Godfall Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Save Aperion. You are the last of the Valorian knights, masters of combat equipped with legendary armor called Valorplates. Ascend in Godfall, a first-of-its-kind, looter-slasher, melee action-RPG.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Godfall Opening Cinematic On The PS5
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. Nov 11, 2020
    85
    Godfall is a massive surprise. It borrows combat from God of War and has enough loot to make Diablo blush. It may look garish but it's well designed and has that "one more go" factor.
  2. Nov 11, 2020
    70
    An enjoyable hack and slash looter that plays well despite a sparse, repeating structure.
  3. Nov 25, 2020
    70
    Godfall is not a title without its charms. The combat system is solid and satisfying, and technically, the game is great proof of PlayStation 5’s potential. But cramming levels full of particles effects and shining lights does not necessarily make for good aesthetic design, and Godfall also suffers from a weak story and repetitive endgame.
  4. Nov 17, 2020
    60
    Godfall is a fun looter shooter but it has too many flaws and lacks consistency and coherence to go beyond sufficiency.
  5. Nov 30, 2020
    60
    Godfall is a very good-looking game for your brand new PS5, very shiny, but the battle system and gameplay as a whole becomes very boring pretty quickly, as it has many many issues too.
  6. Feb 10, 2021
    50
    Godfall doesn’t do anything egregious or worse than any of the other disappointing looters of this generation, but it does almost everything equally as badly in a weird perfect balance. This is what makes it so frustrating. There is definite potential for a gem inside this game, but it’s so busy with being a downright average-at-best looter that it loses all semblance of actual personality, a key component to maintaining a looter game. Impressively non-existent story, incredibly derivative art, classes which mean absolutely nothing, a deceptively small loot pool, technical issues up the wazoo, terrible endgame design and a horrific netcode all add up to a visually pleasing but soulless affair that can’t even begin to escape being categorised as anything more than a flashy tech demo.
  7. Nov 11, 2020
    40
    Godfall’s sluggish, overly complicated combat, hilariously paper-thin story, and numerous technical issues make it a lowlight of the PlayStation 5’s launch lineup.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 258
  1. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    I'm reviewing the game as 10 since so many people seem to give it hate. This game is for people who thoroughly enjoy the looter genre, don'tI'm reviewing the game as 10 since so many people seem to give it hate. This game is for people who thoroughly enjoy the looter genre, don't expect an amazing story or anything like that.

    I have heard some things that I do think should be touched upon such as not attack canceling. I really hope they update the game throughout time as I think the game has incredible potential.
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2021
    10
    I maybe being a little generous by giving a straight 10 to counter the extremely low scores but in my opinion it falls about 8. I think a 0 toI maybe being a little generous by giving a straight 10 to counter the extremely low scores but in my opinion it falls about 8. I think a 0 to 7 is too low. I'm currently playing thru Godfall, in fact just turned the game off to write this review. Let's just post the facts: it runs smoothly if you play on performance mode. No drop in framerate and beautiful in 4k. The people that gave low scores and complained about slow framerates and crashes, I can only assume were playing on resolution or fidelity mode. Go with performance mode trust me. The different realms are gorgeous to look at but lack in small cosmetic details. It's a grind looting but can be well worth it for your specific play style. Eventually you can buy loot from a shop keep. Not real world money. This game does not provide a deep story but it's good enough to be just interested enough to play. It's really one of those, hey the bad guy did this so we're gonna do that and this has to work because we don't have any other options. The story is passable enough to make it worthwhile. Don't expect a lot of banter between characters because it's just you for the most part. Now the meat and potatoes is the actual gameplay. It has a bit of a learning curve, getting the timing down for blocks and counters takes a little getting used to but the fights are truly fun. Especially the boss fights. There seems to be a lot of back and forth between the same realms so that can make it kind of a slog at times. The graphics are beautiful, this indie company did a great job there. Needs work on story but has great gameplay. My recommendation is check it for sure but catch it on sale. It's worthy of your time but not at $70. Catch it on sale at $35 or $40 and enjoy! This game deserves much higher than a 0 or 1 like some people have posted. I'm personally looking forward to how they improve on the game and see where this really goes. Hope this helps! Expand
  3. May 11, 2021
    8
    Very underrated game. Its a unique loot 'n slash game. BEATUTFUL graphics, awesome abilities and a decent perk tree. Tons of unique weaponsVery underrated game. Its a unique loot 'n slash game. BEATUTFUL graphics, awesome abilities and a decent perk tree. Tons of unique weapons and items to help your build. If you enjoy a game with beautiful graphics and just solid combat, this game is for you. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2020
    3
    Repetitive, boring, hard pass..........................................................................
  5. Dec 10, 2021
    2
    Godawful. Didn't anyone involved in making this game actually give it a try? Why make this? Why publish this? If anyone gave these people anyGodawful. Didn't anyone involved in making this game actually give it a try? Why make this? Why publish this? If anyone gave these people any money then they should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2020
    0
    Don't buy it. Another example of a lazy developer putting out trash simply hyped up as a next-gen title because it shines, regardless of theDon't buy it. Another example of a lazy developer putting out trash simply hyped up as a next-gen title because it shines, regardless of the game freezing every time a medium-sized enemy dies on all platforms. Sony, as disappointing as ever, desperately touting this game as the bee's knees. A pathetic example of the "justified" price hike to $70. Let us pay them MORE, to do LESS!

    AAA Cashgrab, focusing on nothing but "oh shiny, oh wow particle effects! 10/10" reviewers.

    Developers hopped on the $70 price-hike train, charging more money for less and less quality. No, your next-gen shine and particle effects leap is not worth an additional $10. Mods do the same thing for 10-year-old games free of charge.

    The game is poor quality, combat is copy-paste and boring. Maps are copy-paste with different filters (Oh Shiny, still!). Basically, it's a decorated hallway simulator.

    No campaign at all. AT ALL. Farm the same 5-minute missions (go here, kill that) 20 times to collect tokens to unlock doors (mobile game???). Open the big door a couple of times, the game is over. Oh, and you talk to two different NPC's about how bad the bad guy is every once in a while.

    It's bad guys. Really, it's pathetically bad. The fact that this was hoisted as a true next-gen AAA experience during all this time (and NOBODY at Sony realized how truly awful this was) is concerning, and a bad, bad sign for this new generation of games. Also, just goes to show that Sony doesn't actually have a single clue about what a videogame actually is.

    Avoid. Avoid. And if somebody gives it a 10/10, avoid them too. It's either an attempt to combat buyer's remorse or an employee.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2020
    0
    Game optimization is just awful. My PC specs: GTX 1080 TI, Intel i7 7700K, corsair DRAM 32 GB 3000 MHz, Samsung EVO 850 SSD. On a PC withGame optimization is just awful. My PC specs: GTX 1080 TI, Intel i7 7700K, corsair DRAM 32 GB 3000 MHz, Samsung EVO 850 SSD. On a PC with these specs, the game runs only with minimal graphics settings. The game client does not work stably, constantly crashes with the error "GPU crashed or d3d device removed". Severe problems with lighting in the game, everything is heavily overexposed. I constantly fall under the textures, it feels like you are playing an early alpha version of the game, and not a finished project. There is also very little content in the game and it is very boring and monotonous. It's a shame that I bought the maximum edition of the game, Godfall Ascended Edition, I will never pre-order Gearbox games again. Expand

See all 258 User Reviews