The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Buy On
  • Developer: Nintendo
  • Genre(s): Action RPG, Role-Playing, Action Adventure, General, Action RPG, Open-World
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds - E3 2013 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    A Link Between Worlds recognizes that it’s not tacked-on stealth segments or waggling a controller to roll bombs that makes Zelda tick—it’s the unbounded exploration and freedom found in the NES original, and it’s finally back in full force here. Every Zelda fan needs to play this game.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 249
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid andWhat initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2018
    10
    Absolutely loved this game; the soundtrack, art style, and gameplay are all fantastic. I really prefer the top down perspective style gameplayAbsolutely loved this game; the soundtrack, art style, and gameplay are all fantastic. I really prefer the top down perspective style gameplay as opposed to ocarina of time for example. The amount of abilties and items at your disposal is very fun to play around with. My favorite component of this game is the freedom with which the player can choose to explore the world and choose which temples to beat whenever the player wants to. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    ok. actually 9.5
    this game is not perfect as ocarina of time or skyward sword
    but its look like a link to the past remake. its good to see
    ok. actually 9.5
    this game is not perfect as ocarina of time or skyward sword
    but its look like a link to the past remake. its good to see that
    it has a good gameplay,with graphics very descents and a good story
    not excelent but good
    Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Definitely a great game. Not perfect like everyone makes it out to be, but still an outstanding handheld title. Despite using most of the LinkDefinitely a great game. Not perfect like everyone makes it out to be, but still an outstanding handheld title. Despite using most of the Link to the Past elements, it truly does feel like an enhanced version of the game without rehashing too much. The difficulty is fairly light (actually harder early on then gets easier), but that doesn't make it a bad game by any means. If you enjoy the action-adventure known as LoZ, I highly recommend picking this one up. One of the very few good games that exist on the 3DS. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MY BACKGROUND: Gamer of about 20 years and started with Super Nintendo and the Super Mario World days. Since then, I’ve owned almost every major console and played many major titles across just about every genre BUT sports (I’d rather do real sports and work out at the gym, lol).

    COMPREHENSIVE, EXHAUSTIVE REVIEW WITH MINIMAL SPOILERS: This is my first ever review for a video game, which should be saying a lot. I wouldn’t be taking a couple hours out of my busy gaming schedule (lol!) if this wasn’t something that truly should be experienced, most especially by the Zelda fans.

    First off, I was very skeptical of this release as well as the release of Super Mario 3D World because really… how many times can you release these big Nintendo franchise games without them starting to feel boring, repetitive, and uninspired? Many big names face this dilemma nowadays. I know Konami had this question running through their minds with their fantastic long standing 2D Castlevania series as well.

    What changed my mind was Nintendo’s brilliant tactic to release reviews early before both games’ releases a week ago. Unanimous positive critic reviews on Metacritic told me I had to give this Zelda a real shot and buy it at retail, which I almost NEVER do for games anymore since the prices go down fast and the market is so flooded with crappy cash cow rehashes (*COUGH* CALL OF DUTY *COUGH* BATTLEFIELD). But I also did feel like I needed to support and help out the company, right now headed for financial doom, which sparked my childhood video gaming dreams. Boy, did I make the right decision.

    I’ve just finished the game earlier today and it left me with such a great feeling of accomplishment. There has been no Zelda game that felt as inspirational as this one since A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time. Granted, with the exception of these 2D and 3D Zelda standards, I haven’t played through all the other ones in their entirety, but at least you’re getting an honest opinion from an experienced gamer who’s NOT an absolute Zelda fanboy.

    STORY: Now this is not anything on the cinematic level of Uncharted or Final Fantasy, but there is a nice basic tale of good and evil. You have a kingdom in trouble again. Some guy (or some might mistake him to be a girl, lol!) named Yuga appears in Hyrule to capture the Sages who protect the Triforce by trapping them in paintings in order to revive Ganon, ultimately gain control of the Triforce, and shape the world to his liking. As Link, you are, as usual, destined to save the kingdom. The story unfolds beautifully at the end with some twists, so I won’t go into any further detail to keep from spoiling it. Although, I do feel you may see it all coming ahead of time.

    GRAPHICS: Great, clean stuff, similar to the engine run in Animal Crossing: New Leaf and the Mario games. The game is run at a silky smooth 60 FPS. Very, very rarely do you get brief frame rate drops. I personally don’t believe graphics should ever drive a good game, so I won’t dwell on this and leave it to another reviewer to talk about.

    MUSIC: Being a musician myself, I get pretty judgmental on what is considered great music in a video game. It’s clear that the music from LTTP was exceptional, and so much of that is rightfully carried over and rearranged for this game. Who doesn’t love the epic theme that plays when you enter Hyrule Castle and try to save princess Zelda the first time around? Or the soothing Karkariko Village theme which really should just be as traditional as the Star-Spangled Banner at this point? There are a number of new tunes which are great, but just not as catchy and memorable as the old ones. You will also find that in the milk bar, you can pay 10 rupees per song for play beautiful guitar and flute renditions of the songs in the game.

    GAMEPLAY: The meat of any Zelda game consists of open world and dungeon crawling with puzzles that get increasingly tricky. There honestly isn’t another top-down Zelda game that gets this any better than A Link to the Past. Following the blueprint of A Link to the Past (I’ll shorten it as “LTTP” from here on out), Nintendo ran the risk of borrowing too much from the magnificent predecessor for this installment. While there were times where I said to myself, “this giant block obstructing my way—but obviously capable of being lifted with the Titan’s Mitt—was in the same EXACT spot 20 years ago”, or “this piece of heart was also EXACTLY in this cave before”, or “I know I’m going to get another bottle from THAT guy under the bridge by the castle…”, or “welllllll damn Hyrule looks almost exactly the same!!!”... Nintendo has added a plethora of changes to make this an almost completely fresh experience while still evoking nostalgia from Zelda veterans. It’s only when you really dive in and play do you notice all of these great changes.

    See my review on the Amazon product page for more review details! (I was limited to 5000 char here)

    GET THIS GAME NOW!
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2017
    9
    O game retrata bem o mundo de Zelda, fazendo com que eu voltasse no ''A link to the past'' com novas ótimas mecânicas, o jogo conta com tudoO game retrata bem o mundo de Zelda, fazendo com que eu voltasse no ''A link to the past'' com novas ótimas mecânicas, o jogo conta com tudo que esperamos de um The Legend of Zelda, porém a confiusão devido a falta de informações confunde um pouco no começo. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    The original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of theThe original Zeldas on the NES, were among the first games i have ever played as a kid, back in the early 90s. Then i played all of the sequels. I loved those early Zeldas very much, with a special place in my heart for Link's Awakening on the Game Boy, the best Zelda game ever, bar none (take that Ocarina of Time, you are great but not the best Zelda).

    So, as you can imagine, this game is supposed to be something i should find enjoyable. After all, i grew up with games like this, i own a 3DS, enjoy relaxed handheld gaming on my bed, what's not to like?

    Well, this game is boring trash, and has nothing to do with the early top view zeldas at all. It is vastly overrated, relying on misplaced nostalgia to sell copies and get good reviews.

    There is no challenge in this game, it is boring and tedius. The graphics are really bad, and the 2D wall walking gimmick is retarded.

    This is one of the weakest Zelda games ever, down there with the DS games which sucked as well.

    The normal rating should be a 6, but i got to balance all the fangirls, so i rate it with a 0.
    Expand

See all 249 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.