10,000 Days

  • Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 428

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Expand
  2. JHanks
    May 3, 2006
    7
    I gave this a 7 because I expected more from Tool especially after their last album. This deserves a 7, no need to really expound on it. Any Tool fan should agree on the 7.
  3. KeytonE
    May 3, 2006
    9
    If you can't take long songs just go back to your Fall Out Boy and Simple Plan. If you're a fan of Tool you'll love this album. The one review is correct, this is exactly what a Tool album should sound like, but it is definitely unique.
  4. AndreP
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. Obviously Stylus Magazine doesn't know what the words "Progressive Rock" mean. And the writer from Pitchfork has never listed to A Perfect Circle. The "wannabe-journalists" that wrote those great pieces probably enjoy listening to Nickelback. Great album as usual, Tool always surpases expectations. A little too much "Intermission style" songs, but that is always expected from Tool. But Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, 10,000 Days...amazing songs. Go buy this album IMMEDIATELY, otherwise, you'll end up being a Nickelback fan, or an opinianated "journalist". And you wouldn't want to end up like that, would you? Collapse
  5. DamienA
    May 2, 2006
    10
    An amazing record. A completely reinvented Tool puts out their most bluesy album. The rejection of violence and hope for maintaining peace of mind are the prodominant themes. It will take several listens to get this cd! Like all great records you are not prepared by the radio for innovation.
  6. EricF
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Simply fantastic. Highly complex and detailed, dark and rhythmic yet musical and vulnerable.
  7. alii
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Is a great albun very dark and moody .I love it It seems like tool did it again!
  8. JamesToolfan
    May 2, 2006
    9
    I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and I'll preface this by saying that I love Tool, but that they are not my all time favorite band. Everyone knows those people who live and die with every word Maynard James Keenan says writes or sings, I'm not one of them. That being said I listen to Tool as much as or more than any other band in a given week, month or year. I have had this album for a little over a week and contrary to what you may have heard or read this is not their best album. I think both Lateralus and Aenima are better albums, however, I think those are two of the greatest albums ever made. I gave this album is a solid 9, there are parts where Tool blows me away with their musicianship, song crafting and originality. In my opinion, the talent in this band rivals any band in music and probably in music history. Their influence will be felt for generations, this album included. That being said this album tends to drag at points and does not have the same "WOW" factor as Tool's previous work. But then again, who does ? The case and artwork are amazing and the album maybe the best album released this year by anyone. I would definitely pick it up if you haven't already. Expand
  9. JDWilliams
    May 2, 2006
    10
    The critics are harsh on art i guess...don't understand pitchfork's review. its like they think all these mostly crappy indie bands they are obsessed with will change rock. TOOL has changed rock since the early 90's this CD is a step forward in the journey of the amazing TOOL!! BUY IT
  10. roxannek
    May 2, 2006
    10
    love it!!
  11. [Anonymous]
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Amazing album...Reviews dont know what they are talking about because this album is a grower. Tool has defidently gotton better.
  12. PeteO
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Definitely an epic work that needs time to fully sink in. The level of musicianship and composition here truly shines head and shoulders above just about anything else out there right now. Tool has delivered once again on all levels. Their masterpiece has already been made, but this continues their dedication to delivering top-notch music.
  13. JamesH.
    May 2, 2006
    10
    im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there im pretty sure the critics did not listen to the same cd i did. this cd is not mostly made up of soundscapes or filler tracks, nor is it a perfect circle. it might not be a total departure from lateralus, but why would someone expect a band to totally change its sound? i think this cd is great, its extremely intense, much more personal, and has some really great heavy rock songs in there too. i hate pitchfork media Expand
  14. Jeff
    May 2, 2006
    8
    As a Tool fan, it's unfortunately not as great as expected. But I definately don't regret buying it and encourage others to buy it because it is a whole lot more than just your average album.
  15. TravisP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I love it! From the amazing album cover art and features! To the change of Maynard's voice and stretching himself! To Danny and his amazing drums, with Adam taking a more important role in the album. It is amazing!
  16. max
    May 2, 2006
    9
    First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album First, I don't know what stylus and pitchfork were smoking but it seems like they have an axe to grind with Tool. Maybe they were declined interviews or weren't allowed to hang with the band after a show. This albums is excellent, it may not be Lateralus or AEnema but it is TOOL. I guess since their style changed over the past 4 albums that people expected this to be the album that redifed music. Maybe they liked the sound they achieved with Lateralus and wanted to expand on it more, not change again. If you look at all their albums each became longer and more elaborate climaxing with Lateralus. They found the sound that they were looking for and now are creating music in that style. Im sure this will grow on people over time but for me it is a welcome addition to my collection and will be played many times over listening to all the little nuances in Dannys drumming as well as the rest of the bands playing. Expand
  17. ShastaMcNasty.
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Wings/10,000 days epic is haunting, to say the least, with a thunderstorm building in the background while the song builds to a crescendo. I must say that I was taken by surprise by The Pot, with it's Shannon Hoon-esque vocals, and it is definitely one of the highlights on the album for me. However, I was taken aback by Rosetta Stoned (is Maynard rapping at the beginning? hard to tell by the gravelly vox going at 200wpm) and I swear I almost fell asleep by the time Right in Two finally kicked in, but overall I would have to give the album an 8/10. Remniscent of their previous albums, but in a good way - hints of Third Eye splash about while the soundscape rolls into Lateralus-style riffing as touches of Undertow and Opiate abound. So remember that while 8/10 might not seem like the greatest score for a Tool album, it is essentially the same as a 4-star score and certainly better than the critics have given the band so far. 10,000 days must definitely be seen to be heard, especially with the awesome cd packaging and the nifty 3D goggles. Right on! Two thumbs up (sort of) Expand
  18. RicheP
    May 2, 2006
    8
    this is their most accesible album to date, pure tool that said it relies too much on signature without going past their comfortable boundaries.
  19. davidm
    May 2, 2006
    10
    great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 great cd. if you think other wise give it another shot. the music is haunting the lyrics and vocals are downright bone shattering. not in a loud kind of way but maynard once again hits that vunerable human factor in all of us. this is not aenima or lateralus. this is tool and their new cd so dont expect the same. in time just like all their cds it will be seen as a classic. a 10 out of 10 best cd of 2006 by far. great great great cd!!! Expand
  20. VincentT
    May 2, 2006
    9
    How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good How does the new Pearl Jam album (which is crappy at best) have better scores than this? I can't stop listening to this amazing album...Vicarious, Jambi, Wings for Marie (both parts), The Pot, Rosetta Stonned, Right In Two...how can this album be bad? Tool fans will not be disappointed unless they are expecting the second coming of AEnima or Lateralus. I actually think it is as good as Lateralus. Expand
  21. JP
    May 2, 2006
    10
    NOT Lateralus 2, NOT Aenima 2. Just different. Open your mind and let it sink. This is an amazing album.
  22. KramerC
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece and progression of Tool style. Critics got it all wrong. This album need more than one listen. The more you hear it the more you understand it. Remember Lateralus? It was the same story. People and critics got all weird about it at first, but later on it became number one.
  23. Ryan
    May 2, 2006
    8
    The people that are voting low obviously are not tool fans...if you are a tool fan than there is nothing not to like overall. However, it gets an 8 because its not better than some of their previous work and it gets a little slow toward the middle, but overall...IT ROCKS...if you like tool.
  24. Systool
    May 3, 2006
    8
    I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical process. Some tracks like "Vicarious" are classic stuff, and "Jambi" and "The Pot" express heavy structures... but songs like "10 000 Days" and "Intension" expose more "psychedelic-like" atmospheres. The main negative point for me is that there are only 11 tracks and intermissions like "Lost Keys" and "Viginti Tres" are quite useless... I would have given a "9" if there was another solid track Expand
  25. Antonio
    May 3, 2006
    10
    You can definitely see some of the influences the band were talking about. I don´t know why some people are saying it has filler, in this respect it is like every tool album. Very good in my opinion and a step in the right direction.
  26. KatM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Hello people, every good band has an album like this in their career. Where they try something new and pepper it with their old sound. I see this as a transition album. Only bad thing is, we have to wait another 4-5 years to see what they're transitioning to, But if any experiment is worth hearing, it's Tool's.
  27. BrianK
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from Dissapointing to an extent but not a dissapointment, but giving it an 8 for having faults is still damn good, and proves even with not a great Album TOOL still beats a lot of crap already out there... this album starts to grow on you, and it is definitelty meant to listen to with a good sound system or in your car so you can notice all the nuances, subtletys and transitions from progression of the tracks, now my gripe is there is a bit too much ambience that bogs it down "Vicarious", "Pot" "Jambi" and Rosetta Stoned" are to me the best songs, Maynard really tries to find new range vocally in "Pot" but there is just enough familarity in the riffs, beats and voice to make me think of Aneima and Undertow which is good, TOOL seems to be going with the sound and flow of Laterlus, that was apparent when we all first heard Vicarious which opens much like Schism (but is way better than Schism I think), I would of liked more sing song hard driving songs like Pot and Jambi to make up more of the CD, I guess I am a bit picky with this more deep, dense and slow direction bieng I love TOOL so much, but there is quite a bit here which is good.... on another note TOOL should get the best CD packaging of the year award, the view finder combo is a trip, I want to try listening to the album while viewing their art. Expand
  28. AdamJ
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Most music these days is like seeing pictures of the Grand Canyon. They look nice but you don't really feel anything when looking at them. 10,000 Days is like actually going there...
  29. AdereC
    May 3, 2006
    7
    It's more of the same, which is an actual shame for a band like tool. On first listen, I wanted to sing along older lyrics with these new tracks. That's not a good sign. The music doesn't cut it anymore for me. The rating's for their attitude. And the goggles. And Bill Hicks.
  30. JustinS
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read Well I can't give it a perfect vote as of yet since I only bought the cd yesterday but I am baffled as to how critics decided on their view of the album only a day after it has been released. I really doubt they have given the album a few listens over, yet probably skimmed through each song with the fast forward button and then made their final opions. Critics are a joke. please read chuck klosterman for further opions on critics. pitchfork media is also the same medium that rated mars volta's frances the mute a 2 out of 10. haha! what a joke. Expand
  31. JasonH
    May 3, 2006
    10
    This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, This album reminds me very much of "With Teeth" by NIN. The critics skewered it, but its a perfectly fine album in its own right. This album would have been the ideal follow up to Aenima, but I guess we were all spoiled by Lateralus. Of course Tool wasn't going to do Lateralus all over again. Much like Trent Reznor did on "With Teeth", Tool revisted their earlier work on 10,000 days, and then experimented with it. It's a perfect mixture of old and new, with a deeply personal touch. This is a great album, definitely a must have. Don't listen to the critics...if you remember right, they all hated Aenima too... Expand
  32. JesseB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which There have been a lot of poor reviews of this album in the 39 hours since its release, and frankly this upsets me. The main complaints seem to be that the album doesn't flow like Lateralus, or have the hard hitting rhythms of Aenima. I say - Who Cares? We're talking about a band that has put out four distinctly different full length albums in their 16 year history, each of which have their own evolved themes and timbre. This album is a reflection of those things which made us need Tool to begin with, and offers a big middle finger to those casual Tool listeners that think they're dissapointed. Another reviewer said they are too "A perfect circle" like... did it ever occur to him that since Mers de Noms that A Perfect Circle is too Tool like? I'm not saying that is is their best offering to date, but comparing tool albums is pointless. The fact of the matter is that this album ROCKS; and anyone of these critics that want to say otherwise... leran to swim! Expand
  33. patrickdl
    May 3, 2006
    10
    heavy at times, with fantastic interludes, this album is something you won't want to miss. danny's mandala drums are sick, and maynard's play with vocals are an important departure for the band. yea, and pitchfork is the worst thing going.
  34. GeorgeP
    May 3, 2006
    10
    LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years LIsten to this at least twice before forming any opinion. This is a great album. Why? Because its NOT like everything else they've done. It rocks in spots and meditates in others. The packaging is the best I've ever seen. It has an energizing quality that Lateralus had. It is easily the best rock album that will come out this year, not just because I like them, but because years from now when your Strokes and White Stripes Cd's have gathered more dust than a dead man's apartment, you'll be just beginning to grasp the power and depth of this masterpiece! Expand
  35. JasonN
    May 3, 2006
    9
    First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, First of all, Maynard is the best rock voice out there right now, simple as that. This is probably not their best cd to date, but after a 5yr wait, I definitely am not complaining. And how does this NOT sound like a Tool album? You could play me the 1st 2 notes of any of the songs and it screams Tool. I don't get it, what are "critics" looking for? Amazing vocals, tight musicianship, a distinct sound, etc. Tool is the leader of the pack in my opinion, and unfortunately, the gap between them and the rest of the pack is far to wide. Expand
  36. Greg
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the Tool is a band that you need to adapt to, you cant just listen to their cd the first time and love it. I admit i was slightly disappointed in it first time i listened, but it grows on me alot more everytime i hear it, just like every other album of theirs. I dont exactly know what to rate it as, because i will probably end up liking it more. I do wish it was harder, because tool is the only band that can be incredibly heavy and have a real message unlike just about every other band. That's the only thing that hold it to a 9, except for the fact that i like their previous efforts a little more than this one. And the Bill T kid that gave it a zero, you pretty much just admitted that you're internet nerd. Not only did you listen to the whole cd and rate it, but you even had the nerve to call other tool fans internet nerds, when you're the one whose using fancy words for sperm. Expand
  37. ChrisG
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Bill T is a jackass.
  38. JustinW
    May 3, 2006
    10
    wow, what an album!!! i love how Tools albums always change each time. They keep getting better and better!!! Tool is the best band in the last 20 years!
  39. mikeVO
    May 3, 2006
    9
    I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool I think people are missing the picture here. Comparable to other Tool music it is tough to gauge what 10,000 days is all about. Their are certainaly hints of Tool ripping off some of their old tricks from other albums. But having listened to this album about 6 times now, i realize that the same tricks have merely been fine tuned and that this album has probably 3-4 of the strongest Tool tracks ever. Jambi is unbelievable, Wings part 1 and 2 are fantastic, The Pot is off the hook. The album just kicks @$$, period. It seems as though people forget that even crappy Tool is better the 90% of the other stuff out there. And thank goodness, this isn't crappy Tool. Give it 3 or 4 listens and you will realize how rock hard 10,00 daqys is! Expand
  40. ClaudioS
    May 3, 2006
    10
    The record begins with the powerful single and gradually takes you in for an auditive journey, only the experienced listener can dare to critisize this album, it is a masterpiece, the sound is as good as it's art and it allows you to truly get hypnotized through time...
  41. MattA
    May 3, 2006
    8
    This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an This is a challenging album. Like previous Tool material these albums take time to sink in and I find it hard to be extreme either way right now. What I am impressed with is how Tool seems to be trying something. I don't know what, but I do know it is something pretty cool. Their power is undeniable and if you like Tool, you will really enjoy this album. 10,000 Days seems like an album that is getting the band back in sink and the NEXT one will blow your mind. In the mean time, this is still a really good listen. Expand
  42. MarginW
    May 3, 2006
    7
    "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their "Vicarious" is a pretty good structured song, fractured by weak drumming. "jambi" is probably the worst song off the album, the ugly, chugging notes are clearly trying to reach the godsmack/nu-metal crowd. Both "wings for marie" and "10,000 days" worked nicely together. The lyrics are heartfelt and personal. "Rosetta-Stoned" and "Right in Two" are great sounding songs, rehased from their previous catalogue. The atmosphere and sound effects didn't really bother me. The focus here is more ethereal than pseudo spirituality, right? All in all, musically, this Tool's least impressive record. My major complaint is the sub-par drumming, Danny Carey is probably the most talented modern drummer. The drumming missed all the right stop-and-fire dynamics from the previous records. There isn't much air between the tenor and Jones' polyrythms. Lyrically, it's less embarrasing than Lateralus. Some of the songs sound more like lazy, b-sides off Lateralus. Expand
  43. tomn
    May 3, 2006
    9
    By far Tool's overall best effort to date. I can see some people not getting it right away, but there is nothing else out there even close to this right now. Replay value is limitless.
