The Messenger Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a demon army besieges his village, a young ninja ventures through a cursed world, to deliver a scroll paramount to his clan’s survival. What begins as a classic action platformer soon unravels into an expansive time-traveling adventure full of thrills, surprises, and humor.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Messenger - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 28, 2018
    100
    The Messenger’s intricate platforming and charming world make for a surprising journey that must be played.
  2. Sep 9, 2018
    90
    Twist after twist, The Messenger turns out to be an amazing game. Everything looks and feels perfect, from its sense of humor to its level-design. It’s a must-have for every retro games lover.
  3. Sep 3, 2018
    86
    Competent action-platform, curious "double-face" metroidvania, of ancient origins but with exceptional and unpredictable flickers of contemporaneity.
  4. Aug 31, 2018
    80
    Even if it tends to be a bit frustrating in its second half, as it opens up a bit, The Messenger is still a magnificent and really great to play independent action platformer with some clever ideas and a lovable personality.
  5. Sep 13, 2018
    80
    Devolver Digital and Sabotage Studio propose a game that could innovate its genre.
  6. Sep 5, 2018
    80
    The Messenger is a game that makes no effort to hide who its intended audience is, and its clever combining of two distinct gameplay genres ensures that it casts a rather wide net. Whether you’re a die-hard retro gaming fan or a genre newbie eager to dive into the deep end, Sabotage’s debut title is one adventure worth embarking on.
  7. Sep 14, 2018
    75
    Creating both an 8-bit and 16-bit aesthetic is a genius idea and a very meta way for depicting the world in the past and future eras. It’s also commendable that Sabotage introduced a clever alternative to the usual double jump function we usually see in the platform genre. Though it’s filled with charm and highly competent gameplay it’s marred by exhausting backtracking (even for the genre), few enemy types and a lack of challenge.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 54
  2. Negative: 4 out of 54
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    10
    For the price, this game is unbelievably good. The platforming is challenging, the music and story are great, but the game's humour is whatFor the price, this game is unbelievably good. The platforming is challenging, the music and story are great, but the game's humour is what sells it. It's much more light-hearted than I expected, but it was a welcome surprise. The indie market is rather oversaturated with retro styled platformers, but this one really stands out. I don't think it's a 10/10, but I'll give it one anyway.

    The game's up there with Dead Cells and Shovel Knight. What else can I say?
    Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2019
    10
    So much fun to play with this game. The boss battles are unique and the Messenger's humour is literally awesome and funny. The controls areSo much fun to play with this game. The boss battles are unique and the Messenger's humour is literally awesome and funny. The controls are smooth and there's so much to do in this game. The story is 10h+, New Game+, DLC, and collectibles. Definetely worth to play with Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2018
    10
    This was one of the greatest 2D platformers I have played. And it is a really funny game too, like really great job with that! Great balanceThis was one of the greatest 2D platformers I have played. And it is a really funny game too, like really great job with that! Great balance of gameplay and storytime if you want to talk to the shop keep. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2020
    9
    i grew up playing this kind of games in the NES, the same feeling of difficulty as the classics, but with all the things that make great thosei grew up playing this kind of games in the NES, the same feeling of difficulty as the classics, but with all the things that make great those games. nice humor, incredible music with that retro nostalgia. but the CONS are that after finishing the first part of the game, playing in the alternate world, seems a little bit repetitive or pointless. if only there were a lot of bosses more with higer difficulty, mayby impposible one, would habe had the 10. but in general it a great game to play on the weekend with a couple of beers Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2021
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a game that takes advantage of the best of the old games bringing some more modern and better mechanics.

    Gameplay is the charm of the game, it is very fluid and fast. It also has several checkpoints and its penalty when dying and just go without receiving money for a while, original, good and functional. The level design is very good and has a very nice progression. The first half of the game is completely linear, but out of nowhere the game sank a bit for me, it went from a hack & slash platform to a Metroidvania (which I like a lot less in general). The exploration of most items through the prophecies was really boring, but the new linear areas / areas and boss fights are still very good.

    The story begins with a very simple premise but expands a lot. When the game seems to be getting lukewarm, you arrive at the temple of the 3 wise men (or something) and that 'time-skip' and the graphics are in 32 bits. Then we found out that everything is cyclical and gives a really cool twist, changing the gameplay more to Metroidvania. All the lore in the world and that story of the Messengers that appears before entering the 'final dungeon' is very interesting.

    The dlc despite having a much inferior history it has a very good gameplay and more challenging than the main campaign in general.

    Good old style soundtrack.

    It has quite satires of the classic 8, 16 and 32 bits.
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2019
    7
    Another gorgeous retro pixel art platformer. It has a large variety of detailed levels with great music.
    Gets a yellow rating from me for two
    Another gorgeous retro pixel art platformer. It has a large variety of detailed levels with great music.
    Gets a yellow rating from me for two reasons: 1) inconsistent difficulty, the majority of the game is so easy you barely have to think, but one specific challenge room at the end of the game (the last one you need) made me extremely frustrated. The bosses also become easier as you progress which makes it feel anticlimactic.
    Reason 2) is the backtracking. There are 'points of no return' in some levels, which close you off from backtracking and instead force you to warp out, backtrack to the entrance of the level, and play it over again from the start. Combine that with the too-easy gameplay that sometimes lapses into frustration, and you have tedium. The only other flaw I'd point out is that the story does not take itself seriously at all, which makes me as a player not take it seriously either.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2022
    0
    Fantastic 2d platformer/action game. It's not quite the level of polish and perfection that Celeste and Katana Zero are, but it's still anFantastic 2d platformer/action game. It's not quite the level of polish and perfection that Celeste and Katana Zero are, but it's still an incredible game, with very satisfying gameplay and abilities. One thing with many lesser 2d platformers I see is that they tend to increase difficulty by added cheap tactics and unfair elements to the obstacles. I loved how Messenger was pretty straightforward, and you'd know what to expect with everything just by briefly observing it. Every success was earned, and every failure was my fault. If I knew how to clear something, and timed it correctly, I could do it every time without fail. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews