Risen 3: Titan Lords Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 863 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world of the RPG Risen 3 is abandoned by all gods and suffers from the Titan Wars when a new threat emerges. A young warrior is attacked from the darkness and deprived of his soul. He intends to reclaim what is lost amidst the shadows that is spreading throughout the world. The bannedThe world of the RPG Risen 3 is abandoned by all gods and suffers from the Titan Wars when a new threat emerges. A young warrior is attacked from the darkness and deprived of his soul. He intends to reclaim what is lost amidst the shadows that is spreading throughout the world. The banned Mages might be powerful allies on his quest. To attain their help, he must find the Mage sanctuary on Taranis, otherwise known as the Island of Thunder. Protected by the Guardians, the Mages search the mines of Taranis for crystals loaded with magic energy. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Risen 3 - CGI Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 49
  2. Negative: 6 out of 49
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    92
    For every reason I play RPGs (big decisions, interesting characters, fun gameplay, immersive exploration), Risen 3 hits every sweet spot.
  2. Aug 12, 2014
    83
    Piranha Bytes is going back to its roots – including new cool factions like the Demonhunters and Guardians, both using powerful fantasy-spells. The game also offers a rich and detailed open world, mixing pirate- with medieval-setting where you can explore tons of rpg-content. Unfortunately the cinematic and technical presentation isn’t state of the art, including camera- and clipping-problems. Though the combat-system has improved since Risen 2, it still isn’t well balanced and polished.
  3. CD-Action
    Oct 22, 2014
    75
    The Germans took a step back and reintroduced more of the distinctive atmosphere of the Gothic series and the first Risen, which is a huge advantage for me. The world is so vivid and lively that it really makes you want to be there and see as much of the vast content as possible. It’s a shame that the game’s engine is visibly aging and the story lacks the punch. [10/2014, p.48]
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    70
    Despite its oddball shortcomings, Risen 3 is a solid open-world RPG packed with entertaining characters and challenging combat scenarios.
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    67
    The main strength of Risen 3: Titan Lords is the big amount of things to do. Missions of any kind, treasure maps, crafting, factions, exploration of the islands, some naval engagement and more. But for those who have already played Risen 2: Dark Waters the impression of "copy-paste" is really strong and unfortunately its main flaws are still here.
  6. Aug 21, 2014
    56
    It’s almost a good game. For some of you that will be enough. It’s a neat little diversion and it’s fun in spurts, and maybe that’s all you are looking for. However, there are many other better RPGs to play out there with better stories, and better systems.
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    40
    Bloated in the mission department, threadbare everywhere else, Risen 3: Titan Lords is cobbled together from rehashed material, and the series' many flaws are enhanced a hundredfold in the process.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 160
  2. Negative: 56 out of 160
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    This is game for the fans of Gothic series and Risen 1. It is better than expected. Only major letdown is melee combat mechanics (I thinkThis is game for the fans of Gothic series and Risen 1. It is better than expected. Only major letdown is melee combat mechanics (I think Gothic 2 had the most smooth and natural controls + you felt really in control of the battle) Mouse driven systems later developed are not as fluid, So combat is a bit sluggish, but after getting used to it, you can achieve sufficient control that will make combat experience more enjoyable. Roll/power hit and connecting swings can be mastered, and once you observe the pattern of beasts(as in previous games) game become more fun to play. Than you have to master the mobs, and ultimately mixed mobs (really challenging). Voice acting is improved over previous installments, and story is enjoyably enough. There are some corny and funny lines spiced up by some swearing (also trademark of the series). Graphic is acceptable. World is amazing (and it is one of the things I always loved about Gothic/Reasen). One of the key aspects the game is freedom! Freedom do move, freedom to travel and freedom to die to a superior opponent :D Disregard negative comments(hateful ignorents giving 0s). This is not a 10/10 game but its is highly enjoyable for old school rpg players and fans of Gothic will not be dissapointed! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    Almost as good as gothic 2. I really enjoyed the immersion, the dialogues, the fighting mechanics. I am indeed in love with this game! It hasAlmost as good as gothic 2. I really enjoyed the immersion, the dialogues, the fighting mechanics. I am indeed in love with this game! It has humour, it has feeling, it's just an amazing experience all-in-all, but not for people who are fast players. You have to get immersed and take your time with the game. It's not Hearthstone or whatever you kids are playing nowadays. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    This game is that what I expected. There is a lot of that things that were the best in Risen and Gothic series. Combat system is dynamic andThis game is that what I expected. There is a lot of that things that were the best in Risen and Gothic series. Combat system is dynamic and enjoyable. Game world has been made perfectly. You can decide where your hero will sail on a ship almost at game start. Story is very good and surprising. Risen 3 is one of the best RPG game of this year by me.
    You need to buy it!
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    7
    This is a average RPG as far as graphics and combat with a large amount of gameplay and content. Realize some reviewers here give this game aThis is a average RPG as far as graphics and combat with a large amount of gameplay and content. Realize some reviewers here give this game a zero along with some other AAA titles then give a crappy indie title a 10, I suggest you look at players accounts to see what they rate other games to see if their opinion is same as yours, and see if they made an account just to give a game a zero score.

    Loot, Leveling, magic, grinding, and average graphics. I can see why this title gets a lower score, compared to other AAA titles it deserves a 5 or 6, compared to indie titles it deserves an 8.

    If you wanted the old Risen 1 and no pirates then this game isn't for you. This game has some pirate content, is somewhat open world, doesn't hold your hand explaining everything, and has tons of missions.

    If your looking for an rpg which has lots of content and don't care about dated graphics then this rpg is for you.

    I enjoyed it, graphics are indie title level and there was a ton of content which is hard to find sometimes.
    Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    5
    I never play Risen before, but i try to give this game a chance. At first moment when i launch game, it looks very cheap and creepy. StoryI never play Risen before, but i try to give this game a chance. At first moment when i launch game, it looks very cheap and creepy. Story line looks very unprepared, even the scripts looks horrible. In final look, i will give this rpg game 5/10, bonus points i give this game for music and ideas.. But guys ? Rly ? Really in 2014 so bad looking game like this ? Hope next Risen will be more rare, originally and with nice look ! srsly ! Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2014
    3
    Sorry folks, this game suckz.Everyone that gives this **** game a 10 is lying and/or stupid.While you can enjoy a game you have to be honestSorry folks, this game suckz.Everyone that gives this **** game a 10 is lying and/or stupid.While you can enjoy a game you have to be honest when you review something and consider what games are out there right now.A 10 is the genres best, it sets a new standard.A 10 is a game that does everything right and adds something new of its own.Risen 3 is NOT a 10!Risen 3 is using MANY assets from Risen 2!Thats cheap and lazy and they still charge you around 50€!!!Its basicly the same game without some minor "features" of Risen 2 like the dirty tricks(the kick or the flying parrot).If you like Risen 2, Risen 3 is ok for you.But lets get into detail:

    Visuals:Strangely, some areas look ok to good, others outright suck.The water looks good, everything else not.Rocks for example look really terrible.Sometimes they blend so bad in with the backround that everything "melts" together.Hurts the eyes, really!There is an issue with the settings for the shadows.If you reduce it to a certain level youll have little squares all over the place.Its annoying.What is good, the games will run on every machine out there.I heard some complains about the performance on some systems, got no problems myself though.

    Sound:This is really strange.Its a german game and the german voiceover is sooooooo bad.The english too, no question.The cast for the voices was not very motivated, you can hear that.Maybe because the dialogues are so cheap and bad written.The music, i dont know, the best youll ever hear in the game will be the theme in the menu.The enviromental sounds are......not there i think.There is a jungle, it doesnt sound like a jungle.There is a isle with a vulcano and a stream of lava in the middle of the isle, even there its quiet and suddenly some noises pop in when you come nearer.Its cheap, sorry.

    Gameplay:Storytelling was never a strong point of PB-Games.That was interesting back when Gothic 1 was freshly out.Now its 2014.No evolution in that point.The story is boring at best.The cheap dialogues really heard here too.Its not engaging, no NPC is memorable.Bad for the story and the world.I couldnt care less about this world.Here, games like Mass Effect set a standard i think in terms of dialogues and interesting NPCs.So, the story is bad?How about the strong point of PB Games?Exploration!Yeah this is kinda gone as a strongpoint.The game is cut into pieces with the isles.You have some isles and not a complete world.Its not that much to explore.If you explore, you find SOMETHING, but that something is not really of importance.Youll find some quests out in the wild, ok but they are not really rewarding.The quests are a problem of their own.Boring at best.They feel like MMO quests.Fetch and bring, kill 10 monsters.Cheap, lazy.What really pisses me of is the combat system.Some claimed it is frustrating.Yes and no!Look some reviews, like angry Joes.He suckz at risen.In the first hours you need to duck and roll.Than its really an easy game, youll look through the enemy movement after minutes and know when they attack.I NEVER died in the game because of a fight.There are some imbalances in the system.Like the daggers, they are too strong.Better than magic i think(at least better than the demonhunter magic).

    All in all, this game is lazy.50€ is too much.Where the production time went into?Not the story, not the quests, not the combat.Nothing is new, nothing is fresh.The game is a solid 5/10 but there is the issue with the laziness and the DLC problem.They cut out content and reuse many things from Risen 2.This is a no go!!!For that, its just a 3/10!!!!
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2015
    0
    Terrible combat mechanics, terribly boring dialogues which are worst interpreted from all games i ever played since 2003 , horrific lootTerrible combat mechanics, terribly boring dialogues which are worst interpreted from all games i ever played since 2003 , horrific loot picking . Worst of all ,the game is BORING at all. Expand

See all 160 User Reviews