  44. NeilC.
    May 3, 2006
    9
    This album, although not as introspective as Lateralus, still has some of Tool's best work to date. Songs like Vicarious and 10,000 Days make the album pleasurable to listen to on repeat, and even what many would consider "filler" material (which Tool is prone to use) keep the album moving along nicely. And of course, Alex Grey's artwork is worth the price of the CD alone.
  45. JMcDan
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Best music on the shelf since 2001.
  46. ChrisE
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Inspiring and evolving. Amazing album.
  47. Sluze
    May 4, 2006
    10
    music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are music is about feeling and interpretation so no one is going to agree completely...having said that you can agree on musicianship and talent and this album proves once again the members of Tool can play some damn good rock songs. from a personal perspective, i feel the record is a reflection of growth for the band the tracks are good 'old school' metal tunes, the lyrics are quite well written and in the end its a record, at it worst, that is better then the corp. rock that is out there right now (ie anything ever done by Nickleback) and at its best makes it into your musical rotation for now. because in the end that's really what it comes down to. if you are going to take the time to ACTUALLY LISTEN (and not judge it by a single you heard a few times on the radio driving to work) to a record and you want to hear it again then the band has done their job. Expand
  48. JohnH
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Best Tool album (so far).
  49. AlexDLT
    May 4, 2006
    10
    For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's For anyone to think that Tool was going to be anything similar to their previous albums, dont understand Tool one *&%damn bit. This CD is nearly perfect in every way, and to my delight I might enjoy just much if not more than Lateralus. The musicians have really taken their personal progression to new heights while I have never heard Maynard so personal. He comes off like he's finally divulging to his true fans some deepseeded pain hes lived with for so long. It is powerful and beautiful. Expand
  50. Blackshadow
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Another good effort from the band. There is a lot going on with the instrumentation and it takes several listens to fully enjoy it.
  51. GaryS
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable. This one takes patience to truly take shape. Been a fan since Undertow, this is as good as anything they've ever done.
  52. JamesC
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Better than Lateralus, not quite as good as Aenima...
  53. LucL
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Each album presents us with an evolution of the band. Although there are familiar elements of Lateralus here, the band seems determined to break new ground. I especially enjoyed Maynard James Keenan's vocals. He does not hesitate to show off his incredible versatility.
  54. BenA
    May 4, 2006
    10
    They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new They have gotten better. The songs are more intricate and layered. The guitar and drum work is amazing, and the changing time signatures really spice things up. This band knows how to play their instruments. They are so taleted, it's hard to listen to anything else without thinking how basic it sounds. The slow songs on the album take time to appreciate, but I think it's a new thing for Tool, and they have grown on me a lot. This album is incredibly consistent and well-paced. A+ Expand
  55. vicg
    May 4, 2006
    9
    I have to disagree with the critics,this is a really good album. I cant really explain why i like it, i just do. I would recommend you listen to it just once and decide for yourself.
  56. WilliamJ
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Lots of subtle and complex songs which get better with repeated listens, which is what I think we've all come to expect from Tool. Its nice to finally hear Adam show off some of his impressive skill with the guitar. I could do with a few more focused and aggressive tracks and less prog meandering. It's a great album but still doesn't top Aenima.
  57. chuck
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent cd. Wings for marie and 10,000 days are as good as anything on any previous cd. I think it is more creative lyrically than Lateralus. Nothing is ever going to reach Aenima, that is something I accept, unfortunately tool is expected to surpass it and it probably isn't possible because Aenima was perfect.
  58. RussellA
    May 4, 2006
    9
    After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and especially Chancellor's absolutely superb bass work. Chancellor really stands out here, especially on the track "The Pot." Expand
  59. frankie
    May 5, 2006
    10
    another chapter in the Book Of Tool...not one to pass up. Filled with hair raising breakdowns emotional lyrics. Better then any crap band could even dream about, these guys are gonna be in history books if you don't listen with an open mind then you don't deserve to listen at all. Tool is the best hands down.
  60. paul
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Someone should filter Bill T's 0. he obviously has not listened to or bought the album.
  61. sumsh
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Best. Tool. Album. Ever.
  62. AaronO
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Who are you to waive your finger you must have been out your head.... this stuff is good
  63. DanK
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys voice. Off you go! Buy it :) ! Expand
  64. Nick
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Better after every listen. Though the album lacks the anthemic, driving sound found on earlier releases, the complexity and movement of the songs really make this a great record. Some may think it's pretentious, but if you sit down and let yourself completely engage in the musical movements, it stands out as Tool's finest work since Aenima.
  65. GaborA
    May 5, 2006
    10
    With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at the top for all my lifetime, but please do. Expand
  66. PL
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I Most of the negative reviews are based on superficial comparisons to old albums. Yes, this album has classic Tool underpinings, but there are new rhythmic structures in there. Maynard isn't always deep and novel. But who is always deep and novel? Tool must put a lot of work into most songs. Anyone who thinks otherwise is too unfamiliar with how hard it is to write music. Also I noticed that most negative reviews are concerned with fan-bashing. I love that move: "I'm not skilled enough to comment on the music itself, so I'll rip on the fans instead." Expand
  67. ScottS
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member Love 10000 Days. I think Opiate and Undertow were Tool's april fool's jokes rather than Lateralus or 10000 Days. Just depends if you can evolve yourself as a person. Thats what they are doing. Rather than just putting out dreggy music for the "unfairly treated youth". This same youth can't seem to evolve from liking that "I hate the world so I'm going to hit my member with a hammer" music. This album has alot to offer anyone with an IQ of at least 65 (right above retardation level) and an opened mind. Crucify your ego people, your arrogance and ignorance are so contrived. Evolve! Expand
  68. DavidM
    May 5, 2006
    10
    I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they listend to it once and wrote their review. A word of advice to anyone reading this: Listen to the new album 4-6 times AT LEAST, before forming an opinion. 10, 10, 10. Expand
  69. prask
    May 5, 2006
    10
    great album, period.
  70. bobbyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true to ther music , its clearly music thats inspired by four diffierent talented personalities meeting and conversing... and as for the guy who refered to cow bells and such .. " every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set" your an idiot , from a succesfull drummers stance - danny is the first drummer doing anything creative for rock since john bonham .. everything he does is tastefull .. and juxtaposed to such idiot iconic prog-rock drummers such as mike portnoy , danny keeps his use of drums and toys to a minimum.. ... BF Expand
  71. shanet
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Scott s i could have not said it better myself. Honestly if tool were still making music like opiate, and undertow i would not still be a fan.... its the one band that has matured, and the only band that is still in my cd collection, when all the others faded away. I have grown up with tool, and as i have grown so have they. If you like tool, just get it! It's awesome.
  72. Nightkin
    May 5, 2006
    8
    The best prog-metal album of the year. Their new album shows an evolving Tool; yes carrying over some styles from APC but making it completely their own. In 10,000 Days, Tool does not merely break up and rearrange elements from their old albums (Undertone's heaviness, Aenima's album-art gimmick, lateralus's abstract lyrics, etc.) but reinvents lyrics and riffs with their The best prog-metal album of the year. Their new album shows an evolving Tool; yes carrying over some styles from APC but making it completely their own. In 10,000 Days, Tool does not merely break up and rearrange elements from their old albums (Undertone's heaviness, Aenima's album-art gimmick, lateralus's abstract lyrics, etc.) but reinvents lyrics and riffs with their trademark sound. Like every Tool album, 10,000 ends with an epic track, and I promise you this one will swallow you whole. Not to mention: its CD case's gimmick alone is worth the price of the album. Expand
  73. EMac
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after The criticisms of this album are mostly made out of ignorance. If you believe what the negative reviews have to say, then you aren't somebody who understands what Tool is all about. To say this album is an A Perfect Circle album is obviously not familiar with either band or music itself. The album wasn't quite what I expected and so I was disappointed with it at first. But after listening to it again I realized that this album is definitely their strongest work yet, and will become my favorite album of theirs. Expand
  74. BL
    May 6, 2006
    7
    great first half, so so second half
  75. KevinD
    May 6, 2006
    10
    This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the This Album doesn´t have to do with A Perfect Circle, It´s Tool and it will be always Tool, Is just better than Opiate or Undertow and for sure i know Tool a long time know and i know what i talking aout. 10.000 Days a little bit ohther than the early realeses and they play something new. The album is more darker and sicker and it´s direct in your ears. But. Never get the music like Lateralus, That one is the best and i just think Tool think that too.... Expand
  76. AWall
    May 6, 2006
    10
    amazing.
  77. Eldon
    May 6, 2006
    8
    Wow! I love it. Love it. Deeply, passionatley fulfilling. A level of awareness not being manifest anywhere else in music right now. Allow the energy coming through to wake you up. Do you have the courage? Cause it will require some. I dare you.
  78. Brian
    May 7, 2006
    10
    For sure my favorite Tool cd to date if not the best cd I own!
  79. JakeH
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Tool again reaches a new level of musicality! Tool has put AEnima and Lateralus in a blender, sprinkled in angst from the war and president and added power to create thIs progressive masterpiece!
  80. ErwinK
    May 8, 2006
    7
    Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, which is completely gorgeous. The Pot is a standard by the numbers Tool track which smacks you in the face with pure rage - probably the best track. The first single Vicarious is OK - it's all about schadenfreude, but nothing new or interesting about it. Rossetta Stoned is probably the most interesting song, with a weird array of tempo changes, strange singing styles, odd lyrics and the most petulant scream I have ever heard from Maynard. Yes like all Tool albums it has unusual rhythm signatures 5/4 7/8 9/8 etc, and a lot of songs go on forever like Wings/10,000 days. It's OK, but not up there with Aenema or Lateralus. Expand
  81. Ed
    May 8, 2006
    8
    High-tech tribal metal with lots of pounding on animal skins, guitars used as percussion, mumbling and growling at the moon, etc. It holds up well and improves on repeated listenings. Tool are doing more and more with less and less, and their musical ideas are more subtle, stronger than before. It's dark stuff, but once you get past the silly juvenile posturing in the album's High-tech tribal metal with lots of pounding on animal skins, guitars used as percussion, mumbling and growling at the moon, etc. It holds up well and improves on repeated listenings. Tool are doing more and more with less and less, and their musical ideas are more subtle, stronger than before. It's dark stuff, but once you get past the silly juvenile posturing in the album's artwork, this is a very potent brew indeed. Not always as involving as it wants to be, but there are few bands still working whose sound is identifiable within 3-4 bars, and Tool is one of them. Expand
  82. grantc
    May 8, 2006
    10
    wow this album is freaking amazing...anyone that disagrees is seriously retarded.
  83. Qcontagion
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing.
  84. EliF
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Love it. The main reason people don't like it is simply because it's not what they expected. Truly a love-it-or-hate it album, I love it, and enjoy it a lot more than Lateralus.
  85. JonD
    May 8, 2006
    8
    I've read the good and the bad about 10000 Days, and I have to say that I see good points with (most of) the reviews. This is surely not Opiate or Undertow, and it's still shades away from Aenima. But what listeners have to understand is that this band has been recording and releasing music for 16 years, and over that time have, for lack of better words, grown up. Tool is beyond I've read the good and the bad about 10000 Days, and I have to say that I see good points with (most of) the reviews. This is surely not Opiate or Undertow, and it's still shades away from Aenima. But what listeners have to understand is that this band has been recording and releasing music for 16 years, and over that time have, for lack of better words, grown up. Tool is beyond writing songs titled "Jerk Off" and "Prison Sex" just to get casual fans through "shock factor." Tool is a band that has maintained a dedicated fanbase and impressive record sales without having very much rotation on the radio or over-saturization on the television. Tool has just evolved, and as a musician myself, I can say that 10000 Days may not be the heavy, bang-your-head old school Tool that we remember from days past, but it is well-written, very complex, and requires litening to more than one time to fully appreciate. Expand
  86. EdgarP
    May 8, 2006
    10
    New sound, perfect quality.
