Legend of Grimrock Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 707 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Legend of Grimrock is a dungeon crawling game inspired by oldschool classics of the genre while still bringing its own twists to the game. The game features survival, combat, magic, puzzles and role-playing elements. The player is a prisoner sentenced to death and exiled to the secludedLegend of Grimrock is a dungeon crawling game inspired by oldschool classics of the genre while still bringing its own twists to the game. The game features survival, combat, magic, puzzles and role-playing elements. The player is a prisoner sentenced to death and exiled to the secluded Mount Grimrock for vile crimes he may or may not have committed. Unbeknownst to his captivators, the mountain is riddled with ancient tunnels and dungeons. The player's mission is to form a team and escape by descending through the mountain, level by level. During the journey the player encounters mysterious puzzles, deadly traps, ancient tombs and horrible monsters left behind by crumbled civilizations long perished now. Find out more at http://www.grimrock.net Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Legend of Grimrock Beta Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    95
    The level design, enemy placement, and especially the puzzles are all, by and large, wonderfully crafted. There are a few instances where the "traps" seem more unfair than clever, but that hardly tarnishes what is otherwise a terrific experience. You'll be hard-pressed to find a modern game like Legend of Grimrock any time soon, but with a game of this quality, you won't need one.
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    90
    Legend of Grimrock deserves candlelight and graph paper. Who knows how long it will take until someone will bridge the gap between an idealized past and the reality of now in such a wonderful way again; and if it will be in such an uncompromising and yet perfectly working way, as it was accomplished with Legend of Grimrock.
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    88
    If you are a fan of classic Dungeon Crawlers then there isn't a whole lot to complain about with Legend of Grimrock. This is a tribute to games like Dungeon Master, Eye of the Beholder and Ultima Underworld.
  4. Apr 23, 2012
    80
    The tutorial aspects of the game are also a bit thin, with the smallest of introductions to the base concepts, while the more intricate aspects need to be figured out as you play through.
  5. May 23, 2012
    80
    In a way, The Legend of Grimrock is a lot like Dark Souls. The game rewards calculated, meticulous play and any severe injuries or deaths are likely a result of not taking in your surroundings. There are a lot of ways to die in Grimrock and if you're not paying attention, taking the time to search out better gear and learn to craft potions, you're going to have a difficult time with it. However, there's a great feeling of accomplishment as you traverse each floor, defeating powerful monsters and figuring out puzzle solutions on your own.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    80
    Legend of Grimrock proves old school dungeon crawls aren't dead yet. Thanks to its challenging gameplay it is recommended not only to nostalgic players but to any RPG admirer. [May 2012]
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    65
    For every puzzle that rewards experimentation and inventive thinking, there are a handful where you're supposed to find a button blending into a random panel of the dungeon's wall.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 179
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    I had played this game for a bit in the past, less then a few minutes because I could never figure out how combat worked and would always getI had played this game for a bit in the past, less then a few minutes because I could never figure out how combat worked and would always get killed off from the snail. Then the other night I started it up again and tried playing once more not expecting to get far or play to long. However I found myself playing for over an hour and was able to figure out what I couldn't before, so here is my review on a very awesome game.

    The Legend of Grimrock, a game I bought on Steam a couple years ago during the 2012 summer sale event made by Almost Human Games[www.grimrock.net].

    The game is an old school RPG that is not turn based but live action. In other words you are able to move, cast spells, select items from your inventory and rest without waiting for creatures to take their turn. As your trying to get your spell cast or looking for a throwing item in your inventory the creature will be attacking you and won't sit there and wait till your done.

    I really found this game to have that pen and paper D&D feel to it and I like the idea of selecting the option to not have the game do the mapping as I explore and then I can map it out with graph paper and a pencil (I didn't do this of course).

    The character creation screen is very simple with 4 races and 3 classes to choose from. The inventory and character screen isn't complex or confusing but very intuitive and easy to figure out and understand.

    The spell's though are based on symbols and you have to select the right symbols or combination of to cast the spell. I found that you couldn't get the spell unless you found the scroll for the right spell but this could have been because I wasn't selecting the right symbol until I found the scroll.

    When venturing through the dungeon your characters will get hungry and there will be a symbol of food in there avatar picture indicating they need to eat. When you kill of creatures they will sometimes leave a meat chunk behind and you will want to get these to eat along with any food things you find along the way.

    During combat along the way some of your party member may die, take heart because they are not gone for good. You will be able to access their inventory while dead to. There will be these big blue floating crystals that when touched will restore your party to full health and energy and raid the dead. Remember where these ones are. Once they are used you will have to wait for a bit till it can be clicked on again.

    Now as for combat, where I originally had most of my troubles. To attack all you need simply do is right click on your hand under your avatar (wither their is a weapon in it or not). If your a spell caster you will want to keep at least one hand empty for right clicking to bring up the symbol window for spell casting.

    When you left click on a throwing weapon it will be attached to your mouse cursor and if you click with it again with your mouse pointer above the midline of the screen (the top half of the window) then it will be thrown. If you click below the midline (bottom half of the screen) then it get dropped on the floor.

    This is a keyboard and mouse type game and no controller support.

    Now that I have been able to find out something about the game and how combat works, along with the abilities to make your own dungeon's and storyline and the Steam Workshop to try some community based dungeons, The Legend of Grimrock is one game to have in your collection. Its worth a play!
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't had as much fun in a game since Skyrim. Get it, it is such a refreshing breeze of fresh air in the polluted modern games market.I haven't had as much fun in a game since Skyrim. Get it, it is such a refreshing breeze of fresh air in the polluted modern games market. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is fun. It requires intelligence and cunning to progress! Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    OMG! Dungeon Master resurrected! Can't stop playing now! So far, excellent! Is also now part of the Steam Workshop so replay value has greatlyOMG! Dungeon Master resurrected! Can't stop playing now! So far, excellent! Is also now part of the Steam Workshop so replay value has greatly improved with people all around the world submitting their dungeons. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    One of the best features of the LoG is its respect for the player's intelligence. The game style may not be for everyone, but anyone tired ofOne of the best features of the LoG is its respect for the player's intelligence. The game style may not be for everyone, but anyone tired of games telling them 'press LS to move' might enjoy a break with some interesting puzzles, strategic combat and old school RPG fun. The game is not overly hard, and may only lightly challenge veterans of games such as Bard's Tale or the old AD&D games, but amid the wash of glorified cut scenes that modern gaming has become, this is a rare and brilliant gem. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    Great game,reminds me of when I used to play Dungeon Master and all the other gems.Magic could do with a bit of work,and sometimes you doGreat game,reminds me of when I used to play Dungeon Master and all the other gems.Magic could do with a bit of work,and sometimes you do become slightly outnumbered in combat, which can be a bit of a downside to the game.Overall fun,addictive,well designed and well worth a sequel in my book. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    0
    I bought this because it was highly recommended by more quite a few people. I cannot see why. Here are the reasons why I hated this game, andI bought this because it was highly recommended by more quite a few people. I cannot see why. Here are the reasons why I hated this game, and recommend avoiding it entirely.
    1) 3 classes, garden variety, not much in the way of useful customization. 2) Real time in an RPG trying to be old-school
    3) Terrible controls
    4) Blocky movement (part of 3)
    5) Reflex based puzzles (see 3 and 4 for part of the reason these are terrible)
    6) Almost entirely reflex based combat
    7) Absolutely terrible magic system, you are better off just filling your party with 2 of the 3 classes.
    8) Uninspired and quite frankly boring storyline.

    I've played great old school rpgs, grew up on them in fact. This is not one of them.
    Expand

See all 179 User Reviews

Trailers