsafe to play as Knuckles there. but I like it to be like a classic Sonic game. the special stages are Trash it's just another half pipe level but now Sonic/Tails/Knuckles/Amy are falling with skateboards. I like the music one of my favs are Casino Paradise Act 1 and 2 and Neo green hill act 1. but I love the art of the characters it's like sonic Adventure. all tough Sonic Advance is a Good Game Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    I find it weird how DIMPS could pull of classic Sonic style physics on the GBA with the Sonic Advance trilogy and on the Neo Geo Pocket ColourI find it weird how DIMPS could pull of classic Sonic style physics on the GBA with the Sonic Advance trilogy and on the Neo Geo Pocket Colour with Sonic Pocket Adventure, but can't get it right with Sonic 4, anyway. Sonic Advance is a fantastic game, and in my opinion, the real Sonic 4, it has classic Sonic style physics, multiple characters that play similarly with their own unique abilities, a fantastic soundtrack, great graphics, and overall fun gameplay, all of which, for the most part, Sonic 4 lacks. I recommend both Sonic Advance and Sonic Pocket Adventure if you have both a GBA and a Neo Geo Pocket Colour. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    0
    No platforming what so ever. THis game features four characters to play as and the only interesting one in Amy Rose.....wow. Why is there noNo platforming what so ever. THis game features four characters to play as and the only interesting one in Amy Rose.....wow. Why is there no platforming. This game basically took everything cool about Sonic and took it away Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

8
6
#6 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
8
#8 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002