Xenoblade Chronicles Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Xenoblade Chronicles Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 201
  1. Sep 22, 2016
    10
    This is the best JRPG of the 7th generation. There is no doubt of this. It has some minors flaws. But I gave it a 10 because a merely 9 isThis is the best JRPG of the 7th generation. There is no doubt of this. It has some minors flaws. But I gave it a 10 because a merely 9 is not enough. I dont want to write a long review (its late in my house) so Im gonna say one sentence: If you miss the JRPGs from the 90s and first years of 00s this is a perfect opportunity to remember them. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2020
    10
    This game is mind-blowingly fantastic. To start, the story is very intriguing, to the point where I couldn't even find time to do most of theThis game is mind-blowingly fantastic. To start, the story is very intriguing, to the point where I couldn't even find time to do most of the side quests. Plenty of twists and turns to really keep the story great, and always kept me hooked. The story and lore is extremely creative and is nothing like what I've seen in any other game. The locations are beautiful for a Wii game, and are very creative as well. Something about roaming across two giant titans is just epic. All the locations take place in different spots on the Bionis and Mechonis, and all of them differ greatly in structure and design. For example, there is a large field right on the Bionis' leg called Gaur Plain, and it looks very different in comparison to the Fallen Hand of the Mechonis, which is like a coastal beach. The characters and their designs are just fantastic and very creative. All different types of races live and thrive on both titans, like the Homs (Humans) and the Nopon, which are cute round creatures with very broken English. All of the characters that you meet have great personalities and charm. The main character, Shulk, has almost nothing in common with his best friend, Reyn. Which leads to very interesting interactions between the two characters in heart-to-hearts and in battle. All of the seven party members have great chemistry with each other, and dialogue between them can be very interesting and creative. Character development is also very good in this game, and as the main focus of the story shifts to something greater, the character's attitudes change along with it. But i feel where Xenoblade Chronicles REALLY shines to me is the music. The music is just beautiful. The tracks never get old and always fit the scene perfectly. With some tracks being epic and energetic, and other being calm and ambient. I don't even have any major issues with the game, to me it's nearly perfect, a masterpiece. Of course, with such a huge and demanding game being on the Wii, the graphics aren't anything special, but that's entirely due to technical limitations and is by no means the game's fault. I'll still give it a perfect score nonetheless. I'm positive that Xenoblade Chronicles: Definitive Edition will fix this issue, and i already pre-ordered the game. I am extremely excited to play this wonderful game in HD. In conclusion, though I may be biased because I love JRPGs and particularly the Xeno series, i think this game is one of the best I've ever played and definitely my favorite game of all time. I highly recommend this game to not only fans of JRPGs, but everyone for that matter. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    [Spanish]: Uno de los mejores RPG de la década y sin dudas el mejor para Wii, una buena historia junto a un mundo enorme para explorar, lleno[Spanish]: Uno de los mejores RPG de la década y sin dudas el mejor para Wii, una buena historia junto a un mundo enorme para explorar, lleno de side-quests, variedad de enemigos y un combate dinámico que recuerda a títulos como Final Fantasy XII o White Knight Chronicles. Se puede jugar tanto con Wiimote+Nunchuck como con el Classic Controller, siendo relativamente cómodo con ambas opciones. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles, is one of the most amazing games that I can play, the story is fantastic, the characters interesting, and the graphicsXenoblade Chronicles, is one of the most amazing games that I can play, the story is fantastic, the characters interesting, and the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay, OMG! I feel like an excellent RPG, this game is a biggest sorprise and the better game of the year. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Graphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a greatGraphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a great RPG experience. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2020
    0
    Overrated. It’s nowhere near the level of Xenoblade Chronicles 2. That’s a fact.

See all 201 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012