• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2009
Resistance: Retribution Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the weeks after Resistance: Fall of Man, Resistance: Retribution follows the story of former British Marine, James Grayson. After a personal tragedy – he is forced to kill his own brother inside a Chimeran conversion center – Grayson goes on a vendetta to destroy every conversionSet in the weeks after Resistance: Fall of Man, Resistance: Retribution follows the story of former British Marine, James Grayson. After a personal tragedy – he is forced to kill his own brother inside a Chimeran conversion center – Grayson goes on a vendetta to destroy every conversion center he can find. Eventually Grayson learns that his efforts have been futile... in Western Europe the Chimera have evolved a new method of converting humans. The European resistance – the Maquis – enlist Grayson's help, and he joins Cartwright and Parker in Operation Overstrike. The war to retake the European continent has begun. A third person action-adventure game created specifically for PSP with an advanced third person targeting system designed specifically for the platform. Over 10 different types of enemies, including Chimera from Resistance 2 and Resistance: Fall of Man – including the Titan, Slipskull, Hybrids and Leapers – and all new enemies like the Hag and Cloven. Intense eight player multiplayer gameplay with five game modes including Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Containment and Assimilation available via ad-hoc and infrastructure. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 95
    It's an essential purchase for any PSP owner and represents an unmatched value on the system.
  2. Resistance: Retribution is a great action title for the PSP, offering up a robust feature set, excellent graphics and solid controls.
  3. Resistance: Retribution is just what the doctor ordered - groundbreaking multiplayer, slick visuals, and an action-packed campaign make this one of the most impressive PSP games to date.
  4. Sony Bend has done another great job in bringing good, solid shooter action to the PSP once again with Resistance: Retribution.
  5. Retribution is still a great-looking, fully playable shooter even if you don't own a PlayStation 3. If you're already set up to access the extra content, think of that as a nice bonus, but don't feel like you have to run out and get Resistance 2 just to enjoy Retribution.
  6. Resistance Retribution is a good starting point for the PSP revival. An action game with a frenetic and full immersive gameplay, good technique and a totally new multiplayer structure. A must buy for every PSP owners.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Resistance Retribution might be shallow, but its good looks and refined controls lend a certain mesmerising pleasure to it nonetheless. [Apr 2009, p.124]

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. WillS
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    The more I play this game the more I love about it. It's a perfect shooter experience for the PSP that is developed to work perfectly The more I play this game the more I love about it. It's a perfect shooter experience for the PSP that is developed to work perfectly with the portable controls. Single player is challenging but not frustrating. Multiplayer is an added bonus that works extremely well and is very addictive to the point of taking me away from PS3 MP games while I'm home just to get more R:R time in. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    highly enjoyable!
  3. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    I have played the game over and over again it has a very nice campaign. It is better then the resistance burning skies that came out a whileI have played the game over and over again it has a very nice campaign. It is better then the resistance burning skies that came out a while again like 1 or 2 years ago. The main part of this review is to tell you that this game is awesome the game is on psp and i think the ps vita. Expand
  4. RomanT
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I just beat this game the other day on the Normal difficulty and I must say this was a pleasant experience. Just about everything, from the I just beat this game the other day on the Normal difficulty and I must say this was a pleasant experience. Just about everything, from the graphics, gameplay, storyline, and sound was top notch. Personally, I didn't like default controls that this game uses and would recommend switching to an alternative (aiming with analog stick) option. I only really have a couple of minor issues with this game: first, the collision detection when using a sniper rifle is quite poor, making that weapon almost useless in many situations; secondly, the game is not taking a real advantage of the physics engine - having silly ragdolls is fine, but I believe there should've been more physical interactions with environment and objects. Otherwise, a great game indeed. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    most PSP games i buy are just SRPG's , RPG's and Racing Games . i avoid FPS and most shooters because with out duel analog the experiance ismost PSP games i buy are just SRPG's , RPG's and Racing Games . i avoid FPS and most shooters because with out duel analog the experiance is lost . ive tried a few and most just stink because of that reason but resistance like socom has changed that abit. the auto lock on system makes it playable and even enjoyable now this will not replace duel analog by any means but its the best you can hope for on a system with only one anaolog stick . i would recomend you download the demo off of the PSN store and try before you buy to see if this control set up will work for you. now for the rest . the graphics are amazing for a PSP game i was very impressed with it . the story is pretty decent and kept me intrested . the voice acting was fairly well done .the amount of wepons was a pretty good set up and the fact that it more like resistance 1 then resistance 2 with the amount of wepons you can hjold at once is very nice . the game is best described as resisitance 1 meets Resient Evil 4. . this is one of the best action games ive played on the PSP and is a great addition to your collection . Expand
  6. AustinC
    Apr 9, 2009
    8
    Today, I went to GameStop with $65, I bought Resistance: Retribution and GTA: Vice City Stories. I have played about 5 minutes of GTA, mostly Today, I went to GameStop with $65, I bought Resistance: Retribution and GTA: Vice City Stories. I have played about 5 minutes of GTA, mostly becaues its glitchy/boring. So, I started playing Resistance in the store, and after 15 minutes through the game I quit, went home, and hit multiplayer online. After getting through the stress of the controls (I switched the controls halfway through playing), It was surprisingly fun, with grenades, plasma grenades, rocket launchers, machine guns and what not. Also -- Playing with friends on the same WiFi is fun. Although, it's kinda of disappointing there is no Coop. NOTE: You have to upgrade to V. 5.0.3 to play, it comes with it (you don't need internet access to upgrade to 503). Collapse
  7. Mar 2, 2019
    0
    this game has big graphics problems collapses very often in Rotterdam at this level collapses twice Once or crashed when you entered the citythis game has big graphics problems collapses very often in Rotterdam at this level collapses twice Once or crashed when you entered the city par de du and the second or collapsed at the exact exact After the monster was destroyed Check it out and on weaker PCs play games on PlayStation 3 on PlayStation 4 on the latest-generation Xbox computer and also on weaker computers because not everyone has your money to buy last generation stuff and to up to the highest standards Check it can be played in drawing I mean both as well as playing the game if the games do not collapse Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

10
5
#5 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
10
#10 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009