Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 14, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring is a walking example of a 10 out of 10 game that isn’t perfect. No game can be perfect but there is just so much in here to love that it becomes hard to pay attention to its mistakes. Every handful of hours had the game open up more and, every time, I was desperate to keep searching, exploring, conquering. Now, over 100 hours later and two playthroughs, all I want is to discover more of what Elden Ring has in store for me. This isn’t just one of the best From Software titles but one of the best games I’ve ever played and I would be shocked if this didn’t have reverberations on the entire games industry.
  2. 100
    From Software upped the ante, surpassing even their best efforts that we saw with Sekiro Shadows Die Twice in terms of world building. Elden Ring is an absolute must-play game for 2022, but set aside some time and some patience.
  3. Mar 5, 2022
    100
    Almost nothing compares to Elden Ring in quality and depth. This is a game everyone should try at least once if only to get lost in the Lands Between.
  4. Mar 2, 2022
    100
    ELDEN RING is the most accessible entry to a FromSoftware title to date, with plenty of things to explore, do, and enjoy. Those even mildly interested by the premise should give it a shot.
  5. Feb 24, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring absolutely manages to deliver on what was promised, and is, despite some minor annoyances, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve had in years. That’s not only due to the rock-solid gameplay foundation, with its flexible class system, versatile weapons and progression mechanics. It’s also not only because of the morbid, dense atmosphere and the mysterious, captivating setting. It isn’t even solely the open world, which makes me want to spend every spare second exploring it with its gorgeous, monumental vistas and densely packed locations. Instead, the masterful combination of all these great qualities is what really makes Elden Ring special. Yes, the game has stopped me in my tracks multiple times, forcing me to leave bosses and places for later due to the somewhat slower progression system. But every time it does, it offers up dozens of other locations to test my mettle, become stronger and more skilled. And this cycle of trial and triumph is so immensely engaging that it’s going to keep me entertained for months to come.
  6. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    There is no way around it; Elden Ring is a masterpiece. From Software's iconic gameplay, set in a vast and wonderful world, sucks us right in and never lets go. Even though the hand-holding is close to zero, Elden Ring will surely attract new players due to its more forgiving openness. A must play.
  7. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring is a spectacle and a marvel to behold. Although there are some issues, the overall experience remains deeply engaging. It's one of the best open-world games I have ever played.
  8. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring is a massive iteration on what FromSoftware began with the Souls series, bringing its relentlessly challenging combat to an incredible open world that gives us the freedom to choose our own path.
  9. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    FromSoftware’s most ambitious title yet, Elden Ring is a glowing spectacle of achievement. A refined open-world format adds unimagined wonder to the game, whilst legacy dungeons will likely go down as some of FromSoftware’s best level design. Beyond that, there are so many improvements to the Souls formula that make this an essential play for fans – this is a game that brings so much to the table, yet somehow leaves nothing out.
  10. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    What ultimately matters, however, is that Elden Ring succeeds at almost every goal it sets out to achieve. It’s the culmination of years of refinement of FromSoftware’s formula. Mechanically, and thematically, this is a game making a statement: that you can buck industry tendencies even as you adopt their trends.
  11. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring challenged me, captivated me, and enchanted me, an unyielding deluge of discovery and artistic vision unbound. Elden Ring represents a truly amazing combination of various game elements that all come together to create something fascinating, special, and unforgettable. Elden Ring isn’t just the best game this year; it’s one of the best games ever made.
  12. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    A supercut of FromSoft's very best work, transported to a totally new space. Elden Ring is not only a masterpiece by its developer's lofty standards, but in packing so much density into the Lands Between, it lights the path ahead for open-world games in general.
  13. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    In a genre that has become wrought with bloated and over-designed games, Elden Ring is defiantly contrarian in almost every way. Its commitment to design by subtraction and to placing the responsibility of charting a path through its world entirely on the player makes it stand head and shoulders above other open-world titles. Elden Ring takes the shards of what came before and forges them into something that will go down in history as one of the all-time greats: a triumph in design and creativity, and an open-world game that distinguishes itself for what it doesn't do as much as what it does.
  14. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring is one of the best games in years, with a breathtaking vast world to explore, and one of the most satisfying combat systems in an RPG. This is the accumulation of FromSoftware’s work over the last thirteen years and an evolution on its inspiring formula.
  15. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Naysayers will point to reused assets, a lowering of the difficulty in Spirit Summons, but these people miss the point. Elden Ring is the definitive Souls experience, introducing a class-leading open-world design and mechanics that will draw more people to the franchise. And that’s nothing but a good thing.
  16. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Although challenging and grand, Elden Ring brilliantly immerses players in its fantasy world. The game rewards every type of player, from the curious explorer to the action-hungry warrior; you'll find something to love about this game. Even after 30 hours, there are still many adventures that await me in The Lands Between. This is an evolution of every Soulslike game that came before, and although brutally challenging, I couldn't put it down for a second.
  17. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    As an open-world skeptic who was pretty much convinced that the Souls formula wouldn't work in such a setting, I'm happy to have been proven wrong. Elden Ring retains the heart of what makes FromSoft's action RPGs so compelling, and takes things to a whole other level by pulling the best elements from their older games and improving upon them in this one.
  18. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Elden Ring is not only the best action RPG developed by From Software but one of the best open-world titles ever made. A masterclass of game design, Elden Ring isn't just a game but an epic dark fantasy journey that no one will be able to forget for a very long time.
  19. 100
    Elden Ring is a marvel with scope and diversity of mind-boggling proportions. At the risk of hyperbole, it has dethroned Bloodborne as my favorite game of all time. It's all I've been able to think about since I got my hands on it, and the only thing I want to do now is play it with the rest of you.
  20. Feb 23, 2022
    100
    Backed by an incredible and rewarding open-world design, Elden Ring is a masterclass in every facet that it brings to the table. Without a doubt, this is FromSoftware’s magnum opus.
  21. Mar 9, 2022
    99
    It’s been my sincerest pleasure experiencing FromSoftware’s latest work. Elden Ring is a landmark title that I hope shapes the future of what this industry can do; maybe we can one day point at this time in 2022 and note that this is when gaming took a giant leap. At risk of “laying it on thick” and coming off as hyperbolic, in my more than 30 years of gaming, I have almost never played a title that so neared perfection. I’ve devoted 80 blissful hours to Elden Ring, and at no point was I not enjoying myself or captivated by this world. My wish is that this team continues to receive the support it deserves and graces us with more opportunities to lose ourselves in the fantastic.
  22. Feb 23, 2022
    98
    Elden Ring is built upon a huge epic world and it is by farther best game in the Soul series in terms of map extensiveness and operability of battle system. More than just the worthiest successor of the Soul series, this game has broken free from the past shortcomings and constraints of the series and comes as an unparalleled master piece. It is a very enjoyable journey venturing into this world rich in details and full of challenges worth exploring.
  23. Feb 23, 2022
    97
    Elden Ring is the culmination of 15 years of work that have allowed From Software to improve, title after title, those consolidated foundations that have already given life to some of the most acclaimed games of all time, united by compelling stories and unparalleled gameplay.
  24. Apr 11, 2022
    95
    Every once in a while, a game comes around that takes the world by storm, becoming an instant classic. Not only is Elden Ring one such game, it is also one of the most profound among them. FromSoftware’s first foray into the open world genre is nothing short of breathtaking. It effortlessly balances exploration and tough-as-nails action gameplay in a way that has seldom been seen before. While not entirely flawless, it manages to instill a sense of wonder that will make even the most hardened of players feel like a kid again. Although it stumbles, Elden Ring is still leaps and bounds ahead of the competition.
  25. Mar 16, 2022
    95
    You will enjoy this game if you can stomach the abuse that Elden Ring dishes out. Even if you cannot, there is so much out there that you can do if you aren't afraid of running from scary fights. Some locations can be less fun than others, and some bosses create skill-based stopgaps. Elden Ring is all about picking yourself up, dusting yourself off, and sometimes finding something more enjoyable to do. It's worth the investment.
  26. Despite some technical glitches, Elden Ring has managed to be a satisfying, surprising and fully-experienced game.
  27. Mar 8, 2022
    95
    Dark Souls fans rejoice! Elden Ring is exactly the game you have been hoping it would be, I think, and it is created in grand style. I feel pretty frustrated that the keyboard controls are either so broken or so poorly laid out that I just couldn’t figure them out, and I spent a lot of time trying to (and where some things lie in the menu system are crazy counterintuitive), and I installed it on two different machines to see if it was a hardware problem (note: didn’t help). Elden Ring actually made me want to go back and play Skyrim again, because it always seemed to me that GUI was very well laid out and just made sense. But for you gamepad guys, sharpen up your sword and get in there. You have blood to spill (a lot of which may be your own).
  28. Mar 4, 2022
    95
    While no one wants to call Game of the Year in March, Elden Ring stands at the top of a very tall hill. If you play one game this year, make it Elden Ring.
  29. Mar 1, 2022
    95
    Elden Ring is among my favourite games ever. Those frame hitches, while significant, marred mere moments in my playtime with From's masterpiece. I played 95 hours of Elden Ring, and I could have played oh-so-much more. I will, probably. I railroaded myself with my weapon choice, but I found dozens of amazing looking spells that I'd love to try out. And I can't PVP at level 150, so I'll need to start a new character if I want to invade people. And there are two other endings that I didn't achieve — you aren't thrust immediately into NG+ in Elden Ring once you achieve an ending, but I don't think you can achieve other endings later. I already kind of know how to do them, I think. Well, I think I know, anyway. But I don't know what I don't know, so…
  30. Feb 28, 2022
    95
    Overall, Elden Ring is slightly held back by some lacking information in the UI, the uneven nature of the difficulty towards the endgame, and the inconsistent performance on the PC platform. Despite this, it's an incredible experience and will be one of the best games you’ll play this year.
  31. Feb 24, 2022
    95
    Elden Ring is everything we dream of and much more. It is the natural evolution of a franchise that has captivated several generations and is now ready to capture many more. Elden Ring will be the most talked about game of the next decade. It's proof that FromSoftware is a master of its craft and a testament that it dominates the genre it has created. Those who try to do something similar will remain mere imitators: they will never reach the level of sophistication achieved in Elden Ring.
  32. Feb 23, 2022
    95
    Any new From Software game comes with a lot of expectations, and Elden Ring delivers. It's a thrilling adventure that provides a wonderful sense of discovery through an expertly crafted world, seamlessly incorporating the excellent combat and encounters the studio is known for. The level of difficulty may be off-putting for some, but Elden Ring is so fantastic that it's absolutely worth fighting through to the end.
  33. Feb 23, 2022
    95
    If Dark Souls was the earthquake, Elden Ring is the aftershock. In a sense, it’s more of a love letter to the Soulsborne fanbase, incorporating dramatic fragments of each past game into a single product that is rewarding and fulfilling. While not perfect, I believe that FromSoftware has followed through on the hype surrounding this game and been able to create something truly mesmerising.
  34. Feb 23, 2022
    95
    The hype behind Elden Ring was always going to be a challenge to match, yet the game succeeds in almost every way. This detailed and exciting world is full of wondrous moments and brutal fights as the excellent Souls gameplay finds itself being utilised in a freshly open-world format. The variety of ways you can approach combat and the sheer volume of viable tools you can use to take down gruesome and frightening foes makes for an experience that never gets old. A game unwavering in its vision, Elden Ring stands out as a monumental 2022 release.
  35. Feb 23, 2022
    94
    An extraordinary sum of the knowledge From Software gained during the years. A bona fide peak of the soulslike genre, enormous and brutal, and capable of magnifying both the bad aspects of the genre and the good ones. The great parts greatly obscure the bad ones though, making for a game that will be talked about for a long time.
  36. Mar 28, 2022
    93
    I can't say if Elden Ring will be something genuinely new or more of the same to players who have already battled through the other From Software titles, but playing it felt to me like something I haven't experienced before. I was incredibly stressed, I considered quitting out of frustration several times, but I never stopped having fun and wanting to play just a little bit longer.
  37. Feb 28, 2022
    93
    Elden Ring is an incredible game that takes the "soulslike" formula and declines it within a vast and dense world full of elements arranged with extreme care. It is a demanding experience, which requires the player's focus and a high desire to explore and experiment: it gives the best of itself when the player is ready to explore the huge Lands Between. Its world design has made the structures of the previous soulslike games obsolete. Simply a new milestone for its genre.
  38. Feb 23, 2022
    93
    Elden Ring is a superb take on the soulslike genre, an astonishing evolution and a decisive step forward for From Software's scale of ambition. Elden Ring is a dream come true for every fan of Miyazaki's works.
  39. Apr 13, 2022
    92
    FromSoftware has opened up metaphorically and its bet has paid off. Elden Ring is a solid contender for Game of the Year 2022 despite any technical issues it may have.
  40. Feb 28, 2022
    92
    Elden Ring is the sum of FromSoftware's experience, poetics and playful approach: a title in which the undisputed skills of the team converge and explode.
  41. Feb 23, 2022
    91
    The world of the Elden Ring is full of surprises and hard-fought battles with new, imaginative possibilities, to make every choice meaningful.
  42. Apr 14, 2022
    90
    It’s hard to review Elden Ring without being comparative; that’s because Elden Ring is an evolutionary step, not a revolutionary one, and one can’t help but see how it’s built on what came before. Here is a massive undertaking of a game, not for the sake of chasing trends but as the natural progression of the style the company has been fostering for over a decade. It’s amazing how smoothly the transition to open world was and how much of the Souls identity is still present. In the short time since its release, it has already left a cultural mark, no doubt a result of the game’s increased approachability. Even after sifting past all the hype and grandiosity, there’s still an excellent game left and Elden Ring is a clear showcase of FromSoftware’s outstanding expertise in the field. Elden Ring really is just that good.
  43. Feb 24, 2022
    90
    A gorgeous and wonderful open world adventure full of discovery, magic, and the same threat that exemplifies FromSoftware's Souls series. Elden Ring is more than another Dark Souls Game, mixing a natural evolution of the series with an open world concept and a greater level of accessibility for those that want to experience the infamous You Died screen.
  44. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    After having finished my first playthrough of Elden Ring. I immediately want to play it again. I have never experienced that with an open-world game before - usually, I find myself thankful such behemoth games are over. FromSoftware has managed to nimbly incorporate its deliberate and challenging action RPG gameplay into an open world with a huge sense of freedom. The fact that they accomplished this feat without compromising on difficulty or narrative is a true marvel. Managing to also avoid almost all of the pitfalls of conventional open-world design is a step beyond even that. Even if you're fatigued over the familiar trappings of dark fantasy soulslike games in particular, Elden Ring is a masterful refinement of the formula that is the current zenith of its form - and it deserves glowing recognition.
  45. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    FromSoftware returns with all of its traditional offerings in Elden Ring, but the real star of the show is its exceptional open world.
  46. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    With Elden Ring, FromSoftware adds new ingredients to the Dark Souls formula, creating a world that is an absolute masterpiece. Combat remains as fluid as we’re used to, providing us with even more tools to master and ignite our sadomasochistic tendencies. The game's plot is often impenetrable and requires a tremendous investment to decipher it, but they payoff is there, if have the time and soul to endure it.
  47. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    With its new open-world dimension, Elden Ring brilliantly fleshes out FromSoftware's already highly effective formula and offers Souls a spiritual sequel that is both ambitious and accessible. All the new features converge towards this last objective: the open world allows you to arm yourself more than ever with the epic and obligatory fights that the adventure reserves, without having the impression of walking around just to farm. And the best part is that it doesn't compromise the sense of accomplishment so important to the genre. Elden Ring is a complete, mysterious experience, where curiosity is tirelessly renewed by the feeling of discovering something for the first time. All with a sumptuous artistic direction, which makes you want to get lost, to explore. The title also welcomes new features that offer strategic choices in combat, without betraying their requirement. We only regret a slight lack of ambition for certain Legacy Dungeons, as well as the recycling of some assets and bosses. Overall, an exceptional title.
  48. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    An open world action RPG from FromSoftware that reaches new heights, but spends too much time in the familiar.
  49. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Elden Ring is a fantastic RPG for any hardcore gamer looking for a new world to explore. Combat is weighty and takes place in a wonderfully intriguing world full of dungeons to explore and monsters to battle. The only downside is that its high difficulty will be a stumbling block that will continue to put some players off, despite the improved accessibility that comes with the open-world format.
  50. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Elden Ring is the apex of the Soulsborne formula, but if you thought this instance will be easier to play and to beat, you’ll have to put your foolish ambitions to rest. The adventure in the Land-Between open world is a work of art and definitely unforgettable.
  51. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Elden Ring manages to take everything that makes Dark Souls games stand out, and then apply it on a much larger scale, in a huge and complex world. The exploration and combat are rich, challenging and satisfying, and there's a constant sense of new things to discover everywhere. But many shortcuts have been taken. The game has some flaws and technical limitations, such as shaky multiplayer and a sometimes frustrating camera. Without being an absolute revolution, Elden Ring offers a unique vision of open world gaming, and it stands as a new model of the genre.
  52. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Simply put, Elden Ring is Miyazaki and FromSoftware’s magnum opus. It feels like the vision for the genre has reached its final form. Elden Ring is a meticulously crafted game, with a world begging to be explored and experienced. It is truly mesmerizing in its scope, an astonishing success and everything I had hoped it would be. Forget what you knew about the genre, the real Soulsborne starts here, with Elden Ring.
  53. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Elden Ring is an absolute triumph that will surely please all of the many players eager to get their hands on it.
  54. Feb 23, 2022
    90
    Elden Ring isn't a perfect FromSoftware game, but it's a remarkable evolution of nearly everything people loved or detested about the developer's past works. It's found what feels like an agreeable balance between accommodating newcomers and alleviating frustrations while maintaining the signature difficulty expected from the studio.
  55. Apr 28, 2022
    82
    Elden Ring is massive, sometimes to its detriment. A thorough walkthrough might take up more than 100 hours to complete, and at some point it becomes clear that From Software did not have enough manpower to produce that much unique content. Still, it remains incredibly addictive even after those 100 hours pass…
  56. Feb 23, 2022
    80
    Elden Ring is a new gold standard for open-world game design, dishing out some of the best freeform exploration since The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Curiosity is rewarded at every turn and secrets truly feel secret. For Souls veterans, the number of tools available adds a new level of depth to its combat that makes constant experimentation worthwhile. Even with those strengths, it’s hard to outright ignore the ugly quirks in FromSoftware’s games, which stick out even more on new tech. A stubbornness to fix archaic issues holds back what should be a once-in-a-generation game, but Elden Ring is still a landmark accomplishment in any case.
  57. Feb 23, 2022
    80
    While the technical issues of the barebones PC port and the familiar trappings of the open world formula substantially soured my experience, Elden Ring is still an impressive achievement of fusing compelling world design, exploration and combat.
  58. Mar 3, 2022
    70
    Elden Ring is a wonderful action-RPG that features thrilling combat, an amazing open world, and tons of replay value. Unfortunately, its PC performance needs work.
  59. Feb 28, 2022
    70
    Elden Ring is a potentially great game that is hindered by massive performance issues. It doesn’t do anything particularly genre-defining, as it mostly sticks to what FromSoftware always does. It will no doubt please fans of the Dark Souls series. But its lack of accessibility options and somewhat restrictive multiplayer may leave some wanting. Ultimately, I think it will potentially offer a better experience down the line, as the day-one patch has already changed some fundamentals of the game. With no real improvement regarding its performance on PC, Elden Ring is a hard game to recommend until a more stable version is available.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. That's the thing about Elden Ring, its open world has your back, in its own - often painful - way. Souls has always been about inching through claustrophobic corridors and bashing your skull against whatever's in the way. You compare foreheads with friends, "Look at this bruise Barry, that's me five hours in". And Barry would probably peel his hair back and reveal the exact same bruise. Adventures in past Souls games tend to line up, as you're all wandering down the same pathways. But that's not the case with Elden Ring. You might show your bruise to Barry and he'll peel his hair back to reveal a scar or a massive indent or a tattoo of a mouse tustling with a skeleton. Both of may be five hours in but you'll be on totally different trajectories. No matter how hostile the game's world may be, it pushes you to succeed and carve out your own adventures. It is, by far, the most encouraging Souls yet. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  2. Feb 23, 2022
    While this is probably the most accessible game the studio has made, it’s still incredibly demanding. It remains hard as hell, but now you have more options for dealing with the frustrating moments. And not only does it demand your focus and attention in a way few other games do, but now, because it’s so large, it demands much of your time as well. After 40 hours of exploring, I don’t think I’m even close to finishing the game; sometimes, it feels like I’m just getting started. Elden Ring isn’t a game you pop on for an hour a night. It’s a game that consumes you. For me, it’s becoming a lifestyle, something I still think about when I set the controller down.
  3. Feb 23, 2022
    Twenty-five hours in, I still have no idea what I’ll see next. It's a testament to Elden Ring that I'm so excited at the possibilities that remain, but it's also a problem that after all this time, I feel like it needs to show me more than it has so far.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3691 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 26, 2022
    10
    Masterpiece. I was not sure if Souls formula was going to work in open-world but From absolutely nailed it. Exploration is super rewardingMasterpiece. I was not sure if Souls formula was going to work in open-world but From absolutely nailed it. Exploration is super rewarding with secrets and bosses almost everywhere. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2022
    1
    "Ubisoft needs to innovate", but when it's "Souls" game, then "Innovation is overrated, it's okay that it has worst controls of all time, it's"Ubisoft needs to innovate", but when it's "Souls" game, then "Innovation is overrated, it's okay that it has worst controls of all time, it's okay it has 2014 graphics, it's okay that...". Finest hypocrisy i have ever seen. I agree, Far Cry 6 is extremely outdated, but so is Elden Ring. Same animations, worse controls than any Ubisoft game. If Fromsoft doesn't innovate and gets 97 on Metacritic, why do you think Ubisoft would even care to innovate at this point? Even if they try, these Hypocrites still sht on them and praise this unfinished trash (Elden Ring) as next generation of open world games. Gaming is dying and believe it or not, it's not thanks to Ubisoft. It's dying thanks to games like Elden Ring and Cyberpunk 2077. Both overhyped, both underdelivered. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2022
    3
    ------------------ after more hours - it wasnt more attractive
    Its not hard and challenging. Its just dumb. Let me explain how is this ****
    ------------------ after more hours - it wasnt more attractive
    Its not hard and challenging. Its just dumb. Let me explain how is this **** in can masterpiece"
    My first defeated boss. Walked down to canyon by some dumb Mario Bros shortcut (horse only, climbing is to difficult for programmers). Found crypt with stone goblins and boss. Read a lot of spoilers "look left etc". Skyrim is scarier. Tried to kill goblin ahead, targeting button is locking one on sealing, cant change target.... Found some ground button to unlock door. I dont see something - why mount door open button so far away. So complicated mechanism and no door key. Ive killed few times goblins to spend runes for next level. Why i cant spend runes for 0.7 part of level? Thats why i feel little like in MMO kill mobs until level up and next kill boss...
    Killing boss wasnt easy a specially when not killed goblins and just run to the boss room. 2 problems - goblin heads in magic boss door and summoned wolves attacking them without effect.
    3-rd problem dumb fight style with bosses - hundrets of non physical dodges, wrong collisions, and not many options with weapon and shield, little dumb counters. More logic would be some aikido/judo movements with so much mass difference or just big cannon, physical huge companion/minion/army,... Next part after killing goblins and boss i've won. Lot of stones "i did it" etc but for what? I didnt saw any loot. Weaker goblin had more attractive but also dumb stone head helmet.
    No satisfactions. Same thing with killing large trolls.
    My opinion was 5/10 now i could only give less. 3/10

    ----------------earlier review
    Maybe too early for review, but just boring, not intriguing. Bigger overhype than CP77. How its possible to get so many possitives before release?
    - optimization 3/10
    - story 2/10 (fingers, rings, witches, some boring ideas)
    - graphics and nice atmospheric lightning 7/10
    - menu and shortcuts with keyboard 2/10
    - physics and fighting 5/10
    - open world i don't feel consistance, reason to go further. Its so chaotic and claustrophobic in design.
    - tutorial 2/10 - i hate this text stones. I dont know why i cannot summon spirits. Ive found after hours how to run and lock target.
    - fighting - u die very often but painless. It would be easy when u find weak points, preferred weapon sets and know how to run, but its too old style. Not much physics, cant undecide to do some move. Illogical counter, block, break system or animations. Only left right attack axis. I dont want to enable enemy lock to move backwards. Tps camera lock would be better for me.
    -level up system 4/10 (good are small changes between levels but i prefer training level up style than some collecting runes)

    Overall: 5/10 - only because i hope next part of the game would be maybe more interesting.
    Full Review »