Freedom Fighters Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wars are not won alone. In a world where the Soviet Union won the Cold War, a fierce conflict is beginning to unfold in the streets of America. Red Army troops are pouring across the borders of Mexico and Canada shortly after a nuclear missile is unleashed on Washington D.C. Chaos sets inWars are not won alone. In a world where the Soviet Union won the Cold War, a fierce conflict is beginning to unfold in the streets of America. Red Army troops are pouring across the borders of Mexico and Canada shortly after a nuclear missile is unleashed on Washington D.C. Chaos sets in when breaking news informs Americans that their President has been killed and the Russians have invaded the country. You take on the role of Christopher Walker, a man who evolves into a charismatic and fearless freedom fighter obsessed with finding and freeing his brother in the streets of occupied New York City. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Freedom Fighters Gameplay Movie 10
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Deftly avoids the many pitfalls of AI squad tactics, and this, combined with great control, mission design, and presentation, makes for a truly fantastic game.
  2. Ultimately the game is a little on the shallow side when it comes to mission goals and weapons, but it is fun enough to overlook these shortcomings.
  3. 85
    It's really only its brevity and restrictive save game system that keeps this game from fighting its way to the top of the genre.
  4. 80
    The AI is surprisingly excellent - if you send a batch of troops out to scout, they will take up careful positions, scale machine gun positions, engage the enemy, and redeploy defensively without any more commands having to be issued.
  5. games(TM)
    80
    It's far less intricate than a regular squad-based game, yet it retains all the elements that make them fun - as opposed to a title like Brute Force, which had none of them. A fine display of IO's creative talent. [Oct 2003, p.116]
  6. PC Gamer
    79
    What this shooter lacks in depth, it makes up for in fun factor. [Holiday 2003, p.114]
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    It matches intense, fast-paced action with a squirrely camera and imprecise aiming. Needless to say, that isn't a particularly compelling combination. [Feb 2004, p.77]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 10, 2020
    10
    Brilliant in my top 5 games.
    The music, AI , Movement, guns and especially the fact that you can recruit soldiers to help you all of these
    Brilliant in my top 5 games.
    The music, AI , Movement, guns and especially the fact that you can recruit soldiers to help you all of these are very good.
    Expand
  2. HawkEyeSnacko
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    I miss this game so much, my PS2 is ruined and i have a Xbox 360 now. If they made this game for Xbox Arcade i would buy it again in a split I miss this game so much, my PS2 is ruined and i have a Xbox 360 now. If they made this game for Xbox Arcade i would buy it again in a split second. It might not be amazing to control a hand full of AI people now but when the game came out it was amazing. I never had a problem with this game and i loved playing it in multiplayer. This is a must try game if your not afraid of an old engine. Music for this game is awesome aswell. I also would like to mention that even if you are a european and perhaps not to much into the america-f*** yes type of came, fear not, this is made by a danish company. Let's hope they make a sequal. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    A great game . Must buy for action fans , you can't go wrong with this one .
  4. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Tight controls, fantastic AI, good Hollywood style story (yeah, it's cheesy at times, but if you liked The Rock and Independence Day styleTight controls, fantastic AI, good Hollywood style story (yeah, it's cheesy at times, but if you liked The Rock and Independence Day style bravado you'll feel right at home) and a healthy challenge combine to form one of the true surprise hits of any generation of gaming. I was amazed when the enemies provided cover fire for their teammates that were moving into flank position and how smoothly my own teammates took cover and engaged appropriately with a very simple command scheme. Granted there aren't a wealth of guns or character progression/customization elements, but the true beauty of this game derives from the simplistic-yet-demanding strategy required in order to complete the games objectives. Really wish they'd do a proper sequel or at least provide this title via XBLA/PSN for those with now incompatible PCs. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    has good graphics and good gameplay its mechanical and gameplay but are BOTS stupid guy has a huge firefight eai the BOTS are still doinghas good graphics and good gameplay its mechanical and gameplay but are BOTS stupid guy has a huge firefight eai the BOTS are still doing nothing to History and terrible **** the game remains good and very cool Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este juego hace años que no lo juego, pero tenía ganas de darle una pequeña critica como a otros juegos.
    Por lo que puedo recordar, la historia estaba super bien, de primero fuiste un fontanero, luego un rebelde, hasta llegar creo a general. La música estaba muy genial también tonos de batalla muy elevados que te llenan de adrenalina. y que decir de la jugabilidad... bueno que recuerde no estaba del todo mal.
    podías ordenar a tus soldados a que te defiendan o que se queden parados en una zona para defenderla eso estaba muy bien.
    Expand
  7. BitBurn
    Oct 7, 2003
    6
    OK. I only played the demo and must admit, I was not impressed at all. Stiff controls, crappy dialogues, though the graphics aren't too OK. I only played the demo and must admit, I was not impressed at all. Stiff controls, crappy dialogues, though the graphics aren't too bad. Yeah yeah maybe I should try the full game but actually, after this demo I'm not interested! Can't wait for Half-Life 2 !!! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews