Fortnite Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 639 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Epic Games next project has you building forts and stopping a zombie invasion.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fortnite X Avengers Endgame - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 27, 2018
    96
    That’s one of the best things about Fortnite: It always keeps things simple.
  2. Jul 19, 2018
    95
    Fortnite is an ever-shifting entity, but strong footing has solidified it as a verified phenomenon with fast, fun gameplay and ubiquitous reach. Anyone can play it and have a great time, and although Save the World might get grindy and shotgun climb-and-dives might get a little tiresome, there’s real magic here along with the promise of more in the months and years to come.
  3. May 27, 2018
    85
    Fortnite has almost perfected the Battle Royale concept and added a touch of its own.
  4. 80
    All in all, Fortnite is a game many people can look forward to playing for the foreseeable future. Epic Games’ persistence and commitment to community feedback, latched on with low PC requirements, creative gameplay, and a Free to Play model, have made it one of the most successful games on the market today. With updates almost every week, there are always new things to try for new or returning players alike.
  5. Apr 9, 2018
    80
    As the saying goes: It's easy to learn, hard to master. Although a few shortcomings in the map design eventually surface and fatigue in looting can set in, Fortnite rarely fails at challenging you in unexpected ways, resulting in something more than just another typical last-person-standing shooter.
  6. Oct 12, 2017
    75
    After I situated myself in the controls, leveling and managing my squads, and making my way through some missions, Fortnite works. Missions are fun and engaging, rewards are plentiful, and it feels good to shoot things. Replayability is there too, as the enemies and resources are randomly placed when you load a mission. Forntnite may be slightly repetitive at times, but is overall an enjoyable experience.
  7. Aug 7, 2017
    55
    Fortnite suffocates what could be an incredible tower defense game beneath the some of the most tangential, egregious, impersonal progression systems we’ve seen.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 215
  1. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    Having a blast. I love base building games. I must say its a bit repetetive but dont forget that it is an free to play title. Not forHaving a blast. I love base building games. I must say its a bit repetetive but dont forget that it is an free to play title. Not for everyone. UnnamendCowboy said: " that there is no party matchmaking. There is!
    U can play alone or with friends or with random People.

    If u love grind games u cna buy it for 40 euros. But if u dont like paying just wait a year...
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2018
    9
    Fortnite :I really think it is the best game based on a great concept .
    It is interactive but my big problem is that cross play is a great
    Fortnite :I really think it is the best game based on a great concept .
    It is interactive but my big problem is that cross play is a great idea but why isn’t it available between Xbox and Playstation .In my opinion it is the best way to make money ,because a lot of players play on console .I switched over to pc fortnite from Xbox ,because my friends all play on Playstation .When I got my Playstation I couldn’t link my Xbox account to my PS4 but was fortunate enough to link my Xbox account with my pc.
    Why fix what’s not broken .The shotguns were perfect now they deal about 50 damage point blank or sometimes even 7.
    Overall ,the graphics is amazing and I love fast paced shooters but the biggest downside for me is that the submachine gun meta is really starting to get annoying .Other players just hold the shoot button and hope to get lucky .
    Overall the game is nearly perfect with constant updates and I will continue playing until I’m officially bored by it , but don’t think that will happen anytime soon
    Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    5
    I'm giving such a high rating because of Save the World. Save the World is a great concept, and is extremely underrated... Meanwhile BattleI'm giving such a high rating because of Save the World. Save the World is a great concept, and is extremely underrated... Meanwhile Battle Royale is just a random deathmatch game that somehow got the top game of the year. If Battle Royale never existed, then this would be a 9, but Battle Royale brings it down. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2017
    1
    Wait until it releases as a f2p and even then play for a few weeks before opening your wallet, odds are you'll lose interest within a month. AWait until it releases as a f2p and even then play for a few weeks before opening your wallet, odds are you'll lose interest within a month. A mission consists of 20 minutes spent beating on trees and cars before you can even hope to enjoy 7 minutes of actual game play... rinse and repeat because that's all you're going to do. Expand
  5. May 17, 2018
    0
    So me and my 3 buddies decided to buy STW about 25 days ago. We've played it everyday for over 8 hours a day. It started out as great fun butSo me and my 3 buddies decided to buy STW about 25 days ago. We've played it everyday for over 8 hours a day. It started out as great fun but that soon ended. So here's my review for this game.

    INTRO [0/10]: So first of all this free2play game costs money, why? I don't know, the only reason I can see is pure GREED. However, you are able to earn a LOT of vbucks and I mean a LOT, in those 25 days I gathered over 7500 v bucks, so that is really nice. But since you're (epic) charging money for a f2p game I'm gonna be extra harsh, it's a horrible business practice that gets no respect from me, especially with all this money going to fund BR and none of the BR success goes back to actually finishing this game in a decent timeline.

    DEVELOPMENT [0/10]: The devs clearly do not care about the game or it's community as BR gets all the updates. The only updates STW gets are some to keep the fanboys with no back spine happy. Like the recent "change your gun stats" update, praised to heaven and back but really it's just terrible when you consider after roughly 30 boring quests there are none and after seeing the first zone you've seen them all, just terrible. 7 YEARS it took EPIC to develop this EPICLY POS grinding simulator, no offense. The events are GREAT fun but should NEVER be the focus of the game, which it clearly is now. I don't feel like buying any llamas or skins anymore actually I feel like avoiding EPIC games now for many reasons. Saying there are 2 different dev teams is like saying there are 2 different teams for Wow PVE and PVP, I'm sure there are, and it's no valid excuse ESPECIALLY after an laughable 7 years of development already.

    PROGRESSION [2/10]: You basically progress through llamas and llamas only, your alternative? well grinding your ass off, even Vanilla wow was less grindy, a game that had actual content offer besides the boring grinds it had. You don't level by playing a lot, naah course not this is 2018 you level by grabbing your moms credit card and buying llamas in hope for some sweet survivors/heros or that recycle xp. It's a terrible system and one of the many reasons STW failed EPICLY (pun intended) so far. Due to this system you'll out level your missions very quickly if you don't buy llamas. With me and one friend getting 200 llamas and 2 others none, we got to level 40 and they we're left at ~20 whistle end plank. One of the others is now 35 and another quit the game because he didn't feel like the game was rewarding enough and he's actually right, but than again we're all sub 30 we grew up with GOOD GAMES not empty ****

    GUNPLAY [2/10]: The gunplay is just terrible, just like in BR we are dealing with legendary guns that shoot bullets EVERYWHERE but straight, unless you zoom but even than it's just terrible. The gun sounds a terrible compared to BR, on a distance you can't even hear the difference between any assault. Such a shame. I'm sure some "huge" update will fix it.

    GAME CONTENT [2/10]: After the first 5 missions you have basically seen the ENTIRE game, it will not change, there are no new missions, no new biomes except for your home base plot that you can ONLY use 10 times (there is no elite or infinite mode, after 10 invasions all of your work and resources are wasted), mobs will not really change, just in lvl and hp, it does not become much harder, going back to low levels is not really satisfying thanks to scaling, from 50k hp you'll get 7k, same for firepower etc. On top of that the already HORRIBLE story line just STOPS after plank, it just flat out stops and really there is no excuse for it to stop.--After 7 years of development time they couldn't be bothered with finishing their quest line.--So you're greeted with place holder quests that really nobody except for fanboys will want to do. Do 3x this boring mission again and again and again for no actual rewards. It's the No Man's Sky of today.

    FUN FACTOR [8/10]: Is the game fun, yes absolutely, it has such HUGE potential and it's such a shame the devs are basically not fit for the job. By the time it goes f2p lots of people will have interest but will be turned of because well there is no content, there simply is none besides grinding the same mission over and over and over until your cry your eyes out.

    GRAPHICS [9/10]: Like it or not the graphics are superb and we we're often impressed by them. It looks really cute which is one of the only reasons our female gamers wanted to give it a shot in BR and now STW, though the core game design stops them from playing--as it's well, really boring. One negative point being that EVERYTHING LOOKS THE SAME. Except for your home base there is no uniqueness to be found in the world which is a shame and just shows how lazy Epic game developers are, 7 YEARS OF DEVELOPMENT FFS!!!!
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2018
    0
    Good game actually, but when I went to buy an upgrade with Paypal then it got less than easy. I contacted epic via twitter, and also told themGood game actually, but when I went to buy an upgrade with Paypal then it got less than easy. I contacted epic via twitter, and also told them their paypal epic logo was broken, and more importantly, I couldn't buy their stuff, got no reply. Disappointed. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2017
    0
    This is a great game under a horrible freemium mobile type of game garbage. Sad to see so much potential wasted, they really have toThis is a great game under a horrible freemium mobile type of game garbage. Sad to see so much potential wasted, they really have to completely revamp a lot of things. I would NOT recommend buying this at all in its current state. Expand

See all 215 User Reviews