Knock-knock Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is an atypical cabin deep in the woods. It had served as a lab and a home for three generations of Lodgers. But lately the current Lodger has been noticing weird changes in familiar surroundings; things are missing, noises and rattle heard. Something strange is coming out of the woods.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Knock-knock: Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2013
    95
    If you’re looking for something pretty, scary and uncommon, Ice-Pick Lodge’s game is an excellent choice. Instead of 3 hours needed to complete Knock-knock I’ve already got 15 on my timer and I don’t regret any of it. [12/2013, p.60]
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    A peculiar logical game able to both put in fear and to make think not only about your rules. Every now and then it manages to do so with difficulty, however, its storytelling opened to your interpretation, and its eye-catching execution help to not fall down into the abyss.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    70
    A dread-drenched take on hide-and-seek which will mesmerise some, and alienate most. [December 2013, p.80]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    50
    Many indie games already proved that even the weirdest concept can be supported by a robust, addictive gameplay. Such is not the case with Knock-knock, that in the end just fails to entertain.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    48
    Aside from the presentation and art style, there is really no way I could suggest Knock-Knock to players. Unless you really enjoy trial and error game play and confusing mechanics that aren’t explained, you may want to stay away.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    45
    Knock-Knock is a game you want to love because it has a nice, freaky style. Unfortunately, the game itself feels like repetitive work which makes it very unattractive. For a horror videogame, we do not think Knock-Knock is scary enough. Too bad, because we would have enjoyed figuring out what that weird key character is up to.
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    30
    Knock-Knock could have been amazing; with a slightly different outcome on that early night, and if the mystery gets its hooks in before the mechanics start souring the experience, it could have been a tense nail-biter. As it happened, I got fed up with Knock-Knock long before its secrets surfaced, and I was happier to break the game than to continue playing along.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Discovering the game mechanics is fun, the overall atmosphere is dream-like and spooky. What this game is about is more or less up to theDiscovering the game mechanics is fun, the overall atmosphere is dream-like and spooky. What this game is about is more or less up to the players interpretation, but one thing is sure: this is the type of game that tries to reach out to the player. In my opinion this game is about how the brain defends the ego against the horrors of reality. But as always, there are things that come out only when it's dark. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Very scary piece of artful gaming.

    Like every game Ice-Pick Lodge has made, this game will not be for everyone. You will either love it or
    Very scary piece of artful gaming.

    Like every game Ice-Pick Lodge has made, this game will not be for everyone. You will either love it or not have a clue how anyone could. I belong to the first group.

    Ice-Pick Lodge delivers precisely what they promised and I was personally very scared by the way the game delivers it's creepy story. It's not a big game nor a very complicated one, but it slowly creeps up on you and makes you fear the dark corners of your own home.

    Maybe, just maybe, you aren't alone right now when was the last time you looked behind you...

    Play it in the dark and play it alone.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2016
    10
    Atmospheric, gorgeous and intense, I absolutely love this game!! It's amazing, it really sucks you in, one of a kind unique experience hehe ^^Atmospheric, gorgeous and intense, I absolutely love this game!! It's amazing, it really sucks you in, one of a kind unique experience hehe ^^ Pick this one up already if you haven't! Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece from Ice-Pick Lodge developers. Don't get fooled by cartoon graphics or seems-to-be-simple gameplay. It will take someAnother masterpiece from Ice-Pick Lodge developers. Don't get fooled by cartoon graphics or seems-to-be-simple gameplay. It will take some time to understand what's going on there. It's not a traditional game, more of an experiment. Just be ready to confront your fears. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    I think this game is impressive. It is full of surprise and its can be scary to. It will be best seller and i have greetings for all personsI think this game is impressive. It is full of surprise and its can be scary to. It will be best seller and i have greetings for all persons with see in this game something very good. It never make me bored and it was very exciting to explore all of secrets. Very good game. But i think i must agree it's can be hard to understand at first. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Incredible atmosphere, excellent art-design, short gameplay and some questionable game design decisions. That's Knock-Knock for me. If you'reIncredible atmosphere, excellent art-design, short gameplay and some questionable game design decisions. That's Knock-Knock for me. If you're a member of the "COD-audience", steer clear, otherwise it's highly recommended. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Played this game for an hour, nothing happened. I walked through six houses and turned on all the lights in all the rooms. Sometimes thePlayed this game for an hour, nothing happened. I walked through six houses and turned on all the lights in all the rooms. Sometimes the lights would go out, so I'd go turn them on again. My character kept talking about 'hiding' and when to turn the lights out, but none of it made any sense. There was never anything for me to hide from. One time when I was unlocking a door, a ghost walked through it, and then I had to start the level over for some reason. There was no opportunity for me to hide from it. Other than that, this was just a game about turning on lights. Dear god was that boring. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers