Postal III Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Postal series continues in this third installment, using the Source Engine from Valve.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 19 out of 20
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    55
    It's hard to imagine anyone not being offended by Postal III. That's a big selling point for some folks, but the uninspired gameplay and serious technical glitches all but kill this dark, occasionally humorous, and extreme exercise in freedom of expression.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    40
    The Postal games have always been unoriginal by gameplay standards, but have always made up for it with hilarious situations. Unfortunately, this Postal game seems to have taken too much from inspirations like Gears of War. It literally feels like they spent half the time the game was in development watching Jackass, and the other half reading 14 year old boys' Blogspots. They then combined the two and decided to make a clunky game out of it.
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    30
    We have absolutely no problem with the humor in Postal III. What we do have a problem with is the absolute lack of AI, very poor combat, repetitive action and endless loading times delivered by this game.
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    21
    If you're going to be offensive, you need a point. This has none, either as satire, commentary, videogame or comedy. [Mar 2012, p.118]
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    20
    I have no pleasure in talking badly about this game. It's so poor, that you need a much better comedian and mocker than I am to reveal all of its flaws. The developers have given us a ridicously bad game.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    At one point Postal III tasks you with collecting HIV-infected cats; I'd rather do that in real life than play this awful game again.
  7. 0
    Almost unplayable shooter elements, with particularly poor movement and melee controls. Non-existent artificial intelligence, endless loading, frequent crashes, repetitive missions, and a general air of obnoxious self-satisfaction.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 71
  2. Negative: 43 out of 71
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Running With Scissors hits it again! A humor filled, gore packed funride that has tons of gameplay. The game can be played through on a goodRunning With Scissors hits it again! A humor filled, gore packed funride that has tons of gameplay. The game can be played through on a good or bad path which brings tons of interesting happenings to the game. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    I accept there is so many glitches and ı think because the purpose of all is source engine and btw the game is not bad at all it knows it hasI accept there is so many glitches and ı think because the purpose of all is source engine and btw the game is not bad at all it knows it has funny physics and stupid AI the in game dialogues shows it the game is not lose that absurdity and postal 2 use unreal engine and its bit of old these days maybe they are release a game using new game engines to success and ı see source engine is lame the maps have unnecessary parts Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2020
    8
    What's not to like about this game?! It's freakin' AWESOME!!

    Everything I love and hate about Postal 2 is still here and it's a completely
    What's not to like about this game?! It's freakin' AWESOME!!

    Everything I love and hate about Postal 2 is still here and it's a completely new and streamlined experience.. Especially to me, because I just played it. I've never noticed it before because RWS didn't have the spine to back it up and keep it in their profile.

    It looks good, it sounds good and it just as clunky, broken, and weird as Postal 2 with the only exception being that it's completely on rails and the ride is good! The intro is twisted, nice, and funny, first 30 minutes is spot on with the wisecracking wacky adventure and sloppy combat and with the third person view it's a lot messier. All good!! Ten hours have gone in dreamland without interruption.

    It's really odd to talk about what POSTAL is. The first one was a fugly isometric horror of the worst kind. The second one was clearly an Adventure with some sloppy action slabbed on, but with a great narrative and wisecracking edge that totally redeemed it. The third one, this one, is a streamlined Action Adventure with the same wisecracking edge and I love it. So far each game has been quite different and that's really nice, but it with have been much nicer if they had all been like Postal 3.

    But... This being that clunky Source Engine that is literally drowning in misguided Convars needs a little bit of smothering help to keep that smooth fps up and also because all those bodies seriously detract from performance and stability, the game is literally drowning in crap without the cleanup:

    In the folder: steamapps / common / Postal III / p3 / cfg /

    Edit these two lines in autoexec.cfg and set them to:

    g_ragdoll_maxcount 8
    g_ragdoll_important_maxcount 8

    I played it from SSD in Windows 10 Pro (v2004) with an AMD Ryzen 5 1600, 16 GB RAM, and a GTX 1650 Super 4 GB. I had one odd Script "crush" that the Source engine couldn't handle, but that's it, sort of, the game really doesn't like to be minimized and had a tendency to stop responding in that state. But then again, this is concentrated POSTAL and you only need a few hours a day of it, surely you can figure out to play or quit without having to keep it in the background, eh? No problemo!!
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2018
    2
    Trashmasters (name is telling you everything) Screwed up this game everything is broken Controlling Character, Story and more smaller worldTrashmasters (name is telling you everything) Screwed up this game everything is broken Controlling Character, Story and more smaller world than POSTAL 2 don't play this mess Expand
  5. May 13, 2012
    1
    What the hell? I mean, what the hell happened to this game? Bugs make it unplayable and so the characters looks bad :/ Developers, i amWhat the hell? I mean, what the hell happened to this game? Bugs make it unplayable and so the characters looks bad :/ Developers, i am disappointed. I though it would be another fun-shooting-destruction game. But NO! Please, don't buy it EVEN if you want to show your friend or review how crappy this game is. The graphics aren't really bad, so that gives this game a small +. Save your money and buy a game like Half Life 2, Gmod, Left 4 dead or Postal 2 and whatever you would like. Hope i helped. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. dont buy postal 3 created by tresmasterd and ankela wrost video game ever 0-10 Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    game developers today seem not to have a clue what they are doing

    just one examole in this game is the headbob=the screen shake when you
    game developers today seem not to have a clue what they are doing

    just one examole in this game is the headbob=the screen shake when you move

    yeah add more stuff like that because people love headache,nausea and to to feel like a camera not a man in a game

    lol they really are pathetic
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews