Monster Train First Class Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Monster Train brings a new strategic layer to roguelike deckbuilding, with a tactical twist: defend not one, but three vertical battlegrounds simultaneously

    Monster Train brings a new strategic layer to roguelike deckbuilding, with a tactical twist: defend not one, but three vertical
    Monster Train brings a new strategic layer to roguelike deckbuilding, with a tactical twist: defend not one, but three vertical battlegrounds simultaneously

    Monster Train brings a new strategic layer to roguelike deckbuilding, with a tactical twist: defend not one, but three vertical battlegrounds simultaneously as you fight to protect the final pyre against the forces of heaven. No playthrough is ever the same, it’s a fresh challenge every time. You’ll never play the same deck twice!

    Hell has frozen over. Only you can protect the final burning pyre from the forces of heaven and restore the inferno.

    To take back hell, you’ll need to power up. Choose your route carefully, different locations yield different benefits. Upgrade your champion, gain Pact Shards and their benefits, recruit powerful units, upgrade cards, gain passive bonuses, or duplicate any card in your deck.

    Strategize to Fit Your Playstyle
    With six clans to choose from, each has its own unique and surprising gameplay. Pick your primary and supporting clan to gain access to all cards from both. During your run you will be able to improve cards by mixing and matching upgrades to open up new roads to victory. You can even duplicate your favorite card at special map nodes before facing off against the final boss.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 30, 2021
    100
    Monster Train First Class earns its seat as one of the best card battlers on Nintendo Switch. Its complex mix of mechanics and systems are initially overwhelming, I’ll admit, yet seeing it all come together can be absolute bliss.
  2. Sep 13, 2021
    90
    Monster Train: First Class is a hugely fun roguelike deck-builder whose ideas and mechanics remain satisfying and exciting whether you’re one hour in or thirty. This is one train ride you won’t want to miss.
  3. Aug 23, 2021
    85
    The feelings with Monster Train: First Class are great. It's a deep title, with tons of content and it plays great on Nintendo Switch. Perhaps it can be too demanding for those who are not fans of the roguelite card genre, but the reward if you invest hours in the title is a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 1, 2021
    85
    Monster Train First Class combines a fun story with cool designs, challenging strategic gameplay and the excitement of unlocking and making the most of epic new features at a dream pace.
  5. Aug 20, 2021
    80
    I’ll be playing this one for a long time. After a dozen or so hours, I’m completely hooked. An impressive number of cards, enemies, items, and more to discover is going to keep me on this train, and the excellent visuals and music will help make the ride to hell… heavenly. It could use a patch or two, but Monster Train is a smash hit.
  6. 70
    Monster Train does indeed deserve to be noticed; it's the epitome of something that is better than it looks. Underneath that blandly homogenised aesthetic and equally bland promise of yet more roguelike lies a game that offers players some deep, invigorating, challenging and rewarding turn-based strategy. You may well find this one very difficult to put down.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 24, 2022
    10
    If Youre a card games fan like me You cant go wrong with monster train. It offers tons of options, probably most complex deck builder createdIf Youre a card games fan like me You cant go wrong with monster train. It offers tons of options, probably most complex deck builder created to this date. Definitely recommended, hundreds of hours of great gameplay. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2022
    10
    Slay the Spire is one of my all time favourite games and Monster Train is even better!!! I've pumped 60 hours into this now and completed 30Slay the Spire is one of my all time favourite games and Monster Train is even better!!! I've pumped 60 hours into this now and completed 30 runs (13 successfully). The presentation is excellent - all the card art is very attractive and the music really sets the scene. The sheer amount of strategy options in this game is what makes it so extraordinary! There are dozens of crucial decisions to be made between levels, but in combat you often need to deviate from your preferred strategy to work around unexpected curve balls that the enemy throws at you. The sheer range and diversity of things to experiment with is REALLY fun! There are 12 champions choose from. (This is your commander who is free to play and is always available in your opening hand.) All 12 require distinctive strategies and combos to optimise their strengths and all evolve with customisation options every 3 levels. Also, the cards for each faction are quite distinctive and focussed on the strategy that best suits their two Champions. At the start of every game you choose your champion (which sets your primary 'suit') but you also choose a secondary faction, and around half the selectable cards throughout the run will come from the card pool of the second faction. This means there are dozens of faction combinations to experiment with, which is fun and also keeps the game fresh from run to run. The experience of incrementally improving and fine-tuning your deck during a run is really satisfying and it feels fantastic when you convincingly beat the final boss at the end of a run. I can't say enough good things about Monster Train - it is an AWESOME strategy game! Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2021
    10
    I absolutely love this game and I’m not sure why it’s not getting reviewed anywhere… If you like card based games like Slay the Spire orI absolutely love this game and I’m not sure why it’s not getting reviewed anywhere… If you like card based games like Slay the Spire or Steamworld Quest you owe it to yourself to pick this up.
    I’ve put 40 hours into it and there are so many things still do accomplish. It will literally take me well over 150 hours to complete all this game has to offer.
    I love this game!
    Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2022
    10
    Big fan of Slay the Spire or Into the Breach? If so, this game is for you and a must buy. It runs beautifully on the Switch. Monster Train isBig fan of Slay the Spire or Into the Breach? If so, this game is for you and a must buy. It runs beautifully on the Switch. Monster Train is best in class in its execution and offers a unique and strategic deck building experience that, if you're a fan of the genre, will keep you coming back for more and more. This game deserves more attention. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2021
    9
    Perfect port of a quality card game except for painfully excluding touchscreen but this is only a small gripe with an over great experience.Perfect port of a quality card game except for painfully excluding touchscreen but this is only a small gripe with an over great experience. Love slay the spire give this a try. That's not saying the gameplay is similar but it has its own great spin on genre that's runs Excellent on the switch.

    Prepare to burn hours again and again
    Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2021
    9
    This is a really cool game with very evident inspiration from Slay the Spire, and yet is very much its own thing.

    Some really cool things I
    This is a really cool game with very evident inspiration from Slay the Spire, and yet is very much its own thing.

    Some really cool things I like about it:

    -Instead of playing a single character, you play as a mixture of two factions (a "primary" and allied" faction) and at the time of writing, there are 6 factions. Each faction has its own unique mechanics, strategies, and so on. The primary faction you pick determines your champion unit from one of two options per faction (for a total of 12 champions), each of which has 3 separate upgrade paths as you move through the run, and they're pretty important units that you help guide the strategy of your deck. I haven't unlocked or played with all 6 factions yet, but I really like the ones I have played (Hellborne, Awoken & Stygian Guard)

    -The various upgrades to spells, units, champions, and so on are really cool for helping you customize your deck, and I appreciate the generosity of opportunities to remove cards from the deck, as well. It all lends itself to a feeling where the game gives the player a lot of freedom within each run to really pump up their deck, which can be very satisfying to play in action.

    -A really cool risk/reward system with Pact Shards, and I really love the fusion mechanic where you can take some unique traits from a creature and put them onto another creature. Doing so accrues Pact Shards (which you can also obtain from other sources and powerful upgrades), which will ramp up the difficulty of battles during the run. When the Pact Shards get maxed to 100, if you make it to the end you have the opportunity to face off against the Last Divinity—which I admittedly haven't tried yet but am looking forward to dying to eventually.

    -The battles themselves are interesting enough. Given that sometimes you're fighting enemies on all three floors (and possibly also a boss that moves between them independent of other enemies) there are a lot of tactical considerations to both keep them from reaching your Pyre & from taking out your valuable units. Once a unit dies, it usually doesn't come back unless through a special effect or upgrade. Deciding where to put units is important, and there are limiting factors such as how much they fill the capacity meter for each floor, and your available "Ember" (Resources used to play cards).

    -I don't generally go in for tower defense games, but it really works here. It helps that the Pyre (the thing you're defending) isn't some fragile thing. It can be upgraded, it can fight back and there are even spells/abilities that will put enemies directly in the Pyre room, make them unable to attack so that your Pyre just wrecks them. Pretty cool.

    -Cool challenge systems, nice run-tracking, and all that fun extra stuff. I would have liked to see some achievements added to a game like this, but I also understand that it's rare for ported games to get achievements, so that is what it is, I guess.

    -Controls are pretty good. Sometimes can be a little fiddly when in battle and cards get in the way of seeing enemy units' card effects and things like that (just press "down"). But there are ways to access virtually all of the information you need and it's very accessible and clean, just sometimes takes a second to figure out how to get there. Touch controls don't usually matter to me, but man, it would have been great on this game and have made it play a lot smoother.

    -The art and sound are great, although at times can feel rather "busy" when the game's battles are sped up.

    I see a lot of people on the internets talk about this game vs. Slay the Spire. In my mind, the games are different enough to stand on their own, but most people who have played StS will immediately see the similarities and thus comparisons will be present. While I've only completed "Covenant/Ascension 1" in the short time I've spent so far with this game, it does feel like Slay the Spire is probably the more difficult game. But to me, that doesn't make it the "better" game. I really enjoy the various methods of upgrading and refining the deck that MT offers, and the art & sound is far and away superior in almost every respect. StS is a great game and I have really enjoyed it, but for me, MT scratches a bit more itches than StS.

    If I had any criticisms, it might be the lack of touch controls. Some options just feel a tad fiddly, like some of the stats pages and accessing information in battle. It's all there, but with touch it could have been so much smoother. The game plays great so I won't bother talking about performance.

    This was pretty long, but I had a lot of nice things to say about the game. Overall, if you like games like StS, a game like this is worth checking out. It's a lot of fun, has a lot of interesting variations in strategy. It's also a great fit for a portable platform, as the pace of the game suits itself well to picking up and playing a bit here and there.

    Cheers~
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2021
    8
    Monster Train was one of those games I ended up playing far more than I had anticipated.
    I enjoy the direction they've taken with the
    Monster Train was one of those games I ended up playing far more than I had anticipated.
    I enjoy the direction they've taken with the deck-builder roguelike, allowing the player to develop the most insane, game-breaking synergies within their deck, while simultaneously dishing out a challenge to make that synergy feel necessary.
    The two-faction decks add such a wealth of replayability to the game as well. I was pleasantly surprised by all of the interesting combinations and synergies I was able to create, regardless of which teams I picked for the run.
    The decision-making outside of combat was fun too, really clear options made it feel as though I had a lot of agency in deciding what I needed most and attaining it, which once again felt important considering the severity of the challenge this game can present.
    I'm partial to a deckbuilding roguelike, and this game did not disappoint. I'd definitely recommend it to fans of the genre.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews