Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this pair of action-packed adventures, players journey as actual Pokemon through a fantastic land untouched by humans. Before the game starts, players take a test to help them figure out which of 16 Pokemon best represents their personalities. Players then experience their adventureIn this pair of action-packed adventures, players journey as actual Pokemon through a fantastic land untouched by humans. Before the game starts, players take a test to help them figure out which of 16 Pokemon best represents their personalities. Players then experience their adventure through the eyes of a Pokemon as they explore the land and embark on an epic journey through time and darkness. They talk and team up with other Pokemon to set out on an epic voyage while navigating an endless array of randomly generated dungeons. More than 490 Pokemon populate these new games, guaranteeing strategic, intense battles and infinite possibilities, no matter which Pokemon players become. To widen their circle of Pokemon friends, Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection lets users engage in wireless rescue operations and send alerts to their friends via e-mail or mobile text message. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. 80
    If you've wanted to play Rogue-like games in the past, but found them to be a bit too unforgiving, this is an exceedingly good alternative to look into.
  2. Nintendo Power
    75
    The strength of the first "Pokemon Mystery Dungeon" was its in-depth story, and that's true of the second pair of titles as well. [June 2008, p.86]
  3. If you've already played Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue/Red Rescue Team, the improved Wi-Fi functionality is the sole reason that it might be worth playing Explorers of Time/Darkness.
  4. 60
    Younger players might get a kick out seeing their favourite Pokemon in a new light, but others should probably stick to 'purer' roguelikes like Shiren, or more standard RPGs like the core Pokemon titles.
  5. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    55
    It will frustrate even its core audience with the absence of recovery items, limited inventory and the need to keep your pokemons well fed. It’s also a very repetitive game. There are a lot a better alternative for fans, all of them with less penalties. [July 2008]
  6. 50
    If you're a Pokemon superfan, you'll undoubtedly enjoy chilling with the very creatures you've spent so much time trying to catch.
  7. Edge Magazine
    30
    This recurrent rehash is branding to serve the genre, and of little benefit to Poke-fans. [Sept 2008, p.96]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    Call me insane, but I'm starting to prefer this simple spin off over the already great original series.
    Why the premise and dialogue is
    Call me insane, but I'm starting to prefer this simple spin off over the already great original series.
    Why the premise and dialogue is adorably cheesy, there's a rather smart and mature story behind it all, which is something Pokemon needs more of. I found myself deeply caring for the characters and plot, which is rare in my case, especially in a kids game. The gameplay could use work, but overall I enjoyed almost everything about this game, a truly underrated title, now if only the 3rd in the series will be in 3d, (and please none of that rumble blast engine crap please.)
    Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This games is absolutely beautiful. The graphics are excellent, the dialogue is BEAUTIFULLY written and it was a very great experience. TheThis games is absolutely beautiful. The graphics are excellent, the dialogue is BEAUTIFULLY written and it was a very great experience. The partner was the greatest part. He cares about you more than anything in the world, a true friend. This was my first DS Pokemon game,so I know exactly what I'm saying. Check this game out, don't judge it unfairly. You need to judge not just games, but experiences and what an experience this game is. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    Eigentlich sollte die Aussage "Unendlicher Pokemonspaß" schon reichen ... Der Soundtrack war legendär und die Möglichkeiten riesig . EinEigentlich sollte die Aussage "Unendlicher Pokemonspaß" schon reichen ... Der Soundtrack war legendär und die Möglichkeiten riesig . Ein Langzeitspaß sonderesgleichen ;) Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Graphics: Very nice graphics (Going by me... Considering it on a DS graphics are very good and I just happen to love the 2D are style )Graphics: Very nice graphics (Going by me... Considering it on a DS graphics are very good and I just happen to love the 2D are style )
    Difficult: It tends to be very hard at some points but still very fun
    Game play: The only thing I did not like is how you had to open a menu and choose attack and then choose which attack... It took very long... But besides that this is a very fun game
    Story: Very sad, Great story
    Music: Very very good sound tracks
    Expand
  5. May 22, 2019
    9
    Explorers of Darkness has a surprisingly amazing story. The gameplay is pretty nice too. Who would've thought a Pokemon roguelike would be this good?
  6. Sep 24, 2018
    8
    bought this game on a off chance ive got a friend who loves pokemon so i got it to see if i like it and its a very good game could be morebought this game on a off chance ive got a friend who loves pokemon so i got it to see if i like it and its a very good game could be more varied but apart from that a great game Expand
  7. JoeS.
    May 10, 2008
    4
    This is a very poor game with the Pokemon name slapped on it to sell it. The game play is very repetitive, the environments consist of boxes This is a very poor game with the Pokemon name slapped on it to sell it. The game play is very repetitive, the environments consist of boxes that come in three different shades of brown, and there are only a handful of animations for the moves/attacks. The moves are completely unbalanced, the items do virtually nothing, and all too often you will lose everything anyway. Avoid this Pokemon game, because its not Pokemon. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

12
#12 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
8
#8 Most Shared DS Game of 2008