SteamWorld Dig 2 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grab your pickaxe and dig into the sequel to SteamWorld Dig. A platform mining adventure forged in Metroidvania flames. In search of her lost friend, a lone steambot and her unlikely companion must dig deep, gain riches and explore an underworld riddled with danger. But time is runningGrab your pickaxe and dig into the sequel to SteamWorld Dig. A platform mining adventure forged in Metroidvania flames. In search of her lost friend, a lone steambot and her unlikely companion must dig deep, gain riches and explore an underworld riddled with danger. But time is running short... [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SteamWorld Dig 2 - Nintendo Switch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 16, 2017
    100
    I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone, whether you’re familiar with the first SteamWorld Dig or not. Image and Form have done a fantastic job with this follow-up, and much like their track record so far with the SteamWorld universe, the experience here is impeccable.
  2. Sep 26, 2017
    92
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is everything that you may want for a sequel. It takes the digging formula of its predecessor and makes it more fun to play, prettier to look at, and more pleasant to listen to. Fans of both platform and Metroidvania genres will be pleased by its enjoyable gameplay and, even if you’re not into those style of games, it may be worth a try - as it is one of the best indie games released on the Switch.
  3. Sep 25, 2017
    90
    Every advancement Dig 2 makes to its story and mechanics strengthens your initiative to progress. There's an overwhelming sense of momentum that runs through the adventure; as if developer Image & Form sifted the original in a pan, removing its redundancies while expanding upon what made it so fun to persistently play. In your quest to acquire every upgrade and explore every nook and cranny, there's no shortage of hidden collectables to discover.
  4. Oct 11, 2017
    90
    Once again Image & Form continue to pour heart, soul and quality into their games. Steamworld Dig 2 is another near perfect entry in the Steamworld universe, and the enhanced art design makes me wish that they go back to both the original Dig and Heist and update them and release them on the Switch. I would be the first in line to buy them again.
  5. Sep 22, 2017
    89
    Action, exploration, platforming, beautiful visuals... SteamWorld Dig 2 improves on everything from the original game, adding some metroidvania elements, and making it one of the best indies for the Nintendo Switch.
  6. Oct 2, 2017
    85
    Steamworld Dig 2 makes you dig like Minecraft, while exploring away like Castlevania. This solid adventure gets even better thanks to the cool dungeon levels and its duration.
  7. Oct 18, 2017
    75
    In summary, SteamWorld Dig 2 is a stellar addition to the Switch, and it’s a great throwback to the classic 2D platformers and side-scrollers of yesteryear. There’s more to the game than just the main story mode, and going off the beaten track to discover side quests, relics and other secrets is very rewarding. From the unique plot to the charming visuals, SteamWorld Dig 2 excels from the off. I especially loved the Western style music, which suits the theme of the game really well. Indie titles have been flooding onto the Switch since its release, and the highly-impressive nature of them has me excited to see what comes out next.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 28, 2017
    10
    I don't really like giving things a 10, but literally my only complaint with this game was that finished it and wanted more.

    But 10 hours
    I don't really like giving things a 10, but literally my only complaint with this game was that finished it and wanted more.

    But 10 hours for 15 quid is a solid return. I'd love steamworld dig 3 to be absolutely huge.

    The art style is gorgeous, the music and atmosphere is perfect, digging for teasure is tonnes of fun, the levelling up system, the puzzles, boss fights. All of it, no complaints.

    Mighy have to go play the first game now, but so glad i found this one, beats shovel knight as my fave indie game ever.
    Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2018
    10
    All those steambots, awesome story - everything is made to perfection like all the other games! A game that makes you come back playing EVENAll those steambots, awesome story - everything is made to perfection like all the other games! A game that makes you come back playing EVEN after you complete it. Brilliant game :) Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2020
    10
    if you like metroidvanias, this is a pretty note perfect example of the genre. cool upgrades, a great map, challenging enemies and bosses andif you like metroidvanias, this is a pretty note perfect example of the genre. cool upgrades, a great map, challenging enemies and bosses and a great iteration on the first steamworld dig game. I'm hesitant to give a 10 usually but i think this deserves it. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2017
    9
    A great follow-up to Steamworld Dig. It expands on the previous game and refines mechanics in ways that really enhance the experience. Some ofA great follow-up to Steamworld Dig. It expands on the previous game and refines mechanics in ways that really enhance the experience. Some of the hardware upgrades you'll acquire feel like a godsend. My only criticism is that the optional final challenges (which you can access for 100%-ing the rest of the game) are INSANELY difficult. Until then, the game's difficulty level seemed perfect. Even watching people make it through the final challenges on YouTube, I couldn't manage some of them, as the controls must be very exact and precise.

    But that's not that big of a deal, as they're completely optional. If you ever enjoyed the first game or the old flash game Motherload, you should buy this game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2018
    9
    Looks awesome docked and on handheld. Great gameplay. The game loop is a little addictive. So many hidden things to discover. The story isLooks awesome docked and on handheld. Great gameplay. The game loop is a little addictive. So many hidden things to discover. The story is good. Haven't really found any bugs. Like the others said, I wanted to play more of it. One of the must plays for Switch owners. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2019
    8
    I couldn't put this beautiful and addicting game down once I started it. The boss battles felt a little lackluster, until the final boss,I couldn't put this beautiful and addicting game down once I started it. The boss battles felt a little lackluster, until the final boss, which posed a good challenge. While I had a great time finding secrets throughout the game, the end came too fast. Since it has been over, I have not gone back to it once. A great game that ended too soon, but jam packs a valuable experience in a short timeframe. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2018
    6
    I have beaten SteamWorld Dig 1, and 2 now, were they both good? they weren't bad. However, 2 is a major improvement.

See all 71 User Reviews