Rise of the Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1482 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After uncovering an ancient mystery, Lara Croft embarks on a journey throughout the most treacherous and remote regions of the world to find the secret of immortality. Forming powerful new alliances and relying on her intellect and survival skills, Lara will ultimately embrace her fate asAfter uncovering an ancient mystery, Lara Croft embarks on a journey throughout the most treacherous and remote regions of the world to find the secret of immortality. Forming powerful new alliances and relying on her intellect and survival skills, Lara will ultimately embrace her fate as the Tomb Raider. Featuring epic, high-octane action moments set in the most beautifully hostile environments on earth, Rise of the Tomb Raider delivers a cinematic survival action adventure where you will join Lara Croft on her first tomb raiding expedition and witness the rise of an icon. Expand
  • Developer: Crystal Dynamics, Nixxes Software
  • Genre(s): Action Adventure, General, Linear
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Available On: Stadia
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rise of the Tomb Raider - Women vs. Wild: Deadly Tombs
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 7, 2016
    100
    Rise of the Tomb Raider is truly a phenomenal game from top to bottom and it has some of the best visuals around. But graphics alone do not make a game great and Rise does not rely on them.
  2. Feb 11, 2016
    93
    On PC, Rise of the Tomb Raider is the same fantastic action adventure we played on Xbox One some months ago. if you have a high-end machine, this new version offers an even more immersive experience thanks to numerous graphical improvements.
  3. Jan 27, 2016
    90
    Rise of the Tomb Raider is a great adventure game. More exploration, platform zones and stealth mechanics than shooter moments, great plot and full of content to discover.
  4. Apr 15, 2016
    90
    The thing that really stands out about Rise of the Tomb Raider is that you care about the characters at all.
  5. Feb 2, 2016
    85
    Rise of the Tomb Raider on the PC looks and plays fantastically. Lots of various graphical options allow for comfortable gameplay even on weaker machines. Nixxes Software deserves some serious praise but let's not forget that real thanks should be aimed at Crystal Dynamics. The PC port wouldn't be so good if not for the excellent Xbox version.
  6. Jan 27, 2016
    83
    A little too streamlined in places, but Rise of the Tomb Raider does a lot to improve upon its predecessor.
  7. Feb 16, 2016
    60
    It's no Tomb Raider, but with the new expedition mode, maybe it doesn't really need to be.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 217
  1. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    Looking good so far ! Everything is perfect . Good port and excellent graphics. Story is ok close as first one. Feels like Lara is trulyLooking good so far ! Everything is perfect . Good port and excellent graphics. Story is ok close as first one. Feels like Lara is truly allive and like watching a movie. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2016
    10
    This game is absolutely stunningly beautiful. It follows the tomb raider reboot story and adds additional elements to it. More tombs,This game is absolutely stunningly beautiful. It follows the tomb raider reboot story and adds additional elements to it. More tombs, crafting, stealth, hunting, healing, and additional combat elements that all make this game more compelling than the reboot. The game is longer and the story is better IMO as well. I was immediately hooked to this game until completing the story. I think the visuals this game displays are above all at this time and I was able to use the highest textures with just a 280x. The only downside is at the moment the soviet installation area is a bit choppy compared to other areas and hopefully this improves as optimizations/ updates come out.

    Overall a 10/10 and had a blast playing this. Can't wait for the next game, where they hopefully add more elements to the gameplay from the original games as well as more complicated puzzles.
    Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    Very good game with good characters and fantastic graphics. The story is very good and although I've only played for 8 hours I fell that thisVery good game with good characters and fantastic graphics. The story is very good and although I've only played for 8 hours I fell that this game is amazing. I run the game on a i5 4690k, gtx 970 and 16gb RAM and the optimization is pretty okay.

    I get 40fps with everything maxed, FXAA in 1080p
    If I turn down hair to "on", shadows to "high", tesselation "off", and texture quality to "high" I get a stable 60fps in 1080p.
    Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2016
    8
    Rise of the Tomb Raider is a worthy follow up to the 2013 reboot. This sequel sees Lara setting off on another adventure to stop an evilRise of the Tomb Raider is a worthy follow up to the 2013 reboot. This sequel sees Lara setting off on another adventure to stop an evil organization from getting their hands on a powerful artifact. This is the Lara we have been waiting to see. She is stronger and more independent building off the experiences she had in the previous game. The sequel does a good job of expanding upon Lara's abilities and skills. You have your complement of weapons from the first game that can be upgraded finding salvage. You also can craft new weapons by finding weapon parts. There are plenty of collectibles and relics to find.

    The most notable and appreciated addition to the game is the number of tombs. Crystal Dynamics have made good on the criticism of the lack of tombs in the 2013 game. These tombs are entirely optional though they do offer some unique new skills for Lara to use. The Tombs themselves are fairly straightforward and only offer a mild challenge. Many of the puzzles aren't particularly difficult which is a bit of a disappointment.

    I also find myself wishing the game wasn't quite so linear. This is compounded by the fact that it seems like the devs felt it was necessary to put white paint on climbable surfaces. Fortunately there are challenges and side missions that can offer some deviation. The other thing I find irritating is that sometimes the map is sluggish to reload.

    In terms of graphical fidelity Rise of the Tomb Raider is one of the best looking games on the market today. Nixxes once again shows that they are capable of making a competent PC port. In fact to call it a port isn't doing the game justice. There has been considerable effort made to make the PC version feel like a proper PC release. PC users can enjoy a variety of options like sun soft shadows, HBAO+, Purehair, and high resolution textures. It needs to be said that this game is very pretty and as such it can be quite demanding.

    You will need at least 4gb of Vram to use Very High textures. The game also seems to be CPU intensive so folks with older i3's may find some difficulty. You will also want to make sure you have at least 8gb of ram. I run the game on a modest GTX 750 ti with 2gb of GDDR5 vram. I also run the game on an i5 with 8gb of total ram. Due to my vram I had to turn texture resolution down to medium. Prior to the latest patch I experienced some stuttering in certain areas. After the recent patch those instances haven't been as common. I run the game at 1050p so be mindful that it will be difficult to hit 60 fps at 1080 unless you have a high end GPU. Dropping your resolution to 900 or even 720p may yield a higher more consistent frame rate. Load times will also be a bit longer if your using a mechanical drive instead of a SSD. I highly recommend this game if you enjoyed the 2013 reboot. But be mindful of your system specs and that you may need to do a bit of tweaking to get an optimal experience.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2019
    8
    Winter in the game is implemented cool. The shooter in the game is cool, but but the plot got weaker. The game dragged me on for 110 hours)
  6. Oct 15, 2016
    7
    Firstly, this game is definitely overrated in my opinion, though i understand many gamers would probably disagree right away as it has beenFirstly, this game is definitely overrated in my opinion, though i understand many gamers would probably disagree right away as it has been rated really well. I thought the graphics were fricking sick but i felt the story could have had more thought put in by the developers, and challenge tombs could have been worked on harder to be more challenging then they were.
    The little side items that you obtain in small chests to find and grab were pretty pointless in my opinion though the gameplay was alright as I loved the inventory upgrade system with the camp fire and the areas were pretty awesome to roam around. I enjoyed the side missions much better than the story as they add more to the game and was more stuff to do. The combat was op i must admit. One more thing to say positively about rise of the tomb raider is that it was really well optimized and i only encountered one bug in a challenge tomb with a canoe.
    The last tomb raider was definitely better in every way except the graphics in my view.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2020
    0
    Piece of **** **** **** ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!****

See all 217 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.