God of War: Chains of Olympus Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 702 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PSP Game of the Year] Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa,[Metacritic's 2008 PSP Game of the Year] Unleash the power of the Gods and embark on a merciless quest as Kratos, an ex-Spartan warrior driven to destroy Ares, the God of War. Armed with lethal double chainblades, Kratos must carve through mythology's darkest creatures including Medusa, Cyclops, the Hydra and more, while solving intricate puzzles in breathtaking environments. Driven by pure revenge, nothing can stop Kratos from achieving absolution. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 100
    The PSP hasn’t yet seen a game with this much polish, this much visual punch, or this much bloody satisfaction. Everything feels meaty, be it the clash of weapon on flesh or the substantial amount of gameplay depth and environmental design. Not only is Chains of Olympus a worthy addition to the God of War franchise, it also stands on its own as a triple-A title in the PSP library.
  2. AceGamez
    100
    God of War: Chains of Olympus takes almost everything that's awesome about its older siblings, including the sex scene mini-game, which has become a series standard, and miniaturized it to fit on the PSP.
  3. It really can't be overstated how much of a technical accomplishment this really is.
  4. God of War: Chains of Olympus is a fantastic game and a worthy addition to any PSP owner’s collection.
  5. Ready at Dawn have done an admirable job of mimicking everything that made the action of the series so great.
  6. God of War: Chains of Olympus will probably not bring much change to the franchise. This games reaches a high level when it comes to PSP standards. Although the game has a weak storyline and a few bugs, it feels glorious to play.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    At the halfway mark, Chains is so tremendous, striking an almost perfect beat of difficulty spikes, weapon upgrades and stupendous visual reveals, that you have to question its endurance. And, sadly, it flounders right on cue. [Apr 2008, p.92]

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 101
  2. Negative: 5 out of 101
  1. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a masterpiece. As for the action, I wouldn't have it any other way. Expand
  2. JohnY.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Perhaps the best game for psp. Along with Final Fantasy Crisis Core. Don't listen to all these guys whining about This game is amazing. Perhaps the best game for psp. Along with Final Fantasy Crisis Core. Don't listen to all these guys whining about the controls. OF COURSE ITS NOT GOING TO PLAY LIKE A PS2 GAME FOOLS!!! It's a handheld system with one analog stick. You're just stupid if you don't like this game. Rate the ps2 games and get out of the psp forums. AWESOME GAME. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    God Of War is Indeed the God of All PSP Games so Far. No Second Thoughts on that. The Moment you start playing this Game, you will find itGod Of War is Indeed the God of All PSP Games so Far. No Second Thoughts on that. The Moment you start playing this Game, you will find it hard enough to keep that frikkin psp Away !! Expand
  4. ChrisD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Since I bought my PSP I haven't really found any games that I cannot put down, then along came chains of olympus. This game is epic, it Since I bought my PSP I haven't really found any games that I cannot put down, then along came chains of olympus. This game is epic, it looks amazing and plays amazing too. I'm not the sort of person who clocks games in a couple of days, but did with this. I was gutted, because I was really getting into it. Overall though it was epic. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    This is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god ofThis is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god of war before than you'll love this game,they've taken nothing you love about the series out and u even get some cool moments with Kratos's family. The only problem i personally have with the game is how long it is.....which isnt very long.It took me exactyly 3 and a half hours to be it every time i beat it,and a lot of people complain about the boss fights,how there are not enough. There are enough you fight two of the bosses twice,and the last boss is so cinematic you can compare it to anything on the console games. If you have a psp or now a vita then either buy it or download it because its well worth your money Expand
  6. May 7, 2018
    8
    The graphics background are very good for the system with excellent character models while also not so great ones then the cut-scenes are aThe graphics background are very good for the system with excellent character models while also not so great ones then the cut-scenes are a highlight in the game. Great voice acting, interesting mythological level design like the games on the ps2 but shorter than usual. Sound is very good while the only flaw here is having no wind sound. The sounds effects are standard god of war sounds which is both great and familiar. The story of the kratos is before the events of the first game but it retells the same tragic story again but at-least with different villains, while kratos works with the future villains of the series. Overall the story is flawed because the main problem could have been easily solved and some of the actions of the characters doesn't add up. The game-play is smooth and satisfying, you can do the same moves of the previous games with interesting new moves and a few super magic powers. The distant camera works fine for almost all the game where you can see your character but in there a few moments that you can't see the enemies or the final boss attack. For some reason the camera doesn't show them. The game makes you walk, fight enemies then bosses, jump, swim, climb, open doors, push objects, press button prompts, and solve puzzles. While the enemy variety and puzzles is not much it is still good enough to keep you entertain for a good while and the un-lockable customs are a must. Also the challenges return and surprisingly I ended up preferring it over the original. Overall Chains of Olympus is a outstanding game. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    0
    All of the hype and great ratings brought me towards the game and the horrible system and simple bosses brought me away from the PSP. SimplyAll of the hype and great ratings brought me towards the game and the horrible system and simple bosses brought me away from the PSP. Simply said, this game offered no challenge and the random sex scene in the game proved to be pointless. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.

Awards & Rankings

1
2
#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
1
#1 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008