Final Fantasy Explorers Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FINAL FANTASY EXPLORERS focuses on cooperative play with friends, utilizing a refined party system allowing Explorers to master over twenty jobs, each offering unique ways to defeat or even recruit the realm’s mightiest monsters. Players have the ability to call upon the powers of eidolonsFINAL FANTASY EXPLORERS focuses on cooperative play with friends, utilizing a refined party system allowing Explorers to master over twenty jobs, each offering unique ways to defeat or even recruit the realm’s mightiest monsters. Players have the ability to call upon the powers of eidolons like Ifrit and Bahamut, as well as to transform into legendary characters from the FINAL FANTASY series via the Trance ability. Multiplayer functionality is enabled through the Nintendo 3DS wireless communication. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy Explorers - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 90
    With the superb Final Fantasy heritage to support it and even compensate for the lack of narrative context, as well as some truly exciting multiplayer questing, this is a game I have a lot of time for, and will do so for a long time to come.
  2. Jan 28, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy Explorers is a cute and interesting variation of the original Monster Hunter formula, aimed at the less hardcore players. If you like Monster Hunter but you can't stand its high difficulty level, this is the game for you.
  3. Jan 26, 2016
    76
    Unoriginal and technically lacking, Final Fantasy Explorers tries to make up for it with a large amount of content and fun multiplayer modes.
  4. Jan 25, 2016
    70
    Final Fantasy Explorers feels like an entry point for the genre rather than a true rival to Capcom's crown - it's accessible and enjoyable, but the shallow nature of the gameplay might leave seasoned players feeling a little cold after extended play.
  5. Jan 29, 2016
    70
    This is the first attempt on a series that could have been better in a matter of balance of progression and difficulty. However, it delivers excellent mechanics with a unique taste that differentiate the title among others from the same genre. Unforgettable boss battles, and tons of fan service for followers of the franchise.
  6. Jan 26, 2016
    62
    We are a little bit disappointed with FF Explorers. It feels like it lacks some ambition, but if you like the franchise and the kind of gameplay it relies on, you can find some fun here.
  7. Jan 27, 2016
    50
    Square Enix’s latest attempt to create a Monster Hunter clone has a lot of Final Fantasy fan service but few other reasons to explore its world.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Nov 19, 2016
    10
    Final Fantasy Explorers is a unique game on its own and is a total different game from monster hunter which is another game i enjoyed. FarmingFinal Fantasy Explorers is a unique game on its own and is a total different game from monster hunter which is another game i enjoyed. Farming system is about the same as monster hunter except it is less more tedious than monhun and requires less time to farm and hence, i can play it in short bursts while waiting for people,transport, etc etc. Wide choices of jobs, skills, armor keeps you coming back and experience the game in a whole new perspective. The only thing bad about this game is they rehash the monsters a lot. Maybe add in a few more extra bosses in the end can spice things up. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2016
    10
    i rly hope the update make it good, like everybody say its like monster hunter, but final fantasy wise, and way more easier because you donti rly hope the update make it good, like everybody say its like monster hunter, but final fantasy wise, and way more easier because you dont have to go on wiki all the time. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2016
    8
    This game surprised me, its addicting and fun. sure the online could use some work, when playing with 4 people it tends to lag really reallyThis game surprised me, its addicting and fun. sure the online could use some work, when playing with 4 people it tends to lag really really bad and everything becomes so slow and I hope this is fixed soon, farming and collecting items could get repetitive but i'm sure that the many classes/jobs this game has will keep you busy, lots of skills to learn, the difficulty will make you force to play online and get help, so much to say about this game just go and enjoy it! Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2016
    7
    Giving this game a 7/10 is a break for this game. Although yes this game can keep oyou entertained for hours and it does have the FinalGiving this game a 7/10 is a break for this game. Although yes this game can keep oyou entertained for hours and it does have the Final Fantasy brand to it so you will be thinking ok great this is going to be fun. After about 2 weeks of playing, you wont want to play it again. I'll try and highlight the goods and bads from what ive seen.
    The Good: Plenty of awesome jobs, Fighting cool eidolons, tons of weapons, loot, and a monster class system that makes it really interesting. The fighting style is pretty good for a real time fighting game and I have enjoyed it.
    The bad: Massive Repitition as you will kill every enemy at least 1,000 times without ever seeing a new monster. Fighting harder bosses can be a real pain, you can die after you revive but you are immediately being attacked. Good for the first 20 hours. Def buy if youre a FF lover but dont expect it to be 10/10
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2019
    7
    It's a shame Final Fantasy Explorers didn't garner a better critical reception -- after all, the idea of "Monster Hunter X Final Fantasy" is aIt's a shame Final Fantasy Explorers didn't garner a better critical reception -- after all, the idea of "Monster Hunter X Final Fantasy" is a good one! But the result here is decent, if not spectacular. Boss fights are often interesting but sometimes overwhelming. Ordinary enemy battles can get repetitive and tiresome. The world itself is inviting and generally well-varied, and longtime FF fans will be right at home here. Still, it feels like there's something missing, and I can't quite put my finger on it. I would have preferred either a more traditional 3D JRPG for the first true FF entry on Nintendo 3DS, or even a port (imagine FFVII, but in STEREOSCOPIC 3-D!!!). Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2016
    5
    This isn't the Final Fantasy game you was hoping for nor is it a replacement for the Monster Hunter series, its just plainly average game thatThis isn't the Final Fantasy game you was hoping for nor is it a replacement for the Monster Hunter series, its just plainly average game that can be highly frustrating at times and very repetitive. FFE isn't really a bad game per say, I think it would have had more success if released on the nextgen consoles, and with more content that what the limited 3DS offers.

    The game is really based around highly repetitive eidolon killing missions with a mixture of general kill x amount of monster quests, here or there. The biggest problem with the eidolon missions is that most of the best equipment is based around farming them, either for general materials or to encase and turn them into valuable magicite which is both used for summoning, and for the best upgrade materials.

    What really makes the game annoying is that fact that most of these bosses have super cheesy "One Hit" your dead attacks which have little to no warning in advance that the boss is about to do these attacks, especially frustrating bosses like Fenrir and Shiva, whilst other bosses you just chip away at there obviously larger HP pools and win, the balance is fairly bad and the control system makes some of these fights even worse.

    The control system honestly, isn't very good - using items in boss fights is a really good way to get yourself one shotted, since it requires pressing Y- then navigating with the D-Pad and finally pressing A to confirm...all at the same time your using the thumb stick to avoid any possible attacks. The menu interface also can get quite laggy sometimes, especially frustrating when your doing to use encase on bosses which requires some skill and a bit of luck.

    The online mode is fairly useless, since you cannot join anyone currently in a quest so you have to either wait for them to finish, or open your own rooms. Feels like its more designed for static friends all playing together rather than random PUG groups. There is a rather limited amount of content masked with all different available jobs and skills to unlock, some jobs clearly being better than others whilst others like the beastmaster have very limited online abilities.

    Also the sub quest system is terrible, there really isn't any reason for these since your spending Gil, in exchange for CP as the reward. I personally had a harder time farming Gil than farming CP, however - Once you have mutated your skills enough, I think the CP costs in some of these skills probably warrant the exchange.

    Overall, this game isn't 'bad' but its not really a great game either. I think Final Fantasy fans maybe disappointed, even though there are many famous items to be found such as gunblade and Aeriths clothing, but obviously - these require some grind in order to get them. If you don't mind a repetitive material grindfest, then this game may entertain you for a while, just don't expect a lot from this game. Personally I think this game would be actually quite good on PS4
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2016
    0
    I bought this game with high expectations. I really loved FF Realm Reborn but this game is just a nightmare for anyone who doesn't have superI bought this game with high expectations. I really loved FF Realm Reborn but this game is just a nightmare for anyone who doesn't have super limber fingers. The camera doesn't move with the character so you are constantly having to stop and use the D-pad to move the camera in the direction you are going. They just tried to add to many combat option to a system that really isn't designed for PC like combat commands. I never made it past the second Tutorial Quest because the game wouldn't spawn enough enemies to get the required number to trigger a Crystal Surge for me in the time allotted. On top of that I would loose about 50 res points before I could even get the camera moved in the direction I wanted to run. Game has potential but the controls are just dreadful. If you're like me and have Arthritic fingers don't buy this cause it will make your fingers start to hurt. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews