The Witch and the Hundred Knight: Revival Edition Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two powerful witches have been battling one another for over a hundred years. Now, the Swamp Witch has unleashed the legendary Dark Knights, and seeks to destroy the Forest Witch once and for all!
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Witch and the Hundred Knight: Revival Edition - Metallia Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 3, 2016
    80
    A great action-RPG with only a few issues that bring it down a peg or two.
  2. 80
    I find that the complexity of its systems add a nice layer of strategy that most “Diablo clones” could benefit from. More than that, though, I find the narrative to be delightful in the way it revels in the Grimm Brothers’ sense of villainy, and then sticks you right in the middle of it and left to figure out for yourself if you’re comfortable helping a monster that completely evil.
  3. Mar 9, 2016
    70
    Enjoyment will differ from person to person, but for anyone who has an appreciation for NIS and their work, you’ll more than likely find The Witch and the Hundred Knight deserving of the shelf or hard drive space.
  4. 60
    This new release of The Witch and the Hundred Knight is just a mere porting of the PS3 version, with no discernible improvement, neither for graphics nor for gameplay. It could have been a good opportunity to revive the series, but unfortunately it is not.
  5. Apr 21, 2016
    60
    If you don't mind the quirks and rough attempts at humor, then you may enjoy The Witch and the Hundred Knight.
  6. Apr 20, 2016
    55
    An unnecessary remaster without proper new reasons to justify its existence.
  7. May 30, 2016
    30
    The Witch and the Hundred Knight isn’t a good game by any means. It has an impenetrable equipment system, lackluster combat with no other gameplay mechanics, and a story that only gets good if players consult an FAQ.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Mar 17, 2016
    9
    I bought this on a whim, seeing as it was developed by Nippon Ichi Software, the people responsible for the Disgaea franchise. Needless toI bought this on a whim, seeing as it was developed by Nippon Ichi Software, the people responsible for the Disgaea franchise. Needless to say, I was not disappointed. The game plays much like Diablo, as it a top-down action RPG with a loot/reward system. The fighting mechanics can gt a bit repetitive later on, but the game's fun exploration and extra quests make it an overall enjoyable experience. The humor is especially funny, but dark. Honestly, I wonder how this didn't get an "M" rating. Within 2 hours, I heard the "F" and "S" word at least 15 times each. There are also a lot of sexual jokes and remarks. Point is, if you are not a fan of dark, crude humor, this isn't for you. I for one, found it to be really funny and overall the game is a nice hidden gem for PS4 owners. There's not much to go back to if you already played the original on PS3, unless you want to play a version without all those bothersome bugs and glitches. Aside from that, anyone looking for a niche RPG or a game with dark humor, this is for you. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2019
    8
    I bought this on a whim in the Xmas sale, and I'm so glad I did. Let's say it was NOT what I was expecting. It looks cute, the game play isI bought this on a whim in the Xmas sale, and I'm so glad I did. Let's say it was NOT what I was expecting. It looks cute, the game play is simple and fun and has one of the best soundtracks I have ever heard. But I was not prepared for how messed-up dark this game is! It might look like a kid's game, but it really, really isn't. Laugh-out loud funny at times and not for the easily offended! A true hidden gem. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2016
    8
    This Game is Defiantly outside of Comfort Zone of a Developer which kinda is a fresh air.

    Easter Eggs References towards Final Fantasy VII
    This Game is Defiantly outside of Comfort Zone of a Developer which kinda is a fresh air.

    Easter Eggs References towards Final Fantasy VII and few other Games cracked me up. X)

    The Story/Humor i be honest wont be for everyone. I been laughing the whole time while playing this game how did the game get "T" rating. It clearly "M" Rated at very least ;p some scenes could be almost "Adult Only" with the style of humor. Heck i can make Drinking Game out of this game and i have everyone passed out on the floor within 30mins or less of the game X)

    Gameplay is fun, Basically Rogue type of a game with high risk and reward system. + "Diablo Loot" System.

    Art Style - Basically Disgaea anime pictures of characters during conversations. With 3D Models on the screen at same time.

    Summery: Basically If You Took Bersker's Manga Dark Twisted Evil theme with alot of swearing... put it into Disgaea Style with Diablo Loot Table + Rogue system with twists = The Witch and The Hundred Knight.

    P.S. Dont let anyone under age of 16 play this game, or that gets Offended Easily. Now if you do play it make sure your volume is low /or wearing headphones or you have ur family busting down your door x)

    I like it and been enjoying it, Do I recommand it? Yes.... If your Heavy Religion House Hold Than no ;p
    Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2018
    4
    Turn-based or Action:

    Action Was it fun? Yes, when I sat down and started to play it. I had fun. Would you play it again? No, I
    Turn-based or Action:

    Action

    Was it fun?

    Yes, when I sat down and started to play it. I had fun.

    Would you play it again?

    No, I really don’t have any interest in trying to play it again.

    Any Complaints?

    Its not about the game directly but I don’t really know what to say. When I sat down and played the game it was enjoyable but I never wanted to play it. After it sitting on my shelf for a month and half and really only playing about 5 hours, I decided that I had to send it back to gamefly.

    How many hours did you play it?

    As I said before, about 5 hours.
    Expand