Nioh Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1996 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take up your sword and travel to Japans blood-bathed Sengoku period an era ravaged by warring states and dark, malevolent forces and cut a violent path through the land as the masterless samurai, William. Cross blades in brutal hand-to-hand combat, wielding swords, axes, spears and evenTake up your sword and travel to Japans blood-bathed Sengoku period an era ravaged by warring states and dark, malevolent forces and cut a violent path through the land as the masterless samurai, William. Cross blades in brutal hand-to-hand combat, wielding swords, axes, spears and even war hammers against foes both human and demon. Endure the vicious encounters and learn from your mistakes: each death will bring you resurrection and each resurrection a greater resolve to overcome your foes. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ni-Oh Official Trailer 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 18, 2017
    100
    Hellishly challenging and entertaining tribute to the From Software games. The authors didn´t copy the originals – on the contrary they weren´t afraid of many drastic changes. So, the overall experience was pushed in a big way in a different direction. [Issue#272]
  2. Feb 15, 2017
    95
    Saying that Nioh is a “Souls clone” not only doesn’t do justice to a superb game, but can be quite misleading. Nioh stands on its own as a masterpiece from Team Ninja that reminds us the Ninja Gaiden glory days of the studio.
  3. Feb 2, 2017
    90
    Ultimately, NiOh is a really fantastic game. It comes with some flaws, and a few elements that are a bit rough around the edges, but it hits almost all the right notes. Team Ninja’s latest labor of love is packed with charm, atmosphere, and one of the best action battle systems that you’ll find across the industry.
  4. Edge Magazine
    Mar 8, 2017
    90
    This is a game that takes the foundations of one of the most intoxicating RPGs around and builds them into a fast, fluid, simply enormous action game as good as anything Team Ninja has ever made. [April 2017, p.112]
  5. Feb 24, 2017
    87
    Nioh has a lot to offer with its deep combat system, and it's an overall addicting action game for fans of Ninja Gaiden and Dark Souls.
  6. Feb 17, 2017
    84
    Nioh is a very impressive offering from Team Ninja, mostly thanks to the excellent combat and well-crafted main missions. From Software finally have some serious competition in the sub-genre they invented.
  7. 60
    The game’s grindy premise has been exhausted for what seems like decade and will leave you feeling more defeated than anything else. The combat mechanics are certainly worth noticing, but the environment restricts them, making it a wash. Do yourself a favor and pass on this compilation of recycled concepts and frustrating gameplay.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 380
  1. Feb 7, 2017
    10
    Firstly I leave clear that nioh is amazing, but why? the answer depends on who is being questioned, therefore not be fooled into with gamesFirstly I leave clear that nioh is amazing, but why? the answer depends on who is being questioned, therefore not be fooled into with games perfect, because there are no.

    Nioh is a hard work to define because the gaming industry is so generic that sometimes good titles are judged as copies (unfairly.) But if on the one hand Nioh is called a copy, on the other it is called a renewal. I prefer to consider Nioh as a renewal because there are so many different ways of playing, it is difficult not to identify with a specific type of weapon or even the combat position.

    I'm not an expert in composition of art (animation and soundtrack.) But I would like to register my passion for Team Ninja's work in this part of the game, I really shivered whenever I heard new music while exploring the missions. As for graphics, I have nothing to complain about since I'm playing in action mode that works at 60 frames per second (I recommend doing the same, it's great.)

    I have not finished the game yet, but what I have seen gives history is excellent. It is incredible to be able to tell a story so rich in subtle scenes. The only flaw of the game so far are a few bugs I've witnessed, but that have not affected my experience with this excellent work at all.

    Finally, I leave here a maximum recommendation to those who love challenging games. Play this game as it will be one of the best experiences of your life within the game universe. For those who just want to relax, I strongly recommend that you do not buy because you will only stress more (unless you are a deity of difficult games). Everything in the player instigates me to improve, something that I consider obligatory in games of the type. Remembering that no one needs to take this review as a basis, I'm just a player leaving their opinion on a game.

    I wish good luck to those who buy, but be prepared not to do anything else until the end of the game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2017
    10
    This game is amazing, the best of style onimusha and dark souls, big bosses, variety of weapons, combat modes and the hard difficulty makeThis game is amazing, the best of style onimusha and dark souls, big bosses, variety of weapons, combat modes and the hard difficulty make this game a perfect boy for this month... O jogo é bom demaaaaais pessoal, viciante é ele, não paro de jogar mais esse negócio.... Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2017
    10
    +more faster combat compare to the soulborne series
    +more options let users choose on 60fps mode or 30fps mode
    +interesting setting and
    +more faster combat compare to the soulborne series
    +more options let users choose on 60fps mode or 30fps mode
    +interesting setting and enviroment
    +masocore difficulity

    -non next-gen graphics

    recommend for gamers who like masochist difficulity
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2019
    9
    Nioh could well take over 100 hours if you set out to master its many side missions on top of its tough campaign, but it’s a challenge wellNioh could well take over 100 hours if you set out to master its many side missions on top of its tough campaign, but it’s a challenge well worth taking. The way it builds on its most obvious inspirations with a highly refined combat system and an unexpectedly charming, yet gritty style all its own allows it to boldly carve out its own identity, standing as a shining example of what action RPGs can be. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2017
    9
    This game is shrouded in mystery and brings back the feeling I had when venturing into the world of Dark Souls for the first time. The gameThis game is shrouded in mystery and brings back the feeling I had when venturing into the world of Dark Souls for the first time. The game play is amazing and caters to various play styles. I hate to compare this game to Dark Souls because it really does stand on its own two feet but if enjoy the series then you'll absolutely love this. At first it felt a bit easy but little did I know that was only the tutorial. I find this game a bit more challenging than Dark Souls but that might be because I'm adjusting. Regardless, if you enjoy the complexities of an RPG, meticulously crawling though levels for secrets, intense action and a challenge like no other than this game is for you. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2019
    8
    Nioh is a fun game with each quest feeling like a beginning of a new adventure. It is hard, I died to Onryoki for a hundred times, until INioh is a fun game with each quest feeling like a beginning of a new adventure. It is hard, I died to Onryoki for a hundred times, until I figured out how to play. It is relentless but gives you so many tools to work with. Your blondie Dutch character does feel like he's getting better at things "Japan", unlike Sekiro, who just dies twice and nothing more. Expand
  7. May 28, 2018
    0
    It's a cheap Dark Souls rip off. It tries too hard to be hard (pun intended), but it just ends up being totally unbalanced and badly designed.It's a cheap Dark Souls rip off. It tries too hard to be hard (pun intended), but it just ends up being totally unbalanced and badly designed. Wish I could get my money back... GET BLOODBORNE DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!! Expand

See all 380 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017, Part 2: New IP and Indie Releases Image
    Published: January 19, 2017
    We wrap up our annual games preview with a look at 2017's most promising original titles.