Demon's Souls Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From PlayStation Studios and Bluepoint Games comes a remake of the PlayStation classic, Demon’s Souls. Entirely rebuilt from the ground up and masterfully enhanced, this remake introduces the horrors of a fog-laden, dark fantasy land to a whole new generation of gamers. Those who’ve facedFrom PlayStation Studios and Bluepoint Games comes a remake of the PlayStation classic, Demon’s Souls. Entirely rebuilt from the ground up and masterfully enhanced, this remake introduces the horrors of a fog-laden, dark fantasy land to a whole new generation of gamers. Those who’ve faced its trials and tribulations before, can once again challenge the darkness in stunning visual quality and incredible performance. In his quest for power, the 12th King of Boletaria, King Allant channelled the ancient Soul Arts, awakening a demon from the dawn of time itself, The Old One. With the summoning of The Old One, a colorless fog swept across the land, unleashing nightmarish creatures that hungered for human souls. Those whose souls were stripped from them, lost their minds – left only with the desire to attack the sane that remained. Now, Boletaria is cut off from the outside world, and the knights who dare penetrate the deep fog to free the land from its plight, are never seen again. As a lone warrior who has braved the baneful fog, you must face the hardest of challenges to earn the title “Slayer of Demons” and send The Old One back to its slumber. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Demon's Souls Remake Classic Camera And Filter Gameplay On PS5
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. This PlayStation 5 remake is a blessing for those of us who traveled through Boletaria 11 years ago.
  2. Nov 20, 2020
    100
    No longer soul of the lost, and withdrawn from its (PS3) vessel, Bluepoint has transformed a cult classic into a modern next-gen marvel.
  3. Nov 23, 2020
    95
    Demon's Souls is the must-have PlayStation 5 exclusive as the showstopper of the launch lineup. It's so close to being a perfect 10. But some archaic mechanics left untouched, as well as questionable deluxe edition items giving an unfair head start, just prevent it from reaching that pinnacle. Nevertheless, if you want justification of why the PlayStation 5 is worth upgrading to at launch, look no further than Demon's Souls.
  4. Nov 16, 2020
    90
    It's hard not to end up adoring this remake of Demon's Souls, as Bluepoint Games manages to give body and immersive potential to the base game.
  5. Nov 30, 2020
    90
    Revisiting Demon’s Souls in this fancy new package was some of the most fun I’ve had all year. The return to Boletaria was a pleasant reminder of just how good the game is, and the influx of new players makes it the current definitive choice for someone looking to get into the series. There’s a certain boldness to releasing the game relatively functionally the same so that a whole new generation of people can experience just how weird it is. While the facelift can cause some dissonance, most will experience a beautiful action RPG with some of the most tightly-designed levels and a bevy of different ways to approach the game. It may not be a brand new game, but even all these years later there still isn’t anything else quite like it.
  6. Nov 19, 2020
    90
    With a ton of replayability, a haunting and beautiful world, and satisfying gameplay, the PS5’s first exclusive hits it out of the park. Bluepoint did an excellent job updating Demon’s Souls to feature modern graphics and quality of life fixes without stripping anything away from the original. After how well this and Shadow of the Colossus turned out, I can’t wait to see which classic the studio tackles next.
  7. Nov 20, 2020
    75
    While you’ll get a lot of enjoyment from your time with this title, FromSoftware has definitely refined and improved on the design and mechanics in the more recent released Souls games. Without a doubt Bluepoint Games has delivered a brilliant remaster of a niche game that not a lot of people had the chance to play originally. Demon’s Souls is worth checking out on the PS5. But if you’re looking to see what makes FromSoftware so amazing at what they do, you’re going to find a better overall experience in one of their newer titles like Dark Souls III, Bloodborne, or Sekrio: Shadows Die Twice.

See all 106 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 28, 2021
    10
    First I have to say, I didn't play the original. I played Bloodborne and Sekiro, so I'm not new to the souls genre. For somebody who hasn'tFirst I have to say, I didn't play the original. I played Bloodborne and Sekiro, so I'm not new to the souls genre. For somebody who hasn't had the chance to play the origin of the Souls Series I was excited to play the Remake, as I don't own (or will ever buy) a PS3 console now.

    First warning: If you're not into hard games with unchangeable difficulty level, then go away, because you probably will be frustrated by this game. That being said, it is a nice start in the Souls Series because it it easier than Bloodborne for example. If you understand a boss you can probably beat him even with terrible timing.

    Level Design stays close to the original I heard and isn't nearly as clever as in Bloodborne. Before some Bosses there are shortcuts, before others not. Nonetheless I liked the game and the bosses, because they were diverse and after a few tries easy to beat. The graphics are astonishing, though not as scary and depressing as in the original (as far a I can tell from youtube videos). The remake has some quality of life improvements (send to storage function, sodden ring). Online Mode ist nice, but for the start you should play offline until you are confident enough to encounter other players who want to kill you (or if your are struggling with a boss and need some help). Like any other soul game, you have to figure out good builds, weapons and additional stuff on your own. No shame to seek help in Lets Play and Walk Throughs for the start.

    I also liked the Soundtrack, though I heard from many that the OST in the original was better. I think it ist mostly because of nostalgia, I would also be angry if they made a Bloodborne remake and changed the soundtrack, because during countless Boss fights this music burned itself into my mind. When you played the original your are not set to like the remake, but in my opinion you should give it a chance. For me this remake was justified because the souls series gained its fanbase mostly through Dark Souls and Bloodborne, so most of them haven't had the chance to play this game. I am glad I was able to and don't regret buying it for 80€. High Price, yes, but worth it I guess. Especially to call it robbery, like some of the reviews did, is an exaggeration. Wait for a sale if it's too much for you or honor the developers if you can afford it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    The game of the best souls of my life! I can highly recommend it to everyone! Huge game! Great for character creation, graphics, visuals,The game of the best souls of my life! I can highly recommend it to everyone! Huge game! Great for character creation, graphics, visuals, mood. The controller makes the whole game even more amazing! There can be no complaints about either Ps5 or the game! Whoever scores this didn’t even play with it, just intentionally pulling down the game. Unfortunately, there are a lot of trolls. It is better not to deal with them. Maximum point for me. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Everyone must play this game. The graphic is amazing and better than Dark souls
  4. Nov 15, 2020
    10
    freaking amazing game outdone the old one in every way possible atmosphere combat voice acting and especially soundtracks GOTY
  5. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    Increíble puesta al día, respetando los elementos del original, pero gráficamente espectacular. Blue Point ha tocado los justo para que elIncreíble puesta al día, respetando los elementos del original, pero gráficamente espectacular. Blue Point ha tocado los justo para que el gameplay no se notase anticuado, como el arreglo de la cámara y la implementación del rodado en 8 direcciones (antes era 4). Además han añadido un grandísimo modo foto y un editor de personajes muchísimo mejor que los que incorpora From Software. En definitiva, este juego no solamente es igual de bueno que el original, sino que lo mejora en muchísimos aspectos. Trabajazo por parte del estudio con el que nos traen de vuelta uno de los títulos mas influyentes en la historia de los videojuegos. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2021
    9
    I have to say that I am equaly amazed by the genius of the original game and by the deepest respect of this remake for the source material.I have to say that I am equaly amazed by the genius of the original game and by the deepest respect of this remake for the source material. Combats feel so good and the game is so beautiful. However, it is clear that the formula has been refined in the following Souls trilogy. veterants from Souls games might feel that bosses or some levels are a bit videogamey compared to the recent Fromsoftware games. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2021
    0
    Way too difficult and fustrating. Not enjoyable at all. Such a waste of money and time.

See all 1206 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2020

    The Best Videogames of 2020 Image
    Published: January 4, 2021
    We reveal the best-reviewed games released in 2020 for PlayStation, Xbox, Switch, and PC.