Polaris Sector Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ancients who named this sector ‘Polaris’ sure had a unique sense of humor. Polaris - the bright star, the star of hope and faith. Well the Polaris sector has precious little of either; just a wilderness of gas, stars, and supernovas soaked in treachery, oppression, and the lust forThe ancients who named this sector ‘Polaris’ sure had a unique sense of humor. Polaris - the bright star, the star of hope and faith. Well the Polaris sector has precious little of either; just a wilderness of gas, stars, and supernovas soaked in treachery, oppression, and the lust for power. Can anyone build an empire in a place like this? Other factions are naturally suspicious of newcomers and may wage war at the first sign of unidentified craft. Here, a natural death is an uncommon luxury. You look weak? Pirates and scavengers will plunder your planets. You show military strength to discourage potential enemies? Your rivals will combine their forces to eliminate the threat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 31, 2016
    90
    There’s a hell of a lot in this game that’s good, and in some cases is really good, and that’s the stuff that really stays with you after you shut the game down. This is a great example of genuinely good ideas being put into practice in a way that’s well done, if not perfect. A lot could have gone badly wrong with this game, and, for my money, it’s a damn impressive game and well worth a play.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2016
    81
    Like almost any 4x space strategy, hits the mark on some features (combat, some aspects of diplomacy), and misses on others (dull, uncommunicative races, rigid Spaceship Tetris). [May 2016]
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 21, 2016
    80
    Ship designing demands a lot from the player. Empty shell of any ship, from tiny fighter to space fortress, has to be filled according to its future role in the fleet. Every square inch of space matters: if you manage to squeeze in an extra generator, you’ll be able put a more powerful gun into pylon. [Issue#208, p.74]
  4. Apr 19, 2016
    75
    At first glance Plaris Sectors looks like many other 4X strategy videogames, but the chance to assemble your own ships and the interesting system for the scientific research are interesting twists that any fan of the genre should try out.
  5. Apr 19, 2016
    70
    Sober and dense 4X strategy game that may be too deep for newbies, but still has the capacity to entertain fans of the genre.
  6. 70
    At first glance, Polaris Sector does not look like anything terribly new or innovative. While it does not reinvent the proverbial strategy genre wheel, credit is due for some of the more innovative systems and balanced, clean UI.
  7. Apr 28, 2016
    60
    Those who covet unique 4X factions and absorbing, atmospheric exploration should probably head elsewhere, but if you’re looking for logistical military exercises and satisfying galactic planning then Polaris Sector has you well covered.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    A space 4x game that will stay on my hard drive permanently. It presents the player with numerous meaningful choices, such that I'm schemingA space 4x game that will stay on my hard drive permanently. It presents the player with numerous meaningful choices, such that I'm scheming about my strategy in my current game at all times. The combat system gives the feeling of a real combined-arms experience. Planet specialization requires in-depth planning. I've played just about every space 4x ever made, and this is the best so far. (The graphics aren't as beautiful as something like Endless Space, but the depth of the game systems more than make up for that.) Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2016
    9
    Damn good 4x. After somehow so boring GC3 I had zero hopes for this one, but I was positively surprised!
    Game maybe not looks very polished,
    Damn good 4x. After somehow so boring GC3 I had zero hopes for this one, but I was positively surprised!
    Game maybe not looks very polished, but hell it has a depth and 10x better than GC ship constructor.
    Collapse
  3. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    While you might not see anything you haven't before this game does its best to take the best parts of the best games and pack them into oneWhile you might not see anything you haven't before this game does its best to take the best parts of the best games and pack them into one title, its not perfect but any fan of the genre should get more than a little enjoyment out of this gem of a game. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2016
    7
    It's not a bad game. Given it has 1 guy at the helm I'd say he did a great job. If we didn't have so many 4x titles coming out around itsIt's not a bad game. Given it has 1 guy at the helm I'd say he did a great job. If we didn't have so many 4x titles coming out around its release it might seem better. I hope it does well and he keeps working but it feels a little low end. On paper it's excellent but feels slow and a bit obtuse in some areas. I don't dislike it but I don't love it either. Expand
  5. May 9, 2016
    7
    Not my cup of tea, but is a good game. Tutorial is poorly implemented and I find the tech tree similar to MOO 3 which is not a good thing. ButNot my cup of tea, but is a good game. Tutorial is poorly implemented and I find the tech tree similar to MOO 3 which is not a good thing. But space combat is fun and there are interesting races like space koalas and amazonian magellans. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2018
    5
    The UI is borderline ugly and inconvenient to use. I played the tutorial and I found the space combat simply too convoluted.
  7. Mar 30, 2016
    4
    Really wanted to love this game.

    But it's bad. You start playing and before you know you have 50 planets, which despite "governor AI"
    Really wanted to love this game.

    But it's bad.

    You start playing and before you know you have 50 planets, which despite "governor AI" demand micromanaging. You need to balance mostly resource production and food, to do this, you'll need manually go to 20-30 planets and order farm, or resource mining building. You'll try to navigate endless jungle of colonies but you will fail, and in the end you'll just hope that AI builds some research buildings from time to time. You will have no idea how efficiently is AI running your planets, and sooner or later you will stop caring.

    You try to have a few ship production planets, but you will soon struggle to find them in your huge empire. You cannot retrofit ships, you will have to rebuild and assign interceptors to your carriers or carrier hybrids (in hundreds or thousands, and every interceptor is individually build).

    The game does horrific job at helping you with things above described. There is complete lack of menus buttons and instruments to manage your fleets planets and production efficiently.

    The game suffers from lack of information on game mechanics, technologies but also on elementary things like what is you max population, and what is your current morale and what affects it. Almost any other 4x game is just better.

    Space combat is OK. I cannot judge AI, played on max difficulty and had more population, more planets and better tech, despite starting at disadvantage. Haven't finished a single game though, because the game is just annoying to play.
    Expand