Sonic Forces Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join an epic high-speed fight to save a world decimated by Dr. Eggman and a mysterious villain in the newest game from the team that made Sonic Colors and Sonic Generations. Experience fast-paced action as Modern Sonic, catapult past perilous platforms as Classic Sonic, and use powerful newJoin an epic high-speed fight to save a world decimated by Dr. Eggman and a mysterious villain in the newest game from the team that made Sonic Colors and Sonic Generations. Experience fast-paced action as Modern Sonic, catapult past perilous platforms as Classic Sonic, and use powerful new gadgets as your very own Custom Hero Character.

    In Eggman's greatest victory to-date, the evil doctor has conquered much of the world with a mysterious new power. A resistance comprised of Sonic's friends is formed to fi ght back, and in the midst of the chaos and destruction, an unlikely hero will rise up to help Modern and Classic Sonic take back their world.

    Even these three heroes may have their work cut out for them, as Dr. Eggman has a new ally of his own...
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic Forces - Story Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 14, 2017
    65
    There is too much wrong with Sonic Forces to recommend it to everyone, but if you’re hankering for 3D Sonic, and you’ve finished every other Sonic game, then check it out on sale.
  2. Nov 8, 2017
    65
    Despite my multiple gripes with Sonic Forces, I still enjoyed the adventure. 3D Sonic games still aren't to where they should be after such a long time of iteration and experimentation, but through improved gameplay and level design, Sonic Forces continues the series' evolution in the right direction.
  3. Nov 16, 2017
    64
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 13, 2017
    60
    We get the impression that Sonic Team wanted Forces to be the Best Sonic Game Ever, with a Greatest Hits package of everything good in the series, but they didn’t have the time, money or talent to accomplish this. The 2D sections control poorly, and the 3D sections sport the same problems that the series has had since Sonic Adventure – such as dying if you don’t play the level exactly as the designer intended. There’s fun to be had, but even then Forces feels so cheap and abrupt that you’ll be finished with it entirely in 4 hours. It’s not the worst 3D Sonic game, but in trying to do everything Sonic Team didn’t really accomplish anything. Next time, stick to just Generations 2 or Colours 2. Or even better – give Sonic entirely to other developers.
  5. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2018
    50
    Sonic Forces’ few merits (like the soundtrack) are not enough to offset primitive gameplay, crude level design, poor pacing that completely obliterates the sense of speed, and the script that resembles a fanfic. [01/2018, p.42]
  6. Nov 15, 2017
    50
    Sonic Forces is not, like several entries in the series, offensively bad. There are some stages where you can’t help but be swept up by its breakneck pace, pounding soundtrack, and chaotic pinball table levels. It’s just unfortunate that it was released so soon after Mania, which took the best of old Sonic and made it sparklingly relevant again. Forces, however, is plagued by inconsistent level design, floaty controls, and a risible Saturday morning cartoon storyline that only kids and rabid Sonic fans will find entertaining.
  7. Jan 18, 2018
    30
    I won’t pretend that Sonic Forces is a disappointment – it telegraphed its kitchen sink approach to content a long time ago. Desperately trying to please every kind of Sonic fan, it is every bit the mishmash of half realised ideas vying for your attention that it seemed like it would be. I guess I just never expected that their attempts to hold that attention would be so feeble.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 79
  2. Negative: 20 out of 79
  1. Nov 8, 2017
    10
    If you're a fan of the previous Boost Style Sonic games, especially Sonic Colours, like I am, then you're gonna like this a lot.

    The
    If you're a fan of the previous Boost Style Sonic games, especially Sonic Colours, like I am, then you're gonna like this a lot.

    The environments are beautiful, the story is rich with many characters, and the level design is also good. Not on par with Sonic Generations but definitely as good as Sonic Colours. Yes, there are some linear parts but all sonic games have them, but Sonic Forces does provide interesting pathways for you to go through. The earlier levels are quite linear but as you go through the game it gets a lot better. Plus what adds to the replayability is the custom character's Wispons, which also provide alternates path for the character. The boss fights are also very fun to play and challenging, you're gonna have a good time beating all the bosses in the game.

    Speaking of custom character, i'm not really into making oc's and customizing, but the game provides you so many extra accessories for completing extra tasks and getting higher ranks and levels, I found myself going back to the custom character's room to see what's new and what fits my liking. I think that's a huge thing for people who are into character customization.

    Modern Sonics levels are also pretty fun to play through, although I should mention that the drift is now removed so sonic team have taken a step backwards in terms of controls for Modern Sonic. But the level design is very fun, again, it has linear sections but later in the game the level design really picks up.

    Now let's talk about the elephant in the room, Classic Sonic. I was skeptical about classic sonic going into the game like many others, but I gotta say, it's not that bad and I was quite pleasantly surprised. The levels have many multiple pathways and the controls and physics are better than Generations. That being said, it's no where near as good as Sonic Mania but I think that was bound to happen.

    The game does tend to crash on startup sometimes but I think Sonic Team has patched that with the new update as it's been less frequent today. The game does lag sometimes as well, and i'm gonna blame that a bit on optimisation and ofcourse Denuvo, it could've been better. This game had a 4 year development period.

    So overall, I enjoyed the game from the start and I'd definitely recommend it to Sonic fans but also casual platforming fans. My only complaint is that Sega should fix the crashing and lag issues with some patches and Modern Sonic's controls could have been better.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2017
    10
    i dont get why critics rate the game just a little above sonic 06
    it doesnt make any sense
    this game is a better sonic colours with a
    i dont get why critics rate the game just a little above sonic 06
    it doesnt make any sense
    this game is a better sonic colours
    with a better story and mindblowing soundtrack
    Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2017
    10
    this game is awesome
    and follows the boost formula perfectly from unleashed and generations and colors
    if you really enjoy playing the
    this game is awesome
    and follows the boost formula perfectly from unleashed and generations and colors
    if you really enjoy playing the previous boost games i recommend you to play this one as well

    dont care about the biased ratings it doesn't make any sense that they gave colors and generations such good ratings while forces is getting more hate than positive ratings
    forces is a mix of an improved sonic colors and generations
    Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2017
    7
    This game is OK, the reason Sonic Fans hate this game is becasue they expacted Generations 2 which is not the case at all here.
    Sonic Forces
    This game is OK, the reason Sonic Fans hate this game is becasue they expacted Generations 2 which is not the case at all here.
    Sonic Forces brings something new to the Table and that's the Custom Avatar.
    it's probebly the best part about this game becasue it brings people OC Characters to life but the BIGGEST Thing i absolutely LOOOVE About this game is of course... THE MUSIC!!!!
    ITS' SOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!! one thing that i love about Sonic games is the music and Sega didn't disappointed us :)
    the worst part in the game is Classic Sonic, i'm serius he has nothing to do there in the first place and his gameplay is even wourse then Sonic 4 Episode 1.
    luckly there aren't many Classic Sonic Stages so that's not something you can complain about a lot.
    another part that i just hate in this game is the Level Design, i'm talking more about Modern Sonic since most of his stages are just One line and all you do is Boost to win.
    Over all it's a pretty Decent game and i recommend you check it out, however i do recommend waiting for a Price Drop casue 40$ are just too much, i get that they worked on this game for 4 Years and Upgrading the Hedgehog Engine to Hedgehog Engine 2 but i prefer even 30$ on 40$.

    and PLZZZZ Check out the Sonic Forces OST, i'm telling you it's just PERFECT espacily the Ending Song "Light Of Hope"!!
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2017
    6
    Ok. Ill try to be honest, this game... wasnt as good as people (and SEGA) told us about. NO, im not saying its bad, either im saying itsOk. Ill try to be honest, this game... wasnt as good as people (and SEGA) told us about. NO, im not saying its bad, either im saying its good... its "OK"

    Ill divide my review on various parts, to explain my opinion as pure as possible:

    STORY:

    Its kinda good, not gonna lie. For the "GOOD" part, the idea of Eggman actually ruling the entire world for various months is pretty nice, and the fact he actually tortured Sonic for once its... pretty interesting i would say... also, including old and new bosses adds a nice touch (old, talking about Chaos and Metal Sonic, and new, talking about zavok).

    for the "OK" part, the introduction of infinite is kinda weird, because you need to play Episode Shadow to understand how all begins, which is not a very nice decision from Sega, but i will let it pass...

    And the implementation of the OC Avatar is very simple, just a survivor that wanted to join the resistance isnt very attractive.

    for the "Not Good" part, Classic Sonic appeared just out of nowhere, not even sure how or why the idea of Classic Sonic appearing out of nowhere was a cool idea :(

    also, in some of the trailers of the game, you see shadow as part of the bad guys, when in the game you cant even fight him (either Chaos) which is kinda disappointing, but oh well...

    PLAYABILITY/GAME ASPECTS:

    Its ok... its not like they introduced something new to the playability (because we have the casual Modern Sonic running the same line all over again, Classic Sonic with the 2D enviroment), except the things that the OC Avatar can do, that can change depending of the animal you choose, which it add a bit more of replay value, but excluding that, its just like any other sonic game (this doesnt mean thats bad... just kinda repetitive)

    About the game aspects, for the "GOOD" part, voice acting is good and the quality is nice in all versions of the game, pretty smooth and good looking.

    in the "OK" part, the AI of the NPCs isnt as good as previous games, in the Modern Sonic stages they dont even try to hurt you, which is kinda understandable, since the main goal of those stages is just run in a straight line, but it makes it too easy IMO, they should at least try to hurt you, not just be there, wasting space. In the Classic Sonic stages, they look ok.

    And in Modern Sonic stages, the checkpoints hitbox seems kinda weird, you can "kinda" go thru it, small detail, since again, the main goal is just run until you reach the end, but its hitbox should be complete.

    The stages are fun and pretty colorful, packed with a bit of that nostalgia and feelings, depending of the situations

    DIFFICULTY:

    its too easy, comparing it with other sonic games (not as easy as oddysey, but thats a different franchise), the NPCs dont really try to hurt you, they are pretty easy to avoid and destroy as well, most of the stages can be completed very quickly, and overall, you can complete the game in 2 hours, or even less, and im not talking about speedrunning the game... which IMO is not that good, but moving that to a side, some (not all) of the stages can take 2 or 3 tries to understand where you need to go and where you should fall.

    OVERALL:

    its ok. As a Sonic fan myself, i think this game had too much hype (and i was hyped too), but im kinda dissapointed, since some things are not as the Trailers promised. But is not as bad some people told me it was going to be, either is as good some people told me too...

    Its enjoyable at least, and it gives some fresh air with the OC thing (which im not a fan of, but apparently it was well received, so, i guess ill let that pass too) and i can say its better than Lost World and Boom.

    Should you buy it? If you want, or if you are a big Sonic fan, but i wouldnt say this is a title you should really get...
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2017
    5
    I've been a sonic fan since I played the Sonic Games on the GameCube, Sonic Unleashed and a lot of the games after it was some well done 3dI've been a sonic fan since I played the Sonic Games on the GameCube, Sonic Unleashed and a lot of the games after it was some well done 3d sonic games and are some of the game are in my top 10 favorite games of all time. So when I heard that Sonic Forces was going to be a game like sonic unleashed, a dark story, a new engine, a boost to win title on next-gen consoles, and a fresh coat a paint for the series, I couldn't wait for it! Unfortunately, this game didn't live up to the previous games released along with sonic mania. Heres my review!

    Plot: No spoilers for obvious reasons, but to sum things up. Sonic is defeated and apparently "tortured" for 6 months, in that time frame, Eggman takes over 99% of the world, which causes sonic's friends along with your custom character (called Avatar or Rookie) to create a resistance (star wars much?) to stop Eggman and defeat his new creation, Infinite. They later meet back up with tails and classic sonic, coming back from Sonic Mania to complete its story or something? Though this story is interesting, its execution is horrible, and the later parts of the story suck due to the villains being dumb as rocks and a force message about teamwork or something. Not a good way to do a "dark" story, oh and sonic wasn't tortured if he is still happy and go lucky. 3/10

    Gameplay: It's split up into three sections, Modern Sonic, Avatar, and Classic Sonic. Modern Sonic is the same boost to win formula as the previous games since sonic unleashed. It's well done, and nice to see again, but I wish it were more of a different take on speedy 3d platforming. The avatar gameplay is decent, you get to make your character and uses his wisp power to get through the level somewhat like the Modern Sonic stages. They're alright, not much, but nice to play. Then we get Classic Sonic... Sigh. Boy, was Classic Sonic wasted. Its just CS from Generations again, and the stages are kinda dull, and it controls awful. They should have removed him and had more stages with the Avatar and Modern Sonic. Speaking of Modern Sonic and Avatar, they have some stages where you play as both trying to get to the end of the level, using double boost at least once during the stage, they're better, but nothing special again. It seems like Sonic Team played it safe with this game, and it backfired severely in they're faces. They should have done a new gameplay style like Sonic Lost World or Mario Oddsey, the boost to win formula should have been retired before this game because it's not 100% fun anymore like Generations or Unleashed. It was still fun, but not as fun as I would have liked. 5/10

    Audio: The soundtrack is one of the best in the Sonic series, it's more cinematic, but its also filled with more sonic like music like fist bump and infinite's themes. More songs would be nice though, but still high quality. 9/10

    Bosses: Disappointing as well, the mini-bosses are way too easy, and the FInal Boss is also a joke. Take one look at the final boss (if you completed the game) and tell me it's not like the one from Colors and Lost World! 3/10

    Summary: Sonic Forces is a huge disappointment for me. The boost to win gameplay is fun, and so is the avatar and double gameplay. The soundtrack is fantastic and is one of the best sonic soundtracks along with sonic mania. However, the story, while it has a good idea, it's not well executed and a huge disappointment, it's not even that dark! Not to mention the Classic Sonic gameplay is pointless and can be removed from the game, and nothing would change. I wish this could have been the game to bring 3d sonic to the next gen, but instead, it has me wishing for more, and for someone else to give this series some justice just like Sonic Mania did. Sega, if you're listening to this, please let someone else make a sonic game, enough of the hedgehog engine, enough of Denuvo DRM and crashes, please have it open world or whatever with no DRM, and something that's not 2d again and helps gives the franchise some new life. Also, P.S. DON'T RUSH IT!

    5/10 = 2.5 Stars
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2017
    0
    will not contaminate my SO with denuvo. Consecuently, i wont buy it for any other platform, since i do not want to legitimize abusive

See all 79 User Reviews