Yakuza 0 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tokyo 1988. Getting rich is easy, the women are beautiful, and everyone wants in on the action. It's time to become Yakuza.

    The glitz, glamour, and unbridled decadence of the 80s are back in Yakuza 0! Fight like hell through Tokyo and Osaka with protagonist Kazuma Kiryu and series
    Tokyo 1988. Getting rich is easy, the women are beautiful, and everyone wants in on the action. It's time to become Yakuza.

    The glitz, glamour, and unbridled decadence of the 80s are back in Yakuza 0!
    Fight like hell through Tokyo and Osaka with protagonist Kazuma Kiryu and series regular Goro Majima. Play as Kazuma Kiryu and discover how he finds himself in a world of trouble when a simple debt collection goes wrong and his mark winds up murdered. Then, step into the silver-toed shoes of Goro Majima and explore his "normal" life as the proprietor of a cabaret club.

    Switch between three different fighting styles instantaneously and beat up all manner of goons, thugs, hoodlums, and lowlifes. Take combat up a notch by using environmental objects such as bicycles, sign posts, and car doors for bone-crunching combos and savage take-downs.

    Fighting is not the only way to kill time in 1988's Japan: from discos and hostess clubs to classic SEGA arcades, there are tons of distractions to pursue in the richly detailed, neon-lit world.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yakuza Zero Video Review
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 27, 2018
    100
    This series is better than it has any business being. If you’re tired of the cookie cutter, hum-drum crap coming out of big studios, Yakuza 0 is the prescription for you.
  2. Aug 9, 2018
    95
    The PC version of Yakuza 0 is a real gift to those who don't want to buy a console for some reason.
  3. Jul 26, 2018
    90
    No matter if you've played the rest of the Yakuza series and know it like the back of your hand, or you're just now getting started as a fledgling fan, Yakuza 0 is a must-play.
  4. CD-Action
    Dec 4, 2018
    90
    I’ve steered clear of Japanese games since I figured out long ago they’re not my cup of tea. But Yakuza is something else. It was my first contact with the series and although at first I did mind the fact that it trails behind Western competition in many aspects, I quickly ceased to notice it. I know it’s an overused cliché, but damn, Yakuza has a soul! And an exceptional story, one of the best I’ve experienced in games since I started playing them almost thirty years ago. Even if you avoid Japanese games, do yourself a favour and give Yakuza 0 a chance, because it is ridiculously fun and you need to experience it too. [10/2018, p.69]
  5. Jul 26, 2018
    88
    Yakuza 0 is awesome on PC thanks to a perfect port, which lets you play up to 4K and 60 frames per second based on your configuration.
  6. Aug 2, 2018
    85
    A remarkable debut in all of its different aspects that will certainly be appreciated by those who are yet to test the franchise. It is a perfect conversion to PC that has undoubtedly earned SEGA some praise, although the lack of Spanish language is still an issue.
  7. Jul 27, 2018
    74
    It feels weird to experience the franchise that called Sony consoles a home on the PC for the first time. Having said that, the port is extremely polished and should be a good indication for things to come.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Aug 1, 2018
    10
    This is easily one of the best and most satisfying games to play through.
    Even the humour is top-notch (not something you'd expect from this
    This is easily one of the best and most satisfying games to play through.
    Even the humour is top-notch (not something you'd expect from this kind of game at first glance, I certainly didn't).
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2020
    10
    Лучшую игру в подобном жанре сложно представить. В ней есть буквально все, что может заинтересовать игрока - превосходный сюжет, крутыеЛучшую игру в подобном жанре сложно представить. В ней есть буквально все, что может заинтересовать игрока - превосходный сюжет, крутые персонажи, огромная куча отлично проработанных мини-игр (практически каждая могла бы быть отдельной игрой-симулятором). В этой игре всегда есть чем заняться, но при этом можно и не обращать внимание на сторонние квесты и развлечения, а просто двигаться вперед по сюжету. Другое дело - стоит ли?
    Единственный минус для русскоязычного игрока - это наличие только японской и английской локализаций. Английский тут не такой уж простой, поэтому при слабом владении лучше даже не пытаться. Но перевод на русский вроде как на подходе.

    A better game in this genre is really hard to imagine. It has all that could possibly engage a potential gamer: brilliant plot, cool characters, a whole lot of thoroughly designed mini-games, almost every one of which could possibly become a stand-alone simulator game. You can always do some stuff in this game, but at the same time you can as well just run forward through the story, skipping all the side quests and entertainment stuff. I doubt that it would be worth it, though.
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. The story was beautiful and heart wrenching, the side quests were hilarious little stories that made me laugh outThis game was a masterpiece. The story was beautiful and heart wrenching, the side quests were hilarious little stories that made me laugh out loud, the combat was so vast and hype, the characters were all so different and cool and I loved the symbolism in this game. I seriously can not recommend this game enough. It’s a perfect start for anybody wanting to get into the yakuza series, as well as a great standalone game. No doubt a 10/10. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2018
    10
    I'd heard about the series, but as I hadn't owned a Playstation since PS2, never played it.
    Picked it up on my PC as it was bluntly "cheap" -
    I'd heard about the series, but as I hadn't owned a Playstation since PS2, never played it.
    Picked it up on my PC as it was bluntly "cheap" - and have been completely won over.
    I suspect/hope this was a deliberate Sega ploy, and they're going to release the rest of the Kiwami/remakes for the PC at full price (and I'll buy them).

    So the game. It's not a Japanese GTA - which is how the games are sometimes pitched.
    World is pretty small, but lovingly detailed - but not 'open world'
    I think of it as a game-pulp-novella. Strongest point of the game is the story. Think of it like a great TV show with a great story - and amidst the main plot, you get to play about with a load of games and a load of really entertaining side-missions.
    Why I enjoyed this game though was the feeling of place it has. I know it's called 'Yakuza' - but you're going to feel like you know them a bit more at the end.
    Why I *REALLY* enjoyed the game was the variety of stories - the big bold set-pieces, full-on-melodrama (full on "MENDOZZZA!!!") to the silly stuff that makes you laugh out loud.
    Of special mention as well is the great localization - audio is in full japanese, but really great subtitles ("you really **** the bed" - suspect isn't a japanese phrase for example, but you get the sentiment).
    Trying to work out how to sell the game, the best I could come up with was the TV show "The Wire".
    Each chapter has a proper plot, but so many asides you think are just for diversion, but realize actually are there to also make you care about the characters.
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2020
    9
    So far I played Yakuza 0, 1 and 2 (and Kiwami versions too) and this one is definitely the best out of them and has the most content. It tookSo far I played Yakuza 0, 1 and 2 (and Kiwami versions too) and this one is definitely the best out of them and has the most content. It took me like 90 hours to complete the game and every substory. Of course doing all of this was very tedious at times, that's why I won't give it a 10. The feeling of Japan in the 80s was awesome Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2019
    9
    Excellent game. Packed with content. Story and characters are some of the best I've seen in a game. And on top of that the gameplay is reallyExcellent game. Packed with content. Story and characters are some of the best I've seen in a game. And on top of that the gameplay is really fun and the side quests are actually worth doing. My only gripe is the save system. You can only save at payphones in the open world. If you just finished an hour long level and sat through an hour long cutscene and your game crashes or the power goes out you'll lose all your progress. A lot of people said they had stuttering issues but I didn't get any of those and my PC is almost 7 years old so I don't know what's causing that. Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2019
    4
    I got Yakuza 0 in this month's Humble Bundle.

    I was really looking forward to playing this game since I had been eyeing it this game on
    I got Yakuza 0 in this month's Humble Bundle.

    I was really looking forward to playing this game since I had been eyeing it this game on STEAM for awhile. Honestly, I'm glad I never pulled the trigger on this title.

    When I first saw it on STEAM, the store page game me the idea it would have been kind of like Grand Theft auto, only with Yakuza. And it's not really the case at all.

    For me, Yakuza 0 really feels like a visual novels with some sparse moments inbetween where you can walk around, get in fights, that sort of thing, but the game was never deep enough or interactive enough to be able to really capture my attention all that much. It feels more like a Grand Theft Auto Super Lite.

    The city map isn't all that big and the things you have access to are few and far between, there are very few times that you are really given the chance to actually make any sort of decisions and when you do, it never feels like it has any real sort of impact.

    The game boasts that it is "open world", but I disagree completely with that sentiment. The game likes to give you the illusion of an open world, but you are actually railroaded into a very specific story with a very specific plot. There isn't much variation in it and even if you do somehow manage to stray a bit away from the beaten path, they still manage to drag you back in to what they invisioned.

    Another aspect that I found fairly annoying is that this game is rated "M" for mature for Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Content, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol. It's pretty ironic that Yakuza 0 managed to get a "M" rating and actually fail to deliver on almost any of these aspects.

    If you are going to be a "M" rated game, then you should own it. Yakuza 0 actually goes out of it's way to constantly avoid showing any sort of graphic violence. The blood shown in the game is fairly tame by almost all standards, the "intense violence" is PG-13 at best, use of alcohol is some dudes drinking beers and as far as sexual content goes? If you consider lingerie that literally covers everything then you are a pearl pearl clutching prude. Sure, they say the "Eff" word, but so does everone at my job.

    Long story short, Yakuza 0 fails to deliver on almost every aspect advertised.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers