Dark Souls III Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2660 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Japanese developer FromSoftware, DARK SOULS III is the latest chapter in the DARK SOULS series with its trademark sword and sorcery combat and rewarding action RPG gameplay. Players travel across a wide variety of locations in an interconnected world of unrelenting challenge andDeveloped by Japanese developer FromSoftware, DARK SOULS III is the latest chapter in the DARK SOULS series with its trademark sword and sorcery combat and rewarding action RPG gameplay. Players travel across a wide variety of locations in an interconnected world of unrelenting challenge and deep RPG gameplay as they search for a way to survive the coming apocalypse. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dark Souls III - Accursed Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 18, 2016
    100
    Regardless of the absolute score, we have some complaints. We would like to have more imagination, courage and new content. DSIII is rather a superb compilation of previous games from the series. If you are a novice, it can be seen as an advantage. [Issue#263]
  2. Apr 10, 2016
    99
    Dark Souls 3 completes the epic trilogy in the best way possible. It manages to be fresh and simultaneously so familiar. So, embrace the darkness and when you emerge victorious you can proudly shout to the heavens: Praise the Sun!
  3. Apr 4, 2016
    94
    Sprawling level design, thrilling combat, and masterful indirect storytelling make Dark Souls 3 the best Dark Souls yet.
  4. Apr 3, 2016
    90
    Despite the odd issues I ran into with the game, be it performance related, or gameplay related (mobs of enemies don’t always make a game harder FromSoftware), Dark Souls 3 is a gargantuan step up from Dark Souls 2 in terms of design...From Software has included a lot for players to mess around with, and between the various armor sets, locations, weapons and enemies to get acquainted with, Dark Souls 3 is one behemoth of a game that could stand at the top of the entire series in terms of quality.
  5. 90
    Devout followers of the Souls series will immediately discover that Dark Souls III is in many respects more of the same, and the majority of them couldn't be happier with that judgment.
  6. May 3, 2016
    85
    In most games there is a simple pleasure of success that accompanies them. The payoff for Dark Souls isn't guaranteed, but goes somewhat deeper than that. It feels a little more like genuine accomplishment, found in small does along the way and promised in large measure when you finally find yourself skilled at this wonderfully unique little corner of the gaming world.
  7. Apr 4, 2016
    70
    Dark Souls III nails much of what made the first two in the series so special, but its world and enemies are unusually drab.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 271
  1. Dec 3, 2017
    10
    LA trilogía. Sin duda entretenidos, rejugables y que te aportan una experiencia que no pueden aportarte otros juegos. 100% recomendables. MiLA trilogía. Sin duda entretenidos, rejugables y que te aportan una experiencia que no pueden aportarte otros juegos. 100% recomendables. Mi preferido. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    Why does the PC user score have so many zeroes? I have had no issues with exception to the odd framerate drop here and there, same as my xboxWhy does the PC user score have so many zeroes? I have had no issues with exception to the odd framerate drop here and there, same as my xbox version this game is the definitive souls experience, and in many ways is as good as, if not better than dark souls 1. Take my word for it if not the critics. This does not deserve 0s. Its a 9.7 for me, minus .3 for framerate issues. But considering metacritic doesnt dea in .0s ill round quite happily to a 10. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    Yes, it is not such a phenomenon as the first one, and, seriously, it can't stand to that masterpiece.
    But still this game just absorbed
    Yes, it is not such a phenomenon as the first one, and, seriously, it can't stand to that masterpiece.
    But still this game just absorbed everything great about Demon Souls, Dark Souls 1&2, Bloodbourne and there is nothing wrong with it, because it's a quintessence of Hidetaka Miyazaki's ingenious creativity.
    The stortelling, characters, foes, gameplay, f*cking legendary atmosphere... Thanks, Hidetaka. I'm sorry that this is the end of those game series. Looking forward for your future creations.
    Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2017
    9
    With this series I started to get acquainted with only 3 parts of Dark Souls.
    I was aware of its complexity, but did not attach much
    With this series I started to get acquainted with only 3 parts of Dark Souls.
    I was aware of its complexity, but did not attach much importance. Now I decided to get acquainted with this series.

    We play for the non-combatant - a restless soul whose body was rejected by the flames
    The game itself takes place in the kingdom of Lotrr at the junction of many powerful kingdoms that belonged to the rulers of the ashes, but eventually, as a result of certain incidents, these lands turned into half-ruined ruins inhabited only by vile creatures

    The game represents the path from point A to the boss (B), along the way we meet different mobs. From light to pizetskhykatyavki, as well as you can meet an NPC with side quests or a trader.

    We have 10 classes with different game styles to choose from. You can be a knight, you can be a magician, but you can take a vagabond and assemble your class, thanks to the extensive leveling of the level allows.
    Bleeding occurs at the expense of spending souls, which drop out from various mobs.

    In the game a large arsenal of weapons, shields, spells, everyone will find his own.
    From the combat system, you can note a bad camera and the management of the character. With some bosses there will be difficulties due to the camera itself.

    Separately I want to mention the soundtrack and design of locations.

    Each location is not similar to the previous one, here its secrets, mobs, its boss and its NPC. The locations themselves are connected with each other by bonfires (for quick movement and saves).
    The variety of mobs in each location pleases, they are not similar to each other.
    And all this is added to the soundtrack, which is worth the soundtrack in the main menu.

    Bosses are different: from slow to fast, from big to small, from strong to weak, and each boss needs his own approach.
    Sometimes bosses are able to greatly surprise. Either somehow change during a fight, or you have to kill by special, or in the arena with the boss will happen some kind of garbage

    Even if you can not get through the boss you can call for help from a phantom (other players or bots)

    The plot is revealed due to the descriptions of objects and we will have to collect it by pieces. So it will be much to read.

    The most terrible thing in the game is the network part. Terrible net code, the balance of hostile phantoms. Horseradish understand how to get hit by weapons on the model player.
    Coop in the game is present, but made in the traditions through the anus. It is connected through time, and can not connect at all.

    In general, the game turned out good, not too complicated, interesting and exciting.
    His money is worth. My rating is 8.7 of 10
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2016
    8
    Unfortunately Dark Souls 3 has lost its freshness.
    In particular this game is way too easy, is very short and enemies are easily predictable.
    Unfortunately Dark Souls 3 has lost its freshness.
    In particular this game is way too easy, is very short and enemies are easily predictable.
    If you don't play online there is no sense of a new game + . This is the fourth chapter and there is nothing really that adds replay value (item hunt for example , new weapons).
    The rpg elements of the game could have been better on the 4th installment. I like getting new things as i progress but at the end i finished the game with the same weapon i started it. Armor sets are kinda useless and are only usefull for the looks.
    Story is always the same thing, the Undead hero that will become the lord of Cinders etc etc, nothing new. Also the environment is way too similar to the previous souls chapters, seems to me very copy pasted.
    I think the biggest problem is that it doesn't add anything new at all. Only proper dual wielding weapons , the rest has been seen before.

    All in all it's a good game and that means 8/10 but we are very far away from a 10/10
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2016
    6
    Folks who gave this a 10... i want some of what you are smoking. After playing through the game with a friend of mine who is also a huge soulsFolks who gave this a 10... i want some of what you are smoking. After playing through the game with a friend of mine who is also a huge souls series fan, we both came to the same conclusion; Dissapointment. While a good game, it just falls short in several areas and brings very little new to the table.

    Im a long time souls fan and have done multiple play-throughs of each title. This is by far the least polished game in the series. not only were there bugs at launch but framerate problems have persisted even after the first couple updates.

    But my main gripes with this game are as follows:

    the bonfire placement was more frequent; making them more like checkpoints than the much loved sanctuary in the previous games.

    Many areas and bosses alike were just so heavily inspired by previous games that only a couple areas felt totally fresh. In the end, i wish From Software had really made a more compelling send off to the dark souls series.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2019
    0
    inadequate banning policy. PC contols are a joke. And ban message only shows up if you are playing on english, otherwise you'll have no ideainadequate banning policy. PC contols are a joke. And ban message only shows up if you are playing on english, otherwise you'll have no idea why you can't join your friend. And I even have bought all DLCs for this crap Expand

See all 271 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.
  2. Best of April 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of April 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: April 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during April.