  87. CollinL
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Nothing out there more unique, powerful, and instramentally/vocally absorbing. Another interesting step for these briliant musicians.
  88. mikeb
    May 9, 2006
    8
    Stunning new album, basically a mash of all their work extended to include more soundscape type tracks. Ignore the people saying they have made a perfect circle record. this is much more heavy and complex. The only similarity is the the vocals which is too be expected. Awesome.
  89. TheApoc
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has truely mastered the art of making every album sound just like the last one. Tool is not that kind of band, and they never will be. Expand
  90. SusanS
    May 9, 2006
    10
    I Love It...it's the best yet!
  91. KukudiM
    May 9, 2006
    9
    Definitely one of their best albums. It's their most mature yet. If you thought "Third Eye" off of Aenima was a complex song, you'll find at least 3 or 4 comparable ones on this album. Definitely requires multiple listens for full effect..
  92. DanielR.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the Brilliant-Simply brilliant. Before you leave any sort of comment, you must listen to this album and read the lyrics with each song at least 10 times to get the true feeling. This is NOT a "what track do you like" CD. This is, "hey, do you have an hour and a half for an experience?" CD. This is an experience. Who made the law that a song mustn't be over 4 minutes? I bought this CD the day it came out and it hasn't stopped playing since. A Masterpiece! Expand
  93. DanS
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Best Album this year
  94. JustinB
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Overall great album, however still not as brilliant as some of tools previous works but still a hell of a lot better than any of the other crap on the radio these days
  95. A
    May 12, 2006
    10
    If you don't get it, you don't get it. It's solid.
  96. FuquaF
    May 12, 2006
    10
    A sublime mix of spiritual intensity and "eff-you" thunder. If you don't like it, pull six feet of dirt over yourself, you are most likely dead.
  97. josak
    May 13, 2006
    7
    This is a good album, I mean c'mon, it's Tool; but this comes no where near close to the greatness of "Lateralus" -- in fact, it's not even in the same stratosphere. Regardless, it's still worth a listen. My complaints are pretty much the same as everyone elses, no need to get into that.
  98. Rafael
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I think this is an Excellent album. The tracks: Vicarious, Jambi and the Pot are great. There are some fillers, but that is always the case on any tool album (except opiate). The art work is interesting and complements other visual effects found in previous tool albums. The score should be a 9, but I gave it a 10 to rectify the average rating.
  99. SergioC
    May 16, 2006
    7
    Well... at last 10000Days! I'm a total fan of Tool, but I must confess that I'm a little disapointed with this new album. After 6years, we should receive a much more that what we can find on 10000days. Well, 'course the masterpiece "Lateralus" is an hard thing to beat, but I'm shure they could have done much more. In my opinion, 10000Days's a bad album,with 5 very Well... at last 10000Days! I'm a total fan of Tool, but I must confess that I'm a little disapointed with this new album. After 6years, we should receive a much more that what we can find on 10000days. Well, 'course the masterpiece "Lateralus" is an hard thing to beat, but I'm shure they could have done much more. In my opinion, 10000Days's a bad album,with 5 very good songs.The problem is that we can find a lot of what I call "Crap Songs"...or that songs that are good to create the feeling around the total album(wind bloowing, sound of waves, other sounds and paranoias).But when 4 or 5 tracks are just this....well, it sucks. So I can only say that if instead those 5 "crap Tracks", we could find 5real music, this album would be great. And well, 6years, it's time enough to make an album with at least 10fucking songs. Notice that's the only problem of 10000...being an album with only 5musics! "Vicarious"; "10000Days Part.2"; "Right in Two"; and "The Pot" are masterpieces.... Well...after all, we're talking about one of the greatest bands on Earth... Rock On... Expand
  100. JeffB
    May 16, 2006
    7
    I don't know why some of the other people are rating the 'album' low, but I can't stop listening to it. It is definitely an 'experience', and maybe you need to be in the right frame of mind to hear it, but I rate it equal to listening to Pink Foyd's Dark Side of the Moon while watching the Wizard of Oz.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.