Star Fox: Assault Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Team Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic teamTeam Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic team members Fox McCloud, Slippy Toad, Peppy Hare, and Falco Lombardi, along with some new faces--is sent in to engage this new enemy. Now, as part of the Star Fox team, you can participate in solo or co-op missions or plug in with up to three other players. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Monster Hunter Generations - Star Fox Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    I miss Fox's awesome fur mapping, but I guess getting Krystal as a permanent team member makes us even. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  4. Game Informer
    70
    It's easily one of the most unique and entertaining multiplayer choices for the GameCube. [Apr 2005, p.131]
  5. Everything that is good about the game (the flight missions, the refurbished musical score) stems from the original Star Fox. What Namco tried to do with the on-foot missions makes me wonder why purists are arguing that the series hasn't evolved enough.
  6. Far from being the next generation of Star Fox game.
  7. From a value perspective, you're dealing with a feature-film's worth of content for fifty bucks. Independently wealthy, rabid fanboys might want to check it out, otherwise we'd leave this fox to the dogs.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 6 out of 49
  1. sdc
    Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Incredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgiaIncredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgia boners; it's different, unique, and still fun. I don't care if these foot sections reappear; I'm more than happy with them. Throw in a pre-apocalyptic atmosphere, amazing Arwing sections, graphics that'll knock your socks off, and an orchestral score that packs a punch; we have what I believe to be Star Fox' greatest adventure. 64 not withstanding. Expand
  2. StarfoxRoxYurSox
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    It pwns, multiplayer is awesome, i dont no y u dissapointed ppl thught it was going to be Halo, but it works for me. Ill bet all you It pwns, multiplayer is awesome, i dont no y u dissapointed ppl thught it was going to be Halo, but it works for me. Ill bet all you "dissapointed people" play xbox anyway Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2016
    9
    Why did I give this game a 9/10 (would have given an 8.5 if it were an option TBH) nearly 13 years after this game was made? A lot ofWhy did I give this game a 9/10 (would have given an 8.5 if it were an option TBH) nearly 13 years after this game was made? A lot of reasons, but I will expand in an organized fashion:

    1) The reviews from critics are no longer feasible, nor applicable, that rated the game poorly for price. The game is now chump change (or free if you use dolphin, which enhances the resolution as well).

    2) The game is not identical to Starfox 64 (different types of combat), and that isn't an issue, because they tried to make something unique, and despite not being perfect, it is well made for several reasons I will continue to expand on.

    3) Different types of combat available in almost every level enables the game to stray away from monotony at every turn.

    4) One of the reasons I enjoy (possibly even love) about this game over a decade later (playing it for the first time mind you), is the fact that the game is NOT EASY. Is it incredibly hard? Mmmm, no I would not qualify it as such, but it is challenging, which is enjoyable to say the least!

    I could continue to expand on the good, but let me give the only reasoning this game fell short of perfect, but can be overlooked for the most part: The controls are not perfect, and sometimes a tiny frustrating, but what do you expect when trying to include so many different forms of combat? The voice acting is sometimes a little meh (except Krsytal, whom is great!). The last complaint is the length of the game, but it is too cheap for that to deter anyone anymore. So enjoy it if you are contemplating on doing it this late—or even later—as I have now.
    Expand
  4. FoxMcCloud
    Mar 15, 2005
    8
    Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different difficulty settings and trying to get new medals. The multi-player is a blast with about twelve different weapons, all of which fill their own niche. The weapons are fairly well balanced and while none of the weapons are obsolete, some are obviously better than others. The game would have much better replay value though if it had bots in the multi-player and coop in the story mode. That and the fact that it's short are my only three knocks against it. It is for most a good purchase, especially if there is another person you can play against regularly. The multi-player is really what will keep it entertaining months after you get it. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    StarFox Assault was and is an underrated gamecube gem, one of my favorites even, and probably my second favorite StarFox game behind StarFoxStarFox Assault was and is an underrated gamecube gem, one of my favorites even, and probably my second favorite StarFox game behind StarFox 2. The handling on-foot wasn't great, but it doesn't ruin the game, and the Arwing and Landmaster gameplay were both outstanding, definitely wish I could see more of that in future games. It's an easy 8.7/10

    The in-story cutscenes look spectacular even by today's standards, and has probably the best, and most solid storyline in the StarFox series, taking us back to SNES-era seriousness, it expanded on all of the characters and made them seem like more than cartoon tropes like in 64 or Adventures.

    The soundtrack was outstanding, one of Nintendo's best ever, but the soundscape/audio wasn't great, it sounds VERY underwhelming next to great visuals, design and music. Some of the voice acting is very good, and some of it is almost cringeworthy.

    I'd say the game stands on equal grounds with 64, and is the best true sequel to the series, (to be released officially that is), I hope Nintendo can learn from Assault, StarFox 2 and more recently SFZero and give us a game that pushes the series to the future, and add more characters, please.

    The multiplayer is spectacular, one of the best on GameCube next to Smash Bros Melee and MarioKart DD, but is a little underbalanced at times, Fox and Krystal are well rounded, Falco's got VERY low health even for a speedster, and Slippy's oddjob with extra health, Peppy is vulnerable most of the time except for his blaster, and Wolf is incredibly overpowered.

    The Arwing flies like a dream, probably the best aircraft I've ever used in a video game, and the LandMaster was for its first time a REAL Tank, but it was fast and maneuverable, a graceful machine that's super fun to run enemies over, or blast them with the beam cannon, definitely need more of that in the series.

    a spectacular underrated masterpiece that although is NOT perfect, is still an outstanding game worth its salt. and for the facts: the majority of the game is spent in the Arwing, and then LandMaster, and then onfoot in that order for people who say you spend 60% of the game on-foot or whatever bullcrap
    Expand
  6. NintendoPSBox
    Feb 6, 2005
    7
    It's a decent game, but not as impressive or good as Metroid Prime 2 or Ratchet and Clank 3.
  7. BReilly
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    Worst Star Fox game ever. Huge disappointment.

See all 49 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

47
4
#4 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
5
#5 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005