Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 748 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Square Enix is brings this role-playing game to the PSP the fourth installment in their Compilation of Final Fantasy VII series which includes the movie "Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children," the game "Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII" for PS2, and "Before Crisis: Final Fantasy VII" forSquare Enix is brings this role-playing game to the PSP the fourth installment in their Compilation of Final Fantasy VII series which includes the movie "Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children," the game "Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII" for PS2, and "Before Crisis: Final Fantasy VII" for mobile devices. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. It plays like a dream, blurring the lines between both genres that it covers much more than any other game. And it looks the part too, as it is easily the best looking handheld game you'll see to date, along with God of War.
  2. PSP fans, rejoice. This is the killer-app that you have been waiting for; the game which will send PSP units worldwide flying off the shelves - just like what Final Fantasy VII did for the original PlayStation.
  3. The familiar soundtrack, environments and fleshing out of back story will delight the game's fanatical army of followers. More importantly, however, is that Crisis Core's overall quality makes it a must buy for all PSP owners, whether you're into your materia or not.
  4. 85
    If your PSP has been gathering dust in the corner for some time, it's time to dust it off, grab a copy of Crisis Core and experience one of the truly great titles to ever grace the PSP.
  5. 83
    Were it not for the plot and the special significance of Final Fantasy VII this game would invariably fail to stand out in a crowded genre, brimming with innovation and quality. Still, this is Final Fantasy, and that still counts for something.
  6. 80
    The FFVII diehard should snag this post-haste (this really does make up for Dirge's mediocrity, honest), and even if you don't recognize the significance of playing Zack as opposed to Cloud, this is a worthy Japanese action-RPG.
  7. If the words "the death of Aeris" don't bring a tear to your eye, then dropping $40 on Crisis Core certainly will.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 152
  1. Sonnorcteer
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    This is the most awesome handheld game i have ever played ever, probs even with Patapon. This game is incredibly addictive and everything This is the most awesome handheld game i have ever played ever, probs even with Patapon. This game is incredibly addictive and everything about it is awesome. can't see what people don't like about the story. the battle system is great and the end emotional. Amazing, beats Gods of War easily in my opinion, no conest. Expand
  2. MatthewS
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    This game is rated far too low by the critics. The graphics are great, story is entertaining, and music is good enough for a soundtrack cd. This game is rated far too low by the critics. The graphics are great, story is entertaining, and music is good enough for a soundtrack cd. You will get many hours of enjoyment from this game. Expand
  3. FlocusT.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    By far one of the best RPG's on the PSP to date. I love the FF series but I've always preferred the more gritty pace and reflex and By far one of the best RPG's on the PSP to date. I love the FF series but I've always preferred the more gritty pace and reflex and timing based action of realtime combat over turn-based fighting. I'm glad Square brought back the realtime action from FFXII for this one. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2017
    10
    One of the best A-Rpg I ever played... No, THE best A-Rpg I ever played. Perfect music, perfect story and perfect characters. It's not calledOne of the best A-Rpg I ever played... No, THE best A-Rpg I ever played. Perfect music, perfect story and perfect characters. It's not called FFVII for nothing. Expand
  5. SharpS.
    Jul 14, 2008
    9
    The DMW I hate that thing. FF7: CC is in all fairness a prequel to FF7, if you did not like FF7 then chances are you will be biased and not The DMW I hate that thing. FF7: CC is in all fairness a prequel to FF7, if you did not like FF7 then chances are you will be biased and not like this game. Crisis Core was made for fans of FF7 to deepen the relationship with the characters and forge a better understanding of the story. I myself enjoyed the game for the nostalgic memories it brought to me and the plot, which at times was confusing but is expected when translating from one language to another. The battle system is not my favorite I prefer turn based system much like FF7 although I think a FFX system would have worked better here. The story is immersing and the characters are likable. all together It is not the shining pearl of the Final Fantasy universe but it is a good game and I think deserves a deal of respect. 9 out of 10. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2018
    8
    A prequel to the most famous (and slightly overrated) final fantasy. It's an action rpg that follows the story of zack fair (best friend ofA prequel to the most famous (and slightly overrated) final fantasy. It's an action rpg that follows the story of zack fair (best friend of cloud) and his life as a SOLDIER opperative for the shin-ra company.

    Most characters are well fleshed out and likeable for who they are.
    The combat is quite deep, even though you are limited to attack, defend and up to 6 materia.
    The combat is partially luck based however, there's a slot machine that dictates when you or your materia level up. It also gives special moves and passive buffs to Zack if it rolls in certain ways. This was never actually a problem for me as the ods of getting something is pretty high.

    The game is however, very lineair. It has a main story and over 300 side missions that you can acces from your in-game menu. Those missions all boil down to the same thing: start in 1 of 12 random areas, run around opening chests and kill the boss. This can get very repetitive but they are optional in the end. Some do reward you with very usefull things like being able to use items in your crafting system
    Speaking of the crafting system: it's great, it allows you to craft your own materia. For example: adding fire to assault twister= fire blade.

    All in all it's an enjoyable experience for fans of Final fantasy or PSP owners in general and I would definitly recommend it to them
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2019
    0
    There is not much content to this game. It's just a lot of padding and maybe 10 hours of gameplay at the max.

See all 152 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

5
1
#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
2
#2 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008