Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway brings the critically acclaimed squad-based WWII shooter into the next generation of gaming with amazing graphics and sound, new cutting-edge gameplay features and a completely redesigned online component. Delivering on the franchise's compelling story,Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway brings the critically acclaimed squad-based WWII shooter into the next generation of gaming with amazing graphics and sound, new cutting-edge gameplay features and a completely redesigned online component. Delivering on the franchise's compelling story, unrivaled authenticity and intense squad-based action, Brothers In Arms Hell's Highway drops you into Operation Market-Garden, the largest airborne operation of World War II. Lead Matt Baker, Joe Hartsock and the rest of the 101st Airborne Division as they fight to open "Hell's Highway" in a daring bid for a quick end to the war. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Brothers In Arms Hell's Highway Official Trailer 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. PC Gamer
    93
    Easily one of the most engrossing shooters ever made. [Holiday 2008, p.70]
  2. Brother’s in Arms Hell’s Highway is a beautiful and engrossing cinematic experience that is as much fun to watch, as it is to play. Games rarely are this enjoyable and I can't remember the last time I started up a game and couldn't stop playing it.
  3. PC Zone UK
    86
    For all its faults Hell's Highway is a rich experience that should be played through at least twice, because in completing the game you just want to keep going. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  4. Total PC Gaming
    80
    Hell's Highway is held back by tunnel-vision solo play, but that shouldn't put you off. [Issue#12, p.55]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Infernally absorbing game with not only stunning graphics but also a compelling story and a reasonable amount of pathos. If all WWII games come this way we’ll never be bored. Be prepared for flying body parts and mutilated bodies - this game is not for sissies! [Oct 2008]
  6. Play (Poland)
    80
    New and vastly improved targeting model allows now (at last!) to hit every pixel you see. The game isn't so hard as the first part, unless you have to fight alone - you'll be positively beaming with joy when you see your boys again. And losing every one of the team members hurts just as much as it should. [Oct 2008]
  7. Nobody is suggesting that such a marriage of styles and boundary pushing storytelling shouldn’t be attempted in gaming, and in that Hell’s Highway is incredibly brave, but arguably any effort to be both an enjoyable first person shooter and stony-faced anti-war tale is doomed from the outset. Something must be compromised, it’s just a shame that in this case it happens to be the whole package.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
  1. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    the best gameplay world war 2 i play better than battfield 2 and the last of us 2
  2. JohnnyV
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    I had totally no problems running it... if you people do have to compare it to cod the cod series are way to short in gameplay cod - No story I had totally no problems running it... if you people do have to compare it to cod the cod series are way to short in gameplay cod - No story cod -is way to eays even at highest diff. bia is the first ( i think) fps that u can play WITHOUT crosshair! just like it would be. Good graps good gameplay really it's a f ing nice game. Expand
  3. JimCIII
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Again, great story line, graphics amazing compared to previous titles. Can't wait for the next installment.
  4. Jul 18, 2016
    9
    Perhaps the most underrated WW2 shooter ever. Beautiful graphics, excellent game play, great level design, great voice actors, and of coursePerhaps the most underrated WW2 shooter ever. Beautiful graphics, excellent game play, great level design, great voice actors, and of course amazing story line. This game definitely presents the horrors of WW2 the same way Saving Private Ryan did. I still do not understand why it fell short of being even an 8. The only flaws are the weak multiplayer and a weak last mission. Outside of that the game is incredible. A good 9.1/10 Expand
  5. DanielS.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    Awesome gameplay,gory slow motion head-shots is icing on the glorious story of the game cake 8/10 because of minor bugs (soon to be fixed,maybe?).
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Gearbox Software is well known for putting out quality work. This game is no exception. Although the game mechanics are visibly older, it is aGearbox Software is well known for putting out quality work. This game is no exception. Although the game mechanics are visibly older, it is a decent squad based FPS set in the WWII era. The story is quite immersive focusing on the bonding of individuals and the simple realities of war. The enemy AI forces you to use tactics and strategy versus just running and gunning. With a package price of $10 for all three titles, it is a good value. Expand
  7. DzibanM.
    Oct 31, 2008
    0
    I'd probably enjoy the hell out of this game if it worked. The game crashes to desktop and gives bizarre errors right after the intro I'd probably enjoy the hell out of this game if it worked. The game crashes to desktop and gives bizarre errors right after the intro movie to the single player campaign ("Previously on Brothers in Arms"). I've tried everything I could find in forums across the internet, to no avail. Judging from the amount of posts from others with problems, this game is seriously defective and full of bugs. When I tried to get support from Ubisoft, they basically told me to get bent. I wouldn't be surprised if there is a patch out soon that Ubisoft stole from some pirate group (just like they did with the new Rainbow Six, where they released a no-CD patch from a warez group). I'll never waste my money on another Ubisoft game. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews