Mass Effect 3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7061 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally theBioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take back the Earth. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mass Effect 3 Kinect Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 13, 2012
    100
    Mass Effect 3 will force you to make tough decisions on a galactic scale. You have to think them through and you feel bad about yourself afterwards. It really kicked me in the emotional equivalent of testicles. What a spectacular finale to the trilogy! [April 2012, p.44]
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    99
    Anyone who has invested any amount of time in the previous games will enjoy watching the final chapter of Shepard's tale unfold, and among the feelings of excitement and joy as they meet and fight alongside old friends for the fate of the galaxy, they will also feel just a tinge of disappointment and heartbreak as they bid farewell to the colorful universe and memorable characters BioWare has created.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 surprised me in a very positive way. BioWare has delivered an excellent product that won't allow us to forget about Normandy's crew for years to come. The trilogy's conclusion should satisfy everyone and the grand finale itself is simply perfect - you will all be awestruck.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    Whether you possess a storied history with the series or come with a clean slate, Mass Effect 3 expertly entangles you in its universe and inspires you to care about its future.
  5. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 12, 2012
    90
    The efforts to approach a broader target group by ripping to shreds "complex" RPG mechanics, by cutting back on dialogue options and by emphasizing the action element, are painfully obvious. But the epic scale, the magnificent direction, the different story paths influenced by options that skyrocket the game's replayability and, in general, the whole "blockbuster" grandeur feeling outshine the various drawbacks. [April 2012]
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    A great finale to a remarkable series. While Mass Effect 3 may not be perfect, the stirring story, smart writing and fast combat still make for an exceptional experience.
  7. 75
    So that's the story of Mass Effect 3, turned from potential masterpiece into a game sabotaged by greed and the „it's good enough" approach. It's unbelievable how easy BioWare passed over the opportunity for greatness and, despite the sales, I have a feeling that their reputation as great RPG makers is going downhill fast. Especially after this "back to back" performance with the fiasco called Dragon Age II.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Mass effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to the mass effect saga. It boasts significantly improved gameplay fluidity and mechanics, as well as aMass effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to the mass effect saga. It boasts significantly improved gameplay fluidity and mechanics, as well as a more varied campaign. The story is emotional, hard hitting, and diverse. The games visuals have been improved a lot, and the pc version looks quite spectacular despite and aging core engine, and runs smoother than the previous games to boot. In terms of streamlining - which I hate - the game is in between mass effect 1 and 2, the major disappointment in the game is the planet exploring, which has been stripped down. Imported save games determine a lot, from entire characters no longer existing in the story to conflicts that play out entirely different.Multiplayer is fun, and is not required to get the best ending in the game. In the end, mass effect 3 is special. As good as mass effect 2 in storytelling, and almost as good as mass effect 1 in rpg-like skill/item medications and exp distribution. My favorite in an acclaimed series. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time in, everything is better then in the 2nd game, weapon customization (which is non existent in the 2ndThis is my favorite game of all time in, everything is better then in the 2nd game, weapon customization (which is non existent in the 2nd game, story(we are taking later about the ending) and gameplay. The ending was GOOD, after the extended ending it was great. I don't know why everyone says the ending is garbage. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2021
    9
    Mass Effect 3 is the third installment of the legendary Mass Effect sci-fi action RPG game series, released in 2012 it also concludes the MassMass Effect 3 is the third installment of the legendary Mass Effect sci-fi action RPG game series, released in 2012 it also concludes the Mass Effect Shepherd trilogy. In Mass Effect 3, I got the feeling that everything is smooth and polished when compared to its predecessors. Well everything except the ending obviously. But otherwise I really enjoyed this game, the missions are more plentiful, more diverse, more interesting, the interactions and relationships with your squadmates are as great as they always were. The story itself is pretty predictable but individual missions are very interesting with important choices to be made. Graphics is similar to ME2, but still very nice, polished and likeable. Game font is also pleasing to the eye. Music is nonintrusive and well chosen (Bad Choices). The range of story choices is maybe a little bit more limited than in ME2, but it still offers a great variability. The only trouble with this game is the ending. Upon the game release back in 2012, the ending was just a joke and even with two DLCs and a lot of fixing and polishing, it is still mediocre and unmemorable, specially for a great trilogy like Mass Effect. Such a trilogy deserved better. It is a pity that there is no peaceful path when dealing with Cerberus, it just seems maybe a little bit too extreme for Shepherd to switch like that and really hate Cerberus in ME3. Also maybe the events between ME1 / ME2 and also ME2 / ME3 could have been explained in more details. But these are minor and mostly personal problems. It is worth noting that this trilogy is really supposed to be played as such and jumping straight into ME3 without a previous save from ME2 and knowledge of the events of the previous games would be inadvisable. Microtransactions are present in the mild form of overpriced DLCs. SJW nonsense is maybe a tiny bit more apparent than in the previous games, but still nothing major.

    Major DLCs: From Ashes - adds a squadmate with lot of funny moments, but also one that helps to put the reaper threat to perspective. Leviathan - great DLCs with dark atmosphere and very important information about the reapers, so much so that this DLCs should not have been a DLC at all, but rather a part of the base game. Omega - another great DLC with ties to ME2, you help Aria reclaim Omega. Citadel - largest DLC with a very different tone to it. Your entire crew takes a shore leave on the Citadel. This DLC is filled with fun and games, literary. It ends with an epic party.

    I personally enjoyed Mass Effect 3 very much, the meh ending did not spoil nor diminish the hundreds of hours of great fun I had playing this fantastic trilogy. The journey is, after all, the destination. Final verdict: 94 %
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a tough one. I really enjoyed the first 2 Mass Effect games, and most of it is really great: I like the normal missions, who are like ME 1 and 2, and I even enjoy the multiplayer part alot.

    BUT the ending is horrible! Not just gameplay-wise, which suxx so hard. You need to watch a movie while it plays out, because it's like 40 minuttes of cutscenes you can't skip, and choices without any real effect. And then there are the ending itself: Possibly the worst ideas I have seen in a game. My guess is the developing team was out sick or maybe they just hate everyone playing their games, but it's a serious torture to get through that hour or so it takes to get to the ending. I hope they all got fired, and that people spit on them whenever they meet them...

    So, if you're considering buying the game, my advice is this: Stop when you get to the last missions (back on earth), and write some solution yourself. It can only be better, even if it means the Reapers win!!
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2021
    3
    Not as exhausting as Mass Effect 2, not as fun to play as ME 1( if we consider that it was fun at all). Just ended the whole trilogy and iNot as exhausting as Mass Effect 2, not as fun to play as ME 1( if we consider that it was fun at all). Just ended the whole trilogy and i have to say, that they keep that ME level on stable "peace of **** All games around 4/10, but i gave my emotional rate to ME 2( 1/10) and considering ME 1 is the best and that ME 3 is the THIRD game in superpopular series and it is still so bad i'll give 3 to ME3 Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2012
    1
    Not a very good game, I was expecting more from a highly anticipated rpg. The ending totally destroyed it and made it unworthy for what theNot a very good game, I was expecting more from a highly anticipated rpg. The ending totally destroyed it and made it unworthy for what the game was expected to be. Overall I would say the graphics and game play cannot make up for the story and ending for any rps. Also the fact of day one dlc was a major turn off and didn't seem like it should have been dlc. This is more evident when the game files for the dlc were in the game itself and not even a download. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2021
    0
    How to make an ending that fills the player with regret of spending time and money on your game? Play this and find out.

See all 2114 User Reviews

Trailers