10,000 Days

  • Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 444 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 444

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Following in the steps of Lateralus helps this record from being just average. It feels like Maynard's lyrics are slipping a bit here, but the music is metal heaven.
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    That fact that an album like this can sell over half a million copies in its open week in the US is almost astonishing in 2012. Its not their best, but its got plenty of highlights, and like most of their output, has a way of growing on you to an almost uncomfortable degree.
  3. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    Lets get one thing straight, no sequel to Lateralus was ever going to get the praise it deserved. Thats just how Tool fans are, if its new its not as good as the old, and this is the case for most fanbases in all fairness, but particularly Tool.

    I tend to review albums song by song in a chronological order. But for this album I do not wish to do so. By reviewing it song by song, I
    Lets get one thing straight, no sequel to Lateralus was ever going to get the praise it deserved. Thats just how Tool fans are, if its new its not as good as the old, and this is the case for most fanbases in all fairness, but particularly Tool.

    I tend to review albums song by song in a chronological order. But for this album I do not wish to do so. By reviewing it song by song, I present it as a sum of its parts, when in reality, this album truly becomes legendary; when a complete picture of the experience is presented in one go.

    Arguing over which of Tool’s albums is the best it quite redundant, particularly because they are all good. In fact they are all very good, some of the best prog albums of all time. Whenever a new Tool album is release (for me at least) its not a matter of whether it will be better than the last few, rather its: ‘will it be on the same level as the rest of their stuff’. Long story short, 10000 Days IS on the same level as their other albums, and what makes this so much of an achievement for the band is just how long it took them between albums to release this.

    For every single of the 5 years this album was in limbo, its potential grew, and grew, as a snowball would rolling down a snowy hill, until in 2006 it broke into the public. This album is phenomenal. The long wait for the album to be released adds to the appeal, as it gives it a sense of worth, and need to exist. This isn’t some yearly instalment of a successful band career, this is an experience, which comes around so rarely we must cherish it, and appreciate the subtle, and visceral beauty we are presented with.

    For me, for an album to be considered great, as a pose to simply good, the album needs to have a balance between “hit tracks” which will receive radio play, and mainstream attention, as well as more subtle, and quieter tracks, which perhaps succeed in different ways to please the fans. An example of an album which DOES NOT have a mix of this is Coda by Led Zeppelin, which for fans is a decent album, but for critics has no universal appeal. Contrast Coda to Physical Graffitti, an album with appeal to both fans, with songs like The Rover, and In My Time of Dying, as well as the mainstream, with Kashmir, and Houses of The Holy. This split between critics and fans needs to be universally accepted for an album to be considered great (granted this is not always the case, but as at times reviewers royally **** up, for example reviews for Megadeth’s album). Now 10000 Days is the PERFECT mix of mainstream and hardcore acclaim.

    The song Vicarious, is one of those instant Tool classics, which does NOT fail to impress even the non-Tool listeners. It’s a universally enjoyable song. My personal favourite of the album is The Pot, a catchy, and headbanging tune about hypocracy, and drugs.

    The vocals on this album are OFF THE CHARTS, refer to The Pot, the instrumental performances are brilliant, and the lyrics are Tool’s finest, with very emotional moments around the whole album, refer to 1000 Days (Wings Pt2).

    In essence, this album is a worthy successor to Lateralus, and does not disappoint in any way. This is a MUST OWN, and let’s hope the next Tool album can achieve what this one did, whenever they ****ING DECIDE TO RELEASE IT ALREADY.
    Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    I give this album a 6 (I think Metacritic should count this score as yellow mixed so placed it as a 5 to register that way). I am quite new to Tool and have had the ability to listen to all the albums from a fresh perspective. This means i am not judging 10,000 days based upon any anticipation, pre- release expectations or based upon a nostalgic perspective from previous Tool records.I give this album a 6 (I think Metacritic should count this score as yellow mixed so placed it as a 5 to register that way). I am quite new to Tool and have had the ability to listen to all the albums from a fresh perspective. This means i am not judging 10,000 days based upon any anticipation, pre- release expectations or based upon a nostalgic perspective from previous Tool records.

    Overall, i think this is a good nearly great album. Without doubt, the amount of thought and integrity obviously included in the writing process stands out from many other mainstream bands today.

    The album has a mix of many sounds from various cultures and genres, and from the first listen, it is clear that the band members are qualified musicians with a very competent technical ability.

    The members of this band have obviously mastered their instruments (or writing) to such a professional level, that they are now comfortable exploring different styles and techniques which noticeably adds a depth and welcome variety to this album.

    This artistic professionalism shines through at various points in the album and 10,000 days includes some of my favorite Tool songs. However, many of the songs on the album i just do not like. I appreciate the song's technical ability, depth and intelligence but for some reason, many songs on this album just do not appeal to my ear.

    The exceptions are Rosetta Stoned, and Right in Two. Those are standout tracks for me, but the rest of the album sounds a little contrived, while Keenan's melodies (although containing intelligent lyrics) just do not seem to appeal to me.

    Finally, i also have to deduct some score for the overt filler in this album. Instead of making 10,000 a structured concept album, Tool have to use up album space with boring tracks such as 'Lost Keys (Blame Hofman)' to develop a concept that leads to Rosetta Stoned. Instead they could have made a more abstract approach and made a listenable song.

    This happens more than once, and many tracks are only worth a listen once before the urge to skip them during a full album play becomes inevitable. Although this is nothing new for Tool as it also happens on their previous albums (however it is more apparent and annoying on 10,000 days).

    Ultimately, this album stands above many others, in terms of artistic and technical ability and integrity. It has some great tracks and has a lot of character.

    However, it also has a lot of apparently meaningless 'filler' that compromises repeated plays of the album inits entirety.

    6/10 mixed
    Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Best Tool album, no. Better than most of the music out there, yes. I love seeing Tool compared to Franz Ferdinand and Arcade Fire. If you want to hear Franz Ferdinand, don't put in a Tool CD. Tool CDs tend to sound like Tool. And Tool fans are morons. How many Tool fans waste their time rating and commenting on an album they never heard from a band they don't like. You are much moreBest Tool album, no. Better than most of the music out there, yes. I love seeing Tool compared to Franz Ferdinand and Arcade Fire. If you want to hear Franz Ferdinand, don't put in a Tool CD. Tool CDs tend to sound like Tool. And Tool fans are morons. How many Tool fans waste their time rating and commenting on an album they never heard from a band they don't like. You are much more intelligent than a Tool fan. Mental Midgets. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    This album would have been perfect if it had the following set list:

    1. Vicarious 2. Jambi 3. The Pot 4. Rosetta Stoned 5. Intension 6. Right in Two That album would be around 49 minutes long, and wouldn't contain the filler songs. It would also have one of the best series of songs I've ever experienced in an album from 3 to 6. I think many of the low scores are based on the
    This album would have been perfect if it had the following set list:

    1. Vicarious
    2. Jambi
    3. The Pot
    4. Rosetta Stoned
    5. Intension
    6. Right in Two

    That album would be around 49 minutes long, and wouldn't contain the filler songs. It would also have one of the best series of songs I've ever experienced in an album from 3 to 6. I think many of the low scores are based on the 'pretentious' and 'useless' filler songs, which I can kind of understand.

    But the rest of the album is incredible. The Pot is a really interesting rock and roll riff song, Rosetta Stoned is one of the best drum songs ever written, Intension is a study in build-up and dynamic and Right in Two is an incredibly beautiful hard rock song. None of those songs could have been written by another band, and they all mix extremely difficult instrumental work with great song writing and composition.

    In my opinion it's the best Tool album. I just wish it only consisted of 6 songs.
    Expand
  7. JakeH
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Tool again reaches a new level of musicality! Tool has put AEnima and Lateralus in a blender, sprinkled in angst from the war and president and added power to create thIs progressive masterpiece!
  8. helloWaVe
    Jun 20, 2006
    2
    The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. You were a fan because you wanted to be (or couldn't help but be one), not because you took an oath. Now, 99% of the surviving 90's bands are shells of their former selves and left us all dreaming about what it used to be like. Tool is a prime example. Ask any die-hard Tool fan to go off to a desert island and choose between 10,000 Days and Undertow--I think a lot of these perfect 10! reviews would disappear in a hurry. So Tool fans, have some guts, this thing sucks. Expand
  9. ShastaMcNasty.
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Well, the wait is finally over. Another Tool album comes over the horizon to plunge our lives into darkness once again and the results are great, for the most part. Songs like Vicarious and Jambi kick the album off to a rocking start with vintage Tool riffing, more predominant bass playing by Justin Chancellor and Danny Carey is completely on his game (like always!). The 17 minute long Wings/10,000 days epic is haunting, to say the least, with a thunderstorm building in the background while the song builds to a crescendo. I must say that I was taken by surprise by The Pot, with it's Shannon Hoon-esque vocals, and it is definitely one of the highlights on the album for me. However, I was taken aback by Rosetta Stoned (is Maynard rapping at the beginning? hard to tell by the gravelly vox going at 200wpm) and I swear I almost fell asleep by the time Right in Two finally kicked in, but overall I would have to give the album an 8/10. Remniscent of their previous albums, but in a good way - hints of Third Eye splash about while the soundscape rolls into Lateralus-style riffing as touches of Undertow and Opiate abound. So remember that while 8/10 might not seem like the greatest score for a Tool album, it is essentially the same as a 4-star score and certainly better than the critics have given the band so far. 10,000 days must definitely be seen to be heard, especially with the awesome cd packaging and the nifty 3D goggles. Right on! Two thumbs up (sort of) Expand
  10. Systool
    May 3, 2006
    8
    I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical I'm a big TOOL fan and I have to say, like others voters here, that I've been quite surprised of reading some reviews, e.g. the Stylus magazine's... I would say that "10'000 Days" is probably not the best album Tool has ever made (I prefer Lateralus and most of all Aenima) but the band introduced some great parts, especially Justin (bass) who really drives the musical process. Some tracks like "Vicarious" are classic stuff, and "Jambi" and "The Pot" express heavy structures... but songs like "10 000 Days" and "Intension" expose more "psychedelic-like" atmospheres. The main negative point for me is that there are only 11 tracks and intermissions like "Lost Keys" and "Viginti Tres" are quite useless... I would have given a "9" if there was another solid track Expand
  11. Nick
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Better after every listen. Though the album lacks the anthemic, driving sound found on earlier releases, the complexity and movement of the songs really make this a great record. Some may think it's pretentious, but if you sit down and let yourself completely engage in the musical movements, it stands out as Tool's finest work since Aenima.
  12. bobbyf
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true Everyone who gave this albulm a negative rating did so because they expected something else of the band .. AND that is not the bands fault .. thats the listeners .. you should not prepare yourself to listen to this cd expecting it to sound like something you have already heard .. open your mind alittle , and make room for something new .. TOOL is one of the only bands out ther being true to ther music , its clearly music thats inspired by four diffierent talented personalities meeting and conversing... and as for the guy who refered to cow bells and such .. " every goddamn skin, tom-tom, and cowbell on your drum set" your an idiot , from a succesfull drummers stance - danny is the first drummer doing anything creative for rock since john bonham .. everything he does is tastefull .. and juxtaposed to such idiot iconic prog-rock drummers such as mike portnoy , danny keeps his use of drums and toys to a minimum.. ... BF Expand
  13. KatM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Hello people, every good band has an album like this in their career. Where they try something new and pepper it with their old sound. I see this as a transition album. Only bad thing is, we have to wait another 4-5 years to see what they're transitioning to, But if any experiment is worth hearing, it's Tool's.
  14. MagicWindow
    May 3, 2006
    2
    Terrible. Stagnant riffs, awfully ham-fisted lyrics and the production seems to have taken a step back to the Undertow era. This is not a career highlight. The packaging is digusting, too.
  15. RussellA
    May 4, 2006
    9
    After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and After giving this one several spins, I have decided: it's pretty dang good. It most certainly is not just a cheap rehash of Lateralus; the band moves in an odd new direction, as should be expected. It's probably not as good as Lateralus, but they have definitely broken new ground. Most impressive was Maynard's vastly expanded range, Jones' mind-bending solos, and especially Chancellor's absolutely superb bass work. Chancellor really stands out here, especially on the track "The Pot." Expand
  16. JohnH
    May 4, 2006
    10
    Best Tool album (so far).
  17. GaborA
    May 5, 2006
    10
    With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at With 10,000 Days despite it being one of their favorite themes Tool does not evolve. They merely age and with mixed results. The effects on quality is a lack of the consistency which blessed their other albums. With that said the summit pieces of this album are so good they're tear inducing, and i mean that literally. You guys dont have to write another note to retain your spot at the top for all my lifetime, but please do. Expand
  18. DavidM
    May 5, 2006
    10
    I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they I think that when people start realizing that the 10,000 days album is the begining of something great, and not an extension of APC or previous Tool albums they will realize that this is a great album. Did anybody ever thin that APC sounds like Tool instead of the other way. If I am now mistaken, Tool was around long before APC. Also, in reading the critics reviews, it sounds like they listend to it once and wrote their review. A word of advice to anyone reading this: Listen to the new album 4-6 times AT LEAST, before forming an opinion. 10, 10, 10. Expand
  19. JeffQ
    May 5, 2006
    0
    Horrible album of recycled riffs, cliche lyrics, and formulated songs. What happened to Tool?
  20. frankie
    May 5, 2006
    10
    another chapter in the Book Of Tool...not one to pass up. Filled with hair raising breakdowns emotional lyrics. Better then any crap band could even dream about, these guys are gonna be in history books if you don't listen with an open mind then you don't deserve to listen at all. Tool is the best hands down.
  21. DanK
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys Not as accessible as aenima but fantastic all the same. Similar to Lateralus in that it only has five 'songs' to speak of - but oh! they are as good as anything else they have ever done. Since this is prog metal this amounts to about 35-40mins of audio gold-dust and another 30 of 'interesting' filler. And not in the slightest bit like perfect circle save for the guys voice. Off you go! Buy it :) ! Expand
  22. Raz
    May 7, 2006
    3
    If you've listened to Aenima or Lateralus, then you know the members of Tool are all spectacular musicians. And that being the case, why do they spend their time constantly trying to prove how awesome they are? Most of this album sounds like wanking for wanking sake, with Maynard mostly buried in the mix. Soloing & jamming is only good if you bookend it with songwriting. There are no If you've listened to Aenima or Lateralus, then you know the members of Tool are all spectacular musicians. And that being the case, why do they spend their time constantly trying to prove how awesome they are? Most of this album sounds like wanking for wanking sake, with Maynard mostly buried in the mix. Soloing & jamming is only good if you bookend it with songwriting. There are no tunes here!! ...at least none that measure up anywhere near their last album, and measuring up to the perfect synchronicity of music & message on Aenima may now be past their reach. You can't even properly rock to it, because the band's too busy with stop-starts & time changes to find a riff or groove & ride it. If there's no rhythm to the rock, then it's just useless pummeling. So disappointed. Expand
  23. ErwinK
    May 8, 2006
    7
    Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, Like a lot people have said, it does take quite a few listens before you start reaping the benefits of this Tool album. It tends to be a fair bit more mellow compared to their previous albums, with a lot of filler, that at times is pretentious and other times (like in Lipan Conjuring) is completely creepy. Also a lot of the tracks feel more like A Perfect Circle tracks, like Right in Two, which is completely gorgeous. The Pot is a standard by the numbers Tool track which smacks you in the face with pure rage - probably the best track. The first single Vicarious is OK - it's all about schadenfreude, but nothing new or interesting about it. Rossetta Stoned is probably the most interesting song, with a weird array of tempo changes, strange singing styles, odd lyrics and the most petulant scream I have ever heard from Maynard. Yes like all Tool albums it has unusual rhythm signatures 5/4 7/8 9/8 etc, and a lot of songs go on forever like Wings/10,000 days. It's OK, but not up there with Aenema or Lateralus. Expand
  24. SusanS
    May 9, 2006
    10
    I Love It...it's the best yet!
  25. TheApoc
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has This is their best album. If you think that Aenema or Lateralus are better, then I would suggest that you set aside a few hours and listen to this record from top to bottom. It combines all of the best elements of their previous work without rehashing anything. People who were expecting Aenema II, should have saved themselves some time and picked up the new Godsmack album. A band that has truely mastered the art of making every album sound just like the last one. Tool is not that kind of band, and they never will be. Expand
  26. mikeb
    May 9, 2006
    8
    Stunning new album, basically a mash of all their work extended to include more soundscape type tracks. Ignore the people saying they have made a perfect circle record. this is much more heavy and complex. The only similarity is the the vocals which is too be expected. Awesome.
  27. AdamW
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    In a pool of mindless music we've all heard again and again, tool brings to the plate yet another genious endeaver. Yet, not as good as a few previous albums. But tool's back yeahhhhh!!!!
  28. rottencabbage
    Aug 1, 2006
    1
    One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can actually turn a phrase, thank you very much. There's a reason certain artists are critically acclaimed: did The Arcade Fire, The White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand ever feel the need to record an album full of meandering, bland, overlong, pretentious twaddle? I didn't think so; they've actually got something worth saying. Of course, Tool fans will devour this like manna from the Heavens, or at least like Maynard James Keenan's constantly regurgitated, consistently meaningless, self-important feces. Another stinker from a band that believes it has Something Important to say; the only ones who pay it any heed, though, are Tool's daft, stoned fanbase. Expand
  29. Opeth314
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Again Tool surprises the crowd with intricate and complex sound. I've said to truly appreciate a good Tool album it usually comes on the third or so listening of it...... Plus Maynard seems to have the most fun with album... especially heard on "The Pot"..with more improv than ever!
  30. SeanN
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of the most talented bands of this generation. I have read some reviews,but it is very obvious these people have A.D.D. one guy says there are songs with just 5 minutes of noise,dude c'mon now,there are 9 full songs ,1 intro ,and demonic noise at the end. you really have to get to know this album to appreciate it,it is not poppy,upbeat or mainstrem suitable.It is very hard to interrprut the meanings of the music,but that is why it is addictive and Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.