Tales from the Borderlands: A Telltale Game Series Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 477 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Like all good tales, there’s more than one side to a story. Especially one about a Vault key, the Hyperion Corporation, bandits, loot, gangsters, Vault Hunters, secret Atlas tech, explosions, getaways, extortion, betrayal, and mayhem. Set after the events seen in Borderlands 2, Tales fromLike all good tales, there’s more than one side to a story. Especially one about a Vault key, the Hyperion Corporation, bandits, loot, gangsters, Vault Hunters, secret Atlas tech, explosions, getaways, extortion, betrayal, and mayhem. Set after the events seen in Borderlands 2, Tales from the Borderlands is about Rhys, a Hyperion company man looking to become the next Handsome Jack, and it’s also about Fiona, a Pandoran con artist out to score the biggest of all swindles. Lured into danger by a Vault key and all it promises, the unlikely duo are thrown together with a common goal and a huge amount of mistrust. Who is telling the truth, and why is it important That’s up to you to decide. You are Rhys…and you are also Fiona, because like every tale worth telling, there are two…oh, you read that part already? Well, it’s important to remember that there *are* two sides to every story, and you my friend, you will tell this tale, or…tales, through the choices that you make. Your every decision as both Rhys and Fiona will affect the people and world around you: this is a game where YOU are the final author in a brand new Borderlands story set on the unforgiving world of Pandora. [TellTale Games] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tales from the Borderlands - Episode 2, 'Atlus Mugged' Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 20, 2015
    100
    Hilarious, heartfelt and high-octane, Tales from the Borderlands is a must-play game that sets a new standard for comedy games to come.
  2. Nov 19, 2015
    90
    The thing that sets Tales from the Borderlands apart from any others in the series so far is that I want to go back and play it again. Like, right now.
  3. Oct 21, 2015
    90
    This is, without a doubt, the finest series Telltale Games have produced to date. Whether you’re already a Borderlands fan or not, Tales From The Borderlands delivers an emotional, entertaining, and downright fun episodic adventure title.
  4. Apr 7, 2016
    90
    Tales from the Borderlands can easily compete against the hottest contenders on TV, not just on account of its writing, but also its cinematic beauty.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2016
    85
    I can’t express how delighted I was with the first episode. Unfortunately later the game lost some of its magic and oscillated between decent and really good. Despite that fact it’s by far the funniest thing I’ve played in years and I can’t wait to get my hands on the second season. [13/2015, p.63]
  6. Nov 11, 2015
    83
    If nothing else, the awesome humor, interesting characters and the always welcomed insanity of Borderlands will surely hold your attention.
  7. Nov 30, 2015
    61
    If you value humor and atmosphere above all else, go forth and enjoy Tales from the Borderlands. If not, you will have a hard time enjoying a cartoon without gameplay, freedom and bedazzling graphics.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Telltale, you amaze me again ! Since the days of "Back to the future" the yoke of the most fun and funny that I saw! Can you only applaud !Telltale, you amaze me again ! Since the days of "Back to the future" the yoke of the most fun and funny that I saw! Can you only applaud ! Keep up the great work! Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    Telltale Games finest to date.

    I have played many point and click adventure games in my life (Broken Sword, Day of the Tentacle, Full
    Telltale Games finest to date.

    I have played many point and click adventure games in my life (Broken Sword, Day of the Tentacle, Full Throttle, Monkey Island etc.), so the games that Telltale were producing were right up my alley, I remember playing "The Walking Dead" for the first time and realizing straight away that Telltale is the future of point and click adventure games, I played "The Wolf Among Us" and loved that too, it was so satisfying to see this new spin on the genre, these are games with modern graphics and great cinematic quality, of course they are more linear than the old classic games from which Telltale were inspired by but what matters in the end is the characters, story and how well developed it is.

    Then "Tales from the Borderlands" was announced, I wasn't hyped for the game since I wasn't a big fan of the Borderlands series but nevertheless was still happy another game was coming, when I finally got down to sitting and playing it, I was blown away.

    "Tales from the Borderlands" shines in its humour and great characters, the humour in this game is so brilliantly executed, never have I laughed so much in a game before, this is also the most interactive and beautiful Telltale game to date, there is a great deal of variety in the areas you visit throughout the game, the cinematic quality has been raised and the characters are so well defined, it doesn't matter whatsoever if you liked or played "Borderlands" or not, this game stands on its own but for those who did play it and enjoy it, I'm sure you will enjoy the style of humour and pop culture references that is abundant in its setting.

    If you love comedy adventure like Pixar's movies and the old classic Lucas Arts games then you will simply love this game, if you are into something more serious and dramatic then you can check out the Walking Dead series that Telltale has done, I loved both but in the end was drawn more to this game because the comedic charm and wit of Ron Gilbert and Tim Shafer's games in the 90's is what got me into point and click adventure games and the characters kept me there, that same charm and wit is present here in "Tales from the Borderlands"
    Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    Telltale did the impossible in my perspective with Tales from the borderlands, making you care about the history of the universe ofTelltale did the impossible in my perspective with Tales from the borderlands, making you care about the history of the universe of Borderlands. You can ask to all your friends who have played the other games a lot, most part of then don't know, and don't give a **** to the history/backstory, what really sucks, because the history it's kinda ok.
    The best part about Tales From the borderlands, it's the relevance that game has to the canon of borderlands, with a lot of facts and characters from this game being key parts to Borderlands 3
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2015
    9
    I was feeling like there were just too many telltale games. I kept on buying them sure but I was getting tired of them. I was really hoping toI was feeling like there were just too many telltale games. I kept on buying them sure but I was getting tired of them. I was really hoping to have a great experience with great characters and plot and I got that. Honestly, in my mind it is up there with the first season of The Walking Dead and The Wolf Among Us. This is the funniest game I have ever played even if "game" is in quotation marks for some people. The story is a wild ride, the characters are quirky but still have depth, and the ending is just sooo satisfying. However it is still plagued by the negative aspects of all telltale games-bad gameplay. By that I mean what little there is that could be considered gameplay is QTEs. I don't mind that this is a game light on gameplay but come on nobody really likes QTE. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2015
    9
    Best TTG, one of the best writing in video games and probably one of the only franchises that benefits from TTG art style, don't get me wrong,Best TTG, one of the best writing in video games and probably one of the only franchises that benefits from TTG art style, don't get me wrong, it has all the flaws that you encountered in their other TTG (and that's why it's not getting a 10) but you can expect a lot of epic moments and a dynamic story.
    At times I felt that they grab some ideas from other franchises (like dying and the one hearing the story telling that couldn't happen, like in monkey island 2) but at the end if we start complaining about taking aspects of other places we have to complain about everything or stop making games, movies, etc.
    Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    Rollercoaster of emotions, good amount of lore, silly random fun jokes and a big pokemon fight? You got the right game! Especially a must forRollercoaster of emotions, good amount of lore, silly random fun jokes and a big pokemon fight? You got the right game! Especially a must for Borderlands lovers Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2016
    0
    Um jogo feito puramente de diálogos e a produtora nem se quer traduz o jogo para PT( e outras línguas) e taca um foda-se do tipo "Se querUm jogo feito puramente de diálogos e a produtora nem se quer traduz o jogo para PT( e outras línguas) e taca um foda-se do tipo "Se quer jogar em sua língua traduza você mesmo" .
    Ninguém deve ficar dependendo de trabalhos de terceiros para ter um jogo legendado , principalmente porque até mesmo sites pequenos já fazem esse trabalho hoje em dia, então é obrigação da empresa fazer isso.
    Antes que alguém pense "vá aprender inglês" saiba que eu já sou fluente, e se eu estou pagando caro por um jogo é um direito meu de ter o conforto de joga-lo em minha língua nativa.

    Já o game é como todo jogo da telltale, passam apenas falsas sensações de escolhas, pois não importa qual opção você escolha quase tudo acaba da mesma forma. Eu não considero isso um jogo, pois o significado de um game é dar ao jogador a possibilidade de interagir naquele mundo. Se um jogo não possui essa liberdade no gameplay então ele deve compensar isso no enredo, caso contrário será apenas um filme interativo, e é exatamente isso o que esse "jogo" é.
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews