Foregone Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Foregone is a fast and fluid 2D action-platformer packed with legendary loot and stunning pixel art. Collect an arsenal of powerful weapons and unravel a compelling story of regret and conspiracy as you slice your way through hordes of enemies to save Calagan.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Taking Down A Big Bird Boss In Foregone | PAX East 2020 Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 11, 2021
    83
    Despite its style and engagement, it is still pretty formulaic in its execution. Though it lends its own spin to a classic video game genre, fans of the 2D platformer will notice some cues going back to the SNES days. If you love this stuff, there’s every reason to give Foregone a shot. But if you suffer from platformer fatigue, there may not be enough here to rekindle that spirit. If you’re new to the genre, you could do a lot worse than Foregone.
  2. Nov 2, 2020
    75
    Foregone is a solid offering. Combat, progression, and platforming are all fast, fluid, and engaging. What it lacks in fresh, original concepts and mechanics it makes up for a refined Metroidvania experience. If you are looking for a fun, engaging platformer with a good story and some refined mechanics, Foregone delivers.
  3. Jun 14, 2021
    75
    With stunning pixel-art graphics, solid combat, and a considerable amount of character customization, you can easily sink a few hours into Foregone, maybe more if you delve into more challenging difficulty levels. However, if you’re looking for a complex Metroidvania full of backtracking and deep lore, I would look elsewhere. Foregone may have left me feeling a bit cold, but if you’re looking for some straightforward side-scrolling action, I suspect it will nicely scratch that itch!
  4. Mar 1, 2021
    70
    A good game that lacks the personality needed to excel.
  5. 60
    While there is some good gameplay to be found in Foregone, you’ll spend a lot of your playtime with it wishing you were playing some of the inspirations it appears to be pulling from. That’s a real shame, because there are some highlights in Foregones playtime, but they don’t stand out enough for me to properly recommend it to anybody.
  6. CD-Action
    Nov 15, 2021
    60
    Foregone lured me with its beautiful art style just to disappoint me with repetitive levels, shallow story, uninteresting combat and total lack of originality. [05/2021, p.52]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    Foregone is a simple, well-designed action platformer with just enough roguelike elements to the keep the game interesting but lacks the interesting loot and character customisation that would take it to the next level. [Early Access score = 70]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Mar 5, 2021
    10
    A very enjoyable and chaotic game that cured the itch left behind after I finished Dead Cells. The graphics are simply stunning, and theA very enjoyable and chaotic game that cured the itch left behind after I finished Dead Cells. The graphics are simply stunning, and the gameplay is as addicting as it gets. Don't miss. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2021
    10
    It's like Kotaku said: If you missed Foregone, fix that immediately. Foregone is incredible. Full stop.
  3. Mar 7, 2021
    10
    Action platforming done right. Animations and fluidity makes the atmosphere that much better.
  4. Jul 10, 2021
    6
    The game was so boring I could only play half of it. I usually try to finish these types of games but I'm really bored. The only good thingThe game was so boring I could only play half of it. I usually try to finish these types of games but I'm really bored. The only good thing about the game is its music and graphics. Items are very limited. Upgrade system is not good. You can only change the properties of the item you use in side quests. Bosses are very easy. Level design is bad. Trouble finding secrets. The graphics are complex, most of the time you can't see the platforms. When you die, you can lose all your money with heavy penalties if you don't get it back. The story of the game is not interesting. A game that used dead cells and souls-like metroidvania features but failed. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2021
    5
    What a disappointing game! First let's say something good about Foregone. Graphics are really good, especially the background animationWhat a disappointing game! First let's say something good about Foregone. Graphics are really good, especially the background animation actually makes the game alive, however everything is very, very dull, boring and needs more work...Linear levels, optional timed missions(everybody hate does), questionable aiming, repeating enemies and the list goes on... I've rarely not finish a metroidvania type of game(even Timespinner), but this was a bit too much.Feels like an unfinished game! Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2022
    4
    A painfully mediocre game with an ugly-faced Mary-Sue protagonist whos best at everything, always wants to do the right thing, and everyoneA painfully mediocre game with an ugly-faced Mary-Sue protagonist whos best at everything, always wants to do the right thing, and everyone likes her, even the enemies who beg her to kill them. Expand