• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2017
South Park: Phone Destroyer Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: South Park: Phone DestroyerTM brings you iconic South Park characters, action packed real-time strategy, exploding PvP battles, trademark South Park humor and collectible cards in a perfect mix that’s spicier than Cartman’s chili con carne. Assemble the ultimate team of cowboys, wizards,South Park: Phone DestroyerTM brings you iconic South Park characters, action packed real-time strategy, exploding PvP battles, trademark South Park humor and collectible cards in a perfect mix that’s spicier than Cartman’s chili con carne. Assemble the ultimate team of cowboys, wizards, cyborgs and more and get ready to crush your opponent. Expand
Buy Now
Stream On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
South Park: Phone Destroyer Announcement Trailer - E3 2017
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 12, 2017
    85
    Ubisoft has done a great job with this game, fun and very balanced when it comes to in-app purchases. If you like the series, give it a try.
  2. Nov 12, 2017
    82
    An incredibly fun & enjoyable experience based on South Park but with a strong mix of gaming styles. Very re-playable. It reflects perfectly the South Park style.
  3. Nov 13, 2017
    80
    Phone Destroyer is simply so well-made that it makes you forget or overlook some of its pay-to-win DNA, and that’s no easy feat. Viva la New Kid.
  4. Nov 17, 2017
    65
    South Park: Phone Destroyer is a fun game to play once in a while if you love crass jokes and witty satires but it is basically a very watered down version of Clash Royale with some debatable design choices.
  5. Nov 22, 2017
    60
    There is probably a really fun South Park card game buried in Phone Destroyer somewhere. If the economy was fairer and the PvP was more strategic, it might be worthy of my time. As it stands right now, I’ve hit the point where I have pretty much no choice but to open my wallet if I want to compete and the game just isn’t fun enough to convince me to do that.
  6. Nov 21, 2017
    60
    South Park: Phone Destroyer is a title with good potential, but with an identity crisis. It keeps trying to remind us of its license with its humor and satire, but gets held back by its gameplay, that gets influenced by the microtransactions.
  7. Nov 21, 2017
    50
    Phone Destroyer isn’t going to convince you to like South Park or card battlers if you didn’t already, there’s a decent campaign frustrated by constantly gatekept content.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Nov 14, 2017
    9
    A well designed game based on the famous series. The game handles very smooth. Leveling up is quite easy. I don't find the need to pay for anyA well designed game based on the famous series. The game handles very smooth. Leveling up is quite easy. I don't find the need to pay for any content in it. So, for a free game is awesome! Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2017
    6
    South Park Phone Destroyer is free and starts strong with typical humor and smooth gameplay. However, as you start digging deeper in to theSouth Park Phone Destroyer is free and starts strong with typical humor and smooth gameplay. However, as you start digging deeper in to the game, the game seems to focus more on advertising packs of purchasable cards than on solid or innovative gameplay, which makes the whole experience kind of forgettable. Still, for this price a South Park fan can have some hours of good fun. Just drop it afterwards. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2018
    5
    Phone Destroyer makes good use of the South Park license, and it's fun to play, but it has some massive issues that keep it from being a trulyPhone Destroyer makes good use of the South Park license, and it's fun to play, but it has some massive issues that keep it from being a truly great mobile game, like Vainglory or Fire Emblem Heroes. Cheaters infest the pvp like an ever present form of mold, and while Redlynx and Ubisoft keep saying they're working on it, the problem literally grows worse by the day. Another big issue is the drop rate on legendary cards, which is so low that you can easily spend hundreds of dollars on card packs (or weeks playing the game like a more than full time job, OR BOTH) without getting a single new card. Finally, the game has some pretty severe balance issues; despite there being upwards of 80 cards in the game, from five different themes, expect to see the same two or three decks over and over and over again, both in your hands, and the hands of your opponents. I can count on one hand the number of times I've seen a surprising card played, and I can count on two fingers the number of times I've been surprised by someone's deck.

    It may sound like I'm being overly negative, but believe me, these are all things I wish I'd known before investing so much time (I'm less bothered by the money, strangely enough.) in Phone Destroyer. I will say this, on a more hopeful note: *IF* Redlynx and Ubi manage to fix these problems, particularly the rampant cheating and the legendary card drop rates, Phone Destroyer could be one of the best mobile games ever made. It's just not there right now.

    (After playing Stick of Truth and Fractured but Whole, it is impossible to escape the feeling that Phone Destroyer would benefit enormously from Matt and Trey stepping in and correcting some of the poor design decisions and setting some new priorities for the dev team. They obviously have much better heads for game design than whoever is in charge of Phone Destroyer at the moment.)
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2021
    1
    It's a pay to win, you can play the campain but if you play pvp the best card to win is your credit card...
  5. Jul 8, 2018
    0
    P2W, sellouts. Sad to see this is where they’re taking this once great series.